Honda Insight – cheapest hybrid in Malaysia at RM98k

Honda Insight

Honda Malaysia has launched the new Honda Insight at the 2010 KLIMS. The new B-segment Insight takes over the Civic Hybrid’s place as the cheapest hybrid car in Malaysia with a price tag of only RM98,000 OTR including insurance. This makes it exactly RM7,520 more than the most expensive Honda City.

The IMA hybrid system in the Insight is a 1.3 litre unit coupled with a motor assist electric motor just like the Civic IMA, but there are some differences. The system in the Insight uses a smaller electric motor with a 14 PS output instead of the Civic Hybrid’s 20 PS motor.

Honda Insight – cheapest hybrid in Malaysia at RM98k

The Insight’s project leader Tsuyoshi Ohkubo told us that they were able to downsize the motor because the Insight is a smaller and lighter vehicle compared to the Civic Hybrid. In whole, the IMA system in the Insight is 19% more compact and 28% lighter compared to the IMA in the Civic Hybrid. Power is put to the wheels via a CVT transmission, with the motor sandwiched between the CVT and the combustion engine.

The 1,339cc combustion engine runs dual spark plugs per cylinder and puts out 88 PS on its own, and runs a conventional Otto cycle – some manufacturers like Toyota choose to run Atkinson cycle engines. Ohkubo-san says the Atkinson cycle was something Honda was currently looking into.

Honda Insight

The specs list consist of sensor activated headlamps and wipers, an MP3+WMA compatible audio player with USB and aux jack, auto climate control, VSA stability control, ABS, EBD, dual SRS airbags, and rear ISOFIX points.

According to Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd, they are working on reducing the prices for the battery replacement (if necessary) and other spare parts by up to 40%. The battery for the Insight is expected to cost around RM7k+ as compared to about RM12k for the Civic Hybrid. It’s not the same battery though – the Insight’s battery is smaller and has less modules, so logically the cheaper price is expected. Honda Malaysia is also topping up the warranty for the battery to 5 years or 140,000km as compared to the usual 3 year warranty.

The Honda Insight is available on four colours – Dyno Blue Pearl, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and Premium White Pearl.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jogho on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:41 pm

wow…..superb

• nazim on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:22 pm

i know someone who already book the car in with honda dealer. try google ‘matjoe’

• hinder on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:09 pm

this is excite, sporty hybrid finally here with cheap price, however i still await sexy Honda CR-Z ,honda-san please do me a flavor^^

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:55 pm

what “flavor” do you want? they have vanilla, chocolate and strawberry.

• upai2008 on Dec 05, 2010 at 9:44 am

mmg hebat laaa…

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:20 pm

YEAH…FINALLY LAUNCH…i going to book the silver color…hopefully b4 Chinese new year i can get it & drive back to welcome my dear home for lagi HUAT ah!!! HUAT ah!!…

• RON97 on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:53 am

yeah…good for us. take the car ASAP and go home to where you belong,racist…

• grizzyejoy on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:42 am

what racist?? xplain..

• shut up you damn fool idiot , because of person like u all , then racist happen

• jolly_idiot on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Get new car back kampung for CNY is racist? Get new car back kampung for Raya got racist? Stupid fool. You shouldn’t live in this world. No brain.

• UBodohhh on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:36 pm

If you cant afford or feel jealous , dont make stupid comment here. If your brain got sai, you better wash it properly

• Bro, according to the salesman…difficult to get car before CNY as they start selling only middle of February

• kandiman on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:32 pm

too bad the car come with NH battery, not the lighter and more advance Lithium-Ion (more costly though). But still eager to test drive later…hope it is not too sluggish to move around.

• why they wanna discontinue the civic hybrid? rm110k ?? honda make more profit by selling rm98k insight compare with civic hybrid.

honda is so bad

• Honda discontinue the Civic Hybrid for a simple reason:
        Civic has reached his life cycle and a whole new model is coming out in 2011.

May be a new Honda Civic Hybrid in 2011?

• Muthusamy on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:59 pm

How to be Superb? Honda in US giving warranty 10 years for the battery.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Insight

But here, why only 5 years????????

Btw, this car CBU or CKD?

If CBU, can we make CKD and sell for RM70k?

