BYD Seal EV previewed in Malaysia – three variants expected, Q1 2024 launch, est. RM180k to RM220k

Exactly a year to the day it was first shown in the country, the BYD Seal has been previewed again, going on display at the BYD 1st Anniversary: Beyond Dreams Celebration event at Bukit Kiara Indoor Arena this weekend. This time, however, the showcase is very much a precursor to the EV’s market debut in Malaysia, with the car slated to make its market debut sometime in the first quarter of 2024.

Designed as a premium segment competitor that will take the fight to cars like the BMW i4 and the Tesla Model 3, the Seal is a four-door coupe-styled sedan with a sloping roofline and short rear deck. Measuring in at 4,800 mm long, 1,875 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, with a 2,920 mm-long wheelbase, it is built on the automaker’s e-platform 3.0, which also underpins the Atto 3 and Dolphin EVs.

Unlike its siblings, the Seal uses an 800V electrical architecture platform like higher-end EVs such as the Porsche Taycan and Audi e-tron GT. In terms of variants, three are expected for Malaysia, mirroring that seen in nearby markets such as Singapore, Thailand and Australia, where the Seal has already gone on sale.

The base version will be the Dynamic Standard Range rear-wheel drive, which features a single electric motor offering 201 hp (204 PS or 150 kW) and 310 Nm of torque, which gets the car to 100 km/h from standstill in 7.5 seconds. A 61.4 kWh Blade lithium-iron phospate (LFP) battery offers up to 460 km of travel (WLTP cycle )on a single charge.

Sitting in the middle is the Premium Extended Range, which also has a single-motor rear-wheel drive configuration, but with a higher output and battery capacity. Here, the electric motor dishes out 308 hp (313 PS or 230 kW) and 360 Nm, with a higher capacity 82.5 kWh LFP battery providing the car with up to 570 km of range.

The range-topping variant is the Performance AWD. As its suffix suggests, it has a dual-motor powertrain with a 215 hp/310 Nm front motor being added on to the 308 hp/360 Nm rear unit to offer it a total output of 523 hp (530 PS or 390 kW) and 670 Nm. It has the same 82.5 kWh battery seen on the Premium ER, although the bump in performance means that its effective range is lower, with a quoted 520 km of WLTP-rated travel on a single charge.

In terms of charging, the Seal in its base Dynamic form supports AC Type 2 charging at up to 7 kW – with 8.6 hours to get the battery charged from 0-100% – and DC charging (CCS2) at up to 110 kW. Both the Premium ER and Performance AWD also feature 7 kw AC Type 2 charging, with a 0-100% charging time of 15.2 hours, but the DC charging capability on both is uprated to 150 kW, with 37 minutes needed to get the battery from a 10 to 80% state of charge (SoC)

The right-hand drive preview unit is shod with 19-inch wheels, which are wrapped with 235/45 profile Continental EcoContact 6 Q rubbers, and the absence of Performance-specific badging on the rear suggests it to be a Premium ER variant. The Dynamic SR rides on 18-inch units and 225/50 tyres. Incidentally, the unit was locked, so the photos of the interior you see here were snapped from outside the car.

Final pricing for the BYD Seal hasn’t been indicated, but sales advisors at the event have suggested that estimated pricing of the EV will start from around RM180k for the Dynamic, with the Premium ER expected to be priced at around RM200k, and the Performance, in the region of RM220k. What do you think? Can the Seal take the fight to the Tesla Model 3 Highland here?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MB Sanusi on Dec 09, 2023 at 2:41 pm

Bole isi minyak kuning 95 & Naik genting? Klau ok , bole amek 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
  • President Xi on Dec 09, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Better than Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 13
    • President Mao on Dec 13, 2023 at 10:38 am

Every ringgit sent to china = 1 bullet for communist invasion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
      • If you really think China desperately needs the money from selling cars to equip its miltary, that says a lot about your level of general knowledge

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
      • L(MAO) on Dec 15, 2023 at 8:15 pm

What are you? An American ignoramus? Get an education. Don’t embarrass yourself like this.

