The most significant news of the recent tabling of Budget 2025 has to be the impending end to blanket subsidies for RON 95 petrol, which will be replaced by a targeted version that will come into place from mid-2025. After subsidy rationalisation for diesel was implemented in June, it was always a matter of when and not if RON 95 petrol would follow. Now we know when.
Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that the T15 (a new term that means the top 15% earners) and foreigners will soon have to pay market price for petrol, while 85% of the rakyat will continue to enjoy subsidised RON 95. Anwar, who is also finance minister, used maha kaya to describe the T15 in the budget.
As there was no elaboration on who exactly is T15, many searched and found stats that pointed to RM12,000 or RM13,000 income as the point where a Malaysian household is classified as T15. For a working couple, that’s RM6,000 salary each – many were shocked that they are the maha kaya and will have to pay market price for petrol.
Now, Anwar has walked back on his T15 definition, saying that neither the income cut off point or the percentage itself is final. The no-subsidy group can even be T10 or T5, he said at the Perak PKR state convention in Ipoh yesterday, reported by Astro Awani.
“Who said RM12,000? It’s not been decided. We want to see if the T15 can afford to pay. If not, it can be T10 or we can raise the T15’s income level from the current RM12,000,” Anwar said.
“Not yet final – by right, if the opposition doesn’t agree that RM12,000 is T15, they should suggest raising it to RM15,000 or RM18,000, but instead they defend the T15. T15, some of them have RM1 million monthly income, some are at RM100,000 a month, how can we defend,” he added, bringing the opposition into the picture. Anwar also said that what’s important is over 85% of the rakyat will not be affected by the RON 95 targeted subsidy move.
Were people’s anger ‘incited’ by PN politicians, though? There’s also room for speculation when the government announces a new income category and calls the group maha kaya, but doesn’t share details on who exactly is the T15. Now that PMX has said that nothing is finalised, we’ll see what’s the income cut off point and if you are ‘super rich’.
Who’s excluded from petrol subsidy is one thing, the implementation is another.
If that’s the case how why what where did u come out with the term T15 ????
Why even mentioned T15 if it is not defined yet ??
Talk 1st, lie later
OK la tu sikit jer
Banding dgn interest
100K loan = 2,500 setahun
ya, like someone pointed a gun to his face to say T15!!!
Budget is a big thing for the country, if this kinda number you also cannot finalize nor confirm after your proposal, what else can go right ??? Driving the nation to the grave la!
Cause his intention is that he want to save 85% of the population spending but unfortunately I think B40 suppose range more than 4000 per month as household income not as they defined 2500 below. Nowaday most Malaysian also work hard to survive. For instance work part time as grab or In drive driver. Or lala move which can earn rm 100 daily so one person can gain rm 3000 per month. Then the couple can work as cleaner which might earn rm 1800 per month… So total already rm 4800.00 so this type of household consider lower m40 or upper B40. Like I said nowadays go to shopping become promoter also can earn rm 80 to 120 daily depend on the location in klang valley. So the definition of B40, m40 and t20 all not accurate as it is…
Raise first talk later, did he ever discuss with the rakyat before. Is he mentioning about diesel.
I think the suggestion to go with the car type makes more sense, even if MahaKaya driving Axia, he deserved the subsidy as the consumption is very little compared to Mustang 5.0
Good idea tenkiu.
We will get our foreman mechanic to mod axia with bigger fuel tank and fitted with easy siphoning fuel transfer system.
T15 pakai HRV
M40 pakai CRV
nak muka x mampu beli minyak
Precisely, cause the main reason for the whole exercise was because XXX use more subsidy than the rest. If XXX is using Axia, he is not using as much as the guy using an Aruz.
and invested so much money for all the systems..and can be targetting the 5% of population? kekeke.. mana otak dia? some more finance minister oh. the top 5% full time grab food driver in their big cars ar… how much can you save buy taking away the subsidy from the top 5%. Mana ROI…tau apa itu ROI tak finance minister yang di cintai
So 2nd hand market will die and no one buying 2nd hand BMW?
dah main u-turn…
Anwar menang rakyat senang
Refer my name
Dengar boleh percaya jangan
“some of them have RM1 million monthly income, some are at RM100,000 a month” is not T5 or T10. it is T0.1…. how many malaysians earn more than RM1.2m a year? if you see from EPF 2022 statistics, less than 80k contributors out of 8.4m contributors have more than RM1,000,000 in their EPF. When talk please use your brain to avoid being embarrassed and try to cover up using U-turn.
PMX ,just cap it at 15K..monthly salary.
For the eligible, cap bantuan at RM500 monthly like STR ,credit our bank accounts.
Rakyat already super pissed off with your Mr Surprise Rafixi.Dont irritate us voters,if u want another term.
Aiya.. hes saying his geng and opponent geng la. We rakyat is not what in his mind. We dont tall to them directly. They dont campur with us..hehehe
Mostly menteri or their cronies have 100k-1m per month. They get not only free petrol but also free car and free driver. Bunch of clowns
the idea is there, the problem is execution.
1. labeling the group who will pay market price is tough as those with >10k up to 15k a month is not that rich after taxes.
