Govt to announce T15 classification in Q1 2025 – persons eligible for RON95 subsidy to be identified

The Malaysian government will announce the T15 income classification in the first quarter of next year, economy minister Rafizi Ramli said, reported New Straits Times.

Persons classified as not eligible for targeted subsidies, including for RON 95 petrol, will have the opportunity to appeal the decision, Rafizi said in a response during minister’s question time in the Dewan Rakyat.

“The eligibility determination and individual assessments will be managed by the economy ministry, while the finance ministry will oversee the implementation of targeted RON95 subsidies at petrol stations,” Rafizi said.

Towards the end of October, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that the Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM) is still working on the definition of who would be considered to be in the T15 bracket before the government lifts the blanket subsidy on RON 95, which is presently priced at RM2.05 per litre.

High-income individuals, referred to as the aforementioned T15, will be classified in relation to the basic expenses for decent living (Perbelanjaan Asas Kehidupan Wajar, or PAKW) specific to each locality, Rafizi said. The definition of T15 will take into account a person’s location as well as net disposable household income, Rafizi said in October.

The looming end to blanket subsidy for RON 95 petrol grabbed headlines from Budget 2025 tabled in October, and while there wasn’t a firm definition of the T15 income group, many searched and found statistics pointing towards a household income ranging from RM12,000 to RM13,000 as the point where a Malaysian household would be classified T15. In a dual-income household, this would be incomes of RM6,000 each.

Meanwhile, MCA president and former transport minister Wee Ka Siong called on the government to consider the eligibility for the subsidy to be based on the type and value of cars driven instead of an individual’s income. Beyond the matter of who should qualify, there is also the matter of the mechanism(s) that should be used – we look at the pros and cons of each, here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express skepticism and concern over the fairness and transparency of the T15 petrol subsidy classification, with some arguing it favors certain groups and questioning the appeal process. Many feel that income-based tiers create inequality, advocating for uniform treatment or better income support for the B40 group. There's criticism of past subsidy policies and calls for comprehensive reforms like GST, targeted cash aid, or increased taxes on the wealthy. Some comments highlight the potential for abuse, favoritism, or unfairness in the current system, and a few suggest that subsidies may lead to higher costs or misuse. Overall, sentiments reflect dissatisfaction with the current subsidy plan, emphasizing the need for fairness, transparency, and effective economic strategies.

• Rafizi, boleh tanya? Kalau kamu cakap pendapatan T15 tinggi, tak patut terima subsidi. Kalau B40 and M40 tak mampu beli petrol mahal, janganlah pandu kereta. Motor tak boleh? Kalau betul betual tak mampu, jalan pun kena jalan pergi kerja. Mengapa T15 sudah pun bayar tax tinggi tak boleh ada subsidi, org yg tak bayar tax pula dibagi bantuan, padahal macam saya cakap, tak mampu jangan beli kereta!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 15
    • apabila malam jumaat aktif sangat tu… mana muat semua naik motor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Dah Menang Semua on Dec 10, 2024 at 9:56 pm

Ini semua salah gomen
        Hway besar semua galak
        Belian kereta untung cukai

• Rafizi oh Rafizi on Dec 10, 2024 at 7:56 pm

Senang je, B40 boleh sewa IC untuk T15 beli petrol. Lepas tu B40 pun boleh untung dan naik jadi M40

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Itu pasai org yg betul2 kaya tak pernah bising pasai subsidi bersasar ni. Pendapatan masuk tax haven, beli kete nama kompeni, segala perbelanjaan buat claim reimbursement dari kompeni tax haven. Jgn cakap cikgu tak ajar

• Hmmmm on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:05 am

Sabau ler…dia x bg kebenaran tanya pn ko hambur ..xde adab tul.

• Yeah, correct. In other countries their B40 cannot afford private transportation, they have to take public transportation.