• Ashraf on Dec 09, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Manyak mahal lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Was hoping for a lower price since if compared to Tesla, lots more will probably choose the Tesla for the cool factor. It’s like choosing between iPhone vs. S22 Ultra or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
  • ROTI CANAI on Dec 09, 2023 at 4:46 pm

if dont price below tesla model 3 really can say bye bye anjing laut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 70
    • Dah Menang Semua on Dec 09, 2023 at 8:48 pm

China vs USA
      (Like) BYD Seal
      (Dislike) Tesla Model 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 26
    • Kuah Dhal on Dec 10, 2023 at 5:01 am

Sayam Dabi, with those estimated prices BYD would literally Bring You Death

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Boyracer on Dec 10, 2023 at 7:58 am

How come all these EVs nvr indicate car weight.

• Tongkat Ali G on Dec 10, 2023 at 9:22 am

ROTI CANAI, go work harder la. If you miskin not everyone is like you la. SEAL and TESLA is different league la. Model 3 is like Camry but BYD seal is like Lexus. Mana boleh cheaper? You make me laugh la.Orang buta tengok specs and feel the finish also tahu already. Go work harder la. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
      • orang buta on Dec 15, 2023 at 12:14 pm

yea if i am orang buta sitting at rear seats touch cushion je seal memang terbagus than model 3. At least i dont need to drive it and look at the cringe taste dashboard design

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 13, 2024 at 12:29 pm

Remember when you buy your anjing laut please paid 50k above list price since you worked harder kan?

• Dosa Tose Thosai on Dec 10, 2023 at 10:05 am

How do you forced there to sell price above tesla mo3?

• lithium on Dec 12, 2023 at 12:20 pm

What’s so great about Tesla? Overrated – used to be priced to the moon until BYD came along.
      Tesla vehicle controls all using the single center monitor – no complain, any other brand, complain to the moon. Fit and finish like budget cars. Tesla is anew brand – no one ask if got spare parts, when Proton launch new model? Very one sided view – reminds me of iPhone fans – every thing is amazing and brilliant even when its not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
      • hooooooo on Dec 14, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Tesla is overated just like iphone boleh show off
        BYD china brand mcm Xiaomi

• He Long Must on Dec 09, 2023 at 5:35 pm

15.2 hours home charging and priced similar to M3? Missed opportunity president xi. I was waiting for you to undercut me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 52
  • ThePolygon on Dec 09, 2023 at 7:42 pm

Lesser range and power than Model 3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • EV user on Dec 09, 2023 at 7:46 pm

Top up sikit get Tesla model 3, but the drawback is you have to pay extra if want other than white.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • SD effin us on Dec 09, 2023 at 9:13 pm

This is much cheaper compared to model 3 outside. Come here and the price is the same. Lol

• 1owner on Dec 09, 2023 at 11:30 pm

Bmw and tesla have the brand desirability and aspiration. You’d buy a china brand car for one reason only.. its cheap. But that is not the case for this seal.. so would be interesting to see who would be the first owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 23
  • Air Sirap on Dec 10, 2023 at 2:21 am

Same price with model 3 with zero infrastructure on charging location, no over-the-air software update. Its a win for model 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Like: Ioniq 5/EV6 800V: 11KW AC, 350KW DC (18mins)

Dislike : Seal 800V: 7KW AC, 150KW DC (37mins)

but seriously, why does the Seal 800V architecture charge so slow? so basically they can put it in a brochure/spec sheet and deceive those who don’t know better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Tipah tertipu on Dec 12, 2023 at 12:37 am

Geng boikot x bijak mana pun. Ikut sebarangan je. Herd mentality mcm lembu liar lepak tepi jalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Dec 10, 2023 at 12:01 pm

Owned an Atto3 , buying a BYD is because cheaper than Tesla . Overall is ok just that the most annoyed is the Level 2 autopilot was really cannot compared to Tesla . Tesla collect all data to Ai & keep update your Tesla and become more intelligent. As BYD I don’t have hope with the firmware upgrades , it even getting worst after upgrades . My V2L no longer working

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
    • Bring You Destruction on Dec 12, 2023 at 12:48 am

Say my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • atto3 on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:38 am

my experience, atto 3 is just an ok car, nothing great; it was just the cheapest option back then.

after just 2 weeks my screen area started rattling (dealer can’t find the issue as usual) so now i have to just live with it, i can’t find the issue either…press here and there also still rattle.

