We may need to use our MyKad to get RON95 petrol subsidy – “maha kaya” T15 to pay more fr mid-2025

We may need to present our MyKad (Identity Card or IC) at petrol stations in Malaysia before fuelling up soon. This identification system is among the proposed solutions currently under discussion to carry out targeted subsidies for RON95 petrol that will come into place from mid-2025, as announced by the prime minister Anwar Ibrahim on Friday.

When implemented, 85% of Malaysians will continue to enjoy RON95 fuel at its subsidised price of RM2.05 per litre, while the T15 (top 15% earners), described by the PM as the maha kaya or super rich, will have to pay more. Presently, unsubsidised RON95 is priced at RM2.76 per litre.

How exactly the pump prices will be set remains in question. One solution is for us to use our MyKad before fuelling up, according to transport minister Anthony Loke.

“This means there will be two pricing mechanisms — one for eligible Malaysians, and another for the T15 and foreigners. However, this is just a proposal, and more details will be announced by the Finance Ministry in the coming months,” Loke was quoted as saying by The Edge.

The idea of using the MyKad to set the pump price (whether one should receive the fuel subsidy or not) is not exactly new. Back in 2014, then-deputy finance minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan announced that a similar concept was in the works for the petrol subsidy rationalisation programme.

Back then, the plan was to have three separate tiers of RON95 pricing. Those earning below RM5,000 per month will receive full subsidy, while those earning between RM5,000 and RM10,000 will get partial subsidy. No subsidised fuel for those earning over RM10,000 per month.

For 2025, with the distinction set to a relatively arbitrary T15 classification, we will have to wait and see what the actual income threshold will be set at (to determine if you’re eligible to enjoy petrol subsidies or not).

So dear Malaysians, what do you think of this MyKad idea, and how much should the income threshold be set at? Discuss below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express mixed sentiments on the MyKad-based petrol subsidy system, highlighting concerns about fairness, practicality, and potential loopholes. Many believe the income threshold of RM15,000/month is not truly "maha kaya," especially after expenses, and critique the complexity of implementation, fearing abuse and leakage—such as using drivers' ICs or foreign vehicles. Some suggest alternative methods like direct cash transfers or limiting subsidies to vehicle types or engine sizes. There are frustrations about how to accurately assess income and authentic beneficiaries, and skepticism about whether the system can prevent misuse. Overall, opinions reflect a desire for fair, simple, and effective subsidy measures, with many criticizing current approaches as complicated or prone to exploitation, emphasizing that subsidies should target those truly in need.

• Hopefuly T15 is above rm15k/m per household.
    Below that is definitely not maha kaya.
    Barely enough to support family with 2 kids .
    No assistance or subsidiy rcvd like b40 also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Maha Pokai on Oct 20, 2024 at 6:18 pm

What ???….RM15k/m is not maha kaya la dude. Cost of living is soo high…..maha kaya is more like monthly household above rm100k. 15k is like just surviving in KV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 21, 2024 at 9:43 am

OK la 85% not affected
        U buy car with loan 100K
        2.5% interest 2.5K yearly lo
        Little impact unless U’re Grab

• What talk you? I earn RM1.7k per month and I can afford to feed 2 wives, 10 kids and 16 cats. We live happily in a rented PPR flat. Don’t ask if I pay rental on time kikiki

• YB Kunte Kinte on Oct 20, 2024 at 7:34 pm

Simple lah..Mr Surprise Rafizi..just credit half yearly Rm400 to 450 x6 into those eligible recepients bank account like STR.
      No need modify petrol station IT.No need show IC.Just pay market price at pump.Mind u ,at most petrol stations only 2 banglas able to assist in case of any issue.Can u imagine,a big petrol station with a dozen pumps.
      Each qualified rakyat is given a fixed amount/quota.If there is no quota..some dudes will keep pumping petrol like there is no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • stasta on Oct 20, 2024 at 10:21 pm

the question is how do govt determine who qualified to receive the subsidy? bear in mind not everyone owns or drives a car

