Gov’t will implement RON95 subsidy rationalisation as planned, second half of 2025 roll-out – Amir Hamzah

The Madani government will implement the RON 95 subsidy rationalisation as planned, and it will be rolled out in the second half of this year, second finance minister Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan said.

The senator said that discussions about RON 95 subsidy rationalisation are still ongoing at the cabinet level to detail the best mechanism for a full roll-out that’s fair to the rakyat, BH reported.

“The prime minister (Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim) and the cabinet have discussed, where we will raise the eligibility level to receive subsidies. The second thing is the mechanism that will be used – as announced by the PM, we will use the identity card, and every Malaysian citizen has one,” he said after officiating the MIA International Accountants Conference 2025 in KL today.

Amir Hamzah reiterated that MyKad is the way to go. “We have already used the identity card for the SARA (Sumbangan Asas Rahmah) scheme, and it works. So for now, the finance ministry is tightening the system so that we can use it for RON 95 subsidy implementation,” he added.

This comes after the PM was quoted as saying that the government guarantees that the price of RON 95 will not be raised for the rakyat, although the matter was discussed by the cabinet. Anwar said that there was a push for the RON 95 price to be raised, but he did not agree with the proposal.

“I’m thinking of the RON 95 petrol subsidy issue. Some have asked for the price to be increased for the rakyat. However, I don’t agree. If it is to be done, RON 95 price adjustment (the amount of subsidy) has to go down bit by bit according to timing and market price,” the PKR president said in his winding up at the party’s congress in Johor over the weekend.

However, foreigners will have to pay more for fuel. “Foreigners enjoy RM3-4 billion in subsidies. Maybe after this, to buy RON 95 petrol, one will have to show his identity card,” Anwar said, stressing that the pump price for around four million foreigners in Malaysia has to be raised.

So, looks like it’s still on, and when the PM mentions rakyat, it excludes the T15s – we should’ve known, because in his books, those are the ‘maha kaya’. In any case, RON 95 subsidy rationalisation is no longer under the economy ministry and Datuk Seri Rafizi Ramli, and the MoF is in charge now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sabri on May 26, 2025 at 6:09 pm

Make it clear. Those Malaysians not working in malaysia pay lhdn example johor people working in singapore should not get fuel subsidy also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • Belayu Yeast Rum on May 26, 2025 at 8:10 pm

Cannot take away our privilege otherwise we will go down SOGO to protest again same like last Saturday

• Make Malaysia Great Again on May 27, 2025 at 5:34 pm

It is okay. Majority still won’t vote for PH ever. Just wait for next GE.

• hondaman on May 26, 2025 at 6:14 pm

both of them not in the same WhatsApp group meh?

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 26, 2025 at 6:27 pm

On one side PMX announce no increase for RON95 on the other side this minister announce that RON95 subsidy rationalisation will proceed which will cause prices to go up.
    What is this forked tongue Gomen saying? If you see a snake and see PH, kill PH as it is a snake too but worse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • Hari ini PH memang esok harga minyak turun! on May 27, 2025 at 8:19 am

If you’re given a gun with 5 bullets and you see PH and a snake, shoot PH 5 times. If you’re given 5 more bullets shoot PH 5 more times just to be sure.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2025 at 6:32 pm

Bravo to the idiots who voted in forked-tongue incompetent rabble-rousers. They’re only good at protesting and opposing. When given a chance to govern, everything falls apart and their incompetence and inability to deliver are laid bare for all to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
  • Janji Dicapati on May 26, 2025 at 7:04 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Timbalan Presiden binti Presiden on May 26, 2025 at 7:05 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Rafizi Ramli...kalah teruk...mengamok sekarang on May 26, 2025 at 7:33 pm

One opposition dude questioned where did the figure of 4 billion Rm pumped by foreigners.
    If high income expat number around 200,000..r we including all the Banglas,Nepalis ,Burmese who ride motorcycles?
    Fair..to deny the top T15 of subsidies.
    But once the T15 kena no subsidy..their tendency is to jack up costs of goods n services(those in business).
    While our exporters r at the mercy of mad dog Trump,PMX..dont u think it is wiser to kiv the subsidy thing till things r more settled?
    Now,with job cuts looming with uncertainty..coupled with raised fuel prices..it is a double whammy.
    If u turn is needed to steer the rakyat from troubled waters,by all means ,PMX..please defer this hot topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Ttqre on May 26, 2025 at 9:05 pm

Rich people don’t care, they just pay what they want. The one who really jack up their goods price and whining? The acah acah kaya ine lorr.

• Robinhood on May 27, 2025 at 8:48 am

You think this selfish person cares? Look at the amount of wastages in useless projects. Sakau or no sakau also no investigation. Look at his party elections and the amount of money splashed….. Where is our tax payers money? We paid so much taxes and he has also raised them including the removals of many of other subsidies which have further escalated the cost of living!!! If the people kena twice tricked in the coming GE, then we have only ourselves to blame.

• anonymous 1234 on May 27, 2025 at 11:25 am

Don’t worry — our Malaysian B40 rakyat will end up selling their quota to the Bangladeshi, Nepali, and Burmese riders on motorcycles. The entitlement shouldn’t be based on MyKad alone; subsidies should be based on whether the person holds a valid driving license!