don’t talk about autopilot…BYD’s lane keep assist is super aggressive and sensitive…keeps beeping and grabs the steering wheel very suddenly in situations that are perfectly safe. my other car is a HR-V and the honda sensing is much smoother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • break your dreams on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:45 am

did they ever find a solution for your V2l?

my Atto3 V2L also stopped working and no fix until now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • lemonlaw on Dec 13, 2023 at 2:09 pm

we really need lemon law here…my Atto3 has a rattle/buzzing sound on the dashboard about 1 month into ownership and they can’t resolve it. so annoying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Peraturan limau on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:26 pm

If got peraturan limau here, protong long dead don’t even have chance to get into a marriage with geli and produce their progee lemon childs

• Anonymous on Dec 15, 2023 at 12:18 pm

wonder why the dislike ratio is so high to a seemingly legit owner review

• DonkeyKong on Dec 10, 2023 at 12:11 pm

Yet another disposable oversized consumer electronic. After a few years, just dispose it in an EV graveyard and get a good old ICE car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
    • hooooooo on Dec 14, 2023 at 3:29 pm

yeah .. buying EV just like buy smartphone after battery degraded can throw

• Comedy BYD on Dec 10, 2023 at 12:30 pm

This is what we call Syiok Sendiri’. RIP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • anjing on Dec 10, 2023 at 5:01 pm

anjing dah mari

• Autodriver on Dec 11, 2023 at 8:14 am

It is always good to have more EV to come into our market. I believe there gonna have people bash that BYD Seal should price below Model 3 in order to survive. As long as the price of Seal is not far from Model 3 I think it is still gonna have good demand. Seal is more premium in cabin area compare to Model 3 who is minimalism.

BYD and Tesla being the 2 top EV brands in the world are competing each other in Msia now. Seriously how other carmakers who lack behind can penetrate into Msia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • So chintzy on Dec 12, 2023 at 7:02 am

You’re right but the steering wheel design tho….

• chinabot on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:30 am

you sound like those seeders from china where people pay a bunch to write reviews/comments in forums and app stores -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • lolpanda on Dec 11, 2023 at 8:24 am

wait a sec…800V architecture with 150KW DC charging sounds like a scam. I can already imagine BYD putting “800V Architecture” in an advertising blurb to make it seem like a big deal when in reality it charges the same or slower than current 400V platforms.

Hyundai’s E-GMP 800V platform takes 350KW DC and even Porsche’s 800V will do 225KW DC.

heck Tesla’s 400V platform accepts 250KW DC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • BYD Seal: 82.5kWh Battery = 570km (Extended Range)
    Hyundai IQ6: 77.4kWh Battery = 614km (Extended Range)
    Tesla M3: 78.1kWh Battery = 629km (Long Range)

is it just me or does it seem like BYD’s motors aren’t as efficient as their competitors? no wonder there are doubts of their future – US$12bil selloff / 12-year low in share prices says a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 54
    • refinement on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:49 am

refinement isn’t a strong suit for China so, that’s not surprising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
  • uncle james on Dec 11, 2023 at 8:36 am

i’m not a fan of Tesla’s design by any means, i think the interior looks basic rather than minimalist like what the Scandinavians have succeeded in achieving.

but looking at this Seal, i’d take the Model 3 any day…there’s just too much going on with all the swooping lines. it’s like the designer didn’t know when to stop drawing and now it’s overdone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • Uncle, do you know the similarity of chintzy and Chinese?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • young james on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:58 am

is the Seal an ugly car? no.
      is it an iconic design? also no.
      it just looks samey and easily missable; much like tesla; just looks normal. not ugly, not iconic.

interior wise, tesla is indeed very kosong and the byd sits on the extreme opposite. in both cases, buyers may gravitate to it at first, but after looking at it everyday, one will start to feel too empty and the other will look like it’s trying too hard.

neither cars have a good balance in my opinion, but it’s just my opinion and everyone can have their own.

• koko krunch on Dec 11, 2023 at 8:50 am

not at that price…like it or not, brands from China are not aspirational brands.

this means it’s fine if it’s cheap but if they start pricing stuff to match / exceed western competitors, most buyers won’t choose the China brand.

If Xiaomi sells a flagship phone at the same price as Samsung S23 Ultra / iPhone 15 Pro, safe to say most buyers will choose Samsung/iPong.

