RON95 petrol subsidy rationalisation to proceed, as it will not impact vast majority of people – PM Anwar

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim says its RON 95 petrol subsidy rationalisation programme will proceed as planned. He said the government will stand by its decision to implement targeted subsidies for the fuel, as it would impact only a few, The Star reports.

“There is no issue of raising the price of petrol for the vast majority of up to 85% to 95% of our people. Will we do it? Yes, because subsidy rationalisation is critical for our nation. We want sufficient resources to help the poor, enhance education quality, and provide better public services, including health,” he said.

He criticised the opposition for creating a negative narrative about the government’s plan for RON 95. “Whatever the opposition says is just a desperate gimmick to show that people are facing hardship. There is more negative news from them when we need encouraging news to propel our economy,” he said.

The PM’s statement comes in the wake of a more than 9% increase in global crude oil prices following the Israel-Iran conflict. Asked if the conflict and resulting rising global crude oil prices would affect the nation’s economy and government coffers, he told reporters it would not have an adverse impact for now.

“For now, I have discussed this with the secretary-general of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and leading players. They are monitoring the situation very closely, but it does not necessarily affect the industry and price mechanism adversely,” he said.

There is still no indication as to exactly when the RON 95 rationalisation programme will be implemented, but In May, second finance minister Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan indicated that it will be rolled out in the second half of this year.

As of now, no concrete details of qualification levels (below T5, T10 or T15) have been revealed, and neither has the exact mechanism for the programme, but Amir Hamzah has said that the latter is likely to be based on a two-tier pricing system with both subsidised and non-subsidised prices, with MyKad determining things.

Incidentally, the unsubsidised price of RON 95 as sold by fuel retailer Double Petrol is RM2.59 per litre (today, June 16), which makes it 54 sen more than the subsidised RM2.05 per litre that has been in place since it was capped by the government in February 2021.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• anonymous on Jun 16, 2025 at 4:18 pm

he will do the most to make life increasingly expensive for the working class except increasing taxes for the rich. so much for taxing the ‘mahakaya’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jun 16, 2025 at 4:41 pm

Jd bukan salah Rapizi
      boss nak buat ape
      macai kena ikut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jun 16, 2025 at 6:32 pm

He should rationalise the above promise!

#CapatiPM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • awaKL on Jun 16, 2025 at 4:59 pm

Did you mean the corrupt and untouchables who does not need to pay taxes or declare anything to LHDN as reported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Not sure if stupid or what, but taxes have been going up over the past few years for those earning more than 200k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • why are you a bootlicker on Jun 16, 2025 at 9:21 pm

clearly not enough tf you defending him for ?

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 18, 2025 at 3:12 pm

Time to bring back Najib as PM and GST, at least BN policy are much fairer to all.

Just end this change alt Govt nonsense, it clearly didn’t work so we need go back to a 60 yo formula that does work.

• Roti Johnny on Jun 16, 2025 at 4:59 pm

You also said no impact on recent SST hike , it’s only taxing the rich. But you are wrong ! Taking 10% on rental services will impact everybody , also your tax on imported cabbage will send price hike for nasi kandar. We are not little kids, little hike will trigger tsunami jump.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • Timbalan Presiden binti Presiden on Jun 16, 2025 at 7:26 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Karam Singh on Jun 17, 2025 at 2:50 pm

Next GE, lets all vote for Pas and Gerakan. Chinese and Indians must too.

• Teksidrebar on Jun 16, 2025 at 5:31 pm

The fundamental issue need to be resolved. Not this RON 95 thing dragged for so long. Cost of living is high in general and government narrow-minded narrative is sickening rot to the grave. Can our government be more efficient and effective? They have been lack of idea and clueless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Janji Dicapati on Jun 16, 2025 at 7:26 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Becoming more effective by asking the people to report and complain, if you don’t complain they don’t know what to do. Sound familiar??

• Autodriver on Jun 17, 2025 at 8:39 am

Dude, looks like you have many ideas since you said gov is narrow-minded. What can you do to increase gov income if the gov is not applying GST? Even if the SST rate increase and also apply for wider areas, it is nothing to compare to GST which almost tax on everyone and every sector. Gov need more income to sustain the operation or by no choice but to reduce subsidy.

