Toyota releases teaser image, of the next-gen Camry?

Toyota USA has released a teaser image with the caption ‘What’s on the horizon?’. The image, posted above, has the filename ‘A New Dawn’. So, it’s a teaser of a new model then, but what?

There aren’t many clues, and just the shape of the front end and LED daytime running lights can be seen, but this could well be our first official look at the next-generation Toyota Camry.

The current XV70 Camry made its debut at the NAIAS in Detroit in January 2017, which means that in a couple of months, the global D-segment sedan will be seven years old. That’s the typical lifespan of a modern car, with a facelift in the middle to keep the momentum going. In Malaysia, the ‘Beautiful Monster’ was launched at KLIMS in November 2018, and we received the facelift in February 2022. Even the pre-facelift looks very handsome and current today.

Expect the new Camry to also ride on today’s TNGA (GA-K) platform. Available powertrain options include a 2.5L hybrid, a 2.5L plug-in hybrid as seen in the RAV4 PHEV and 2.4L turbo engine that makes 281 PS/430 Nm. The latter has been going into bigger Toyota models of late, as a replacement to the big 3.5L V6 that probably won’t meet any current FC and emissions standards.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 20, 2023 at 12:16 pm

UMW should bring in the 2.4 turbo Camry..give the blardy Raptors a fight.
    Now,u see all the road bully 4×4 overtaking with gargantuan horsepower n immense torque..even King Myvi give way to these bastards.
    Time to give the uncle Camry a ferocious boost in power.This way,rakyat still buy.Not like Japan where Camrys r not sold anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • call me by your name on Oct 20, 2023 at 12:52 pm

abolished open subsidies and you’ll see 4×4 lelong like no tomorrow

• Hahaha on Oct 20, 2023 at 1:59 pm

Those raptor will breakdown anyway. Not built to last.

• Kapchai on Oct 20, 2023 at 2:12 pm

I scare raptor because it might be defective saja

• joejambol on Oct 20, 2023 at 5:13 pm

very experience YB

• Soon the raptors will disappear with the fuel tax on diesel. Camry is a dying breed in our roads as with large sedans, give us the RAV4 PHEV or 2.4 Turbo, then we have a game on.

• Never support brotherhood whom assassinated late President Anwar Sadat on Oct 20, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Recycle part bin from Subaru Impreza?

• Dont worry, Malaysian will get a totally different engine than these. We always got 1 generation of engine behind. I am very sure later, chassis will be the new one, engine, we will get the Dynamic Force, currently used in current Camry.

Reason: they want to finish the stock.

Other reason: Asia is a poor countries, they dont deserve new engne.

Other, other reason: UMW Toyota mau untung besar. Old engine means cheap.

To UMW: where is Dynamic Force engine for Altis?

• Just to add on to your point, price of fuel as well as the emissions testing / standards in Malaysia don’t justify the business case to bring those engines you mentioned.

• toyota fan boy on Oct 22, 2023 at 7:15 pm

the last time toyota offer the altis with 2.0 2010 amd 2014. both generation didnt even survive for 2 year in malaysia lol

• Sohai on Oct 23, 2023 at 1:29 pm

your hypothesis may not work this time.
      Toyota has a new owner in Sime.

• Sime darby hv already acquired umw….its now under sime, lets see how sime darby plan is wt toyota …either its going the beemer way or the hyundai way

• The 2.4 turbo looks enticing…