• MoFaz on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:57 pm

no benefit to do CKD for Insight here because import tax and excise duty for hybrid cars is already 0%.

• Honda and Toyota should reconsider doing CKD in Malaysia for these hybrid beauties as the so called “tax exemption” only last until the end of year 2011 (as what the “gula-gula” budget 2011 explained). These hybrids gonna be a great hit of the year 2011. No more “tin milos guzzlers” for at least one year! Wuhoo!

• MoFaz on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:13 am

why ckd here? production cost in thai is cheaper. import tax from thai is 0% due to AFTA. even if they ckd here, they would still need to pay 75% excise after the “promotion” period, same amount if they import from thai.

• Ash Menon on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Dude, you DO know that Malaysia doesn’t give a f%@# about AFTA, right? They’ve been paying fines since 2008, and they still can’t be bothered about it.

• artworkz on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:58 am

this car ord low in import tax, no need to CKD.

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:37 am

CBU….they can bring from Japan cheap due to the tax break for all hybrid for the whole of 2011

• zanggief on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:01 am

I think somebody did comparison on the battery lifespan on prius and civic before.

Correct me if i am wrong. The wether of the related country plays certain role as boleh land is hot and high humidity so the battery lifespan would be reduced…

• Kancil_Redbull on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:03 am

Warranty is much shorter here because of our hot and humid weather; the concern for manufacturers is that in our climate, the battery may not last here like those in countries with temperate or cooler climates, such as US or UK. In other words, the manufacturers are not trying to rip off consumers by providing shorter warranty for battery; instead, they are just being realistic about the life expectancy of the batteries.
        For Malaysian consumers, it is critical that we calculate how much savings is achieved through lesser fuel consumption while using insight, and then compare this value with the cost of the battery after 5 years. If the savings from lesser fuel consumption far exceeds battery replacement, it would be worthwhile purchasing the insight. However, that said, consumers should keep in mind that electric cars are headed this way in a year or two as well.

• Nice review!!!

• hybrid VS NA on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Simple calculation…The price for battery replacement if not mistaken is 10k plus, let’s say the battery kaput after 5 years mean u have to buy a new one, so RM 10000/60 months = RM166.66 per month plus your existing fuel per month RM60 (average 30 km per day using 30KM/L rate with ron 95 priced at 1.90) ..total= RM226.66 per month for the first 5 year.. per month KM = 840 km all in all= RM 226.66 spent monthly. So we have spend 0.26 sen per kilometer!!! worth for money if the battery last for 10 years.. just my simple calculation…

• azman on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:55 pm

u did not factor the fuel price increase… which they will increase, just a matter of time

• Carfans on Apr 06, 2011 at 2:36 am

Even if the fuel consumption saving end up = to the cost of battery after 5 years… for me I will think that is worth as in the main purpose of this car is environmental friendly. Save the environment and save the earth.

• Farid on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:42 pm

WANT!!!!!

• saiful on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:42 pm

whop nice car. nice price. How about fuel consumption paul??

• Tee Lim on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:00 pm

According to honda.co.jp, the fuel consumption is 30km/L which is really good IMO

• cinahensem on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:17 pm

30 km/L???
        haihhh..

• It’s 3 times better fuel then my car~!!

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:38 am

Yeap…if u drive at 80kph

• hmm.. if i drive my car @ 80kph. [p/s It takes me only about 21~23km/L for driving from kuantan to KL]

then this Insight is just about 30percent more fuel saving only.. haih…
            ._.

• Michael on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:42 pm

… yes !!!!

• lets flood malaysia with hybrid!

• jamal on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:10 am

malaysia already got flood. now got some hybrid :p

• Ash Menon on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:17 am

what if malaysia weather flood your hybrid? :P

but I think probably they have taken that into account.

• cheaper hybrids yeah.

• Hiroshi on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Wait for my order

• can i throw my city away? wtf….98k haha

• Julian on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:49 pm

I noticed that for most hybrid cars, you can never get a good design

• klagang on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:52 pm

the back looks like a prius.

price-wise, let’s just say this is gonna be my next ride.

• osh_kosh on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:53 pm

now, it’s more complicated… Inspira or Forte or Pug 308Vti or Insight? all in the same price bracket… good for us..