China’s image has always been synonymous with value/cheap – not aspirational/luxury. it may change overtime, but not in our lifetime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 51
    • Geng boikot on Dec 12, 2023 at 12:33 am

Jenama tongsan utk kami geng boikot jenama barat. Tp masih karat pakai android, iPhone, Google, wasap, fb. Bunyi je kuat cakap x serupa bikin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • xyah boikot on Dec 13, 2023 at 2:07 pm

yg nak boikot jenama barat tu – skrg sapot jenama tongsan? dah lupa ke kisah Cina dengan golongan Uyghur tu?

so korang nak boikot siapa lagi lepas ni? proton je lah…oops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • Saudagar unta arab on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:31 pm

Boleh explore guna kapal padang pasir aka unta. Xyah caj letrik, xyah tembak minyak, xyah servis. Minom air pun kurang, makan rumput kering je. Cuma penunggang taliPAS masih belum convert sebab sayang sgt kat mesilis, vellfire, Alphard dorang

• honey stars on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:53 am

this is precisely what i always say..

are flagship xiaomi phones bad? no…but if they sold it at the same price as an S23 Ultra / 15 Pro, almost nobody would want the xiaomi.

there’s a reason why the economy has “branded goods” because it carries value when all else is equal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
  • Yi Long Ma on Dec 11, 2023 at 9:11 am

at this price, who will buy such a ridiculously named car when Model 3 Highland is cheaper and more powderful.

haiy…some more i thought there will be competition. turns out i can sleep peacefully and continue tweeting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
    • Chintzy & China berpisah tiada on Dec 12, 2023 at 7:00 am

Nama haiwan laut, ada yg nama kucing baik kucing jahat

• Ashraf on Dec 11, 2023 at 1:54 pm

TM3 has better acceleration power than Seal. If priced like that how to win new customers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Xervexc Zymycur on Dec 11, 2023 at 2:04 pm

I think one of the disadvantages of the BYD Seal is its ADAS software. Some reviews in China mentioned that the ADAS software is not so solid so that car tends to wonder left and right if the lane keeping feature is engaged. I wonder if the software has been upgraded. The Tesla Model 3 is quite bare inside but the best thing about Tesla car is its software. It has very good ADAS system, very good energy management system and good data management and rase of use of the software features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • Better You Drive on Dec 12, 2023 at 6:50 am

Like how a real seal is sluggish on land?

• zimzimcure on Dec 12, 2023 at 9:00 am

are those people still alive for pointing out flaws in the pride of the great nation?

• Dong gor on Dec 11, 2023 at 5:09 pm

I put my money in table the starting price will be below 180k.peice war between bye and Tesla is not new, and byd is leading by undercutting selling ng price at least 10%

• Interesting! )

• Bangkok on Dec 12, 2023 at 7:59 am

We had both highland model 3 and the seal here in Thailand, the seal is better even if priced the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • sadnessmaximus on Dec 12, 2023 at 8:40 am

don’t remind me…i was convinced to into buying BYD shares cos ppl say they gonna be big – i lost so much money from this stupid company.

buy tesla shares also not so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • newme on Dec 12, 2023 at 9:13 am

How many people actually record them taking delivery of BYD compared to Tesla. How many auto journalist actually buying BYD compared to Tesla. The fact is Tesla means prestige and to be seen. This is why people are recording their journey their Teala deliveries and not BYD or Great Wall Ora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • wealth reality on Dec 12, 2023 at 9:50 pm

that’s because Chinese brands are not aspirational brands…not just cars, across all consumer products.

publicising your purchase basically says you couldn’t afford something more aspirational /desirable in the market – hence most ppl don’t.

those who do publicise it probably bought it as a “toy” car / second car / just for fun / for the missus, and your main car is something more reputable…then you’re saying “i’m well off enough to own something proper AND just buying this BYD for fun.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • hard truth on Dec 13, 2023 at 8:28 am

the inconvenient truth is that buying a BYD means you wanted to get in the EV game but that’s all you could afford because everything else is too expensive – it’s just the reality of the world.

whether people want to admit it or not, Chinese brands are not “first choice” brands…you think i didn’t want BMW i / Mercedes EQ / Ioniq 5 / EV6 / Tesla? all so expensive cannot afford.

everyone waiting for jepunis to get in the game to sell mass market EV but they so slow. when H or T start selling EVs at the price of BYDs – you think China still has chance? based on brand favourability right now, i don’t think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
  • seitha on Dec 12, 2023 at 4:22 pm

EV at 180k
    to install charger at home-how much?
    charging how much?
    charger how many klowatss??
    journalists are not reporting this….!!!

