Mercedes-Benz EQB fire: company operating EV charger found to be unlicensed – Energy Commission

Following the incident of fire that consumed a Mercedes-Benz EQB at a dealership in Johor on the eve of the new year, the company operating the electric vehicle charging bay was found to be operating without a license from the Energy Commission, the commission said in a statement on Facebook.

According to the commission, energy supply activities can only be carried out with a valid license, in accordance with the Electricity Supply Act 1999 and the related 1994 regulations, the statement read. To date, there are no injuries to victims or firefighting and rescue personnel in this incident.

The EQB, the vehicle involved was destroyed in the fire. Meanwhile 5% of the premises measuring 256 square metres was destroyed, while 20% of the EV charging bay was destroyed, and the commission is working to identify the cause of the incident, according to the statement.

Prior to this, a Tesla Model Y was found on social media to have caught fire in Puchong in October last year.

On a more general note, comprehensive motor insurance covers fire damage, and does not require the special perils add-on, which is needed for flood damage cover.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Somebody needs to be responsible for this. Bribery is too prevailant and is sickening

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • PHBN Korup on Jan 12, 2024 at 2:01 pm

When the leader is corrupt, nothing will change.

• JasonK on Jan 12, 2024 at 10:32 pm

Wow… PN is better ya? Rotflol… BN was wonderful ya? Brought our country to such wonderful development status

• another fraud case happened

• FireAce on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:36 pm

Wonder if insurance will refuse cover / Partial cover because charging at unlicensed EV charger. Just like normal petrol car insurance, some will argue for cover if you wreck at dirt road in jungle/dusun.

• Muhammad on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:06 am

From what i heard from my friends that work in mercedes..it was a customer’s car. if thats the case knowing its Mercedes bens fault..could just just get new car.. olso it was funny when my friends defending their company cause i always mention “ kereta ev kau x leh caya la nanti tibe2 terbakar”

• kckfen on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:48 pm

What is the name of the company???

• So what dealership is that? Why car dealer want to install charger with no licence? Ok, apart from license issue, what are the real cause? Don’t just use license as a camouflage to something fundamental that EV owners need to know. How long will the investigation take place? We want to knpw the real cause of the fire.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:37 pm

Compensation…Sir…u kidding..ask yourself..if u r the CEO of the insurer,will u approve the claim,once the adjuster tables the claim?
      The insurer said like that, u can send your car to any rogue charging outlet ,maybe at dirt cheap rates,but actually r time bomb fire hazards.
      They can insists payouts only, at licenced charging outlets.
      Hello,most insurers will let u collect the ash,at your costs..u tangong the few hundred thousand RM HP loan that requires servicing.
      Thats why,dont simply jump into the EV bandwagon.
      Happy loan servicing to the Mercedes EV owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
      • FireAce on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:51 pm

New label will be put on all charging station, just like in parking lot.

It reads “CHARGED AT YOUR OWN RISK. Company reserved the right to sue car owner for damages if your EV blew up & damaged our facilities”. Hahahaha

• Car was said to be charged at Mercedes outlet so mercedes may compensate with exchange car of similar make.

• YB Kunte Kinta on Jan 12, 2024 at 8:14 pm

U r daydreaming.
          This is not the kencing manis Bezza,where perodua undertake to compensate the poor Ms Naga for a defective engine.
          This is due to an unlicenced charging outlet.
          You r already warned of charging at your own risk.
          Somemore,an unlicenced outlet is giving bullets for the insurer to deny claims,faham ?
          An unlicenced outlet means BOmba ,Majlis has not inspected the outlet..definitely TIDAK LULUS claim 100%.

• FireAce on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:57 pm

If it’s Charging Station problem, Merc brand will suffer for installing lousy & unlicensed charger. If car is the cause of fire, Merc brand will suffer because the car is a Merc. We will never know the real answer.

• Cannot be on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:00 pm

It cannot be just due to the unlicensed installation. It has to be made clear which one caused fire, the car or the cabling or the charging station.

