RON95 petrol subsidy should be given based on car type and not income, according to Wee Ka Siong

Should owners of more expensive cars be ineligible for the targeted RON 95 fuel subsidy programme? MCA president Wee Ka Siong thinks so and has called on the government to consider the eligibility for the subsidy to be based on the type and value of cars driven instead of an individual’s income.

Wee said drivers of vehicles such as the Perodua Myvi, Ativa and Alza should be entitled to receive a full government subsidy for RON 95 petrol. “However, those who drive a Mercedes-Benz, BMW, Ferrari or Lamborghini do not need the subsidy at all,” he said in a video posted on TikTok, as reported by FMT.

He added that those who are part of the M40 income group but prefer to drive luxury cars should also not be given any fuel subsidy. Wee went on to say the government should not punish those who practise moderation in their daily lives and are not reckless with their spending.

During the tabling of Budget 2025, it was announced that the government will restructure the RON 95 petrol subsidy in mid-2025. Soon after the announcement, it was revealed that a two-tier RON95 petrol pricing system based on net income would be introduced, with the T15 (a new term that means the top 15% earners) being ineligible for the subsidy – just how much you need to earn to fall into this category is still not finalised.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should RON 95 fuel subsidies be provided based on income or the type of vehicle? Share them with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Many comments agree that aligning petrol subsidies with car type or valuation is more effective than income-based schemes. Suggestions include basing subsidies on car price, age, and engine capacity, with some advocating for a fixed subsidy for affordable local brands while luxury and foreign cars pay full price. Several commenters emphasize the potential loopholes and enforcement challenges of income-based systems, proposing simpler methods like flat subsidies or calculating based on emission levels. A few express skepticism about subsidizing luxury vehicles, arguing that high-income individuals already pay hefty taxes and should not benefit from subsidies. Overall, there is support for targeting subsidies based on vehicle characteristics to promote fairness, reduce abuse, and encourage local production and eco-friendly vehicles.

• That is a very premature analysis. There are T10-15 that have myvi for their pasar malam car. So nett income is still is the best method. However the nett should be within regular spending of the norm of the band. If you have 10k income and you choose to buy ferrari making you nett income = B40 then you are not eligible because it is outside normal distribution of within your income band.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Tan Chin Sown on Oct 29, 2024 at 10:01 pm

Yeah …but how many times the T5 will refuel the mtvi to Pasar Malam for such short distance ? Two months once? We are not paying fuel for his Mercedes or BMW though.

• Ola Dora on Nov 02, 2024 at 1:01 pm

True, its not that they’re going to drive myvi to office also. rich people must drive bmw ma. hahahahh!

• Rushdi Ahmad on Oct 30, 2024 at 7:53 am

Agreed

• do you know benefit in kind?

• This further proves that that people become intelligent (or at least act intelligent) when not in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • kckfen on Oct 28, 2024 at 4:46 pm

Those who by EV Macan how??

• newme on Oct 28, 2024 at 4:50 pm

So Mercedes Masterpiece can get subsidy? What about Vellfire?

• Ssare on Oct 29, 2024 at 4:11 pm

Vellfire and alphard only look expensive van. Owner not that kaya just look rich wannabe. 99 percent buy recond alphard 200k-250k plus only some older model below 200k. Those real expensive are BMW and Merc latest gen. Those are maha kaya. A 330i and c300 already over 300k. And I see all 330i very few 320i. E class and Next yr the 530i will over 400k and those are maha kaya. If buy frm UMW yes la. 99 percent Alphard kaya? Laugh me till die.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 28, 2024 at 4:56 pm

so i save and buy a nicer car for more comfort or better fuel efficiency, less polluting to the environment i need to be penalized

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Azmir on Oct 28, 2024 at 4:59 pm

Good and bad. Good thing is, he sounds fair.
    Bad thing is, too many loopholes such as:
    1. High earners driving cheaper cars
    2. What about buying second hand cars
    3. What about car dealers
    List goes on…

With all above, the mechanism will be difficult to implement. In the end, people will jut exploit them.

• So, conclusion, the useless person should not come out this stupid idea!

• Ask all Ministers, MP’s to pay for petrol on their own. Remove all petrol allowance.