• mkrafz on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Inspira= lancer re-badge. good performance
      forte= korean mark still under probation
      Peugeot 308= nice car with loads of feature
      and the Honda Insight= excellent hybrid car, definitely my choice of car.

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:40 am

I want Pug 3008 diesel hybrid…more power (500nm of torque from both diesel and battery combine!) and Prius like FC

• ashraff on Jan 15, 2011 at 4:11 am

i agree with you..i love the dashboard and meter looks intrsting..i love the way it chnge the colour frm green to blue..at night it look awesome

• wah! very the murah! like!

• proton pls la.. on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:45 pm

NOT SO. compare to others country.
      government still tax so high. they are protecting our nations car. sigh!!!!

• nightReader on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Just waiting for next year..I think, many more hybrid cars will enter the market with good price. Then..P1 need to boom the market with our own cheapest hybrid car. The exora hybrid need to enter the market by next year to win the war.

• I think those made in china toy battery will last longer than our very own protong milo. Keep on dreaming for another 25 years! Wuhoo!

• ismail222 on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:00 pm

If Honda can come to this price,
    Proton EV below 100k ? Think again !!

• learner on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Hybrid and EV is completely 2 different thing lah.

• Kenny on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:45 pm

I want to buy EV. I don’t mind charging it everyday……

• banko on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:36 am

if p1 start EV or hybrid,,,so gov will increase tax for hybrid for foreign car,,,, so at that time some people can say this dec 2010 insight or civic H price are cheap….

• yes.. gona b my 2st car ;)

• azrai on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Now everybody can own Honda under 100k.Exception to honda EX5 and City.

• sigh why aren’t they bringing in the CR-Z T_T

• evoskylancer on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:15 pm

i think they will bring it in sooner or later….be patient

• problem is the family will be needing a new car soon. the 24 year old civic in the honda family doesn’t seem like it’ll live long lol.

• With the outdated door handle… uurrggh.
    If not, It’s perfect!

• Jazz cannot sell anymore. Expensive and smaller.

• Paul, do you have more pictures on the launch?

• klimk on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Don’t jump the gun too soon. Read this page http://www.egmcartech.com/2010/12/01/2011-honda-insight-prices-start-at-18200-1600-less-than-2010-model/

The base model Insight selling in US is only USD18,200.00. That’s about RM 63,700.00 if you base it on RM 3.5 to USD 1.00. The most expensive is USD 23,265.00, and that is about RM 72,000.00 if you use the current exchange rate. Now bare in mind that is the street price in US. Either there is some hidden duties and taxes or Honda Malaysia is racking huge profit for every unit they sell.

Now, let’s see which trim level are they bringing in and you can judge for yourself based on the US street price.

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:09 pm

do in our life we only pay for cars?

how about you live there and see if their system satisfy your need to have cheaper cars…

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:25 pm

don’t forget prius is around that price range too and it’s RM140k in malaysia and they’re going to bastardize it into a thailand made model. You should ask how much UMW makes per Prius.

• Why ppl always compare price with US/UK etc? We know already that car is expensive in Malaysia.

• hello .. wake up !! Which part of tax-exempt for hybrid cars sold in malaysia didn’t you understand ?

For the first time in ages we are able to compare apple to apple for prices of cars sold in the USA and in this silly country.

People had already always assume the import tax by the gov is racking up the car prices, now think again , tax is gone , and cars are still expensive .

The dealers have been racking up the car prices by quite a huge margin in this country since many years ago .

Compare !

• tishaban on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:10 am

thank you k for making it clear. It’s obvious that some readers here are just willing to accept everything without question.

Dealers are making far too much profit margin because of the lack of competition and because no matter what they do, people will flock to Toyota and Honda to buy them.

• tokmoh on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:07 pm

There is a possibility it could be subsidised… Like, how Camry is cheaper in Arab than in Japan itself.

Some time back, I remember reading an article about how Hyundai Genesis or something sold cheaper in US than in South Korea itself. Some kinda subtle strategies for their overseas expansion…

But I also agree that Honda Msia must be racking ridiculous profit margin… but we surely can hardly do much since we lack choices. iSad :(

• the current exchange is is about 3 to 3.1, not 3.5

• tokmoh on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Well, all the more reason to believe HM is making extremely fat profit margin…

• najibest on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:34 pm

well US price does not include sales tax which can differ between states….