To those who say our public transportation is under-developed, well that’s because no one local ever takes them and complain about them. It’s a chicken and egg problem — we need people to start taking public transportation and provide feedback (complain/bising) to actually improve them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Rushdi Ahmad on Dec 20, 2024 at 1:47 am

They actually want the government to improve public transports but they not going to use it, instead they’re hoping other will use it , the road will less congested and easier for them to drive

• Eyawn mask on Dec 11, 2024 at 3:00 pm

I don’t understand why many “T15” people against this. I’d rather let the B40 have all those small subsidies. They’re the biggest consumer group, would ended up spending those subsidies on my business if not others. We got those subsidies indirectly, exponentially. My business hurts badly during MCO, but when B40 got some money from gov, not only my business recovered, it was thriving and only taking a few little dips after the RM weakened few months ago. It’s a win for me when B40 spending more for moving around cheaply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • All r msian..shld be treated fairly! on Dec 12, 2024 at 10:00 am

the issue is fairness. T1,T10,T15,T20, or watever r Msian & pay the highest tax bracket while b40 mostly not eligible or the least tax payer. So y t15 not eligible for subsidy when they contribute the most for the country? Any logic here? So y ppl want to study & work hard if just remain as b40 can get all the freebies?? If no subsidy, then all no subsidy, if got subsidy, then all msian shld hv.

• Rushdi Ahmad on Dec 11, 2024 at 4:06 pm

Cos’ these people consist majority of their voters , these simple minded folks easily believe saya ulang….harga minyak turun RM1.50 dalam 24 jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Nurul Izzah on Dec 10, 2024 at 6:30 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 35
  • Hehehe, can’t wait to see how this is implemented. If it is anything like the whole PADU Diesel fiasco, i say goodluck to the G, and goodluck to all of us :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Big surprise coming...GE16 on Dec 10, 2024 at 7:37 pm

Oh my gaud….Rafizi again…Mr Bad Surprise,how many times keep on talk 3 talk 4.
      Rakyat tired of all these.
      Just do whats needed and wait for backlash.
      Cukai pintu,cukai tanah,medical premiums,fire insurance,life insurance all naik at same 2025..is this what we voted for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:18 pm

I guess you have seen anwar shake hands with WEF Klaus Schwaub…
        This is the idiot who is making all the utilities go up…
        Wait till Trump is inaugrated

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 12, 2024 at 2:02 pm

WKS must be very happy now
          His next “marketing” = GST

• Lets See on Dec 10, 2024 at 10:24 pm

Rule #1 to be eligible for subsidy: become PH member & vote PH only.
      Rule #2 willing to be braindead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Janji dicapati on Dec 10, 2024 at 7:21 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • If General Elections are announced tomorrow, PH will get hammered. That’s how idiotic they have become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • PH Please Step Down Now! on Dec 12, 2024 at 11:36 am

Which is why they are doing it now. They expect Msians mudah lupa all these suffering when comes GE16.

• Bee40 on Dec 10, 2024 at 8:55 pm

Kalau nak bagi B40 subsidi pasti kan ada cukai jalan dan insuran . Lebih lebih lagi tiada outstanding saman .

• Bob Yan on Dec 10, 2024 at 9:06 pm

I need a economical priced policy.

• Jeffrey Tan on Dec 10, 2024 at 9:17 pm

I walk my shoes no need fuel Ron95

• t333son on Dec 10, 2024 at 9:27 pm

I don’t know.. will it become a free lunch for many who do not deserve the subsidy? it seems that there are many people with undeclared incomes (examples : online traders, influencers, civil servants with side hustles, illegal activities like ah long, smugglers, drug dealers, fire arms dealers, bribes). The hardcore poor will most likely miss out anyway because they can’t afford a recent iPhone or Android 14 and the data plan on which they can tap into the subsidy . The middle working class employees will yet again foot the bulk of the bill and miss out on the subsidy .

