F10 BMW 5-Series Sedan: more beauty footage videos and a set of live photos!

f10-world-premiere-1

I’m back with some live photos of the BMW 5-Series Sedan at its world premiere in Munich, or should I say the mothership of BMW.

f10-spyshot

I didn’t get to see it actually on the road (except for this one that’s still taped up) as production will only officially begin early 2010 but I must say the actual car in the metal is a little different from the photos.

bmw-f10-rer

Not to say that it looks completely different, but different details tend to show up in the photos, and our eyes focus on the details. In real life, we tend to look at the whole car as a whole and see the little details blending in together. And then I realised that BMW was back to the E46-E39-E38 same sausage different length kind of design language. The new 5 properly looks like the middle child between the E90 LCI and the F01, but there are still some individual touches to talk about. But the new car range is far from the design differentiation that the E60-E90-E65 had.

f10-sode

The most dominant detail of the side view in real life is the character line that runs across the door handles. It is very very prominent and casts a stronger shadow below it than anything else on the car. The other character line that runs below the doors and rises up towards the boot kinda disappears because of that. The car also looks less droopy. The F07 5-Series GT’s side gets a completely different treatment with some additional character lines on bottom half of the doors (click link to see what I mean) – those is sorely missed on this F10 5 Sedan!

f10-world-premiere-2

The new F10 is definitely better looking than the E60. Strangely it also looks smaller than the E60. This is not really something you can observe in photos but its apparent in real life. In metal for some reason it looks more like what one would expect from a 3-Series one or two generations to come. It truly would not be surprising looking at how every generation of car has been growing larger and larger.

f10-world-premiere-3

Despite looking smaller, in reality the new F10 5-Series is in fact the biggest 5 ever, with the longest wheelbase in its class. It is about 6cm longer than the E60 in terms of body length but the wheelbase has gone up by 8cm, which means the overhangs are actually shorter on this car. That could be one reason why the car looks more compact, but the styling plays another factor. The front end looks sharper while the side profile is less slab-looking because of the character line.

f10-jacek-frohlich
The man who actually designed the new F10 – Jacek Frohlich

I’m not sure if this will go completely well with the Malaysian customer who actually has the money to buy the 5. Take a look at Honda. They’ve split the Accord line into two for a few generations already, with our market getting the fatter and larger version (as with the US market) because we like our cars big, as more metal for each ringgit feels like we’re getting more value for money. In Europe, a slimmer and sleeker Accord that’s more like a sports car is offered.

f10-world-premiere-4

Making the new 5-Series look slimmer and sportier more like a large 3 rather than a small 7 should work very well in Europe where the average age of the 5 buyer is lower than the 5 buyer in Malaysia. In Malaysia, the equivalent of the European 7 buyer buys a 5 here, and a 7 buyer here has the mentality and social status of one that buys something a segment higher in Europe, perhaps a Ghost. It’s all because of the ringgit’s lower spending power combined with the ridiculous amount of money we pay for our cars here.

f10-interior-designer
The F10’s interior designer admiring his work

There will probably be a few brand-neutral folks who will go for the W212 over the F10 simply because the W212 looks more “grand”. The 5’s saving grace is that it is still a 5 (and not a 3, a status thing) and it is in fact larger than it looks.

Look after the jump for live photos and two videos of the 535i and the 530d along with some video demonstrations on how the various new technologies work inserted at the end of the 530d video.

VIDEO: F10 BMW 5-Series – 535i

VIDEO: F10 BMW 5-Series – 530d

GALLERY: BMW F10 Live from BMW Projekthaus Munich

[zenphotopress number=99 album=646]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• you are so lucky to get to go there. are you invited or you just went there? do you personally like it?

• are you still in Munich when you updated this?

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:49 am

Honestly, it looks pretty good in real life but I still can't get over certain angles especially when in photographs. I don't like how blunt the front end is. The designers said they tried to make it a little front angled like the old shark nosed BMWs but I can't really see it at all. I wish the side had a little more visible lines than just one really strong line. The rear end is great!

• so based on looks alone, E-class or 5 series?

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:58 am

Can I take the F10 rear and W212 front?

• skiborne on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

i think the rims are not as pretty as the current E60's stock rims

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:21 am

Waiting for the Ac Schnitzer and Hartge

• skiborne on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:22 am

looks like this whole F10 range can also be recognized whether its 523i, 535i 550i etc by looking at the exhaust tips such as 550i has 2 trapezoidal shape tips on each side, 535i hwever has dual-rounded tips on each side while the rest (i suppose) have the conventional twin tips on the rear left , my point here is that people whose 5 series's badges (indicating 523i 528i etc) are taken off, ardent fans of cars would still know whats under ur front hood. haha

• --pininfarina-- on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:27 am

Loves the F10 5-Series but also likes the W212 E-Class. Hard to choose. Anyway, I am a proud BMW 3-Series owner and glad to trade it with any of these cars. I have high resolution image for F10 5-Series and W212 E-Class. Anyone wants it, please do not hesitate to contact me. [email protected]. Thank you.