• redha on Dec 12, 2023 at 10:05 pm

from the beginning development EV ni is memang for upper income group. bukannya malaysia jea…america and europe all mature markets with a lot more EV tapi semua upper income group. skrg dealer diorg tak dapat jual sbb yg mampu beli semua dah beli dah – most of the population stick to kereta biasa je lah.

yg xde duit sekadar tengok je..continue to drive ICE je la…memang xde chance. Dolphin RM100K – kalau duduk condo yg ada charging bay still kena share ramai-ramai, mahal lagi tu kWh rate tu.

europe pon banyak orang duduk apartment/flat…kereta parking kat tepi jalan je mana boleh charge?

xpelah – at least some can afford tukar EV, kurang sikit ekzos and noise pollution, baik jugak untuk semua. rasanye abang grab ikut belakang EV lagi best vs. kereta2 yg berasap hitam tu.

• call me a badge snob, at least i’m not a hypocrite. the people here saying how BYD is the better bet are just keyboard warriors who can’t remotely afford one.

All the BYD fanboys…if you had to take out RM220K of your own money right now. would you really buy a Seal (or any Chinese brand) over a Model 3? Please la, badge appeal is a real thing – you tell people you drive a Seal (you’re probably cringing a bit inside yourself) vs telling someone you bought a Model 3; the feeling is different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
    • Actually geng boikot ni…. on Dec 13, 2023 at 10:30 am

Pom pang Pom pang tin kosong mcm yes nak beli tapi loan bezza or saga pun tak lepas

• BYDnambawan on Dec 12, 2023 at 10:14 pm

if you tell me BYDnambawan over Tesla at the same price and you wear Nikes/Adidas/Puma or any other brand besides Li Ning or Anta then your comment is invalid.

• chinavoters on Dec 13, 2023 at 11:56 am

it looks like BYD is paying people to downvote any comment in huge numbers that disses BYD over here.

you’d think it sounds ridiculous but i worked in a Chinese-backed eWallet company before and you’d be surprised what else they’d be willing to do.

• votechina on Dec 15, 2023 at 8:32 am

well, china’s solution to many things is just shoving money at it…bad reviews? let’s pay a bunch of micro seeders to give fake positive comments.

remember Vivo’s launch campaign into Malaysia with all those cliché fake Malaysian names giving good testimonials? like they found the most generic local names possible and gave really google-translate sounding reviews.

• BYD Seal ni antara produk BYD yang paling terbaik dan dicalonkan dalam top 6 Euro Car of the Year 2023. kalau nak laris kena jual 15%-25% bawah Tesla dalam RM155-RM160 ribu cantik lah.

• All the BYD salespeople came in to mass downvote all the early comments… Paul Tan editorial please do something about this.

• Edaran Otomobil China on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:47 pm

Same thing happen whenever there’s an article on progee. Dorang punya salesmen xde sales lapang sgt masuk PT pulun dislike x ingat mak bapak

• Bangkok on Dec 13, 2023 at 5:38 pm

Yeah? Toyota has announce their interest to joint with BYD to produce ev car so if you like a Byd with a Toyota badge then it’s definitely coming

• Autobahn on Dec 16, 2023 at 5:30 pm

What ev u drive bro? The germans? The american?
    No… the chinese (park belakang kedai jauh2)

• Jessie on Dec 17, 2023 at 9:12 pm

I wish to know more about BYD Dolphins,what’s your opinion? TQ

• KalauDahMiskin on Jan 17, 2024 at 8:58 am

Lebih baik beli the new Alza. Murah dan lagi convienient. Tak payah teruk2 nak charge berjam2. Isi jer minyak bole bawak sampai perlis. Lagipon lepas register dekat PADU bole dapat minyak murah. So apa ada hal. Beli kereta mahal2 mati tinggal jugak…

• bamkai on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:15 pm

sked later i buy this x5 phev owner ask me why i buy china car huhuhu