• Rider Foodpanda on Oct 21, 2024 at 10:25 pm

We gonna ditch our bikes when this new pricing mechanism start. We gonna stand at petrol stations and sell our quota to T15. Easy money, no need to rush for jobs, weave in traffic and risk our lives

• Squid on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:23 am

Above USD3,500 per month consider maha kaya? It’s a damn joke

• Invoke Meleisia on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:17 pm

This lapizi has been feeding PMX the wrong formulas

• really on Oct 22, 2024 at 6:41 am

RM15k/m per household is a couple working in lanyard company who are senior executives. they could work around 5 years, just starting a family, start buying a house and commute around 1 hour/day in a car.

comfortable, but not really as rich as your think.

• clifford joseph on Oct 20, 2024 at 1:07 pm

Presentation of myriad is not enough. The proper control is to use thumb print with my cad using the card reader similar to the one used at banks to verify the transactions. This way will prevent abuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Iris scanner on Oct 21, 2024 at 1:45 pm

plenty humans their mycard has faulty chip or and faded finger Thumbprints. Just go asks the banks’ clerk how many cases they deal daily.

• Bank teller on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:19 pm

Use eraser rub on the chip or spit on the chip then rub with finger

• kongres kuli kuli semenanjung on Oct 20, 2024 at 1:38 pm

Got loopholes. Orang kaya besar can always instruct their kuli chauffeur ahmad driver to pump RON95….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • orang KL on Oct 23, 2024 at 6:45 am

If got a driver, meaning owner must be kaya, they drive luxury car, might not pump RON95….

• Chittagong Bhai kiosk clerk on Oct 23, 2024 at 10:27 pm

Me agreed. Me see megat the driver of his bossku car Bentley or V6 Alpat or S600 come to pump RON95 every fortnight

• anonymous on Oct 20, 2024 at 1:52 pm

More lost and found IC at petrol station.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Boon tan on Oct 20, 2024 at 1:55 pm

How about businesses vehicles? Drivers? How are they gonna refuel? Is there a cap per IC? Lending mykad to refuel with small fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Jona Lew on Oct 20, 2024 at 2:49 pm

Yes so balance, t15 pay tax higher and next year another 2% for Annual income more than 100k. Yet can’t get the benefit, instead to help out those poor . Why not just remove the subsidy once and for all ? Make it premium and “chances” to reduce rempit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 10
    • I agreed with you 1000000 percent. Fkin mat rempit ppl cant even have a good night sleep f them all.

• Benjamin Satanyahu on Oct 23, 2024 at 12:23 pm

So your concern is Mat Rempit huh? Hardly any cases involving Mat Rempit smashing into poor innocent road users and killing them apart from killing themselves. But drink and drive road users are killing people left and right and that is scarier than Mat Rempit. Plus making RON95 a premium is a fucking selfish idea. Do you think about low or mid income man/woman who need to use car to continue their stall business, send their kids to school? Fuck you asshole!

• Anonymous on Oct 20, 2024 at 2:54 pm

T15 if purely going by income are not all maha kaya. Many are just ordinary people who happen to be in higher income jobs due to combination of factors – education, opportunities and sometimes luck. Many in this group still have to support family and parents. This group already are subjected to the highest taxes in the country.

Subsidy rationalisation is fine, just don’t use arbitrary criteria like income without considering individual circumstances. I pity those that are at the borderline of the income group. If Maha Kaya, should go refer to those in the T1 category.

GST is still the best and fairer taxation system. Even PMX said so, just that due to the way they used it to demonise Najib back then, they are not able to bring it back without comitting political harakiri – karma.

Fully expect consumer prices and inflation to rise due to both min salary increase and other subsidy rationalisation. Hopefully it wont be as major an uptick as seen in 2023.