• sutheshkumar on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:31 am

the new BMW design language will take time to get used to.

When I saw this on the website moments after the image leak, I am like wow. But I didn't get the heartattack wow when I saw the E60.

its nice but wheres the ummph? But I still dont mind. :D

You in Munich now?

• ambush on Nov 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm

how i wish the bonnet line was continued up till the grills instead of squaring it right before the nose..that would give it a more prominent line and face,,thus adding the fierceness it needs..

• so for paul and everybody here..vote for alternative..and we wont be paying ridiculous amount of money to the jerks…

• xavier lert on Nov 29, 2009 at 4:56 pm

saving money for E60…. :p

• awg1031 on Nov 29, 2009 at 5:35 pm

i dunno…..it seems to look..old……kinda classic car design imho

• racerx111 on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:05 pm

I agree with paul, the front lacks appeal and strong characterisation the previous 5 had. I bet theyre missing bangle.

• donno on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm

I think the styling is a very big step backwards compared to the currrent 5 series; rear is a 3 series ripoff and the front looks like a big nosed hippo! no more the 5 looks like a sporty big saloon as now it looks as bland as the 7series.

• mitlanevo on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:15 pm

current 5-series still much much much much better looking…

• chyan on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:29 pm

The back is great.

But the front is a bit nosey. :/

• Paul, if you are still in Germany, will you be going to the launch of the Audi A8?

• The front bumper design language and front lamp placement is like current volvo design, try imagine u replace the kidneys wif volvo grill, its instantly a volvo.

• littleboy on Nov 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm

i still like the 5 series now….than this….look like a chauffer car after all…..more to 7 series.all the sport saloon style …..GONE…….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:33 pm

i think this one better than the ah beng e60

• Fantastic design !!! Love it so much. :))) But then again beauty is in the eye of the beholder, for for this beholder, it's a beauty :)

• lucas on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:06 pm

this is good.. How about installing this LED lamp for W212's rear light. It will look superb, i suppose. :P

• smallcar on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:09 pm

i like the front look a lot… but i am still trying to like the tail lamp…

• LIghtning McQUeen on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 29, 2009 @ 12:33 pm

i think this one better than the ah beng e60

==============================================

Any way what happened to ah beng e60? any updates… then out side by side with this new 5 series look for similarity… etc

• Taufik SM on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:32 pm

fantastic design ….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:34 pm

expect widespread savings…..next autumn

• nice rear lights…. cool.

• thumbs up!!!! bravo bmw

• Imran on Nov 30, 2009 at 1:21 am

Well said Paul.

I agree – the W212 front is really nice (but its back end is just ugly), while the F10 looks ugly from the back but really nice up front.

In an ideal world, yes you can have the W212 front and the F10 rear!

• mystvearn on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:01 am

WIll they come a time when car manufacturers cannot make bigger cars anymore because of reaching road size limit?

Cars get bigger and bigger each generation, but roads are the same size. I don't think people will make bigger roads anytime soon…

• Dunno y, felt a bit of Volvo feel of the front.

• torque (Member) on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:46 am

Hmmm..not much fond with the front looks…make u kinda feel something ain't juz right about it!! The grille is slightly wide and making it much worse could possibly cause by the stretch headlight instead like the current wrap around style. The rear looks ok la but I'm happy…why? B'coz when the new F10 finally reach here, the old "shark" will be price just nicely…I'll be missing u Bangle Boy!!

p/s: well…like they say, beauty lies in the eye of the beholder…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:55 am

at the end of the day, an Italian guy called Alfa Romeo 169 is going to win the beauty contest.

• Shaun on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:19 am

The current E60 is the best looking 5er for me…proves that views differs eh Paul!

• Paul Tan on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:50 am

design is always a subjective thing. for me i still like my e39 the best! but ill soon be showing you guys how the f10's design actually came to be.

• this car starts to age already.

• phas3r (Member) on Nov 30, 2009 at 4:11 pm

aren't luxury cars meant to be conservative designwise?

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 30, 2009 at 4:37 pm

audi, bmw whatever, audi rulz

• perkasa on Nov 30, 2009 at 5:47 pm

e60 looks better..

and still waiting the 'durian runtuh' from bmw

• lazyf on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:44 pm

retro style…

• amiran on Nov 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Under hoodynk, my view is that bmw design is now mixed, no clear direction. Sharp edges marry soft curves. No more fashionable like flame surfacing. But at least not copying camry's side front end like many others did now incl W212! That should be more embarassing.

• JJJ 3388 on Nov 30, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Income tax

UK income tax and National Insurance charges (2009–2010).

UK income tax and National Insurance as a percentage of taxable pay (2009-10).Income tax forms the bulk of revenues collected by the government. Each person has an income tax personal allowance, and income up to this amount in each tax year is free of tax for everyone. For 2009-10 the tax allowance for under 65s is £6,475.[2]

Above this amount there are a number of tax bands — each taxed at a different rate (as of 2009-10):[2]

Rate Dividend income Savings income Other income (inc employment) Band (above any personal allowance)

Lower rate N/A 10% N/A £0 – £2440

applies only if total income falls in this band

Basic rate 10% 20% 20% £0 – £37,400

Higher rate 32.5% 40% 40% over £37,400

(quoted from wikipedia)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

JJJ 3388 said,

November 30, 2009 @ 1:50 pm

Income tax

UK income tax and National Insurance charges (2009–2010).