• gigganet on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:37 pm

i thought supposed to be duty free?

• tishaban on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:38 pm

we compare with US and UK because the hybrids are supposed to be tax free. So tax free in the US is not the same as tax free in Malaysia?

Something’s missing somewhere and it’s a valid question

• aiya you still wanna with the taxes thingy kah ? just live with it laaa LOL

• now we are taking abt local car market not u.s…if u think u.s. is better than u go to us and buy the car….accept the fact that malaysia car get high tax….in our market the insight with this price is very shock…seems like everyone with a good comment and accept the price…even how u show the fact u wont get cheaper price….

• Goproton on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:56 pm

what are you talking A4?
        ppl say no tax yet price high n you say it’s taxed….don’t simply bash others be4 reading….

• we are getting the medium spec Honda Insight….L trim. With accessories like keyless entry and start , foglights and 15 inch alloy wheels of LS trim. Except the omission of HID Headlamps and only 2 airbags to keep the cost down to under 100k. HM ain’t stingy eh? :P

• HopelesslyPatriotic on Dec 04, 2010 at 6:15 am

has it ever occurred to anyone (who compares car prices in Malaysia with USA) that USA has a much larger market compared to Malaysia.
      US population – 310million
      Malaysia – 27million

Go figure!

• hankey on Dec 05, 2010 at 9:10 am

again, high car price, high car price, high car price,…….please wake up! do you think car price base on the car cost+tax??? this is business. how to cover shipping, dealership, marketing, salesman commission…? car tax is not that high. car dealer that are waking money of make it high. I know this because my job related to importing car at port. I see how much the tax really is. Car dealer margin is minimum RM30k and usually 100% of the car cost+tax.
      why japanese dont complain their apples sold there about RM4 and here we can buy RM1 and we dont even produce apples?

get you info or go to business school

• The Power Of Dreams on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Wow! Only RM98K for Honda Insight Hybrid. Toyota Prius costs RM140K. What does UMWT has to say now? Compared to Honda Insight, Toyota Prius is way overpriced. The RM42K price difference can buy you a Proton Saga. I can predict that Honda Insight will be another Honda bestseller just like the City. Good job Honda Malaysia. Bravo!

• Bro, Compare the spec’s 1st then comment!This insight has a much slower motor compared to the civic, which it self was a slouch! Definately i dont agree with UMWT with the prius pricing. And when was the city a bestseller? Sounds like you are working for honda.

Now what we need is a continental hybrid , this will give us more choice, hope naza is watching.

• i think hyrid car r suppose to do their job as fuel effiecient n eco friend car…what it hav to do with how fast it does o-100 or fast/slow spec? this IMA r more ligher n smaller,enuf for this honda insight….dont juz judge by the spec bro….

• scania on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:39 pm

hell yesss

• Critique on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Hehehe.. UMW better come up with something comparable, otherwise the Prius will remain a Niche product. No matter how you wanna spin it, it’ll be a loss to Toyota.

• toyota prius 1.8 litter engine whereas insight is 1.3 litter… cant compare la…

• pulltea on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:06 pm

insight = 1.3 liter, IMA
      prius = 1.8 liter, can have full time electric motor.

Cannot compare apple and oren right?

• handsome*dude on Dec 03, 2010 at 3:12 am

forgive the fellow above, he just bark without knowing the facts~~

PRIUS and INSIGHT is in different class, both Hybrid car but PRIUS higher spec, higher HP ….

he may also complain to the new launched LEXUS RX Hybrid what… is it the same class as PRIUS and INSIGHT?? sure its not

• whatever on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:41 pm

any honda salesman here…..bungkus 3 ya!!!! Wah!!! so cheap! but after 4-5 years da battery wears out n u need to fork out rm7k to buy a new one. Masa tu…waaaa very expensive maaa…

• osh_kosh on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:28 pm

RM7k pun takde? baik takyah pakai keta…

• but during that time, you have save on petrol for a lot of thousands maa..

• rm7k battery also expensive.

your auto gearbox if kong also need rm10k++ la for myvi only.

• Ordinary Joe on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Wow! Superb pricing by Honda!