• Sohai on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:03 pm

It all goes back to the “fact” that gomen said, most of the fuel (and hence subsidy) are consumed by the rich.
    So when gomen make that statement, what was the basis of the stats? by observing the car models at petrol station?
    Or just straight assumptions without a basis (you know, PADU wasn’t even up when the statement is made, makes you wonder how they know).

• All Parts Auto Wrecking on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:21 pm

Let’s See how this turns out.

• Daniel on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:23 pm

No, it shouldn’t based on car type or how big is the cc. Luxury car prices drop, and mostly lower-income ppl buy them to enjoy their dream ride or project car. If the subsidy is based on car type, most of the used luxury cars cannot be sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Kambeng on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:29 pm

Stupid idea, axia with single digit number plate how? old mercidis only worth 10k is considered expensive car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Why limit to one mechanism? why not combine the goods from both method etc t15 can get subsidy if using old >10year old car and/or energy efficient vehicles while m40 can get subsidy even if using new car below a certain value. Of course every method will have a loophole if you try hard enough to find it but i think any new introduction of policy should promote sustainability and moderation instead of just taxing and cost reduction. For a better Malaysia.

• Constructive Comments Group on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:16 pm

Make it mandatory upgrade all petrol to EURO5 grade (low sulphur). Market floating price on RON95 and above grade. Introduce cheaper price fuel RON92 petrol for those could not afford RON95 petrol. No need subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Thomas on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:17 pm

Why so complicating ? Even VEP can’t do smoothly. It’s a reflection of incompetence of the gov .

• YB …. dont simply shoot to score political points … do proper research with FACTS… many variables involved

• normal_user on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:22 pm

Don’t be surprised soon some Lexus owners will change their emblem to Toyota or even Perodua logos. Our naive Bangla pump attendants would let these fellas pump subsidised ron95.

• Just significantly raise road tax of >8 cylinders car and/or car capacity>3000…

• The driver on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:34 pm

The best way please all parties, including the low income segment is to remove RON95 subsidies. All the complicated mechanisms targeting specific income segments will clearly be subject to abuse if not now then later. Very simply, the biggest users of petrol are the ones who drive large, expensive cars, whereas the lowest users are the ones who drive the smaller cars that are cheaper. Its a win – win situation really, less large cars on the road and it becomes for all users. Less pollution, less severe accidents, etc

• Sohai on Oct 29, 2024 at 1:57 pm

The biggest user of petrol are those drive large expensive cars? How do you substantiate that? I know a neighbor that drives Ferrari, but his mileage is barely 5k after 2 years.

My friend who uses Bezza as a Grab driver, drives 5K in a month…

It is not simple like you said.

• Max Fong on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:39 pm

Mercedes-Benz, BMW, Ferrari or Lamborghini Pump RON 95 ? I though these beasts drink 97 or above.

• Agreed based on car type on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:44 pm

We can convert the Viva Axia with 100 liters fuel tank anytime go pump subsidised RON95 extra full tanks, instant profit resale.

• Old merz owner on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:47 pm

This is most stupid suggestion. Subsidy shd be given to those B40 n M40 irrespective of what cars they drive. Pay subsidy direct to their bank account just like diesel subsidy.

• MADANI...in unchartered waters on Oct 28, 2024 at 7:54 pm

After spending so much time and money on Padu..why r we still debating? Then whats the purpose of Padu ?
    Is Ahwahkor telling rakyat,Padu has been sent to T Rex’s Jurassic Park? Just set a cut off income say 15K monthly for those non eligible.The Banglas at the petrol kiosks are laughing at us.
    Where is Mr.Surprise Rafixi ?
    This fuel subsidy thing is like a bad joke.
    Half past six professors,now a trojan horse all giving ridiculous advices.
    The covid striken rakyat certainly deserve something more positive and encouraging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Expensive cars already paid huge import taxes tariffs and road tax. To raise money, best the gomen start taxing tge low income also. Just a puny amount. So that everybody do not take everything for granted. And all suffer the pain of paying taxes. And vote for a responsible gomen instead of a populist one.

• Chow hai on Oct 28, 2024 at 8:46 pm

Not a completely fool-proof solution but definitely the best one thus far. The income-based can be subjected to abuse

• Yeak S L on Oct 28, 2024 at 9:07 pm

100 % support the idea after all super engine dont need Ron 95

• I support using car type, we can also implement using second hand market price to determine eligibility! Please help to share with government!

