Proton Saga MC3 to get new 1.5L NA 4-cyl from X50 FL? BHE15PFI with 110 PS/135 Nm, timing chain

Render by Theophilus Chin

By far the biggest new feature on the facelifted Proton X50 is its 1.5 litre i-GT TD (turbo direct injection, not turbodiesel) four-cylinder engine. Offering a significant torque increase over the old GEP3 TGDi three-cylinder, the new BHE15TD mill is set to be the template for all Proton engines moving forward.

We anticipate that future versions of the X70 and S70 will receive the new engine wholesale, but of bigger consequence is the new Saga MC3 set to be launched later this year. A turbocharged and direct-injected engine would be complete overkill on such a budget-oriented sedan and would likely overwhelm the AMA-based chassis (although it would make for quite a hilarious souped-up model, don’t you think?).

What that car needs is a more cost-effective version of the engine, and thankfully such a mill does exist. A gander through the Aurobay (Geely’s Sweden-based powertrain division, now part of Horse Powertrain) website reveals a page for the BHE15 family with some intriguing variants. Two of them are naturally aspirated, these being the BHE15D and the BHE15PFI.

The BHE15D four-pot uses a 350-bar high-pressure direct-injection system and is found in the updated Geely Emgrand (the S70’s twin) in China, producing 126 PS at 6,300 rpm and 152 Nm of torque from 4,000 to 5,000 rpm.

The all-aluminium engine maintains the BHE15TD’s 1,499 cc capacity – with an identical 73.4 mm bore and 88.57 mm stroke – but has a slightly higher 6,350 rpm redline (up from the TD’s 6,000 rpm) owing to the natural aspiration. And while it was not specifically listed on the website, the one-piece cam cover and the mention of a “silence chain” leads us to believe that the new mill will use a timing chain, not a belt, which will be music to the ears of many.

As fun as it would be to have a GDI engine in a Saga, such a fuelling setup would be expensive for an entry-level model and more complicated to service. It’s also described as a “high-performance engine” (although we would be hard-pressed to call the Emgrand a performance car), so perhaps it would be better suited to an R3 model down the line.

This is where the BHE15PFI comes in – a “low-cost” unit with port injection (still with DOHC and variable valve timing, mind) that is able to “meet different customer’s requirements” and would thus make for an ideal replacement for the old CamPro-based 1.3 litre VVT. Outputs are rated at between 99 PS and 110 PS at 6,000 rpm and between 125 Nm and 135 Nm of torque from 4,000 to 5,000 rpm, which even at the higher end is some way short of the Emgrand’s.

Still, the new mill will be at least slightly more powerful than the outgoing Saga, which makes 95 PS and 120 Nm. More importantly, the newer technologies embedded into the engine should provide a useful improvement in fuel consumption and emissions, the latter helping the car pass stricter Euro 6e regulations. Aside from the standard pure combustion configuration, the engine can be combined with a hybrid or plug-in hybrid system and can even be used as a range extender for an EV, it is stated.

The only other question concerns the gearbox that will be mated to this engine. The Saga currently uses an Aisin-sourced four-speed automatic, which may be considered a little antiquated in this day and age. Again, we could look to the aforementioned Emgrand, which is available with two transmission options – a CVT with eight virtual ratios in China and a six-speed auto (likely also Aisin-sourced) for exports.

Which one will the Saga use? A return to a CVT would match up well with Perodua’s models, which have graduated to a stepless transmission (we assume the next Bezza will, too). However, a six-speed auto would provide Proton with a point of difference and would also be more in tune with Malaysian tastes.

If Proton does go the CVT route again, the Emgrand’s newer unit (derived from Zhejiang’s WLY, which also supplies Chery) should be much smoother than the Punch CVTs from older Protons. Fun fact – past Emgrand models have also utilised a Punch VT2 CVT, meaning Proton and Geely have some commonality here. Which route would you go for – CVT or auto?

Aside from the new engine, the Saga MC3 is also expected to inherit some major exterior tweaks and an all-new dashboard, replete with a widescreen display panel incorporating new instrument and infotainment screens. Some advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) are also confirmed to appear on the car.

GALLERY: 2025 Proton Saga MC3 spyshots

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ahhookpin on Jul 02, 2025 at 8:27 am

Did the China Geely Emgrand switch to the BHE engine with the 2025 update? Revisiting articles on the 2021 and 2025 versions, the power figures are different. Looking up engine images on Google Images also show difference between 2021 and 2025.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 02, 2025 at 8:58 am

Yes it did. The original came with an older, non-GDI engine that’s unrelated to this one.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jul 02, 2025 at 6:02 pm

Tg Malim going to
        focus producing 1-engine
        So no surprises for X70, S70

• Campro King on Jul 02, 2025 at 8:58 am

Weak engine. The campro still the king of all engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Persona/saga user on Jul 02, 2025 at 9:42 am

Proton campro drink fuel like water…been using 1.6L campro and 1.3L …quite durable…notting to complain but it jad a thirst for fuel only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Campro is dinosaur tech what the hell are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • lynn n co on Jul 02, 2025 at 9:53 am

Finally in 2025, timing chain. Any brand of gearbox but not punch cvt please.

• Current model used Aisin 4AT but sales figure didn’t surpass Punch CVT.

