Tesla Robotaxi debuts – self-driving EV with no pedals, steering wheel; production in 2026; under USD30,000

Tesla’s ‘Redwood’ project has finally been revealed, and as expected, it isn’t a low-cost electric vehicle (EV) but a robotaxi that is simply called the Robotaxi (or Cybercab). Before getting into the details, it’s best to understand company CEO Elon Musk’s vision for the purpose-built vehicle.

In his address at the recently concluded ‘We, Robot’ event, he said that “today’s transportation sucks” as it costs too much, isn’t safe and isn’t sustainable. To add to that, cars can cost too much to buy and own, but the most important thing highlighted was time.

According to Musk, cars are typically used only 10 hours a week and left idle for most of time. With a fully autonomous car, that usage can increase by as much as 10 times, indirectly making it 10 times more valuable in terms of service.

With autonomy, you get more of your time back as there’s no need to look for parking or perform mundane things like getting your car cleaned and charged. The claim is autonomous cars give time back to people, allowing them to do whatever they want as the car brings them to their destination without any human intervention. He likened the transition to elevators, which previously required an operator to get you to your desired floor but you now simply push a button to do just that.

Safety was also a big talking point, with Musk saying a self-driving system (basically a robot if you want to tie in with the event’s theme) can live “millions of experiences” and trained by data from the widespread use of the company’s Autopilot and Full Self-Driving (FSD) systems.

With the concept talk out of the way, what is the Robotaxi all about then? Well, it is a two-seat car that appears in profile as a sleeker, more compact Model 3 with a sloping roofline and butterfly doors, but is visibly narrower. The interior does away with a conventional steering wheel and pedals, with just two seats, an armrest and a large touchscreen available to passengers, along with a sizeable boot.

The Robotaxi is claimed to be equipped with a more advanced version of the FSD that can be used unsupervised as opposed to the current version that still requires drivers to be ready to take over when required. You’ll also notice the lack of a charging port door, and that’s because the Robotaxi supports inductive charging.

Musk demonstrated the Robotaxi’s capability in a controlled setting at the Warner Bros. Studio – the site of the event – by simply getting into one of 50 units present and was driven to the main stage. He won’t be the only one to experience the Robotaxi either, as attendees will also be given rides in the EV with other examples roaming around.

He didn’t provide detailed specifications of the Robotaxi but he did confirm that it is overspecced with Tesla’s AI5 computer, which was revealed in June this year and boasts 10 times the capability of the existing Hardware 4.0 found in today’s Teslas.

Unlike some robotaxis, Tesla’s offering will be available for purchase at a cost of below USD30,000 (about RM128k) – that kind of meets the “affordable Tesla” dream – with production slated to begin sometime in 2026. In that sense, it’s not really a service you’re getting but a personal autonomous robot car that can get you to where you need to be without you touching the steering wheel, and then proceeding to get itself cleaned or charged before returning to get you to your next destination. This is a little different from what Rimac is offering.

According to Musk, the unsupervised FSD will make its way to future units of the Model 3 and Y and be available to use in states like Texas and California first. Other models will also get it too, but whether you’re allowed to use it will depend on local regulations.

At this point, the Robotaxi sounds a lot like the cars you see in the 2004 movie I, Robot (see the connection?), and that’s precisely what Musk trying to sell: a world where robots make our lives easier to spend time on things we want. Of course, we’ll have to see if the ambition matches the reality in the coming years.

In addition to the Robotaxi, Musk also introduced the Robovan that should do the same things as its smaller autonomous sibling, but with the ability to ferry up to 20 passengers and goods. Functionality-wise, it shouldn’t be too dissimilar to an automated rapid transit (ART) trackless tram system, although it does look more futuristic – Musk insists vehicles should look that way to reflect his vision of the future.

Musk ended his presentation by saying the learnings from autonomous vehicles can also be applied to robotics, so he brought out the latest version of the Tesla Bot (codename Optimus). What started out as a man in a suit is now a working humanoid robot that can walk on its own without assistance and serve drinks at the event. The goal of this, as the CEO explains, is to provide people with their own “personal R2D2 or C-3PO” to help them with chores and other tasks.

The Tesla CEO has, in recent times, attempted to steer the company away is core business making and selling EVs to being an artificial intelligence (AI) robotics company. Today’s event is meant to reinforce that stance, but it remains to be seem whether the Robotaxi (and its other stage mates) can accomplish the steep task asked of it.

GALLERY: Tesla Robotaxi

GALLERY: Tesla Robovan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Xiaomao on Oct 11, 2024 at 12:20 pm

Wait till robotaxi haven’t meets our superman mat rempit. Hopefully that day won’t come. Malaysian roads are already pretty dangerous without people playing computer games while the cars are in “full self-drive” mode.

• paanjang16 on Oct 11, 2024 at 12:41 pm

This Telsa Model 1 looks really cool and it is definitely something I will consider. Too bad the base version has no steering wheel and pedals. Have to top up for steering wheel and pedals.

The Robovan pictures looks terribly fake and AI made.

• Lionel Messi on Oct 11, 2024 at 12:41 pm

The robotaxi & robovan are seriously looking like they are from the future and that’s really impressive. If they managed to pull this off eventually, Tesla will definitely be in the history for the innovation.

• The Cybertruck was said to be from the future too when first revealed. And then reality hits…

• and what is the reality genius?

• Eyawn mask on Oct 14, 2024 at 12:29 am

Overpriced rusting stainless steel with design coming from the past of kid drawings. Yeahh, you read that right, low quality stainless steel that rust over time. That’s the reality.

• ThePolygon on Oct 11, 2024 at 1:22 pm

I hope whoever is the minister of transport that time will look into this. Parking is a freaking $$$ nowadays with cars idling in buildings taking up so much space.

• SureNiceBo on Oct 11, 2024 at 1:36 pm

Cleanliness could probably be a problem..

• mas elon on Oct 11, 2024 at 1:52 pm

siapa percaya dia layak dapat kad OKU

• Diam-ler on Oct 11, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Another syiok sendiri car after their failed Cybertruck. Who is gonna buy/fund a two-seater taxi? Go to China, there are plenty of better mobility solutions. Even the self driving Hyundai Ioniq is what people want

• Tesla Cybertruck launched with starting price @ $39k,

now still not yet reach target price and sales ?

• Cyberdynes Sky Net on Oct 11, 2024 at 6:48 pm

Every tyre-clamp in this world could locked your Cybercab tyres wheels

• Enough of cina car on Oct 12, 2024 at 11:00 am

This is call vision and technology. Not the copy here and there technology. Worst is after copied, all local cina cars copied each others.

• Typical Elon with his syok sendiri product intro.. Car remotely control by someone, just for the demo and to get people excited.. then delay production for years with bullshit reason..When eventually come out, since this not for individual owned, no company dare to buy for massive taxi business and get sued if accident happen, because thats what Tesla known for..

• Sohai on Oct 13, 2024 at 9:56 am

Never mind self driving, just make this the normal EV under usd30k.
    Too much fluff and not enough substance in musk’s vision. He needs a Tim Cook to help put his dream on the ground.

• gyatt damn on Jun 01, 2025 at 8:00 pm

can’t wait for Robobus