Worldwide recession is likely within the next 2 years going by economic indicators. It will be interesting to see how things turn out then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
    • Firdaus on Oct 20, 2024 at 6:57 pm

Agreed on the point on GST & Najib.

Recession….well ever since 1998, next year is recession year as said by the opposition!

• From what I know, T1 category uses RON97, as in the car salesman themselves will remind them to only pump RON97 instead of paying more for their damaged car engines, this includes the pricier Toyota cars. It would be an interesting article for PT authors to look into, perhaps readers could then have a rough idea how much a person is going to pay for car loan to afford a car than needs to use RON97.

• Frankc on Oct 20, 2024 at 3:09 pm

Not practical leh. Why not give credits to tax payers. Those with low earnings that don’t need to pay tax will get credits in cash. That will encourage every income earner to report income irrespective of amount they earn.

• proxy on Oct 20, 2024 at 3:35 pm

any T15 need proxy service?..i can provide

• Ssare on Oct 20, 2024 at 4:02 pm

I dont know bout it but I think ppl is increasingly growing uneasy to this money government. All ppl around me is so piss off of this government that everyone feel cheated choosing them. Almost everyone I know will not vote for them next round and all chinese friends is hating DAP and choose MCA or absent the next time. Personally I feel they never add value to the system at all while burdening the ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • A New Madani is needed on Oct 20, 2024 at 7:44 pm

Oh no…Trojan Horse from MCA
      Just remove Rafixi ..Chose a new PM from PKR.
      Dont experiment with the greenies..look how much they pilfer during the covid lockdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Juyert on Oct 20, 2024 at 5:02 pm

Children who bought car registered under their name for their elders will made the old folks missingbout the subsidies then. Since there are 8 months ro go ahead, they should make a thorough studies first.

• “Our Oil Our Rights” on Oct 20, 2024 at 5:50 pm

People will do anything to get subsidies. See how rakyat responded when BR1M was first introduced. They would fill up the forms to ensure they wouldn’t miss the fund.
    My suggestion is to keep the price floating at unsubsidised rate for all. Then, to gain the subsidy, Government should take this opportunity to enforce all to file in income tax every year. By filing the tax form, then only those qualified will get the rebate or refund.
    This exercise will be more secured than using MyKad at the pump. Foreigners would not be able to use local’s MyKad to gain the subsidy. MahaKaya wont feel the pinch and the deserved one will be more law abiding citizens to enjoy the subsidy.
    And above all, strict punishment for foreign registered car & local operator for using/allowing Ron95 to be sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Ben Ja Min on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:48 am

How do you address Malaysian MyKAD holders but driving a foreign vehicle?

• IT'S OUR OIL on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:43 am

Floating fuel price and tax refund is the better system, IMO. So every time you fill up, get the e-invoice as proof of purchase, submit to HASIL during tax filing and get the refund the following year if you’re qualified. Although, a reasonable limit should be in place to be fair.

• just do like diesel but maybe increase the income threshold like only for those below RM300k per annum. RON 95 float it like diesel but those under RM300k annual income receive monthly allowances for petrol. Only eligable person will get the allowance.

• Why rich people don’t like Malaysia? because they always pay more and get less in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • paparadzi on Oct 20, 2024 at 6:30 pm

MyKad is not foolproof.
    They should use 7G-powered microchips implanted directly behind the ear of those eligible to receive the subsidy, to be detected by AI at the fuel pumps.
    No implant, no subsidy.

• Edward on Oct 20, 2024 at 6:45 pm

Ron95 only 1 market price. Those car eligible will get subsidy/discount rate determine by government, for vehicle market value <RM200K. Market value is determine when renew road tax base on year and model. Petrol station have to input plate number to check subsidy eligibility.

