This just in – BYD Malaysia has announced that the Sealion 7 is now open for booking. Confirmation came as part of a social media post that finally revealed the car in full after weeks of teasing. You can click here to book for a RM1,000 booking fee.
Measuring 4,830 mm long, 1,925 mm wide, 1,620 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,930 mm, this electric SUV is a direct competitor to the Tesla Model Y and should be priced as such, just like how the Seal is currently doing battle with the Model 3. Expect the Sealion 7 to be priced slightly higher than its sedan sibling, which currently retails for between RM163,800 and RM199,800 nett.
Despite its name, the Sealion 7 is closer to the Song L – another coupé-style electric SUV with a long body and low roofline – than the more conventional plug-in hybrid Sealion 6 DM-i. The design, meanwhile, borrows plenty from the Seal, not least the C-shaped headlights, large air intakes, full-width taillights and large rear diffuser.
The interior is a sleeker affair compared to past BYDs, with a double-layer dashboard neatly integrating the 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster and illuminated passenger panel. You still, of course, get a massive 15.6-inch rotating touchscreen, along with available features such as a 50-inch augmented reality head-up display, Nappa leather upholstery, a panoramic glass roof, front and rear heated and ventilated seats and a 12-speaker Dynaudio sound system.
In Hong Kong, its first export market, the Sealion 7 is available with two powertrain options, with the base model getting a single rear motor producing 313 PS (230 kW) and 380 Nm of torque, powering the car from zero to 100 km/h in 6.7 seconds. A standard-fit 82.56 kWh Blade lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery provides a range of 567 km on the NEDC cycle.
Meanwhile, the AWD model adds a front motor with 218 PS (160 kW) and 310 Nm, resulting in a total system output of 530 PS (390 kW) and 690 Nm; the century sprint is completed some 2.2 seconds quicker at 4.5 seconds. As a result of the increased performance, range has dropped slightly to 542 km. The car supports up to 150 kW of DC fast charging power and 11 kW of AC charging.
It should be noted that in Europe, the top AWD model will receive a larger 91.3 kWh battery, as well as support for up to 230 kW of DC fast charging thanks to an 800-volt electrical architecture. It remains to be seen which version we’ll get, although our money is on the model sold in Hong Kong.
Whichever version we’ll get, the Sealion 7 certainly sounds like a compelling proposition. What do you think – would you get this over the Model Y? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.
this electric SUV is a “direct competitor” to the Tesla Model Y HAHAHAHAHA
It is direct competitor to Model Y no doubt. Atto 3 sales is just behind Model Y in Malaysia but Atto 3 isn’t direct same segment. If given this Sealion 7 arrival it definitely give great impact to Model Y. Some more Model Y is going face-lift soon, if it were not 800v architecture and range more than 600km then Sealion 7 will chip in their market share. Tesla has better full self driving but again it is not mature yet in anywhere of the world now, it gonna take at least another 5 years. So time being BYD has time to catch up Tesla. Mmm, sorry I can’t name 3rd SUV EV can join the game, it is only Tesla and BYD fighting.
Xpeng G6 another main competitor to BYD sealion7 & Tesla model Y
If in China market then Xpeng G6 consider that but in oversea market Xpeng is still far behind Tesla and BYD.
Xpeng far behind? . Xpeng G6 in Malaysia using 800v and Sealion7 still launching old 400v model platform.very disappointed but in term of outlook I still prefer sealion7.
Some haters said it looks ugly. But for me, it looks nice. The features also good. Price is just right. But sorry to tell that I like hatchback/sedan over SUV. I like ICE over EV at this moment.
Time will tell. EV is future. But looking at this brand, since you buy EV, this will be safer for you. I’m looking forward to buy EV as this car brand in near future after driving ICE and hybrid for years
WOW….coool. Gonna book one
Got my first, looking for 2nd one.
Nice
Need to price starting below 150k if it wants to dominate the market share. If priced close to Model Y, people will just top up to get the more recognized branding, quality and efficiency (Tesla cars are still top in terms of EV efficiency).
Yeah but Sime Darby don’t seem to understand this. They are in it for the fat profit per vehicle sold rather than more profit based on volume sold.
You’re right, but they do it with M6 by placing it at 109k only. Let see if they will have similar strategy with Sealion7
Obviously M6 is a level below. Go to showroom and see the cars.
Price below 150k? Then Atto 3 need to further drop to 120k and Dolphin drop to 70k? If this Sealion 7 gonna priced at 190k for premium version while performance at 210k it is still very attractive. If you think it is expensive then it is your problem and you are not their target customer. Model Y is going to have face-lift soon and the price will be likely about 200k for base model. Tesla may slightly better reputation than BYD but it doesn’t mean BYD is way below them. BYD is just right behind Tesla and and ahead of all EV brands.
He just know nothing about EV!
I expect RM 170k for the base model & RM 190k for the performance. They gonna make it below RM 200k to make sure Tesla can’t compete with them in terms of pricing.
TESLA got good quality control??? LOL.. wake up liao or not
Yes, TESLA quality and EV maturity is higher level than BYD. All cars ICE or EV have their fair share of problems. For 20k difference only, I would get Tesla as it is a much better car. Don’t forget, you get to use Tesla’s much superior charging network too. If they are targeting those who can afford 200k car, then sorry to say only those who really dislike Tesla or care for the 20k savings will get BYD.
When you used quality for Tesla car, obviously you know nothing about Tesla!
Aircon not cold…
All cars have problems, nothing is perfect
Use this simple feature. Remotely starts your car auto switch on air conditioning for 5 minutes then only goes into car confirmed cooling.
There are still caveman that actually still thinks EV aircond is not cold. Hahahahahaha.Some monyet even thinks EV aircond is like house or ICE aircond that it will makan minyak or electricity. Hahahahaha. Katak bawah empurung. Mentaliti org tak berpelajaran. Lol
Nice.. can foresee this one is getting tonssss of sales.. we’ll be seeing this a lot on the road soon.
What is the platform? Please bring in the latest evo platform rather than the dated e-Platform 3.0 that’s in the Atto3.
“Outside Europe and China, the Sealion 7 adopts the older e-Platform 3.0 with 400V electrical architecture, instead of the more advanced e-Platform 3.0 Evo with a 800V electrical architecture used by the European and Chinese market Sealion 07 EV. As a result, its DC fast charging speed is limited to 150 kW, while the Chinese market model supports up to 240 kW.”
Yes, the platform is very important. In Hong Kong sad the BYD Sealion 7 is adopting the older platform with 400v and it is right hand drive like Malaysia. But South East Asia could have different platform like HK because BYD factory in Thailand. We still have hope for 800v e-Platform 3.0 evo Sealion 7.
BYD mmg best
Aiya! So many choices now. Seal 2025 is also not bad. Let see
Starting at rm150,800.
Offer the i-DM version, then we talk. SD should also pressure gomen to allow PHEV to be included to the auto tax reform.
Atto 3 cannot be compared to Model Y. In terms of tech, ride handling and software, Atto 3 still have a lot to catch up. If Sealion is really compatible with Model Y, then BYD is taking everyone for a ride as the Atto 3 is many classes below the Model Y but selling at a high premium when Tesla was not in the market yet. They had all the info that Tesla was coming in, jack up the price to RM170k and reversing back with discounts. Those that own and driven Teslas and Atto3 at the same time will know what I am saying.
Topu laut
Topu berenang