Not every number has takers in the JPJ eBid auction – that’s how the rest of us get random ‘running numbers’ if we don’t pay for our pick. This applies to special or ‘rare’ plates as well, and the road transport department is now offering the leftover numbers of the M-M series.
The plate, which stands for ‘Malaysia Merdeka’, was released in conjunction with Malaysia’s 66th National Day celebrations in 2023. JPJ said then that there were a total of 25,033 bidders and of the total, 6,872 bidders won the plates they desired.
The winning bid for M1M was the highest at RM622k, while two very rich people duked it out for M5M, which eventually went for RM500k. The third highest winning bid was RM450k for M8M. The cheapest single digit number was M3M, which went for RM268k. The numbers that received the highest number of bidders were M101M, M155M and M51M, which saw 39, 33 and 32 bidders respectively. The auction collected RM20,091,070 for the government.
Previously, remainder number plates can be browsed and bought at JPJ’s Putrajaya HQ or at state JPJ offices, but lately they’ve put it online on JPJ’s MySikap portal, like the ‘mega clearance sale’ in April.
After you log in, head to the ‘kenderaan’ section and look for ‘tempahan nombor pendaftaran’. Then, select ‘nombor pendaftaran istimewa’ from the drop down menu and choose your series/number. You can pay via credit card or FPX and press ‘cetak’ for your receipt. Click on the graphics above for a clearer picture. The online sale started on June 5 and it’s on a first come, first served basis.
No mention of price, but previous clearance sales had ‘popular’ numbers at RM510 each inclusive of a service fee, or RM310 each for regular numbers. This is actually the second round of clearance sale for M-M.
First question: Where is all this money goes? I don’t blame our Transport Minister busy sell car plate to earn money for gomen, but this money should be transparent and use at the correct place such as widen road, install streetlight etc.
Do demands your MP to raise your question to MOF in parliament wokay
The portal is not very user friendly. you can choose a specific number or a range but limited to 50 only. they should allow a wider range say every 500 or 1000. anyway, all the nice numbers are no more there.