Chery Tiggo 4 Pro or Tiggo Cross spotted highway testing in Malaysia – coming soon to rival Ativa, WR-V

Why, it’s the latest Chery Tiggo 4 Pro – also known as the Chery Tiggo Cross, particularly in markets which sold (or are still selling) the older facelift alongside, such as South Africa and Indonesia.

No fewer than three units were spotted testing on a Malaysian highway, wearing trade plates and varying degrees of camouflage. The vertical DRLs (and matching rear fender slits) along with the prominent full-width tail lamps can be clearly seen, and although well-obscured, you can just about make out the squinty headlamps and huge angular grille.

The three cars are all wearing different wheels. The car with the base wheels (above) appears to have a smaller exhaust box – could Malaysia get 116 PS/138 Nm 1.5 NA + CVT (like Indonesia) and 147 PS/210 Nm 1.5 turbo + six-speed DCT (like South Africa) powertrain options?

Conjecture at this point, of course – but if it turns out to be true, Chery Malaysia could have a competitively-priced base 1.5 NA variant to take on the Ativa (like the Omoda 5 C targeting the Proton X50) and 1.5 turbo variants to out-spec the WR-V.

We’ll know for sure when the pint-sized SUV launches in Malaysia in the first half of 2025, sitting below the Omoda 5 in both size and price, and supplanting it as the new entry-level Chery – five-digit price tag to start?

The Chery Tiggo 4 Pro/Chery Tiggo Cross is priced at Rp 239.5-269.5 juta (RM65k-73k) in Indonesia and ZAR400k-450k (RM96k-108k) in South Africa. Here at home, we have the RM63k-73k Ativa and the RM90k-108k WR-V – you know the next question, so what’s your answer?

2024 Chery Tiggo Cross in South Africa

2024 Chery Tiggo 4 Pro facelift in China

2021 Chery Tiggo 4 Pro pre-facelift

10% discount when you renew your car insurance with us

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services. You can also pay with instalment using Grab PayLater or Shopee SPayLater.

Renew Car Insurance

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Malaysia b40 on Mar 03, 2025 at 12:24 pm

Great, we need more choices under rm100k car price sit between the national car and japanese car.

• Tin Kosong on Mar 03, 2025 at 12:30 pm

mesti la turbo…

• ZulKepom on Mar 03, 2025 at 12:44 pm

This is interesting, the first model from chery that actualy rival a perodua car. All this while, Perodua being comfortable because all the China brands launched models that do not directly compete with their offerings.

• Nice

• kckfen on Mar 04, 2025 at 8:50 am

Rear aircond vent and below Rm100k… win liao like that

• If CVT then forget about it, cis Omoda 5 using Jatco CVT lmao