We’ve all done it enough times, and some even make it a standard practice, but the road transport department (JPJ), in a Facebook post, has issued a reminder on why you really shouldn’t be using the one-handed steering routine when you’re behind the wheel.
Urging drivers to keep both hands on the wheel, an infographic by the department says that doing so allows for better vehicle control, reducing the risk of an accident happening, especially when braking or facing unexpected situations.
This is true as speeds climb, because having only one hand on the steering wheel means that your physical control of it is limited, which could mean a world of difference in terms of emergency reaction time, if you need to correct the steering to avoid something. It also makes it harder to keep the car steady should you hit a rut or a pothole.
Of course, knowing is one thing, and adhering to it is another. While using two hands offers maximum stability, there are moments where one-handed steering can be used acceptably, which is when performing low-speed manoeuvres, where steering input can be gradually applied. Still, as the department says, and as you were taught in driving school, keep both hands on the wheel and prioritise safety on every journey. Drive safe, folks.

what about rempits doing superman stunt?
Future PMs, Doctors and Engineers are exempt from following laws
Some dudes suka lower windscreen,hold rokok by the other hand…this has been going on for donkey decades…has anyone been cautioned?
Norm to see driver’s one hand hold on steering, the other hand armpit between door (window wind down) LOL
Smokers are entitled to drive holding steering on one hand the other hand handles lit cigarette. Not breaking any law.
Sometimes when my wife drive our old Alphard, as a passenger I can’t help noticing drivers driving with one hand holding their handphone and the number is quite staggering.
its not that weird for the new generations, they even need to watch tiktok to be able to swallow their lunch.
What if the person only got 1 hand?
Buy synthetic arm under madani medical
install another one
OK driving with single hand as long as you pasted big OKU stickers on windscreens
JPJ good to advise on this matter. Please have guidance on use of shoes slippers on driving safety. Also, pressing the wrong pedal quite frequent now among drivers leading to heavy crashes and deaths.
smokers be like… nope!
What if one hand don’t listen to the other hand ?
if no hand drive, how ah?
When RTD staffs just know how to use their MyGOVUC gemini.
The other hand on girlfriend’s thigh, how to use 2 hands?
start from driving school or not? instructor didnt even teach properly, including driving ethics
Always blame the drivers. That’s the best way to appear to be doing something without doing anything.
Yang tinting gelap pada semua cermin kereta tu bila nak buat operasi? Skrang 90% kereta kat luar tu tak ikut spec JPJ.
lol, JPJ also using the ai slop yellow and white headline text thing… can see it all over youtube nowadays, and now even in some restoran banner also.