• Hapapa on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:48 pm

I booked one yesterday. Its a ” best buy” as far as I am concerned. In the US it is USD 2 to 3K (RM 8 to 12K) cheaper than the Pruis. Here its is 40K cheaper than the Toyota. Some one is ripping off the Malaysian car buyer. Also bear in mind that the number of Franchise AP’s available to import these cars are limited. The Honda SA says they have only 1000 APs per year to bring in all models; so sales are limited to maybe 500 to 700 cars for 2011. Better hurry up and book if you are interested in the Insight. Further the Duty free and Excise free period may not last!

• THE FACTS WE NEED TO SWALLOW:

The Toyota Hybrid even though with better hybrid technology but not much much pricier pricetag over Honda IMA’s elsewhere (like l mentioned before) still over 40% dearer. WHY? For me Toyoa Prius shouldn’t be more than RM120,000 (doesn’t matter it will cannibalize of sort Altis because Altis not entitled tax privilege unlike Hybrid). Boycott Prius and Toyota will reduce their price. In Japan, wheelcapped-Prius not much differ in price than Civic Hybrid or Insight.

2. Government really doing lip service more than anything if AP quotas have it limit. 1000 units annually is paltry indeed! Maybe Petronas or any gas companies will suffer most if car mileage average higher?

• Rambo Ramsey on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:55 am

AP systems works based on your current year sales. if your AP is allocated at 1000 units in 2009, come 2010 you are entitled for 10% increase only if you manage to sell off all 1000 units of your imported cars. So that’s why during year end & Jan-Mar importers and franchise holders will do clearance at very high discounted rates to make sure they managed to get the right AP allocation according to the sales numbers. Also AP issuance is ratio-based, according to certain % of TIV.

• JacobKing on Dec 31, 2011 at 11:55 am

Dont give wrong informaion u idiot, in US, Insight is 25% cheaper then Prius and the sales is such due to its techonology. Good luck to you.

• Tee Lim on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Isn’t it only about RM7.5k more than the most expensive Honda City (RM90,480)?

• evoskylancer on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:43 pm

yes, so better buy this that the overpriced city (due to tax of course)…

• handsome*dude on Dec 03, 2010 at 3:14 am

better wait for other car brand to launch Hybrid… bcos no matter how, HONDA and TOYOTA still always ripping us off

• rain rain on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:54 pm

My sister has placed in the booking last week…

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Good..now they listened to what Malaysians want..longer warranty and cheaper battery replacement..hope to see more of this on the road..

• Imran on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:58 pm

i think we shud just stop comparing our Msia car prices to other countries… wasting time only maa….
    there are many other countries with overpriced car pricess as well…. just look at Denmark with max 62% income tax.. and almost 300% tax on cars… plus environmental tax .. etc.. etc

and the US has the cheapest car prices and including house prices as well.. but there is NO JOB!!! … UK has cheaper car prices as well.. but with high income tax.. and unbelievable higher house price… Europe is in Austerity… No Jobs!. Subsidy Cuts!. More Taxes…

however i would rather have overpriced car prices rather than having unsubsidised fuel price (which will impact on all level of society)

and this model from Honda is an awesome product… and affordable.. the only complain is the limited leg rooms for the rear seat…

• totally AGREE WITH YOU …. everyone should read this !

• banko on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:35 am

me also agreed… you have to add somemore “nak murah pergi sana ” ..hahahaha

• Thomas Heng on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:15 pm

we are developing country…not developed….pls not compare malaysia to denmark, us & US etc……………………….

• seriusSAM on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:58 am

don’t be afraid to be compare with higher benchmark meh
        otherwise we will remain as developing country till kingdom come

:D

• Thomas Heng on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:37 am

compare standard of living and education is applicable, but price is related to income etc.
          average income of a citizen on developed country is more than the ppl in developing country. furthermore, the welfare of education, medical, retirement & insurance welly developed so their ppl is willing to pay more tax because they know where their money (tax) going to………………..

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:19 pm

and yet our car prices are well above what ppl in developed nations pay for theirs? our petrol prices are going up too while the standard of education and healthcare are slipping. and every year the auditor general’s report highlights the gross overpayment in government procurement! those are off the track but goes to show how screwed this country is right now.