2. the implementation and validation to get subsidised rate, assuming all ron95 prices at all station will set to market price, and the only way people to enjoy the subsidised rate is to have some sort of validation. IC card old people never bring while riding their kapchai.
gov has to tackle this issue from multiple points
Suka hati mention T15 without details and then when we make the Rakyat make assumptions thru data from government tools and ask questions this madani bs tells us to keep quiet. Clown show incompetent bunch of buffoons. Haih
If you want to remove subsidy remove for all la. Cannot afford petrol? Dont buy car, dont use car, dont drive expensive car and complain petrol expensive.
Agree to this. I already pay tax. Why you cut my subsidy
Mamat mcm ni, belah utara kita panggil dia biawok, lidah cabang, cakap berbelik-belik
kalau mamat kahwin baru lepas tu pergi honeymoon kat jepun tapi rakyat kena tinggai masa banjir kita panggil apa pula donk?
Bring back GST. The more you spend, the more tax you pay. You can only spend more if you earn more. Float the RON95 price, and pay the rakyat their “subsidy” based on eligibility (PADU?) from the GST collection.
T10 or T5 equal to T15…becuase…OR is + . whilst AND is * …ekekekekekeke
Dengar boleh, percaya jangan.
Saya mmg tak boleh dengar suara dia. Kalau terdengar kat TV, saya tukar sports channel. Settle
fuhh berat betul ujian awak ya. mesti awak ni peminat tegar suara abah.
If you apply it to the T5 with rm100k a month income, how much really can the government save? Factor in the cost to implement it…
My suggestion, apply it to East Malaysia since “most of them use diesel” and they still enjoy the diesel subsidy. For that same reason, they shouldn’t be worried if RON95 subsidy is taken away.
I am retired and drive to genting for holiday quite frequently because of cheap petrol. Looks like I have to cut down or take coach if the petrol subsidy is cut.
Malaysia is bless with oil but does not want the citizen to benefit. Will God or Allah claim the rich have to pay more for the sun, water and air!???
I hereby proclaim you, a certified IDIOT. Congratulations.
Ketimbang
Instead of announcing which T is not getting the petrol subsidy, Budget should hv just say, those yg terima Bantuans will still enjoy the subsidy. Nicer to goreng after that.
Creating a new T but yet not knowing how to define it speaks a lot about the people behind preparing the Budget.
Where did the 10 months’ worth of meetings to concoct what T15 is, go?
Do remember as tax payer who pay more tax should get same subsidies too. Why remove it just becoz they pay more tax???
Higher income also have higher rate of tax percentage being in place
If can’t afford to pump petrol, just use motorbike, public transport, cycling or grab
If wanna remove the subsidies should remove all and make it fair
kepala bapak kaulah. baik guna kereta lembu. bodoh!
Hari ini PH menang, esok harga minyak turun!
So if not T15 and eventually only T5, how much savings are we talking about? How much this top 5 percent population actually consume? is it even worth the cost to implement such a thing?
The T5 already paying a higher income tax. So what if they get to consume some subsidied petrol that they help subsidising?
The problem is always the lower income group. what gomen initiative is helping them to earn more and move upstream in the value chain?
Let see the next selection ‘downstream’ will get for this team.
What if the maha kaya purchase petrol under their servants’/maids’ name? Is this acceptable?
Since day one took over . I know we are heading in a mess . Subsidise diesel lah . Petrol lah . But frankly speaking we don’t know the savings performance . Why not start thinking to earn some useful works like manufacturing. Enhances tourism. Oil exploration and so on. It makes more senses.
How is these T10 T15 groupings going to stop petrol subsidy leakage/smuggling by foreign cars? This amount is much bigger than the subsidy consumed by the mahagaya. Mahagaya still pay tax, but not these foreigners.
How is these T10 T15 groupings going to stop petrol subsidy leakage/smuggling by foreign cars? This amount is much bigger than the subsidy consumed by the mahakaya. Mahakaya still pay tax, but not these foreigners.
Rakyat bawahan tk terjejas… masih dapat subsidi ron95, cuma group orang kaya T15 sahaja tak dapat… Nanti kita tengok la T15 cutoff income berapa. Janji gomen madani bagi selesai masalah orang kaya enjoy subsidi yg sepatutnya diberi pada orang miskin. Tak macam gomen2 yg lepas tkde telo pun nak buat semua ni bagi betul semula… 60 tahun tetap macam tu sahaja…
Stop the subsidy, this cant go on forever. It will bancrupt the country. Do it in stages 70%, 50%, 30% and eventually 0. People should learn to berjimat cermat. Not talk kok here as if they are so clever but cant even afford fuel without subsidy. Komen mcm bagus, tp no subsidy terus koyak. Hah!
Mak ai. Dia punya sembang. Boleh buat gulai kawah. Dia ingat rakyat Malaysia ni tak p sekolah ka apa.
When the country is rich the people will be poor. Gradually things will be expensive living standard is high, staying in KL and kampung not much diffrents as the rice, oil and every basic goods sky high. In 6 years time there will be homeless people sleep on the street like US