• Zimspring on Oct 28, 2024 at 9:33 pm

If it were based on car type, then I will buy a little used axia to use it’s entitlement to pump my mercedes.

What would the mechanism be? Issue card for each car owner? Higher price kicks in when your card has maxed out it’s quota?

Also a question of who enforces this, the station operator?

Simplest method is one price for everyone at the station and directly transfer cash enough for 1 car per family that qualifies. We are already doing this cash transfer with Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah.

• Joseph Foo on Oct 28, 2024 at 10:14 pm

For simplicity to implement petrol subsidies just target on the car types and capacity. A 600cc engine Kancil car should received subsidies even a billionair drive it just as a student do. Of course you will hardly seen ultra rich driving kancil – they have to maintain their status. All those driving luxurious cars like BMW, AUDI etc etc pay full price of petrol, even if a Mak cik selling goreng pisang choose to drive it. Of course in reality, no poor people drive BMW etc.
    If the government think implementing this is still not simple enough because the petrol companies are reluctant to carry out this corporate social responsibilities, then we maintain the current petrol price and recover the leakages in subsidies by increasing the yearly road tax of luxurious to off set the petrol the ultra rich could use – RM40,000 yearly road tax should be more than enough.

• Not car type.. but valuation of car. Old bmw or merz deserves subsidy than someone who change honda city every 2 years.

• Ir Abdul Rahin on Oct 28, 2024 at 11:32 pm

Agreed but on one condition. Road tax calculation shall not be based on car CC but shall be based on emission as practiced by advance country such as UK.

• Follow the MCA president's proposal. on Oct 29, 2024 at 3:33 am

Nah Peng Siew

• Robert Oppenheimer Jr on Oct 29, 2024 at 5:22 am

I have 1 Myvi,1 Ativa,1 x50..all brand new.My monthly income is 15K.
    So,based on AHWEEKOR ‘S suggestion,since I am not driving a 230K Merc,I should qualify for ron 95 subsidy.
    If u combine the value of the 3 new cars I bought,it equals the price of the Merc.
    Do u need Iranian ballistic missile rocket science?
    Some of our politicians,not only comical,but downright appalling stupid.If the great Albert Einstein is alive today,he will label this as “INSANITY”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Autobahn on Oct 29, 2024 at 7:07 am

To be fair to all, ron 95 should be sold without subsidize. The imported cars ahouldnt be taxed heftily like the current structure. Petrol subsidy should be given to those qualified through income tax submission annualy.
    Rationale on the above points
    1. One price ron 95 easier to control and can use current mechanism at the petrol station without incurring additional coat to petrol operator
    2. Cheaper imported cars invite more manufacturer to invest in malaysia and the economy tricle down to aftermarket services. Stirring economic growth rather than dampening it.
    3 cash refund through income tax will encourage citizen to declare their income in order to get the petrol subsidy.

• t333son on Oct 29, 2024 at 7:11 am

and here in lies the problem.. the ones who drive expensive premium cars HAVE already paid A LOT MORE in tax when they bought the car in the first place. this is like being hit multiple times over the same problem

• The Saint on Oct 29, 2024 at 2:36 pm

I will be happy to have this problem…..

First world problem as they say….lol

• If this subsidy is not done properly, this government will risk being topple in the next election. It’s best to reduce subsidy gradually rather than cold turkey policies.

• efandi ramli on Oct 29, 2024 at 8:58 am

Prefer base on income but not 13k. Minimum should be 18k or 20k. Its not fair if Mahakaya but still buy Perodua and enjoy subsidise petrol

• kebablover on Oct 29, 2024 at 9:35 am

then all these luxury brand be crying

• Just float Ron95. U can help the poor in other forms. It will solve all the problem of categorising rakyat into different grade.

• Lao Fu Tze on Oct 29, 2024 at 1:23 pm

Agree.price RON95 slightly below market price. Win-win and stop all debates.

• Ali-X on Oct 29, 2024 at 11:25 am

wee is right on this one – it should be based on car types, models and with age weighting – after all no one should forget that “T-15” or whoever pay taxes too, and even more – as long as they are not using gas guzzlers, super car, land yacht etc etc, why cant they enjoy a bit of perks from the govt too ???

• alibaba on Oct 29, 2024 at 11:37 am

cancel all living subsidies la, but pls also cancel those excise duties, AP, hidden taxes and lower import tax la.. neighbor just below the map, learn from them, not learn from neighbor up there

• How about just float ron95 & use Etiqa’s “drive less, save more” mechanism to give fuel-subsidy based cash assistance?