• Ridingdider on Oct 20, 2024 at 7:10 pm

So, legal resident foreigners who do not have a mykad but still work and pay taxes here will not be able to get the subsidy. If this goes forward you can say goodbye. Already foreigners cannot use My JPJ app, pay taxes as tourists in national parks or hotels etc. This would be another unfair measure, since they pay taxes same as any malaysian.

• Targeted diesel has been implemented for quite some time already. Why don’t follow the same method? Give the subsidy directly by crediting the amount into the account of those eligible. More effective compared to controlling misuse of IC or using other people to fill up mahakaya’s cars.

• stasta on Oct 20, 2024 at 10:21 pm

the question is how do you determine who qualified to receive the subsidy? bear in mind not everyone owns or drives a car

• Nurul Izzah on Oct 20, 2024 at 7:55 pm

Tax the rich, help the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • the socialist on Oct 21, 2024 at 11:16 am

why should malaysian be rich then? if i get rich, gov will tax me. might as well stay poor.

• Autodriver on Oct 21, 2024 at 4:08 pm

Encourage people to remain in poor to get helped from government? Rich people sit there do nothing and get richer automatically?

• Janji dicapati on Oct 20, 2024 at 7:55 pm

Refer my name

• Too many loopholes if that’s actually the mechanism. How about company car drivers. Or working couples can just get one to pay instead of the other. Probably easier to just set a cap beyond which you can’t get subsidized petrol per month. Same as electricity

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 20, 2024 at 8:53 pm

syabas, say equal rights, semua rakyat sama, but no benefits for those who pay more taxes. note not those dodgy cina businessmen that dont pay taxes yea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Nopee on Oct 20, 2024 at 11:10 pm

They paid but less. Better than those you knw who who dont even pay a cent dont even register for income tax and save their money under their pillow haha..thats why gov cant do like the diesel money transfer way.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 21, 2024 at 2:10 pm

u must be the aforementioned cina 8481 businessman that escape tax

• IM Malaysian on Oct 20, 2024 at 9:43 pm

Fairy Tale T15 Musuh Negara by PMX… PMX and Lafidi should stop this…. Just take it all away… use a different system.

• ThePolygon on Oct 20, 2024 at 10:01 pm

Just give limited quota based on IC, if more than quota pay full price. Kan cakap T15 use more fuel and get more subsidy… so use more, pay more lah… everyone get thier fair share of limited subsidy. If not I can imagine B40 using their IC to pump one truck load and sell to T15.

• Mr AA on Oct 20, 2024 at 10:24 pm

Why so difficult. Just abolish the subsidy and give cash handouts to those who deserve. Like thailand, no fuel subsidy, the poor Ok je. This is like punishing the so called rich. By the way 15k permonth is not that rich lah

• Only one nation there , bro..
      The subsidisation for the population show proof already, can’t easily change…

• Pak Kau on Oct 21, 2024 at 6:39 am

The govt is encouraging the citizen to continue to be lazy so to get more subsidies….bravo!

• Autodriver on Oct 21, 2024 at 4:14 pm

Agreed. The poor one get more sweet and remain as poor. Gov should think of how to increase the citizens income instead over-subsidised to make them lazy. Look at western, the tax high on income tax and GST to provide ultra good welfare, the lazy one enjoy it while punish to those who work hard and got to pay more taxes. End up these taxpayers also not working hard as they feel unfair to pay tax to gov to fund to the lazy and poor one.

• akan banyak lah nanti minyak subsidi yang dijual di kedai2 runcit illegallly…. bila ada demand..adalah penawaran… la ni minyak camni dijual utk motosikal ja… lps ni kereta pun pakat2 beli…

• opmanmy on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:38 am

Complicated mechanism. Just remove the subsidy for all. No need all these kind of crap half-baked implementation.

One price for all. Less vehicle, less traffic jam, less pollution…use public transport, win-win for all and the environment.

Bad for oil company, lesser vehicles on the road. And bad for automotive business. See, win some lose some. Decide which one la!