In this case, it’s most likely the CAR ITSELF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Squid on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:14 pm

First u said must be made clear what caused it. Then u make assumption its most likely the car itself. U want it to be clear but u make people blur blur lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Covid everywhere :-) on Jan 12, 2024 at 12:31 pm

After the car post mortem, experts found out that the car battery was positive to Covid…

• 4GR-FSE on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:03 pm

Merc dealership’s negligence.
    Failing to do a proper due diligent before installation.
    The procurement department must take up the responsibility.

• You scratch my back on Jan 11, 2024 at 7:20 pm

Wont be surprising at all if that unlicensed company has connection to someone in the dealership.

• This is Malaysia! If you know who to “feed”, no need licence!

• Yeahsure on Jan 11, 2024 at 5:11 pm

We lack trust in everything…we live in a highly corrupted society, so any official statement is always fishy and doubtful…

• Nvm, just go back to EV FB page finding excuses while comforting each other.

Every journey to outstation also need to post to FB to prove they did not get stranded with empty batt. That’s pathetic.

• Therealmerc on Jan 11, 2024 at 5:49 pm

Bullshit la. You think a big company like Merc will hire unlicensed vendors to install chargers? Lol. This is just a cover up la to prevent the ppl from not knowing the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • What Responsibilities on Jan 11, 2024 at 6:33 pm

Got a feeling this is to shift the blame away from Mercedes’ cars and onto someone else, they didn’t even mention who is company that operates the EV chargers. Basically putting the blame on a faceless (maybe even non-existent) company so no one can hold Mercedes-Benz and the Mercedes dealership liable for any damages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Pandai on Jan 12, 2024 at 9:08 am

You are so right.This is clearly a fault with the mercedes car. My charger at home also does not have any special license how come my BYD does not catch fire? European and Japs are too far behind in battery making and EV tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Corrupt country on Jan 11, 2024 at 8:23 pm

Malaysia terkenal dengan lesen kopi or lesen terbang

• So, which employees “forged documents” and “pocket profits” this time? very sus

• Kenny Chang on Jan 12, 2024 at 8:59 am

License are only regulatory, most important is that the connection is properly secure cos we are dealing with high amperes. Most probably due to loose connection or the plug-in not secure.

• lates model on Jan 12, 2024 at 9:55 am

Car brand caught fire if happen few cases and news well spread, reputation down the drain then nobody dare to buy the model.

• saya mau tau apa jadi pada owner..dapat compensation from mercedes or charger company? atau rugi 100%?

• Henry292 on Jan 12, 2024 at 10:06 am

This claim begs a bigger issue. How many of the public charges installed around the country is by unlicensed company/installers? Paultan & other auto journalist should investigate this issue as it involves the safety & integrity of entire EV industry. At least report which companies are unlicensed so that users can avoid using them for time being. The next question is on home charging. If car burns or house burns down. Who to blame? All portable charges mandate for Sirim approval? Which company is certified installers for home charging bacause if owner just simply plug into home socket & car burns then the blame shift to owner illegally installed charging port without certified electrical line.

• Respect our authorities on Jan 13, 2024 at 10:03 am

Without license means the premise and facility was not inspected by the authority.
    Without the inspection of the work done, equipment used, load testing being carried out, the safety risk is there. So, I trust the Energy Commission’s finding. It is like running an industrial machine or production floor without JKKP (Jabatan Kilang) approval.. You run at risk that DOSH may stop or charge you once an incident is found. Or operating a premise without Bomba certificate. You run at risk that insurance won’t cover.
    Please people, before commenting do respect the authorities and institutions who are tasked to do due diligence.

• Dunno what 7 u say on Jan 15, 2024 at 7:34 am

Operating without license always found out every time something happens.

• Let’s be constructive and not jump to conclusion, what I understand is all the chargers were installed before commission roll out the licensing and requirements. I stand corrected anyhow and hope things will improve.