Audi Q7 to be CKD in Malaysia, launching May – Malaysia’s first CKD Audi, first in Southeast Asia

PHS Automotive Malaysia (PHSAM) and Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) MD Denyu Bosthandziev revealed to media at a luncheon today that the Audi Q7 will be locally assembled (CKD) in Malaysia. This would make it not only Malaysia’s first CKD Audi, but the first in Southeast Asia.

He added that there will be a new production line for the Q7 at the Pekan, Pahang plant, and the large SUV will be officially launched in Malaysia in May.

We’ve known about Audi’s plans to CKD in Malaysia since January 2024, when Bosthandziev said: “We do have plans to move towards CKD. In the CKD market, we can be more competitive in pricing. Compared to CBU, it helps us reach out to our customers… in terms of pricing and needs, we are able to cut a good deal for our customers.”

The latest Q7 is the second gen’s second facelift, which debuted last year. The refreshed seven-seater’s engine choices include a 3.0 litre turbodiesel in 231 PS/500 Nm and 241 PS/600 Nm states of tune, plus a 340 PS/500 Nm 3.0 litre turbo V6 petrol.

All six-cylinder engines get an eight-speed auto, all-wheel-drive and a 48-volt mild-hybrid system with a lithium-ion battery and belt-alternator starter. Engine-off coasting can be done for up to 40 seconds between 55 and 160 km/h.

European pricing starts from 79,300 euros (RM369k) for the diesel and 82,500 euros (RM384k) for the petrol. The last Q7 Audi Malaysia sold was the RM600k pre-first facelift second gen. What kind of price tag do you think this latest CKD Q7 will wear?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 18, 2025 at 3:23 pm

Ckd or not. What price you trying to sell?

• Peppa on Feb 18, 2025 at 3:44 pm

I prefer this Q7 interior over X5 and GLE. Try shut all three cars doors and you all will be surprised how much more solid Audis are

• tricycle on Feb 18, 2025 at 3:49 pm

400k++ should be the price if it wants to compete with X5 (market leader), since GLE450 CKD is also gaining traction in sales after the price reduction (7-seater only config).

Touareg is still way behind, presumebly because the starting price of almost 500k. But now they drop to 400k. But the most important thing to do is to do the Touareg R chrome delete and bring it with 21 inch or 22 inch wheel. 20 inch wheel for this big SUV does not fit into its appearance.

And lastly Audi should CKD A4, S4, RS4, these are the models that will add volume to the sales and will likely challenge the dominace of C-class and 3-series. Very sure of it. Once the price drop, sales will increase like crazy. But bring interesting model like how the Merc and BM been doing in Malaysia. Like the C43 and 340i.

• yusrykru on Feb 18, 2025 at 4:04 pm

baru bangun ke bang? sale teruk ye?

• UNker on Feb 18, 2025 at 4:53 pm

If this CKD model selling below RM500k it will be a good buy…but as we know how cars are pricing in Malaysia, probably gonna sell at RM598k, just shy rm1k from CKD Cayenne.

• ThePolygon on Feb 18, 2025 at 8:42 pm

Ahh… Assembly line machines arrived from those closed down plants in EU?

• JasonT on Feb 19, 2025 at 11:18 pm

Just like the Japanese 20 years ago, bringing their old tech TV factory to Asia? Anyway, Audi is going downhill liao. Buy new at 500k, after 3-4 years 2nd hand dealer will tell you all sorts of reasoning and buy your car at cut throat prices. Maybe not even touching 100k ha ha …. Mercedes also no difference, especially EV. Got a old friend told me his mechanic said EV car battery will only have 70% capacity after 3 years ha ha ….

• Ideal price would be something in between CKDs of Cayenne (RM600k) and Toureg (RM400), aka RM500k. Will definitely compete with the like of GLEs and X5s

• Squid on Feb 19, 2025 at 8:36 am

Some correction. Not the first Malaysian CKD Audi. Audi’s used to be CKD in the days of Auto Dunia many moons ago.

• Bieight8 on Feb 19, 2025 at 12:30 pm

Please removed the air suspension

• Faris on Feb 19, 2025 at 5:19 pm

If it’s 600k for pre-facelift CBU, around 450k would make better sense for facelift CKD.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 22, 2025 at 5:41 pm

If the Lexus RX being full CBU can be priced at 470k, this CKD Q7 should be lower than the Lexus. However, the Touareg already priced at 400k with VAP, VW got to make more room (second price cut) for Audi Q7 to be priced competitively.