• Baju Kuning on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:39 am

Comrades, let’s gather at dataran merdeka this weekend like good old days

• Edwin Low on Oct 21, 2024 at 8:47 am

most maha kaya drivers can use their IC to pump their bosses Mercedes S classes?

• Based on so many half baked thought plan in the past, don’t put much hope on this.

• why call people maha kaya? why the stereotype?

• Truth on Oct 21, 2024 at 9:27 am

If you’re gonna treat T15 like foreigners, they will be foreigners. Time to move all investment and asset to other countries.

I’m no economic genius here, but surely trying hard to attract foreign investor giving all sorts of relief and perks while turning away your own local investing capable people are stupid

• Ben Yap on Oct 21, 2024 at 9:35 am

PMX should slowly reduce subsidies to zero in 10 years time regardless if the B40 can catch up or not. this will drive the B40 to work harder and get better education. after 10 years if they are still so lax, then they have to live with the consequences of the choices they make. Subsidies will only be continued to those who have disabilities.

• Sohai on Oct 21, 2024 at 10:43 am

It will be a chaotic scene if there are 2 pricing for the same goods. It just creates another opportunity for arbitraging.
    Address income disparity at the source, ie, tax the higher income group. Income after tax, everyone should then be equal and spend the money however they like.
    On the fuel subsidy, my theory is that the ones that use more petrol are corporates. Sales person running around town claiming petrol allowances included. How is this addressed in the proposed system?
    At the end of the day, just introduce GST… less messy than what this government is trying to propose.

• Very good move by the government especially in the long term. Subsidy is a cancer, the money should be used to improve other more important public infra like hospitals, educations and public transportations. They should just remove subsidy altogether, reduce the number of cars on the road, reduce government & household debts and teach msians to spend money responsibly. We are what we are today because of the previous generation. We shouldnt condemn the next generation with our dependence on subsidies because they are the ones who will be paying and ourselves when we are old. Stay home more & exercise more. Live a better & healthier life. You dont need to be rich. Just need to be prudent

• Sam Ketot Al-Bantuti on Oct 21, 2024 at 12:45 pm

What about fake MyKad IC?
    Can bypass ah?

• Time to camp at fancy petrol station to provide services to T15s.
    Honestly, this is just poor planning altogether.
    Most people prefer contactless, just swipe cards at the pump’s machine.
    Now it’s a hassel to go the teller to show proof of citizenship/income status.

• Autodriver on Oct 21, 2024 at 4:04 pm

I am launghing at gov now. The unsubsidised RON95 is only RM 2.76. Why can’t the gov reduce the subsidy of RON95 and make it as RM 2.30 for all except T15. I think at this rate even if no subsidy the T15 won’t feel unfair. And also Malaysia RON95 is over subsidised, imagine Saudi RON 95 after convert is RM 2.67 per litre now (SAR 2.33). It is completely make sense to raise RM 0.25 to give less burden to gov. If we use 200 litres RON95 a month, it only cost RM 50 more. This is not sky high amount, if not afford then you should think twice to own a car or not.

Those who wanna bash me by comparing to Brunei, Brunei total population is only 450k and government has no burden to subsidise them. Malaysia last year car sales already 800k units and active vehicles approximately 24 millions on the road now.

• Noodle on Oct 21, 2024 at 4:28 pm

Wow… the data broker will be very happy collecting all your data…..

• Banker Hensem on Oct 21, 2024 at 6:39 pm

This method is stupid. It doesn’t give way for innovation, free market, nor economics improvement.

• Maha Nothing on Oct 21, 2024 at 7:13 pm

Are covering for all the handouts you are giving the so called poorer people, and you demonized the so called T15, this is not a proper solutions, demonizing people who are paying income tax to the country! So certain bracket of income earners that are paying taxes are yet again being penalised to feed a political agenda of staying in power. Do this often enough and there will be backlash. It is the rights of tax payers to enjoy benefits from the government and not being treated with disgust for being successful and labelled “Maha Kaya”. Rather than killing the golden goose or geese they should look to providing opportunities that empowers individuals to improve their lives through their own efforts, fostering self-reliance and creating sustainable change.