Cash will be given by how much mileage you rack, no matter what types of vehicle you own (Etiqa require to capture photo of mileage & vehicle plate number for each claim). It would be more fair to everyone (always travel long distance vs weekender)

• “rich” people penalised for buying “expensive” car. Then B40 should not buy car if they have no money! Motor? Bus? Bicycle? Walk? When you have no money, still want to enjoy?

• Just do it based on class/modal/price of car.
    All who pump petrol its for they vehicle, not for himself tp drink, right? The rich go pump petrol its for his car, the poorer pump petrol its also for his car. So just do it based on car!
    Why so susah go and check how much your income, etc

• Tolong guna Otak kamu Wee Ka Siong. Kami bayar tax untuk kerajaan tak dapat subsidi petrol Ron 95, apa kamu cakap ni. Jadi kerajaan sekarang dan kerajaaan yang akan datang jangan suruh kita bayar tax lagi, bodoh betul Wee Ka Siong ni.

• Already covered by the tax system, higher tax rate for higher income bracket

• Ariffin Salim on Oct 29, 2024 at 3:27 pm

Subsidy by horsepower lah. Those below 100 hp get subsidy. Those above don’t get. Average car get subsidy. Above average car don’t get subsidy. Simple & easy to implement. People who want power must pay full price lah.

• Ricky on Oct 29, 2024 at 5:51 pm

We bought premium cars whilst working and paid our income tax. Now we are above 65 with no regular income. We cannot afford to buy new cars to qualify for fuel subsidy. WKS should consider this.

• Lim Pak Khoon on Oct 29, 2024 at 6:56 pm

All classified luxury cars (irrespective of year made, value, new or used or reconditioned) should not be entitled any petrol subsidy (as it’s hard to value the cars for the petrol stations while there’s no car valuation experts in all petrol stations). Whereas other non luxury cars, all drivers need to produce their car registration cards (or vehicle ownership certificate) and Mykad (as far as possible except the authorised drivers) to determine their income as well as the owners of the cars whether they are local or foreigners. However, the system has to be enhanced to be linked to LHDN on real time basis without having to get the owner to thumb print (as the petrol stations only need to key in the ic number based on the Mykad and vehicle ownership certificate (or car registration card). Nevertheless, the system (which is linked to LHDN) has to be maintained to be at tip top level without failure as far as possible in order for no disruption of petrol refilling. In such a way, even an authorised driver also can pump petrol on behalf of the owner as the petrol stations only recognize the owners’ name as per the car registration car and check their eligibility accordingly.

• Tan Chin Sown on Oct 29, 2024 at 9:58 pm

Thumbs up Wee…Further we promote our llocal.car iindustry and promote geeener fuel efficient cars.

• No subsidy no problem. Petrol price hike, ppl spend less, ppl spend less it could solve traffic jam problem bcos no cincai ke sana ke sini. Also driver don’t hit pedal hard, reduce accident due to speeding. Petrol price stable, logistic no more price hike the goods seller no reason to increase prices, especially gula minyak garam, when logistic price hike, this kind of ppl increase selling price, kopi seller also increase price. Sekali let it increase kaw kaw, public don’t hv to worry anymore.

• My little suggestion on Oct 30, 2024 at 12:47 am

Dear Wee, my little suggestion for u:
    1. make all new rm150k car & above to only pump ron97.
    2. manufacturer will need to include sensor/tech tht able to detect fuel type. If not ron97, the car will show alert,loss power, jerky.
    3. Warranty will void if SC detected 3 times of violation within warranty period.
    4. Allow custom plugin hybrid conversion for existing cars.
    5. For new launch below rm150k must be hybrid or ev.
    6. Bring in budget hybrid/ev for the mass and encourage ownership by providing incentive.

So at the end of the day, the consumption of ron95 will be reduced hence lower subsidised cost.

• Tuktuk on Oct 30, 2024 at 2:33 am

My friend earns 13k. Nett income about 10k, he has to take care of wife and 1 kid + dad and mom. Aftet deducting all insurances, house mortgage and expenses, he left with almost nothing to spend. Yes t15 household income but lives like b40. How do you deal with this?