• P1765 secondary too low on Jul 02, 2025 at 4:22 pm

Incase if u haven’t owned a punch cvt car before.
        Cons: jerk2 at low speed, rpm >3k 110km/hr with loud2 winning sound. Must change cvt fluid and filter every 60k km rm500+. The most terror problem: lampu durian and car skidding comes out middle drive gas pedal tekan kosong, scanned u get P1765 secondary pulley pressure too low, only solution overhaul prepare rm5k.

• HappyF on Jul 09, 2025 at 3:30 am

Low speed jerk can be reduced with proper CVTF replacement (Oil leveling & adaptation is a must), rolling start from standstill, make sure the g.damn 3rd brake light bulb is working, periodical perform clutch self-learning adaptation for clutchpack best engagement point (end user can perform for free as taught in punch powertrain china website; http://service.punchpowertrain.cn/indexe.html)

Ran my Flx cvt for 350k km without the needs of overhauling, the night b4 selling it off took it for a final highway run, clocked 140+kmh, i cant tahan the vibrations hahaha….XD XD

Due to front wearing used Silverstone ns800 shoes, long driveshaft rubber dampener missing, and bushes not new; changed them since few years ago..

• P1765 secondary too low on Jul 02, 2025 at 10:57 am

Hi proton, persona with timing chain 1.5NA and aisin 4AT got?

• Ben Yap on Jul 02, 2025 at 11:06 am

that’s good effort.

• Just wondering on Jul 02, 2025 at 11:33 am

The website of Aurobay stated that the PFI version is for hybrid vehicles right ? Correct me if I’m wrong , but it didn’t state ICE in the hybridisation row and I think I saw the engine idle rpm to be 1200 which is a bit high for a Saga to be idling at if it doesn’t have a battery to charge .Or does the PFI have another configuration that I’m not aware of

• potuss on Jul 02, 2025 at 11:46 am

What, timing chain? Aiyoo how Toyota and Perodua salesmen want to sell their marque after this since no more serpent timing belt.

• The ideal combination for me would be the 110PS 1.5NA mated to Aisin 6 speed auto. But I dont think its possible because Proton would need to balance costs for a budget model like Saga.

• 3-pot is turbodiesel? on Jul 02, 2025 at 12:19 pm

Well atleast for Proton 3-pot it sound like a diesel Truck

This mocking makes current Proton 3-pot owners damm painful.

• Hand made engine engineer on Jul 02, 2025 at 2:29 pm

Harmonic sounds from timing chains and hydraulic tappets surely melodic to your ears

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 03, 2025 at 1:32 am

The diesel-like engine noise is naturally emitted by the injectors of the direct injection system, BMWs and VWs have a similar sound.

• Shinto Katana devotees on Jul 02, 2025 at 12:44 pm

Do y’all know BHE15PFI looks exactly like 4A91 powertrain?

• cukaboi on Jul 02, 2025 at 1:15 pm

Hope the design will look better than the renderings here.

• O'Richy Mak at Tmn Desa MK Auto Parts on Jul 02, 2025 at 1:41 pm

My friend in Geely telling me this car can buy one because it is make to last becos poor people cannot change car suka suka. But I also like my Saga manual can go slow in nombor 5 gear no jerking some more carry so much spare parts inside no jatuh spring. I don know why pepole here talk consumption if no money buy petrol buy motor bike la. Talk like they so smart making engine design better. Don’t angry me ok I just sharing only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Whhfy on Jul 02, 2025 at 2:29 pm

Personally I don’t mind if Proton use current 3 pot in new Saga. It will make a lot of sense in terms of cost, production and product segmentation. And all the X and S series use the newer four pot engine.

• FrankC on Jul 02, 2025 at 5:33 pm

Saga is benefitting from Geely’s wide variety of powertrain. Good !!!
    NA engine for Saga is logical since it is meant to be entry level vehicle and targeting low price and low cost of ownership. CVT transmission is ok if it can keep these cost low.
    Perhaps, a special premium version can consider integrate hybrid solution. since Saga have volume, maybe it will let proton build experience with hybrid system. X90 hybrid is not suitable for saga. Since Saga is way way lighter.
    What will happen to Persona then since Saga have hike up to 1.5l NA engine ? S70 already occupy 1.5L Turbo Direct Injection ?

• Armando on Jul 02, 2025 at 8:46 pm

Please solve the relay is ur on fan motor that causing engine temperature raise and cause overheat iam driving saga mc1. Getting fed up to fix this issue every 3 months

• HappyF on Jul 09, 2025 at 3:43 am

either u r using generic relay, branded but lower rated current relay or your motor fan running on high amp ??

check the harness and sockets condition too..

• alldisc on Jul 03, 2025 at 1:35 am

Proton salesmen will have a hard time explaining to customers why 4 cylinder engine is better than a 3 pot when the last 5 years they were busy telling friends and family members that 3 cylinder engines work better than 4 pistons. Hahaha

• Sibetbulubulu on Jul 07, 2025 at 9:58 am

The new saga should comes with 1.0 NA 4Cyl engine, with CVT gearbox. As for the variants, the lowest spec should comes with either 11-inch or 12-inch (4 drums brake system) wheel and the top range should comes with 20-inch (2-disc, 2 drums) wheel.

• HappyF on Jul 09, 2025 at 3:38 am

Ahahahahahahahaha……
      dang, my kampung Datsun front wheels are equipped with disc brakes….
      1.0na pulling a 1040kg body?? if Bezza their 1.0 kerb weight is only 875kg iinm…
      12″ wheels tyres? 155/70R12 ??? hahahahaha…..cant imagine how the saga looks like..
      top spec 20″ ? damn troll la..