In 2024 government has allocated 30.5 billion ringgit (US$6.46 billion) for pensions and the figure is expected to balloon to around 120 billion ringgit by 2040 without a new salary scheme. In this scenario if you that smart please come find a way to help gov to pay off the pension fund alone. This has not factor in the RON95 yearly subsidy of RM20 billion. And there are many other more subsidies from gov that are not being counted.

The gov income source mainly from tax. Unfortunately our income tax structure is poor where majority people are not paying income tax. Some people said car tax income is huge to gov. Bear in mind that in 2024 total car sales 700k units and among this figure 500k units are national cars that paying lower tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • cukaboi on Jun 17, 2025 at 2:40 pm

You can start by not donating to foreign affairs since we need it more here.

• Autodriver on Jun 18, 2025 at 8:59 am

Government is donating to foreign affairs like Palestine is humanitarian aid because of war. And the amount is not signicant at all. Gov donate less than RM1b. Look at the figure I pointed out, gov servant expenditure 30.5b while RON95 is 20b.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Pro-Palestine on Jun 18, 2025 at 9:28 am

How gov can generate revenue besides increasing tax? If you gota few working brain cells you will not ask stupid question. Efficient gov across the world for State Own companies that will do all sorts of business selling all sorts of stuff to other countries to make money. Singapore and China is the most efficient when it comes to government investment. The money the gov made will be reinvested to other business and to keep their country’s infrastructure tip top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • PM Main Belakang on Jun 16, 2025 at 6:03 pm

economy 101 failed like heck.

thinking that fuel price is an independent sole event in the economy. as if the people affected with the increased costs will not transfer them to the end consumer.

at the end, nak tolong biforti – end up sending them straight to hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Ask you earn more money but you only know how to take from us! Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • He shld learn frm Jib. Jib era got so many investment and mega project frm China firms. If not for Jib Proton will be a pass tense now.

• If you wanna give subsidy make sure the recipient had valid road tax and insurance and no outstanding saman . Killing few birds with one stone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • medemo really dont know anything about how the market works. everything is getting more expensive already with sst expansion, e invoice u-turn, and now this fuel subsidy.

businesses can pass on the burden to the rakyat but what are the rakyat going to do. wait for str/mykasih or get a 3rd job to survive?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • louyrt on Jun 16, 2025 at 7:13 pm

No more rafizi still going up?

• DonkeyKong on Jun 16, 2025 at 10:01 pm

Saya ulllaaaaaannngggg

• Ben Yap on Jun 17, 2025 at 9:03 am

PMX last time want to claim credit to say that he wanted the fuel subsidy to put on hold. now sudah U-turn and say go ahead. he knows what he is doing or not? don’t always put your nose in geopolitics and go globe trotting. do something meaningful for m’sia. the clock is ticking and the next GE is coming.

• disable on Jun 17, 2025 at 10:54 am

Again.. not against any good policy that will benefit the rakyat. Make sure all the money use with transparent and not going to somebody pockets!!!

• Squid on Jun 17, 2025 at 1:59 pm

Limiting subsidies to a targeted group is a wrong move, especially when they are citizens who are contributing the most to the country. The right thing to do is to control how much subsidy each individual gets regardless of income.

• your whole cabinet will be going down together with your ron95 and e-invoice

• guerilla on Jun 21, 2025 at 7:32 pm

no impact lah they said. penipu.
    my monthly fuel consumption is RM300 give or take. Mostly commute, 40km one way to office. Im only driving Saga.

One would say, go rent somewhere closer to office. But that dont make sense for my case as I already have a house. In a month I’d be driving directly for site work for around 3-7 days . In a year I’d be outstation for around 3-8 weeks at a time. Increase this my monthly fuel cost (commute only) will increase to 420 lor. just like that add in RM120 a month. Now, I guess the only good thing is if company revise the fuel mileage claim.

If I drive more fuel guzzling cars like Persona, X50, X70 etc then you can see my fuel expense will be like RM600, or RM700-RM800 just like that.