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:21 pm

include those boutiques where there are no customers buying anything but still can rent outlets in expensive malls… go to BSC, BV, NuSentral, Midvalley, Setapak Sentral… many boutiques… practically empty… all these are money laundering outlets

• Kamaruddin bin Yaakub on Dec 10, 2024 at 9:46 pm

Yang miskin betul2 ialah mereka yg ada basikal sahaja. Bagi basikal free cukuplah

• Sohai on Dec 10, 2024 at 10:13 pm

If you still working on the criteria, then how you know is T15 at the first place?
    You draw the line first then come out with the criteria? Or you have the a fair criteria then see where the line is?

I bet he doesn’t know….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Dec 10, 2024 at 10:30 pm

On 01/07/2025 Ron 95 should RM2.50. Everyone pay the pay the same price. Give those who is needed RM150-200. in their i.c. every month.If they don’t use than the next month it will be reset again . You only give to people hold valid driving. Those got no licence or expire one will get RM0.00. You stop smuggling n also everyone will have to renew their driving licence .

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 10, 2024 at 10:42 pm

Subsidy for bumi only. Senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • retarded

• As typical, a certain “type” people comment without their brains. Sometimes I REALLY wonder why most of them are on the bottom of income group xP Narrow mentality

• Lol Whut? on Dec 12, 2024 at 11:38 am

It is obviously a nons troller that came to trigger more hate against majority. PTards so easily triggered by racing comment LOL.

• We need to reduce CO2 emission to prevent global warming. Using e-motorcycle and NEV would be good for environment and to protect our next generations

• Shamsul Anuar on Dec 11, 2024 at 12:01 am

Dia ni dilahirkan utk menyusahkan manusia. Disebabkan dia ni takde benda yg bagus untuk ditawarkan kpd rakyat maka dia akan buat benda senang dijadikan susah supaya akan kelihatan seperti ada otak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Easy 123 on Dec 11, 2024 at 3:18 am

Just forced petrol station in town area only allow anyone own national car can purchase subsidize Ron95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Mohan on Dec 11, 2024 at 6:36 am

What a great formula

• Ayuhan on Dec 11, 2024 at 6:36 am

Just bring it on, why hesitate. We want to see brave action to save economy not just talk cock. Subsidize little for poor and none for the riches. You’ll see suddenly weekend the highway become deserted as poor people think deeper before wasting excess fuel for unnecessary leisure activities. Ah what a sight to behold.

• Just significantly increase car road tax of >2000cc passenger car might be easier.

• merc nowadays C class have 1.5 liter engine….so can get subsidy …hahahahaha

• alibaba on Dec 11, 2024 at 10:31 am

learn sg la, dun gv any subsidies in life, but cut down the tax while we purchasing any thing, ello, national car, excise duty pay more than the car price dude, u tak pernah baca barang ur colleges set ah?

• EV is the Way to go on Dec 11, 2024 at 10:56 am

Less subsidy the better for country finance

Old legacy petrol policy must GO.. GO Green NOW

• Laugh on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:10 am

Can appeal on the decision?
    Sounds very convincing… Tax paid so high to support these unproductive people to come up with these half past six implementations.

How not to be angry in paying taxes every year?

• Weewee on Dec 11, 2024 at 8:11 pm

The more taxes you pay, the least entitled you are to the subsidies… and vice versa.

Sounds fair? No?

• WKS suggestion for fuel subsidy to be based on cars has it’s merits and flaws. Those in T15 can easily buy a smaller less expensive car to enjoy the benefits. The fuel subsidy must be meticulously studied and reviewed extensively before implementing to avoid abuses.

• Ulang on Dec 11, 2024 at 2:40 pm

System PADU memang useless ke.

• T15 tak bayar cukai ke? T15 la yg bayar cukai banyak banyak baru u menteri menteri bodoh dapat gaji tak payah kerja, sudah bayar cukai banyak nak potong subsidi tu otak masuk air ke

• I-told-u-so on Dec 11, 2024 at 3:20 pm

How to check kelayakan.. kena pakai app ka?

