Gov’t finalising RON95 fuel subsidy mechanism, assures that prices of goods won’t go up – KPDN

The rationalisation of RON 95 petrol that will be carried out by mid-year will feature the best possible mechanism to ensure that its benefits reach intended groups and correct people, according to domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) minister Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali.

He said that the government is now in the final phase of drafting a fair and effective targeting system to ensure that the implementation achieves the set objectives, as Sinar Harian reports.

He added that the target groups who will use the subsidised fuel are currently being identified through discussions between various agencies, including the finance ministry, the transport ministry, the road transport department (JPJ) and the land public transport agency (APAD).

Armizan said this in a written parliamentary response to a question from Hassan Abdul Karim (PH-Pasir Gudang), who asked the ministry to clarify whether the implementation of the targeted RON 95 subsidy would lead to an increase in the prices of goods and the cost of living for the rakyat.

Regarding these concerns, he assured the public that this targeted subsidy would not lead to uncontrolled increases in the price of goods and services. He said that to curb price manipulation, the ministry will enhance enforcement through the Price Control and Anti-Profiteering Act 2011 and the Price Control and Anti-Profiteering Regulations 2018.

“Through these regulations, the government will implement Ops Kesan to ensure no parties take advantage by unreasonably increasing prices due to the subsidy targeting,” he said. He added that various initiatives would be put in place to alleviate the burden on the people.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• You still believe these jokers? on Feb 28, 2025 at 11:43 am

That’s what they said when diesel price was floated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Can I advice u something ? Increase birkin handbag price on Feb 28, 2025 at 7:34 pm

Rafizi and Amir Hamzah..pls use common sense.
      Most of the T15 are businessmen(apart from the high salaried dudes).So when u charge them Rm3.50/litre..u think they dont give a backlash?
      They will up every damn price on every damn item.
      Stop insulting the rakyat’s intelligence.

• Have to correct you here on Mar 01, 2025 at 10:22 pm

Not every rakyat has intelligence. This group can be easily bought with packet of rice and oil and some canned food

• Plain BS on Mar 02, 2025 at 11:05 am

Why should we even trust what they said now. Even birkin man was never this bad. Please bring him back!

• Nurul Izzah on Feb 28, 2025 at 8:42 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

• Habis lah

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 28, 2025 at 5:16 pm

More BS from this BS Gomen. Janji above sudah dicapati

• Ronnie James 95 on Feb 28, 2025 at 11:52 am

How are u going to control who can fill up subsidy price at petrol station?…auto cost go up if petrol pump operator have to upgrade system and man extra workers to supervise the fill up process. Time wasting at the petrol station since the simple act of filling petrol will be soo complicated…Fail lah!

• DonkeyKong on Feb 28, 2025 at 1:24 pm

In other words, they’re holding traders and transporters at gunpoint. Fuel prices are gonna go up. You absorb the costs. If you pass the cost onto the consumers, you’ll get fined or jailed.

They’re also screwing the millions of rakyat who drive to work daily. Your fuel costs are gonna go up but don’t worry, we’ve threatened the traders not to raise prices. Your disposable income will be less but based on our special formula, your quality of life will be same or better than when you had more disposable income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 28, 2025 at 5:17 pm

They basically screwed millions of Msians for not fulfilling their promise above.

• sus

• ThePolygon on Feb 28, 2025 at 3:05 pm

But Peninsular exempted right like how S&S exempted for Diesel because we use more Ron 95 here.

• lmaoatheprices on Feb 28, 2025 at 3:50 pm

LOL.. confidence is key

• Ben Yap on Feb 28, 2025 at 5:08 pm

no worries la, we just need to bear with it for 2 years before the next general election. opposition will use this against madani government and promise lower fuel price.

• Plain BS on Mar 02, 2025 at 11:06 am

Why wait 2 years, let’s just kick them out now. Peoples revolution don’t need to wait

• Levin on Feb 28, 2025 at 5:16 pm

Meanwhile, who carries goods using petrol vehicles especially one that uses RON95?
    Most transportation for goods is widely done on diesel vehicles.

• Top sales in a company, your boss (or servant?) wants to punish you because you bring more sales to company. Your boss wants to encourage lazy sales to be even lazier!

• Doesn’t sound any different from government servants. Not doing much (if anything at all) yet demanding performance bonuses and higher salaries and pensions

• Just feed him the fish and shadap on Mar 02, 2025 at 9:25 pm

Noticed the real rich never once complained? Only the fake rich barking. We, the real rich love this form of maleise politics. It’s like feeding sugar to cancer cells and doctors get to rip off their patients to death

• Sohai!is Anwar groups me as T20 or T15 but I have never said I am rich!

• Also if you are really rich, you will not be here to leave your comment. You are the one who pretend to be rich! Shame on you!

• Mayor on Mar 01, 2025 at 8:05 pm

When they say it won’t, It will…

• Kepoci on Mar 01, 2025 at 10:25 pm

Own country still lacking enough schools and hospitals nak menyibuk tolong orang. Waste of taxpayers money

• Dong gor on Mar 03, 2025 at 4:56 pm

Ya ya ya..how u assure that? Even with fixed petrol price u couldn’t control prices of goods