UK income tax and National Insurance as a percentage of taxable pay (2009-10).Income tax forms the bulk of revenues collected by the government. Each person has an income tax personal allowance, and income up to this amount in each tax year is free of tax for everyone. For 2009-10 the tax allowance for under 65s is £6,475.[2]

Above this amount there are a number of tax bands — each taxed at a different rate (as of 2009-10):[2]

Rate Dividend income Savings income Other income (inc employment) Band (above any personal allowance)

Lower rate N/A 10% N/A £0 – £2440

applies only if total income falls in this band

Basic rate 10% 20% 20% £0 – £37,400

Higher rate 32.5% 40% 40% over £37,400

(quoted from wikipedia)

————————-

all the taxes, still it is easier for them to buy a car. in malaysia, just one tax, kills us all

• xtend2damax on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:47 pm

e39 is still the best looking 5-series! However the F10 still looks good. Better then the e60.

E39>F10>E60

• looks too much like 3 series…a handsome car but boring design..

• Maserati on Dec 01, 2009 at 12:07 am

Hideous looking BMW.

Front looks like pig nose while back does not seem to go well with the flow of the car.

I still prefer the current 5-series .So much more sporty!

• mouse on Dec 01, 2009 at 12:27 am

i cant imagine how M5 going to look like. boring old man driving a boring beast is not cool…

• Anonymous on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:00 am

i miss bangle's butt design. I stick to the previous one.

• Banyak Makan Wang when Banyak Masuk Workshop…….

When first launched….. ooh aahh after one year masuk workshop

sob..sob…. After 5 years when sell time …… low value.

Sorry…….. just being realistic….. I rather put my money on Lexus or Merc.

• Annihilated on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:47 am

Paul / Harvinder,

Allow me to bring up another topic:

ALISTER MCRAE is 2ND at SCOTLAND IRC.

I think you should cover this story as a continuity of your previous Satria Neo 2000 posts. Even though his was actually 3rd before Kris Meeke's 207 was under scrutiny. Commendable position considering they are still in development stage.

• albagmane on Dec 01, 2009 at 2:20 am

perhaps it takes time to get used to the design… juz like the Panamera… besides that, its a 5 series after all…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 01, 2009 at 4:48 am

Netz said,

November 30, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

Banyak Makan Wang when Banyak Masuk Workshop…….

——————————

lexus value drop even more, mercedes always overheat

• this is 1 ugly car. I think the front is design by our own Datuk Lat lar, it's like the nose of mahathir in Lat's sketch

• wajarays on Dec 01, 2009 at 11:00 am

not so cool as current 5 series e60… for me (or maybe others) it is more 3 series and 7 series DNA in this latest F10 model .. not so eye catching like current e60 … dont know, even now bmw e60 become common now in malaysian road, but the styling still can lasting longer, maybe another coming 10 years from now …. all is just right compare this f10….

anyway for me volvo is much better with its killer T5/T6 engine …. dont say about resale value becoz its sucks in here and the power branding not so strong compare bimmer and merc, but atleast volvo among top 5 model continental car in here….. performance, safety feutures, and simple but luxurious interior scanadian style…. for melah , hehehhe

waiting for latest s60 in swedish marque showroom…

• Netz said,

November 30, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

Banyak Makan Wang when Banyak Masuk Workshop…….

—–

you are right, BMW after 5 years low value…But LEXUS after 5 years NO VALUE!!!

• how much is the average 5 year old E60 now? 180k- 200k? is that low?

• David9988 on Dec 01, 2009 at 7:25 pm

judging from the photos, looks like a chubby bear. Not nice at all.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 01, 2009 at 9:07 pm

this should be best car in the world

• Now I wonder when will this car be coming to Malaysia with a ridiculous specification and pricing too…

• Lexus less value than BMW……think again…..

So BMW doesn't overheat ?

BMW is a nice car but it lack reliability and durability of the competitors.

I dont mind paying 40K for proton and frequently send the car to workshop for repair But to pay 400K and get the same treatment……well no thanks.

Again I could be wrong. This could be the new and improved BMW which is super reliable….. Time will tell……

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 3:32 am

Netz said,

December 2, 2009 @ 12:08 pm

Lexus less value than BMW……think again…..

So BMW doesn’t overheat ?

BMW is a nice car but it lack reliability and durability of the competitors.

I dont mind paying 40K for proton and frequently send the car to workshop for repair But to pay 400K and get the same treatment……well no thanks.

Again I could be wrong. This could be the new and improved BMW which is super reliable….. Time will tell……

——————————

have u been sending ur bmw to auto bavaria? cos the service there sucks. otherwise ur bmw is one of those ckd. which also suck.

• better test drive cls350 @ 500 ..very nice car,now price for recond car rm300k -rm350