• WickedSwicket on May 02, 2012 at 12:17 am

Hv u lived in any of those developed countries b4? I can only speak for th UK where I’m living & I can tell u there is no such thing as welfare retirement, educatioj medical etc etc. U need to pay for ur own insurance, hv mandatory deductions off ur paycheck for pension (retirement) & medical benefits and the tuition fee for education has just tripled!
            Additionally, the salary is only more if u were to convert it into ur local currency (in this case RM) but starting pay is sometimes quite dismal. The cost of living is paid in Sterling – the same currency u’r gettimg ur wages on. Unless u are being paid in Sterling but pays ur daily expenditures in RM pls dont talk nonsense!

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:46 am

Even if they’re developed, is it a safe haven?

As he pointed out, nobody’s perfect. To get cheap car, u gotta trade with the setbacks of other countries. Good luck if u can find a job in mentioned countries… and survive.

• true tue.. my friend in US who has an IT degree is a blue collar now working in small tofu plant. nothing is perfect but better than living under a bridge..

• TurboMan on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:29 pm

DEnmark average salary how much, and our average salary how much?

• handsome*dude on Dec 03, 2010 at 3:18 am

ya, and now we are getting another new Twin-Tower to show that we are doing better than Europe~

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:23 pm

you neglect to mention that nations like denmark have also first class public transit.

• david on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:03 pm

i want!!!

• Hapapa on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:04 pm

to KLIMK:
    My calculation would be:
    Cost to Honda Malaysia say RM60000
    shipping :5000
    cost of AP (to be paid to Gov): 10,000
    10% sales tax: 7500
    TOTAL: RM 82,500.
    Gross Profit margin: 16000 is very reasonable for a small volume seller.
    Bear in mind in the US there is no such thing as AP and they can bring in as many units as they can sell.

• klimk on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Didn’t the government announced recently the duties and taxes exemption for hybrid cars? So, the AP doesn’t come to play. RM 60,000.00 cost to Honda Malaysia? Like I said, let’s see which trim level they will bring in. The lowest being USD 18,200.00 is equal to RM 57,253.56 as of todays rate. That’s just RM 57k street value. Add in the insurance, road-tax and what not without the AP costed in and you do the maths.

I’m not complaining its overly price as compare to the choice we have here. No doubt, its the cheapest hybrid. Some even commented that I’m comparing our car prices with other country, but lets face it. Since its suppose to be duties and taxes exempted, the price should be sub RM 80k.

Now head to http://www.honda.com.my/allprices/ and compare the price for Peninsular Malaysia and Langkawi. The difference in only RM 8k. What is the RM8k for? That’s the sales tax, meaning the base price for the car is RM 88k-90k. Now compare that with RM 57k +++, and the difference is at least RM25k.

Now, if you factor in the RM 10k for AP, it’s a reasonably priced car. That summerises my previous comment. Someone is making extra dough.

• Anwar on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Franchise AP no need to pay to government.

• Non of then (Honda or Toyota) are AP holder, so they need to pay more 10K to get the AP. That why the car price are more expensive.

• ILikeLambo on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Prius , Civic hybrid and insight … Which one is better ? Which on e should i choose ? Pls kindly give a suggestion for me ..

• The Power Of Dreams on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Civic Hybrid is not produced by Honda Japan anymore and Honda Malaysia has stopped sales of Civic Hybrid. Toyota Prius costs RM140K, Honda Insight’s OTR price is only RM98K. The RM42K price difference between Prius and Insight can buy you a Proton Saga to be used as 2nd or 3rd car! You figure it out. The choice here is obvious, isn’t it?

• osh_kosh on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Prius is more technologically advance than Insight or Civic… mke your choice, same money or technology…

• go for the cheapest one.

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Prius technology more advance but more expensive…even Honda hv state above they want to follow Toyota foot step in future…but insight more value for money below 100k & battery only cost u 7k+ cheaper what!!…Honda civic hybrid no longer on sale & have to wait next year new generation civic…

• Jimmyteng on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Anyone has the Insight dimension?

• Honda Power on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Honda Insight: Length 4395 mm (Same length as City), Width 1695 mm (20 mm narrower than City; City 1715 mm). Height 1435 mm (35 mm lower than City; City 1470 mm). I drive Honda City i-VTEC.

• Peter on Dec 03, 2010 at 4:55 am

Can anyone know why Honda City in China is only listed as 1,695 in width, are they truly different (with the one here) or just different way of measuring the same car?

