The Negeri Sembilan state government’s free bus service for the Seremban, Jempol and Nilai routes has been terminated. According to state MB Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun, the service was discontinued on June 1 due to the low response from the public.
“We have been operating the free bus service for a long time, but the response has been less than encouraging. Most of the users were foreign nationals, not locals,” he explained. He said that the service was replaced by the myBAS Konsesi service, which is operated by the transport ministry.
“Since we now have the myBAS service, which is a public bus service covering the same routes across all areas and districts in the state, we feel that the free bus service is no longer necessary,“ he said.
Aminuddin said that the myBAS service also offered similar benefits, including free rides for senior citizens, persons with disabilities, children and school students, in addition to covering the same routes from villages to districts. About 90 myBAS buses were available, covering all districts in the state, as Bernama reports.
“The public can still use this bus service as usual, according to the scheduled routes. However, if there is a strong demand to reinstate the free bus service, we will reconsider it in the future,“ he said. The state government began the free bus service on January 21, 2020, with a frequency of one bus every hour from 6.30am to 5:30pm, covering routes in Seremban, Nilai, and Jempol.
Poor response or bus all missing in action?
Funny how the private owned and run omnibus companies survived decades before and after Merdeka yet when the gomen wanted to become champion for rakyat and terminated those private companies, the gomen themselves cannot survived lols. Free is not necessarily good.
So the bus doesn’t arrive on time in our Rasah area and u cancel the service?
Should improve route near universities and any near places with schools. There should be more student in need and will be using it. The so called mybus around my university route is SO HARD TO STOP BY here that’s why it’s always empty LMAO