• my 2 cents on Dec 11, 2024 at 5:52 pm

when you have tiered income tax that you are enforcing today, whatever subsidy should be equal across the board. if you want to do targeting subsidy, the tax should be equal across the board, similar to zakat. GST is another thing, it is consumption based which is fair. If someone love to splurge, he shall ‘contribute’ more.
    stop pushing the obedient citizen, God knows when they will retaliate one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • anwr menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:13 pm

Persons classified as not eligible for targeted subsidies, including for RON 95 petrol, will have the opportunity to appeal the decision, Rafizi said in a response during minister’s question time in the Dewan Rakyat.

1. Persons classified as not eligble but can appeal…
    What nonsense is this????
    One is already classified as T15 but can appeal…
    How can the rakyat be assured of the transparency of this process??

What i see is… most of suthuadi’s cronies and buddies will be given the appeal without they themselves appealing it!!

• Now you all know how better najib is ..I am so happy you people deserve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Tunggu next election on Dec 11, 2024 at 11:58 pm

Gomen pilihan YG paling teruk segala cukai segala subsidi habis dikenakan Dan Di mansuhkan formula X boleh pakai langsung ,

• Aniki on Dec 12, 2024 at 1:32 am

I think gomen should stop any classification as everyone should get the same treatment. Country need high income in order to grow, if you keep classify high income got no benefit as Malaysian, they might leave and make us poor. Just tax those high income enough and stop all this classification. Gomen should focus the issue from bank instead as everyone need to use it but bank keep stop lower android version to support their apps and force poor people to keep buying new phone instead.

• how about these rohingya that goes around in motorcycle? they have to gali their own mine for minyak to fill their motorcycles. never think about them, they are religious brothers also you know, they every friday go mosque one you know, so they should have equal rights as bumi also you know.

• Autodriver on Dec 12, 2024 at 10:14 am

To balance the furious maybe government can think of remove subsidy from T15 and also “reduce” subsidy for all other tier too. We need to be fair to rich people who paying much higher tax to gov compare to B40 and M40. Gov need to think how to raise B40 and M40 income instead of purely penalize the T20 or T15.

• Mountainbear on Dec 12, 2024 at 11:43 am

Step 1. Introduce GST. Step 2. Float the petrol price.
    Step 3. Give cash to poor people. Step 4. Create investment vehicles (Rafizi Job) to bring income to Gov.. Do like Najib does, but more transparent. No need for another bullshit formulas, just swallow your ego.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Dec 13, 2024 at 4:51 pm

Since Najib policies are sound just bring him back as PM and we can end this PH charades for good. Make Malaysia Great Again

• If only Malaysian income increase and Malaysia currency strengthen substantially then the impact of subsidy reduction will be tolerated. Rafizi, please do the right thing right to achieve it.

• Ben Yap on Dec 12, 2024 at 2:08 pm

nevermind, once the petrol subsidy is in place and i don’t get it, i will increase my tenant’s rent to cover the money i’ve not gotten. i urge all T15 and above to increase their rental too. B40 needs a roof over their heads and they will have to pay.

• Bootlicker on Dec 12, 2024 at 3:01 pm

10 years ago this same La-fizi condemnned the government for abolishing petrol/diesel subsidi. No one wanna call out his hypocrisy ke?

https://rafiziramli.com/2014/11/tindakan-hapus-subsidi-petrol-dan-diesel-adalah-terkutuk-tidak-bertanggungjawab-dan-memangsakan-rakyat/

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Dec 13, 2024 at 4:53 pm

All those PH supporters & voters have long jilat his magic buntut dy so none saw this contradiction. Hitam pon bole jadik puteh if lapizi/nuar sez so based on their logic.

• If Malaysia’s income keep on increase significantly and the currency strengthens substantially impact of the reduction of subsidies will be more manageable. Mr Rafizi, take the right action to achieve it.

• shaharyop on Dec 13, 2024 at 10:00 am

Increase fuel price to $2.50
    Senang cerita – no need all that jazz.
    win win win.

• Paul Chan on Dec 16, 2024 at 9:00 am

I guess continuous “punishing” of the rich and successful will only force them to move overseas. Move assets overseas, move businesses overseas. In the end, Malaysia hurts itself.