• still think prius is better even is expensive, value for money.. series hybrid and parallel hybrid. plus all the technology prius have…. see this:
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=prius%20vs%20insight&search=Search&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&spell=1

• JUZ GOT THE CITY LAST WEEK AND NOW SAW THIS!!! ARGH!!!

• Maserati on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Wow! This will tapau Forte,Pug VTi,Mazda 2 and all the other cars around that price range.

Brilliant pricing by Honda!

• Aaron on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Would like to know about the matter of battery replacement… Is it a must to replace after certain mileage? As it costs quite a lot nevertheless hybrid save your petrol and environmental friendly…

• Carl Wong on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:53 am

“Is it a must to replace after certain mileage?”
      No of course it’s not, you can use it as long as you want and as long as it doesn’t die. Honda will inspect those batteries.

The first generation of Honda Insight and Toyota Prius (with NiMH batteries too) are still running with their 1st batteries and some of them even went further than 300,000 km !!!

• Tiffany Gail on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:40 pm

BAD REVIEWS are given for this car!!

• Dennis on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:55 pm

AGREE TO THE STATEMENT

PERFORMANCE 2/5 STAR
      The Insight’s combination of a 1.3-litre petrol engine and battery-powered electric motor is okay around town, but it struggles to reach the national speed limit and overtaking on motorways is a painfully slow experience. This is particularly true if you follow the Insight’s economic driving guidelines and engage the Econ switch, which cuts torque and adjusts the throttle settings.

RIDE & HANDLING 2/5 STAR
      The light steering is welcome in town, but there’s not enough feedback through the steering wheel, which is a problem considering how sharply the car responds to even small inputs from the driver. On smooth surfaces the ride is fine, but the front suspension crashes noisily into potholes, while the rear end can be bucked about by speed humps.

REFINEMENT 2/5 STAR
      The cabin, engine and gearbox are all quiet when driving slowly to maximise economy and minimise emissions. Wind noise isn’t a problem, even at motorway speeds, but the engine and transmission kick up a real racket if you accelerate hard. The gearbox is jerky at low speeds, too, and there’s an annoying hesitation before the engine restarts after stopping when the car is stationary.

The fit and finish of the Insight is good, but the quality of some of the materials used in the cabin leaves a great deal to be desired. The rock-hard plastic on the dash do it no favours, and the materials get worse as you look down.

SOURCE: WHATCAR?

• reviews by WESTENERS
        savvy is 0/5
        so please don’t listen to them…
        not everyone owns a beemer/merz here
        i think the car it at least a 7/10
        hybrid at this price is unthinkable 3 years ago

• altecs on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:17 am

Not to bash at this car or hybrids, but what the review says about the performance has some truth to it. 1.3 litre or not, you can’t expect a hybrid to have super fine fuel consumption and be fast at the same time. If power is non of your concern then hybrid is the way to go, the amount of fuel you’ll be saving will make you laugh all the way to the bank for years (till you have to replace the battery in which you’ll cry a bit for 1 day).

If you are unsure if the performance suites you or not, do a test drive first. If you’re a total urban driver then I bet things would work out well for you. If you’re a young, red blooded driver like me then I bet you would die a little inside the moment you try to drive up genting with this thing. Just my 2 cents. :)

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:32 am

Yes those westerners say the car is sh1t and what not.. but ur living in malaysia bro.. those westerners u so darn respect fkng hate our myvi (meevee.. lol), and the myvi is flooding our roads evrywhre! p2 staff are still getting 6mths bonus for all they care..

for a car with specs and tech like this selling at this price, its more a so a ‘bargain’ (evetho we still get rip-off by honda) to us poor rakyat.

Sometimes International reviews cant be a milestone/benchmark for us here. They earn more than an avg malaysian and they can buy better cars so easy that we here in malaysia can only dream off.. pls dont exaggerate the reviews u see, take it just as a pinch of salt.

• YeapyEvo on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:48 pm

I feel at 98k it is way too overprice, even with 10% sales tax. Insight is meant to be a lower end/budget of hybrid car, unlike Prius which uses more advance system. I think Honda is making a huge profit and at the same time trying to protect the sales of City.

Hope Paul can give a test drive review soon.