• Maha Nothing on Oct 21, 2024 at 7:15 pm

You are covering for all the handouts you are giving the so called poorer people, and you demonized the so called T15, this is not a proper solutions, demonizing people who are paying income tax to the country! So, certain bracket of income earners that are paying taxes are yet again being penalised to feed a political agenda. Do this often enough and there will be backlash. It is the rights of tax payers to enjoy benefits from the government and not being treated with disgust for being successful and labelled “Maha Kaya”. Rather than killing the golden goose or geese they should look to providing opportunities that empowers individuals to improve their lives through their own efforts, fostering self-reliance and creating sustainable change.

• Jeffrie Amalaraj on Oct 21, 2024 at 9:53 pm

I think Mr A Loke should pay the people and familys who earn less then 5000 per household a sum off 200 Rm in the mykard for they petrol

• This is stupid step. 15k after deductions of income tax and kwsp left how much? Now 15k is what? House, car internet, tax here and there everything expensive. The rakyat income not stable yet, don’t trying to impose this to us. We are struggling. The gov borrow money from ah long then we pay for them? Not fair. I am earning more than 10k per month, so what, I am the only one who work, I have 7 family members including old parents and I work as contract staff. If work not continue,I am jobless. I am facing this before till my bank left RM 2.75. you want me to die? Is this consider maha Kaya? Y you all never consider this. Also I am only able to buy a cheap car. Overseas? Don’t think about it and that’s why always set screw by wife, so this is the pressure. Your head maha Kaya. You have lost your mind. Don’t just see how much is our salary. That’s alot of other factors to be considered. You want to change, yes but not that fast. Not now!

• Madam on Oct 21, 2024 at 11:05 pm

Is not fair. Many husband work in singapore wife work in malaysia…..so they declare single income under B40 eligble for subsidy petrol.is not fair

• Gov has to think other way to increase the country income, that’s your job. Don’t just thinking of squeezing us. We are not high paid.

• Madam on Oct 21, 2024 at 11:12 pm

Is not fair. Many husband work in singapore wife work in malaysia…..so they declare single income under B40 eligble for subsidy petrol.

• Madam on Oct 21, 2024 at 11:13 pm

Is not fair. Many husband work in singapore ,wife work in malaysia…..declare
    single income under B40 eligble for subsidy petrol.

• Yannyanay on Oct 22, 2024 at 12:11 am

Do I stil hv to produce MyKad when fuelling using Setel app or Debit Card?

• Johnny cash on Oct 22, 2024 at 1:05 am

Singaporeans can pinjam their Malaysian relatives IC to pump petrol in Malaysia like dat.

• Md Adros on Oct 22, 2024 at 6:34 am

I m 60++ yo. ex navy man. no ‘pencen’ no own business. but i m ok with this Gov. move to pull up the ‘hand-break’. we been so complesant since many dacades till we ourself hard to except the reality.. my understanding on the money system been ‘created’ to loose its value is my basis to ‘agree’ with. i.e. (for our future generation survival)

• Baka Riden on Oct 22, 2024 at 7:04 am

Maha kaya dont pump petrol themselves, their drivers do it for them … so mykad at the pump doesnt work

• David on Oct 22, 2024 at 8:20 am

even using mykad, still doesn’t address the leakage of fuel subsidy to the foreign cars using mykad, pretty much still an abuse and with just mykad, the t15 might escape and able to claim the subsidy or lowered ron95 price. just mykad is a bad way to go

• Next time will be control 1 person allow 100 litter subsidies per month. This will be fair for normal user and heavy user.