• An alternative idea on Oct 30, 2024 at 11:39 am

Why not use a system like the carbon credit exchange that had been implemented in the EU?

Everyone (by some definition, >18yo, or below certain income, or whatever basic definition) gets gasoline coupons of a certain value. Those who don’t use it can trade it only via an official central exchange. Those who need patrol gets it cheaper, whose who doesn’t get money back. Cash transfer to those in need, still cheap petrol for those who use it, government gets to budget predictably.

Can start with almost 100% usage coupons issued then reduce it on an annual basis to reach the desired subsidy level. Everybody wins, including the government budget and the environment.

Simple implementation, no complicated assessment and even more complicated enforcement. Less prone to abuses as well.

• Pegro on Oct 30, 2024 at 2:04 pm

Any 2 tier system will have loop holes that many will make money from. Heard of a petrol pump? Can pump one car to the next in mins or drive other people’s cars to the station for RM 10. 20-30 times a day …money for nothing . The answer is simple. Keep the subsidy which means petrol stations will not be backed up with people trying to get their MyKad accepted. DOUBLE THE ROAD TAX! SIMPLE! The more expensive the car, instant cash for the budget. Whether a T15 pays RM 17k or 34k for his Lamborghini wouldn’t make an ounce of a difference to them. They’re already using minimum Ron97, so the whole Ron95 saga doesn’t change a thing for them. I like the thought in your article… If you want to consume big, you should pay big

• Nazlu Majid on Oct 30, 2024 at 5:13 pm

Agree with Wee Ka Siong to a certain extend especially with regards to implementatation. If its based on income how are the petrol station attendants going to know whether you are T20 or not. Unless of course Government put out special ID cards for this purpose .Using cars driven as
    a guide will somewhat be easier to implement but even here there will be problems. What if I drive a BMW or Mercedes which is 10 years old…

• Gustav on Oct 31, 2024 at 9:15 am

Yeah,, those with mat rempit offences or kaki modified motor record should also be excluded.

• Junkies otr on Oct 31, 2024 at 9:36 am

Scrap all vehicles above 20yrs

• Kukubird Flying on Nov 04, 2024 at 8:28 am

So many expert tokok here. I say you buy car loan 9 years eat roti canai drink the tarik 2 times a day. Better sell your car take bus.

• Jiman on Nov 04, 2024 at 6:57 pm

Just show your payslip to entitle for petrol subsidy

• Sirius on Nov 04, 2024 at 11:51 pm

IMHO, the below types of cars should be entitled subsidy for Ron95
    – All local branded cars (Proton and Perodua) regardless of models
    – Possibly all foreign branded cars (eg Mazda, Benz, BMW, Toyota, Honda etc) where a brand new OTR price is below RM x (say, 100k, so this include only like Mazda 2, Honda City, Toyota Vios etc).

The second inclusion is so that it doesn’t affect the sales of foreign branded cars too much, this affecting the Tax/ Duty revenue of the country. This also should encourage those who contemplates between HEV/ CRV and Proton X50/ X70 to opt for Proton instead.

The above should ideally:
    – Reduce the subjectivity about “income level”
    – Encourage local productions
    – Reduce impact to Tax/ Duty revenue
    – Encourage distribution of EV by foreign brands which could help with local education/ awareness on environment, while the local brands uses it for market insights

Those who says some rich ppl has Myvi too, that’s ok, they are not going to pump the Myvi, and then transfer to their BMW X5.

Happy to take challenges, and hope that it becomes something solid enough which caters for as many stakeholders as possible and most importantly, Malaysians who needs it! Instead of some high level ministers discussing about issues which they may not experience themselves, and merely assuming the lives of a typical citizens (ranging from B40 to even M40).

Ministers, please see this!

• Agree base on car type.
    How about the car registered under company name, got subsidy?

• agreed to base on car type
    Can the car registered under company name be subsidized?

• Fully agree but not based on brand but value of car based on insurance valuation.

• G V Nunis on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:38 am

I think it is cheaper, more effective and more rewarding to both people and government if the subsidised RON 95 price is increased by approximately Rm 0.20 per litre rather than trying to target the rich cats as there will be a lot of loopholes in implementation.

• I think it is cheaper, more effective and more rewarding to both people and government if the subsidised RON 95 price is increased by approximately Rm 0.20 per litre rather than trying to target the rich cats as there will be a lot of loopholes in implementation.