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 27, 2025 at 5:40 pm

Must ask why our B40 would need to sell their rights. Maybe they are desperate and too poor because this Gomen isn’t doing anything for them instead making life harder by cutting and removing subsidies. Then you should blame this Gomen for not fulfilling their promise.

• wong chin kong on May 26, 2025 at 8:08 pm

‘Maha Kaya’ never affected by this subsidy thing. Very rich people drive electric cars, petrol price high? No impact. Company directors, consultant, business owners all got car allowances from company, no subsidy, no problem lah.

• Richie on May 28, 2025 at 7:28 pm

Electric car is not rich. They are below 200k or 250k. Very cheap. Very rich ppl drive 5 series e class which cost 450k. Ultra rich drive s class or supercar.

• Sabri on Jun 02, 2025 at 6:17 am

Drive byd m8 rich ke

• Ttqre on May 26, 2025 at 9:03 pm

Aiyoo no more lafizi still RON95 going up.

• Use MyKad really? All the bosses will get their drivers to pump petrol for their cars. What rationalisation are we talking about?

• Bumi who earned SGD get the best deal. No need pay tax, discounted home price, get Bantuan STR, petrol subsidy and what else.

• Saya Ulam Timbalan Presiden binti Presiden on May 27, 2025 at 6:27 am

Nak aku bukak grup wasap untuk dorg tak ni… Saya ULAMMM

• Any form of subsidy will invite abuse and frauds. There will be no way to prevent more frauds in the targeted subsidy.
    Ideally we should just raise RON95 price to an affordable level such as RM2.60/liter. This will reduce the government’s burden, encourage utilization of public transport, reduce massive jams on highways and reduce pollution.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 27, 2025 at 3:56 pm

Ideally RON95 should be priced above bcoz it is what they had promised us!

• michael on May 27, 2025 at 9:42 am

Subsidy may benefit the rich and the power…therefore need to remove it in a way will not burden the poor and needy… how to provide to those poor and needy I will leave it to those “Advisers” with the implementor…

• RON91 on May 27, 2025 at 10:06 am

disel lain cara ,petrol lain cara ,Sabah Serawak lain cara, Semenanjung lain cara. Masalah problem dia orang ni

• Ben Yap on May 27, 2025 at 10:26 am

poor communication and planning on the top level…. one say the opposite from the other even though same department. to align their direction and story also cannot, what more expecting them to run a country.

• Just increase the price. There are too many vehicles jamming the road everyday, not to mention mat rempits wasting fuel racing on the road.

• anonymous 1234 on May 27, 2025 at 11:21 am

This is not the right way to determine who is entitled to the subsidies. T15 and above pay more taxes, and yet they are being penalized by being excluded from the benefits? Aren’t they also rakyat Malaysia? If this continues, the country will not be able to grow any further. This is one of the most illogical mechanisms for determining entitlement. Definitely these group T15 above will not vote in the next GE16.

• Phuddi sung Lee on May 27, 2025 at 12:02 pm

This fatty patchi hired by sohai to scare and give unnecessary stress to rakyat who already v tense Bez of. Economic condition ,but we will see near by election he would no more have this type of useless statements r he just diam jaa,U pls look at ur body n reduce fats first

• wat4mau on May 27, 2025 at 12:22 pm

Anwar wants to be the Hero the rakyat wants, whilst leaving the dirty work to UMNO. What he doesnt understands is, all of them including him are in the same boat, the same government let alone him being the leader.

Good cop, bad cop tactics of him are so outdated and starting to form a pattern.

if wanna cut subsidy, cut for all.

• Gary B on May 27, 2025 at 12:49 pm

Based on IC, it’s only half correct . I ask one scenario,
    A local engineer working for Brunei O&G. Who never paid tax to LHDN, everything paid cash and loans use wife’s name . Would this person bring classified as B40? Since LHDN indicates no income source and thus, given cash aid and fuel subsidies. In actual fact, he was paid B$ 15K monthly . Come on, T15 we’re paying the most taxes , imagine a company exclude Bonus for their top mgmt . Where is the logic? There are way too many illegals roaming the streets of Miri , policemen , stop hiding in your office , stop these illegals and start sending them back … these are parasites to our society, only cause burden to government and social issues .

• Just make it fair and easy, link the system to JPJ database, those with IC and owned registered vehicle entitle to subsidy, including T15. All Foreigner without IC pay actual price RON95. How much can you save by excluding T15?

• along with e invoicing, these will be the last straw for rakyat to topple the current government

• observer on May 28, 2025 at 11:20 am

1. demolish all subsidies
    2. same income tax rate to all (the more you earn the more you pay even though the rate is flat)
    3. bring GST back (the more you spend, the more you pay)
    4. help those really in need (tax return + other help). the one who is getting the help must produce evidence. not in (2) definitely don’t qualify
    5. stop introducing a system that is expensive to develop (and of course to maintain as well). remember the useless PADU or mySejahtera? kill those greedy IT firm.

• Zultotti on May 28, 2025 at 7:53 pm

Orang kaya mana pkai kereta b40 isi myk ron95. Kete t20 kebanyakan ron97 atau ev. Kita block foreigner Dr guna ron95 Pon ckup dah

• Sama Sama saja on May 28, 2025 at 10:11 pm

Siapa jadi gov sama saja. Masa kempen apa pun boleh janji. Sudah cakap only T15 tak dapat petrol murah, apa bising lagi? Kamu org ni pasti T15 yang excluded