Beijing 2024: Geely Panda Knight, Kart, RM35k – could Proton rebadge smaller-than-Kancil EVs to fight P2?

At Auto China 2024 in Beijing, we managed to check out the latest Geely Panda Mini models, the Panda Knight and Panda Kart, the latter being launched at the show. The company’s cheap and cheerful EVs have been around since late 2022, but this is the first time we’ve clapped our eyes on them.

They are certainly tiny – the Knight measures just 3,135 mm long, 1,565 mm wide and 1,655 mm tall, with its wheelbase a scant 2,015 mm long. The bespoilered Kart model is slightly longer at 3,150 mm (it’s also 15 mm narrower and 30 mm taller, the latter on account of sizeable rear wing), but they’re still minuscule – by comparison, a Perodua Kancil is 260 mm longer in length and wheelbase.

Both cars are obvious derivatives of the Panda Mini, sharing that car’s round headlights, clamshell bonnet, pill-shaped body side indentations, body-coloured B-pillar “fin” and C-shaped taillights. Where they differ are in their styling treatments, with the Knight taking on a rugged mini-4×4 bent.

Geely Panda Knight (left) and Kart

The orange car you see here sports the obligatory black plastic body cladding (with a cool speckled finish), chunky front and rear bumpers, a new front “grille” with six raised “dashes”, a rear spoiler and 14-inch two-tone alloy wheels.

Then there are the bits that push the Knight into ridiculous Ford Bronco-aping territory, such as the bonnet-mounted grab handles, tow hooks, roof rails and even a ladder on the driver’s side. These look to be merely decorative, however – I wouldn’t recommend you putting any form of load on them, and you should definitely refrain from climbing that ladder.

Geely Panda Kart

Meanwhile, the Panda Kart looks like it’s ready for the race track, with details like a deep front air dam, side skirts, fake front fender vents and a sizeable rear diffuser, plus the aforementioned rear wing. The flat hubcaps for the steel wheels also feature a cute design that mimics the directional buttons on a game controller. You also get pink accents throughout if you choose the black paint.

Despite the look-faster bits, all Panda Mini models get the same front motor, producing 41 PS (30 kW) and 110 Nm of torque – barely enough for them to reach a top speed of 100 km/h. On the flip side, both the Knight and Kart get the latest Mini’s upgraded 17.03 kWh battery, which delivers a range of 200 km on China’s lenient CLTC cycle.

They can also be DC fast charged at up to 22 kW – taking the battery from 30 to 80% charge in 30 minutes – while a 6 kW AC wallbox can charge the Panda Knight and Kart from 20 to 100% in four and a half hours. The charge ports are located at the front, where you’ll also find the “Geome” badging; the cars are sold through both Geely and Geometry channels.

All Panda Mini models are identical on the inside, save for some minor trim and colour changes. That means you get a barebones four-seater cabin entirely made out of hard plastics. Despite this, it looks pretty modern, helped by the fitment of an eight-inch freestanding infotainment touchscreen and a slimline 9.2-inch LCD instrument display.

You also get some nice-to-have mod-cons, such as automatic air conditioning, power windows (auto down, but not up) and a rotary gear selector, although the handbrake is still a manual lever. You also get a surprisingly decent amount of rear seat space; this comes at the expense of boot space, which is practically non-existent with all seats up.

It’s in the safety department where the Panda Mini models let the side down. There’s just one airbag for the driver (the passenger gets a couple of storage cubbies instead), and you can forget about having autonomous emergency braking – you don’t even get stability control!

The flip side is that the Panda Mini models are cheap. There are no prices for the Panda Kart yet, but the Panda Knight retails at 53,900 yuan (RM35,500). That would make it an ideal candidate for a cheap Proton electric vehicle, although the national carmaker would have to modify it to pass UN ECE regulations – think dual airbags and stability control at the minimum.

What do you think – should Proton bring in the Panda Mini models to take Perodua head-on? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

GALLERY: Geely Panda Knight at Geely Driving Experience 2024

GALLERY: Geely Panda Kart at Auto China 2024

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton has been smart for avoiding going head with P2 in the last couple of years. It would be disaster if the choose to do it again.

