As Cadillac makes its re-entry into the Australian and New Zealand markets, the General Motors brand will be doing so by the end of 2024 with the Lyriq electric crossover, Car Expert reports.
According to the Australian publication, the Lyriq will be made available in right-hand-drive from the factory, like the Chevrolet Corvette, which means it will not require conversion from left-hand-drive form for use in RHD markets.
Like the C8-generation Corvette, the RHD Lyriq will also be manufactured from a factory in the United States, and in the case of the Lyriq, it will be the General Motors plant in Spring Hill, Tennessee.
There will be three retail outlets, or Cadillac Experience Centres from launch in this region, namely in Melbourne and Sydney in Australia, and in Auckland, New Zealand. More locations will follow, along with more new products from the brand, however the exact models have yet to be confirmed by Cadillac executives, Car Expert reports.
The report cites the brand’s executives as having made multiple mentions of the brand selling in “exclusive volumes”, though General Motors Australia and New Zealand managing director Jess Bala said the brand is “going to do incredibly well [in the region],” adding that Cadillac will appeal to luxury car buyers who consider themselves trendsetters, the report said.
Bala indicated that the Lyriq will compete against electric SUVs from European manufacturers such as the BMW iX, though Australian pricing of the Lyriq has not yet to be confirmed.
First unveiled in August 2020, the production Cadillac Lyriq is based on General Motors’ Ultium platform for EVs, packing a 100 kWh battery for 480 km of range and can be recharged at up to 190 kW DC. A rear-mounted motor outputs 340 hp and 440 Nm of torque, while a dual-motor AWD version outputs a GM-estimated 500 hp and 610 Nm.
In the United States, the Lyriq starts from US$58,590 (RM273,586), according to the official Cadillac website. What do you think, readers – would you welcome a Cadillac entry into the Malaysian market?
GALLERY: Cadillac Lyriq
- \
My dream car
Yes they should. Ford also should bring the Mach E here considering the Mustang’s Malaysian fanbase is quite huge. Driven by ‘aca2 kaya’ muka-rempit local men.
Q: What do you think, readers – would you welcome a Cadillac entry into the Malaysian market?
A: Nope. Don’t come here. I’m boycotting US/Israel products. I rather use my Jap kapcai
The internet is a US product, your 0S windows or Mac0S, is also American, your browser Chrome, Safari or Edge is also American, why u still use? Hipokrit
Use alternative where is possible. Respect their decision to boikot due to current issues.
Not siding anyone however I don’t believe Alfonso being hypocrite, it is about option and choice. Option being, is it avoidable?, Choice is the decision made if the product is avoidable.
it is the tiniest of action, at least a show of support rather than not doing it at all IMHO.
Boycott some if cannot boycott all.. got the idea? Its not hypocrite.. its smart strategy to bring down the devil’s economy.. their economy down, their car become cheap, that will gain you also right? hypocrite
Smart
You can boikot the internet like orang asli or African tribes, there is no “need”. Hypokrit.
You can boikot all, like African tribes or Orang Asli. The fact that you choose to only boikot things when it’s convenient shows you are a hipokrit. Not like u can afford this car anyway, so you’re virtue signalling ,which is the definition of hipokrisy.
If you dont like, just leave Malaysia. no one is forcing you to boycott US/Israeli products
Bodo tu simpan sikit dkt anak cucu
Low IQ
Kenapa nak boikot semua??? You look stupid. Not all American brands support the Zionist American government. Elon and Tucker carlson is anti American globalist zionist la. Why you think US government hates them? If you want to know which American brand is Zionist, just look at which American brand that left Russia when Russia hantam NATO and USA in Ukraine.
These brands are Coca cola,Pepsi, McDonald, KFC and Starbucks.
Kalau nak boikot pun guna otak la. Not all American brands support zionist la
100kWh battery for only 480km range. In old Ice era, we call them fuel guzzler. In this case the vehicle must have been very heavy…
Absolutely, more choices, why not? Plus for once an American product without huuuge taxes because of big displacement engines. Just wondering if manufacturing could be done…here?
They won’t survive here. We are very anti-US, despite our daily life revolves around US products. Sigh !~
US cars are not reliable thats why even in US ppl bought more Toyotas & Hondas. I’ll stick wt Japs car, toyota is the most reliable car in the world. Here in Msia, ppl will die die buy Toyotas & Hondas. Hait Lux is numero uno ,,….hahahaha…my cousin..my uncle..grand father…father & mother both side have camry’s and corolla’s…long live dinosaur tech!
GM usually sits near the bottom of the table in Consumer Reports reliability surveys, coming in 31st out of 32 brands in the 2022 survey and 27th of 32 in 2023. Might be one to wait and see before jumping in.
Depends which country. In the US, it is ranked No. 12. https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/2023-us-vehicle-dependability-studyvds
Is the After Sales service better than Chery?
To succeed in Malaysia’s automotive industry, the product must have some, if not all the following:
1. Reliability
2. Good resale value
3. Reasonable maintainence cost
4. Fairly priced
5. Good parts supply
6. Fair-Good brand value
7. Strong support network
8. Local partner with good track record
If you can’t tick at least half the above, forget it.
Not siding anyone however I don’t believe Alfonso being hypocrite, it is about option and choice. Option being, is it avoidable?, Choice is the decision made if the product is avoidable.
it is the tiniest of action, at least a show of support rather than not doing it at all IMHO.
NO USA over priced junks to fund Yahudi please. Negara yang kuat sokong Israel (USA, UK, Eropah, India, Korea Selatan) kita bantah. Syaitan Utama ialah USA. Kami tidak akan derma duit lagi kepada USA untuk bunuh saudara kami. Kami sokong produk dari Rusia dan China. Mereka kawan Palestine membuat mereka kawan kami. #FreePalestine#.
Boikot2 Tesla masuk market kite diam je
Kenapa nak boikot TESLA. You look stupid. Not all American brands support the Zionist American government. Elon and Tucker carlson is anti American globalist zionist la. Why you think US government hates them? If you want to know which American brand is Zionist, just look at which American brand that left Russia when Russia hantam NATO and USA in Ukraine. These brands are Coca cola,Pepsi, McDonald, KFC and Starbucks. Kalau nak boikot pun guna otak la. Not all American brands support zionist la
harga yahudi, produck yahudi, no thanks
Bring in the Celestiq as well
Before bring in Cadillac, bring back Chevrolet first then baru bring in other GM brands into Malaysian market, thanks.