No RON 95 price increase for Malaysians? Here’s the latest on the RON 95 fuel subsidy rationalisation plan that was supposed to start in mid 2025, which we’re approaching now.
The government guarantees that the price of RON 95 will not be raised for the rakyat, although the matter has been discussed by the cabinet, Sinar Harian says. Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that there was a push for the RON 95 price to be raised, but he didn’t agree with the proposal.
“I’m thinking of the RON 95 petrol subsidy issue. Some have asked for the price to be increased for the rakyat. However, I don’t agree. If it is to be done, RON 95 price adjustment (the amount of subsidy) has to go down bit by bit according to timing and market price,” the PM said in his winding up speech as PKR president at the party’s congress in Johor.
However, foreigners will have to pay more for fuel. “Foreigners enjoy RM3-4 billion in subsidies. Maybe after this, to buy RON 95 petrol, one will have to show his identity card,” Anwar said, stressing that the pump price for around four million foreigners in Malaysia has to be raised.
Is Anwar disowning the fuel subsidy rationalisation plan? Last week, economy minister Datuk Seri Rafizi Ramli said that the plan has been handed over to the finance ministry, which Anwar heads, and the responsibility for it no longer falls under his ministry’s jurisdiction.
“This was the decision of the cabinet. From the ministry of economy’s side, we have brought this matter to the cabinet four times, and the current position is to await action from the finance ministry. They will be managing the entire RON 95 subsidy process from now on. We must wait for their official announcement. It is best to get more details from them,” Rafizi said.
Both the stories match, which likely means that the ‘some’ in Anwar’s speech refers to Rafizi. This raises some questions. Surely, the Pandan MP wasn’t working on a ‘pet project’ and subsidy rationalisation is the Madani government’s direction, with the assignment (given by the boss) getting full buy-in from everyone involved?
By the way, Rafizi has just lost his PKR deputy president post to Nurul Izzah Anwar, the PM’s daughter, and there have been rumours of his resignation from the cabinet.
Anyway, if PMX wasn’t misquoted, T20s – unfairly labelled as maha kaya – need not ditch ICE for EVs en masse as they too are part of the rakyat, and will continue to enjoy subsidised RON 95.
Cut saja lah. No need flip flop like this.
Anwar menang rakyat senang
Yes he needs to cut the price and fulfill his janji above. Is PH becoming Pakatan Capati?
How does the govt know how much a foreigner pumps? Is it based on Credit Card data, i.e. someone using a foreign credit card? What if the foreigner pays at the counter using cash? I don’t think there is a comprehensive view of the split between local & foreign fuel purchase. You can make assumptions, e.g. x% of fuel at border petrol stations are purchased by foreigners, however those are just assumptions. Coming up with a pricing mechanism without proper data is not going to be impactful.
he just want brownie point la… when get brownie point, who cares if it is impactful.
Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that there was a push for the RON 95 price to be raised, but he didn’t agree with the proposal. oklah, we give you 1 brownie point.
however, your daughter is now PKR deputy president and it is still nepotism despite PMX rejecting it. in fact, she should not contest for that position at all. So deduct 1 brownie point.
In the end, no brownie point to PMX.
Rafizi is persona nobody grata care as PKR (& PH in general) sidelines him for Anwar family dynasty. Whatever his plans for subsidy rationalisation will go out the 14th floor with him. Just ready my popcorn for the fallout.
Maybe after this, to buy RON 95 petrol, one will have to show his identity card
– Can’t wait for Malaysian to sell their IC (per-use) to foreigner to make a quick buck nice no wonder cronyism like AP, corruption is so easily to be had here.
Also how about those who bough a diesel car guess they can start to sell it now.
Looks like Perodua has to rethink their EV strategy… no motivation to go for EV.
flip flop flip flop flip flop
All the resources spend previously on removing ron95 subsidies goes down the drain
just remove subsidies la. i had enuf of the char koay teow seller increasing his price by rm 1 each time petrol naik 0.01 using increasing petrol price as an excuse
Find another char koay teow place brader
If remove subsidy he increase ckt price by rm10
Removing subsidy is the most stupidity thing to do… so this rafizi should go home and plant jagong better lah
Rafizi has been made the scapegoat from Day 1 when he was tasked to head the project of fuel subsidy rationalization plan…being the “bad cop” in the unpopular position and task, then come the “good cop” not to agree to raising of RON95 price… it is part of the political games by the good cop…
All thanks to his formula above that puts his boss in a tough place. We are still waiting for PH to fulfill their promise, we won’t let it go that easily.
is the subsidy removed or not? no price increase for ron95 but have to show ic at the pumps? don’t make things difficult for people. and please, please use your brain to think before you speak
as predicted…there isn’t any feasible and efficient way to determine who needs to pay more at the pump. and when you do so much to only target 15% of the population, the number already telling u it’s a failed project before it even begins.
Dengar boleh,
Percaya jangan.
“fool me once, shame on you;
Fool me twice, shame on me”
But rakyat has voted PH gomen twice ady, so we are now in the shame on us (PH voters). I wonder shame on who if PH got voted in a 3rd time? Shame on Malaysia?
As usual create something than back to square one and claim credit .
So buy with IC?
can we trust his words ?
As much as sleeping with a cobra loaded with venom and Harapan it won’t bite.
He needs to be out of office Now! Now! Now!
Yes, now we can:
1. Sleep in the car with the aircond on
2. Drive minimum 160 km/h on the highway with roof box intact
3. Change to loud exhausts. Very efficient way of converting fuel to noise
4. Drive one person per car in KL traffic jam
5. Go rempit during weekends
And many more. Fuel is cheap. Thanks to the taxpayers for contributing to the subsidy so that we can burn fuel without too much worry.
RON 95 subsidy removal for foreigners and T5 must implement as soon as possible so that the money that saved would be channel to infrastructure, education and public healthcare.
I fully support what our brilliant Prime minister said… the government since Najib era has been talking about removing fuel subsidy which is so irritating for me….
We as a Malaysian has been enjoying fuel subsidy for decades…. and the amount is not that much ( a couples of billions) when you compare with the net profit of PETRONAS …
So God is always with us… ever since Najib want to increase the price of Ron 95 in the year 2014… oils price suddenly & magically collapse…. haha…. so they stop talking about removing subsidy lol… And when Anwar got into power… the moron economy minister start to talk about removing subsidy again…. what kind of intelligence level is this…?? I can fix our economy better than him lah…
He got nothing better things to do hmm…??
His capabilities is of the same as tukar white shoes to black shoes lah… better go home and sucks papaya lah