• Sonner or later rich people will get EV and they don’t care about the petrol subsidy

• Poor Sam on Oct 22, 2024 at 11:58 am

Subsidy should only be for essential travel – like work, sending children to school etc etc.By limiting the amount rather than working on eligibility (too many permutations) should go a long way in reducing the subsidy cost as well as reduce traffic congestion and pollution and smuggling. Just look at the number of cars on the road because of cheap petrol.
    There is no perfect solution which would make everyone happy.

• Bawang on Oct 22, 2024 at 1:05 pm

More ic lost and found at petrol pump. I think govt must fix the subsidy in mykad let say rm500 a month. More than that, somebody should be charged normal tarif or for those who fill petrol without ic considered as normal tariff also. Other than ic, maybe can use driving license

• jimmy on Oct 22, 2024 at 1:36 pm

The idea of using the MyKad to set the pump price is hard to implement. Easier if those who are eligible for RON95 subsidy, collect printed receipts from petrol pump and claim the subsidy amount monthly or yearly.

• Richie yong on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:12 pm

Still not 100% foolproof. I mean, what if rich boss command his driver to use his driver MyKad to buy ron95 petrol. How to prevent this????????????

• Daniel SH Voon on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:46 pm

How does MyKad concept determine the individual salary? How is the petrol station going to determine the driver’s salary scale? Why makes it complicated. The easiest way is any vehicle, private car, above 3000 cc engine should not qualify for fuel subsidy. Commercial vehicles exempted. Any private individual who can afford a 3000 cc car surely can afford the non subsidy fuel.

• Banglasia on Oct 23, 2024 at 12:25 am

15K per household really not maha kaya…..can said average only. Bear in mind, those are high tax payer too…. it’s look like our government only know take advantage on those high tax payer. Soon, those people going leaving this country….

• bssubsidy on Oct 23, 2024 at 7:43 am

we should rationalized our undi also. we shouldnt subsidize to ph any longer.

• Louis on Oct 23, 2024 at 8:07 am

Good idea using mykad. Makes it user friendly

• Samsol on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:05 am

Maha kaya??? Wht aby ppl w more kids? 15k is gross income, after deduction tax, epf, h.loan, car installment how much left. Per moth spending 1k for groceries. That not yet inclide electricity and water bill. Majority ppl working on klang valley with aproximate radius 40km. Are they include this intu their clcltion?? With current highcost of living do u think iys gonna get better if this subsidies think get implement?? Pls do more research la wahai Menteri. Dun just look at gross income. Not fair at all.

• Those maha kaya can hire ppl to pump petrol for them , useless …

Should be according to car owner or car type…

Do you see the boss will go to pump the petrol themselves ??

• Early retirement adopter on Oct 26, 2024 at 1:02 pm

It is a gud thing the Gomen starts to rationalize subs as a means to reduce deficit. I wish Gomen shud look more at how to trim down unnecessary expenditures, inefficiency within civil service and mega project, etc etc to cut down on deficit. I bet if Gomen do a real due diligenge, they can save more than 4-8B they foresee to save from fuel subs cut. Hence no need to take drastic fuel subs cut.

Cutting down subsidy is a low hanging fruits, it doesnt take a genious to figure it. Trimming unnecessary expenditure and make ops more efficient take a really committed and a little bit of know how to do it. But you dont have to crack yur head too much. For a start, just look at Auditor Gen report and act on it.

I guess we can see clearly why Unity gomen just go for subs cut and call it a reform; It’s a lazy-man job. But you have to start somewhere. I hope they did not forget to tackle the bigger issue.

• Its not as simple as just yes/no or fair/unfair.

Can the unsubsidised individuals claim more when it’s income tax time (tax brackets)?

Will they factor in household expenses per individual? Example: Someone who is single, earning RM10k vs a sole breadwinner, with 3 kids to support earning the same amount. I am sure there are other factors to be considered..

In theory, i support the idea of more assistance for the lowest of income brackets. In practice, not so simple…