• Sembang Kencang on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:07 pm

Lol…Proton Ceo last time said Proton no longer compete with Perodua but with Honda, Toyota on price and quality. Absolutely delusional!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • KIA Sue GT on Apr 30, 2024 at 10:02 pm

Why not? Good example is Hyundai can compete with KIA

• newme on May 02, 2024 at 3:14 pm

You are talking about Hyundai and KIA. Both brands come from a country with smart and hardworking culture.

• Meanwhile someone in Proton says they will co-develop with Geely, not rebadge anything as EV….

• fruit panda on Apr 30, 2024 at 5:49 pm

Behind are baby/small pet seat?

• Frankc on Apr 30, 2024 at 6:51 pm

Maybe!! But at rm35k…. Is saga cheaper?

• paanjang16 on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:14 pm

To fight with the Axia, Saga, Bezza, this Panda need to be:-
    1) Competitively priced
    2) Have safety equipment like stability control, airbag. ADAS to me is optional at this price. Although I am curious as to how strong the shell is.
    3) Have range to reach Kota Baru from KL
    4) Can seat 5 adults
    5) Can catch up with KING on highway. 100kph is not enough

For use in within Klang valley or urban environment it is sufficient so long don’t venture out from town. Good car for short trips for shopping and sending kids to school. Single phase 7kW is sufficient for a small car like this. Long distance better opt for Saga, Bezza, Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • ThePolygon on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:05 pm

I think min also Seagull lah. This one is a bit unsafe. Seagull at least 74hp with 305 km CLTC range. Can be on the road as an inbetween Axia and Myvi spec.

• There is no more small car from P2, proton should go to this segment

• This is absolutely perfect for mom’s car. Urban or suburban setting. Perfect for picking up kids, and small enough and will not be so overwhelming for moms to use.
    But for me, Proton/Geely should bring back Arena. Arena was produced ahead of its time. Nowadays, demand for pickup truck is skyrocketing. Cheap workhorse are very high in demand right now.
    Having a 30k – 40k workhorse or truck probably will stole a large chunk of 4×4 demand in Malaysia.

• I might buy one to go to work. Univ students would love it. Safer than a kapcai. But doubt it will sell at 35k.

• rebadge this rebadge that.
    toy cars dont belong in Malaysian roads.
    “co-develop” is thrown outside the window now too.

• comments here simply shows Malaysians are too poor, both financially and mentally.

even single car model must match myvi, 4 doors etc etc.

this car is clearly for urban use. how often do you have more than 2 people in your car? if you do, then this is clearly not for you.

there are so many people that hardly open their rear door. not everyone has 25 family members to ferry, and you dont need to drive your alphard to work or to speedmart99 alone.

• Sohai on May 01, 2024 at 9:58 am

Proton wants to go up market. The ambition is to challenge the Japanese brands, not go downstream and fight with p2 at the basement.

• mechanicnextdoor on May 01, 2024 at 11:46 am

Looks like PT simply didn’t understand the existence of such a product range in the first place. Importing it to MY would be a waste and futile for a vehicle designed to maneuver tight and compact roads in the cityscape. There’s a reason why such a car is small AND slow.

• A friend came back from the show and the opening of Proton’s RnD ‘section’. I saw the same photos and concluded Proton would probably be on the right track IF they (Geely+Proton) were to bring in the tiny Panda. I’d go for the Kart if it’s available now in KL!
    It is what many Malaysians are looking for if they want to switch to EV for the first time…the ones in the market aren’t budget friendly to B40 and many M40 families.

• Punch is tumbuk on May 01, 2024 at 4:10 pm

Lesson learnt- chk axle b4 buy ok

• TempeKeras on May 01, 2024 at 4:37 pm

Topu Kecil

• Kenny Wayne Chee Tak Sing on May 02, 2024 at 12:37 am

Ong season is here nice red cute cute car good to buy for my 2 daughters. Thank you Gilly and hope you prosper selling all over the world.

• Geely will need to share the product with drb hicom and local suppliers so prices will not be affordable.

• Tan Chin Sown on May 02, 2024 at 4:34 am

No more Mini Cars that are not safe.
    I. see many dont survived in tiny cars. Malaysia should altogether ban mini cars. Allowed only safe of safe cars that csn survived crashed.

• Pro-Palestine on May 04, 2024 at 9:59 am

So your tiny brain believe that a tiny car is less safe than a kapcai and that is why must ban mini car? Hmmm. I have seen many stupid people but you are taking stupid to a next level. Lol

• pls take my money. I luv it