Proton to get Apple CarPlay and Android Auto soon, but there will be a hardware update, not just software

It’s not a surprise that the Proton S70 – which will be launched on November 28 – will not have Apple CarPlay and Android Auto (AACP) – Proton already pre-empted us back in July that the sedan will instead get an improved infotainment head unit (IHU) with the Atlas OS.

But Proton and ACO Tech are working on AACP, as confirmed by Sunny Wang, ACO Tech’s head of project management at the media preview. She said that AACP integration is currently under development and that it won’t be long before customers get to enjoy the desired smartphone mirroring in their cars.

Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah weighed in on the matter, explaining the the chipset for the IHU requires changes to support AACP, which means that there’s hardware involved, and not just a software update. Roslan also candidly explained the reason for the AACP delay.

“Where is the source of this model? Where Google is not allowed. How to befriend Google for the license. And it seems like Google also does not want to be good friends with certain OEMs. We’re still discussing with Google to work with us, and it’s similar with Apple. To get the license is a bit of a hassle compared to other OEMs. The geopolitics make it difficult for us,” he said, referencing the geopolitical tension and tech rivalry between the US and China.

“Unless we change everything and ACO Tech have to develop from scratch. ACO Tech is still working hard so that whenever we launch a new car, Hafriz does not have a chance to ask that question,” he added referring to our man Hafriz Shah’s main complaint about Proton-Geely models.

The good news from this revelation is that Proton-ACO Tech is working on AACP, and it won’t be long before the cars get it. Unfortunately, with AACP requiring hardware changes, it would also most probably mean that current cars will not be able to have AACP as it won’t be as simple as an OTA update.

AACP in the Honda City (left) and Perodua Alza (right)

Also, a note on the difficulty Proton is supposedly facing from US tech giants due to the Chinese origins of its models, it must be noted that China brands such as Chery, GWM and BYD all have AACP. Does Google or Apple have a specific issue with Geely? As for the S70’s rivals, both the Toyota Vios and Honda City have AACP. Over in Rawang, AACP made its Perodua debut in the Alza.

We’ve analysed this topic before, and first, you’ll need to understand how it’s like where Proton’s partner Geely is from. As many of you know, the services from Google, Meta and many of the other Western tech giants aren’t available in China, which has its own local champions and equivalents.

Chinese users simply prefer their own apps and services. Navigation apps like Alibaba’s AutoNavi and music streaming services like Tencent’s QQ Music take the place of Waze/Google Maps and Spotify, for instance. These services are usually either natively integrated into the car’s infotainment system or can be used in indigenous screen mirroring services like Baidu CarLife.

As such, there’s little incentive for Chinese carmakers to invest in AACP-compatible systems, and while some brands have made the effort, Geely isn’t one of them. The fact Proton is still working on it today is probably because AACP was not in the company’s original vision for its IHU. Anyway, if the lack of AACP is a dealbreaker for you, it’s coming soon to Proton cars.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kimchi on Nov 22, 2023 at 1:08 pm

Lol, the current Proton users must be pissed off. They need to upgrade their IHU unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Sohai on Nov 22, 2023 at 1:27 pm

Tak boleh pakai punya ceo.
    I dont see Volvo having problem getting carplay?
    You are getting the carplay license for the Proton, not Geely, unless you are counting on the people in Geely to help you get it and all you want to do is change the badge (and the bumper)
    If you cant do it, just install an aftermarket headunit that already has it.. plenty of Kenwood and pioneer headunit that are better than the proton junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Bob Mal on Nov 22, 2023 at 1:39 pm

So that means your last year fantasy story that X50 updated to ATLAS OS with Android 10 is a fake story la how nice to cheat your customers. Now every 100,000 owners (or so using that OS) should sue the company for lying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • paanjang16 on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:05 pm

Smart #1 which also under Geli got AACP. I think the lack of AACP is due to Geli just do not want to invest or pay money to Google and Apple.

Same like GM who wants to ditch AACP and have their own system. Why pay money to someone else when can have more control and invest within themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Mystvearn on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:14 pm

Why volvo can have AACP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • newme on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:15 pm

Just like the part shortage, they blamed everything under the sun. There’s no problem with other car brands. Buying from such incompetent brand is a huge risk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Ground europe passenger on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Bravo proton, on the right track to be no 1 in malaysia again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • kckfen on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:48 pm

Dengar boleh, tapi….. hmmmm

• hail CCP on Nov 22, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Geely has been talking about apple car play since 2015!! let’s face it, there’s no money in giving customer AA or CP, customers will still buy their cars. Geely rather spend the extra budget to enrich their loyal china vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Civic Type Rawr on Nov 22, 2023 at 3:20 pm

Just prepare a convenient place to mount my phone, and a bluetooth stereo system, I’m sold. Also, let me have a dedicated physical knobs and buttons for everything else. I don’t even need reverse camera, let alone 360°

• yusrykru on Nov 22, 2023 at 3:20 pm

the moment AACP made avail to proton, other brands will sweat even more than ever to provide better offerings to compete or lose out

• Proton Oh Proton on Nov 22, 2023 at 3:23 pm

time to adopt changes

• Proton cares to explain why Volvo and Zeekr has AACP from the onset and why can’t proton use hardware and software from these partners?

• My man!!! Hafriz Shah. Ini macam baru wartawan!! Ada feedback from consumers to wartawan and back to the manufacturer.

I am targetting for X90, and from this news, I will wait for AACP lah. They are a very big deal for me!!

• Then I will buy proton soon too…lol

• OtakPaleolithic on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:40 pm

Make sure you gv free upgrade of hardware for existing customers. So lame. Basic also not able to provide. Always no sense on what customer needs. Either follow otak kosong melayu or blindly follow China products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Muhammad Najmi on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:43 pm

At last a Good Move from Proton. But I also hope that ATLAS OS will get good and seamless update too ..

• mechanicnextdoor on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:55 pm

Preeeety sure you don’t need hardware changes. Someone already made custom firmware flash that supports “AACP” as you called it, so cut the bullshit la.

• ITDOG on Nov 22, 2023 at 7:12 pm

what hardware? dude its all about software only,
    android auto, apple carplay all data connection is by cable if wired, bluetooth and wi-fi if wireless
    stop making bullshit statement to cheat customer

• Ploton ploton... Telling lies? on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Lol what a BS. Lotus emira uses the exact same headunit as the x50 and it has AACP from factory!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • protonbecamepotong on Nov 22, 2023 at 11:02 pm

As usual, announcement of an announcement of another announcement.

• Upgrade to 12GB RAM.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:16 pm

Geely’s original plan is to use Proton to target SE Asia and other RHD markets so to not inplement AACP would be self defeating. You’re not targeting China market at all

• automotive_fan on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:16 pm

proton blatantly lying.. my fully imported china car bought in Malaysia also has apple carplay la and is just about to get OTA update for android auto.

• Eznous on Nov 25, 2023 at 1:16 pm

I call the Geopolitical reason bullshit. The newest Geely Coolray sold in Mexico comes with Apple CarPlay, it’s just the matter of whether ACO Tech/Proton want to comply with the licensing agreement or not. The newest Geely Model in China uses the Snapdragon 8155 processor, which the newest 9th Gen Camry in China also uses and supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

I’m glad Hafriz keep stressing the inclusion of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto in the infortainment system

• panjang on Nov 28, 2023 at 1:40 pm

saga 2019 punya pun susah nak upgrade ver…dah 4 tahun langsung guna gitu jerr…

• Talk east talk west. All is bullshit