All-new F25 BMW X3 unveiled: first details and photos

The new F25 BMW X3 is here – bigger, and more powerful, but still immediately recognizable as an X3, partly because it looks so much alike to the model it replaces. It’s wheelbase of 2,810mm puts it smack in the middle of the X1’s 2,760mm and the X5’s 2,933mm. The old X3 had a 2,795mm wheelbase.

Only three engines are available at launch time – two petrol and one oil burner. The petrol engine for the European debut is the powerful xDrive35i, which uses a 3.0 litre straight-six making 306 horsepower and 400Nm of torque thanks to its turbocharger. In the US, the engine is the normally aspirated xDrive28i.

The diesel model is the new 184 horsepower BMW X3 xDrive20d – this 184hp and 380Nm version of BMW’s single turbocharged 4-potter diesel engine made its debut in the BMW F10 and is expected to hit our E90 LCI 320d pretty soon. The xDrive35i engine is mated to an 8-speed automatic transmission with an auto start stop system.

The xDrive20d comes with a 6-speed manual as standard but can also be equipped with an optional 8-speed automatic. However the manual option is not available on the xDrive35i. It’s also the first time that BMW has fitted an electric power steering in a BMW X model, and there’s also an optional variable sports steering.

Power is sent to all four wheels via xDrive, and there is also optional Performance Control. The optional Dynamic Damper Control uses electronically controlled dampers that can adapt to road surface conditions and driver driving style – this is your usual NORMAL, SPORT and SPORT+ modes that we’ve seen in new BMW vehicles.

The interior kinda looks like the X1’s interior, but it’s much more premium (unlike the seriously el cheapo X1 interior) and also incorporates some features from the new BMW interior design theme, which first appeared in the F01/F02 7-Series and then carried on in the 5-Series GT, Saloon and Touring.

For example, there’s a black panel LCD but it only covers the bottom right and bottom center area of the instrument cluster, while the more premium BMWs have the black panel extended the whole bottom width of the instrument cluster.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 2fast on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Looks better than the old version. Looks like a baby X5 with its sides resembling the X1.

• The only SUV I like is X5… the X1 and X3 seems out of proportion… those headlight are so ugly.. something wrong with it… doesn’t look like BMW headlight at all…

Hmm I guess BMW is loosing their design flair….

• Mr. Konoha on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

I will trade my old X3 for this..hahaha

• campro TERuBOk on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

erk..yark…x1 much more better

• 388900wow on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

not bad looking~
    but Q5 and XC60 are much better still!!!!!

• shawal on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Whoah! look at’em nostrils! i feel indifferent towards this X3
    at least its major improvement from the previous X3 which was utterly hideous, better looking than the messy X5, but volvo XC60, Audi Q5, VW Tiguan are all better looking tho…
    Beemers will always find buyers…. and that interior is a special place to be in…

• hanifhamzah on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm

the front lamp kinda weird…as if suddenly the inner edge was cut buy someone…

• Barkcrack on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Pertamax!!

• sashimi I like on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Speachless !! This is what quality is all about.
    Fantastic built ,clean lines and 8 speed auto.
    ED at its best but plz introduce Euro4 soon. :(

• Hahaha… now this is the kidney grille, it’s big and ugly, it ruins the car even it’s nice… and why does the headlights and tail lamps looks familliar…

• Honda Civic on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Honda still the best!!!!!german fall japanese rules!!

• Honda Civic on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:31 am

You must be an idiot to use other people’s name to comment on something. I really feel sad for your parents.

Back on topic, this car is just a beauty!! Cant wait to see it in person!

• Honda Civic on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:31 am

You must be an idiot to use other people’s name to comment on something. I really feel sad for your parents.

Back on topic, this car is just a beauty!! Cant wait to see it in person!Love this car!

• Anti Proton on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:31 pm

something wrong with the headlights

• I dislike the headlights. The tail lamps look good though in my opinion of course.

• woah.. the picture off-road de looks nice horr? but trust me.. X3 dun peform well in off road, watch this vid den u knw http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2LLMxlkT-Y
    better buy X5 or range or land rover

• Your link is showing an “old version of X3” lol

• What do you expect from an SUV that can go up to 200++km/h to perform ‘well’ off road??

• chuakz on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm

back is much much much better than previous gen….front…still ugly….

• pultat on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Not a bad looking SUV….nice…but I think Audi Q5 looks better…early days though…

• pultat on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Nice looking SUV…not bad…but looks like the Q5 has the edge in terms of looks. Other aspects yet to be seen. Might take some buyers away from the Q5.

• acerman on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm

No more eagle eyes headlamps? This is a change.

• Alpha on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

nice~!!really like a baby X5.the prev X3 sucks!!

• Well in my opinion , first impression for BMW cars are always weird , looks normal but sooner or later , the classy and sporty look will be brought out just like the newly born 5 series or 7 series.

• skiborne on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm

this is better looking than the X1, i like X3’s rear, front yeah abit out

• Jimmy on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

The most ugly BMW so far.

• Amiran on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:37 pm

From the front, if you cover the kidney grill and all BM logos, I bet you’ll be missed it with China’s Cherry design.
    Get bro Theo to do his magic a bit by changing the grill and logos to Cherry’s.
    Emm… maybe BM just wanted to please their increasingly hungry and chocked customer there in China.
    BM… kick Hooydonk out!
    He even lost of how to put the infamous ‘kink’ there, thus eliminated it altogether.

• Hooydonk aka Hodoh design, only rear can please my eyes. the front so so fugly

• bohpee on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:37 am

OMG!! This new X3 totally look awesome from every angle. At least it looks better than it predecessor. When it will make its appearance in Malaysia?

• BMW is heading to absolutely right direction! Their design getting better and better, yet their technology too!

• Alanore Chong on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:08 am

It definitely looks more “up-market” than the current one, from inside out…

• The front looks very ugly. I am a big fan of BMW but I believe they are losing their design sence. The fornt of this car realy looks ugly.

• KLdude on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:22 am

i think the new x3 looks just about right..having my 3 years itch now and wanting to get a new car for my birthday next year,,was planning to get the new 5 series but after looking at the x3, i may get it instead of the 5 series..it has a really nice balance look, it can be said to be the spritual successor to the old x5, which admittedly has grown to be big & ugly now..as for the q5, it is in a different market segment altogether..it belongs in the x1 camp..now the x1 is really not that balance nor classy looking, as compared to the q5, the q5 is a much better prospect..as per my sales consultant, they are coming out with the x3 with a 3.0 litre engine and priced below a 523i, so that makes it good value in my books, always wanted an suv/sav..now i know what i want!

• not again........... on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:11 am

I wonder if you can drive this at the seaside without getting rusty