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:23 am

Nice one, just realized what u said.. the 98K price is ‘protecting’ the City sales.. imagine if its selling arnd the 80K range? lol.. Honda u bloodsucking bstrd…!

• nolan on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:53 pm

I told you before guys, Honda love all of us…….

• cslee on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Superb. Interior very nice design, futuristic. But for the Exterior, is so so only,the Civic looked nicer.

• HirumaKecil on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Seriously this is worth to buy…

• nitescream on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:09 pm

What’s the others maintenance need to take care? How is the cost ? Thanks

• AndyLoi on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Totally different spec lar for Prius & Insight… Seems like honda is selling the outlook design instead of the hybrid system… Can’t really find any explanation of the hybrid system from their website…

• u can treat honda’s 2nd generation onwards of ima hybrid as a big starter motor. in contrary to popular believe, the ima can now move with electric motor alone… but that said is like a big starter motor moving all the piston while turning the drive shaft, with valves close though, so no fuel used.

• Darren Lee on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:14 pm

CVT again?? problematic CVT like the previous version of Honda CITY…
    why not putting a 5 speed auto gearbox like CITY.
    CVT is a nightmare!

• cinahensem on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:19 pm

30 km/L???
    wtf 30/L??

• aki_zz on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:36 pm

30 kilometer per liter…normal cars 11 or 12 kilometer per liter…

• Darren Lee on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:27 pm

CVT again?? problematic CVT like the previous version Honda City. Nissan Murano CVT also having problem. Lancer CVT also heat problem.
    Too many CVT problem and now Honda reintroduce CVT in Malaysia.
    Someone have to ask Honda why they dont want to introduct CVT for the latest Honda City. Have to think twice!!

• ultraman on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:50 pm

malaysian dunno how to take care CVT la..that’s y always problem..

• Cityuser on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:18 pm

I hav been driving city for more than 5yrs,so far no problem for my cvt gearbox. U must service ur car regulary to keep everything in peak performance. I found Maia has many kopi sifu didn’t service according to schedule.

• loveit on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:37 pm

It’s not because the problematic CVT..It’s the problematic mind of the people who drove this type of transmission whom are revving happy, treating it like conventional gearbox (literally, I read in autoworld forum, some even stupidly use ATF lube instead CVTF thinking it no difference than other AT)

and CVT meant for soft ride city driving not hard bumpy track ride..

my wife’s city already 4 years old..her friend’s already 6… none of them have complained about the CVT

• CVT Problem is due to too high pressure. You cannot gain long duration high-speed for CVT. The idea of CVT is for city drive and not for sport drive. If you wan something can do it on sport drive, then get an AMT instead of CVT. CVT give you way better mileage compare to AMT. Think twice before you purchase a car, you want a sportier drive or save your wallet. What budget do you have anyway?

• If CVT only for city driving so wahat happen to all cars like lancer, Audi from A2 to A8, merz amd so on……

• Well…I found PRIUS and Civic Hybrid also use CVT…can explain why all hybrid cars use CVT? Anything to do with the engine system? Perhaps Mr. Paul Tan can explain?

• Carl Wong on Dec 05, 2010 at 2:02 am

All hybrids use CVT because it has the best fuel efficiency compared to all other transmissions (and high torque too), but with a higher cost. Conventional automatic gearbox is not as fuel efficient but the cost is lower and the performance is better.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:27 pm

tempting. but how big is the actual size? same as city? in term of power wise, will it comparable as current city or worse? Since it comes with a smaller engine, i don’t see it’ll be big power from it.

• ultraman on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:52 pm

hybrid wasn’t ment for power to start off..at the moment its more for a good town car for good mileage capability..
      but hybrid is the future for all cars…

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:34 am

If you want power with good fuel economy……you need to buy a tubo diesel, but the cheapest is the Ford Focus TDCi at rm124K

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:46 pm

agree! which i think still gets better FC and no battery worries. and for sure it handles better than a saga ev. LOL!

• A Bear on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Wheelbase 100 inches plus….should be around City size.

• JoeGTi on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Good move honda!!!
    Other carmaker shud introduce their hybrid as well!!
    Proton!!Buckle UP pls!!!!

• TK Ong on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:43 pm

I can understand why everyone is getting excited over the Inight – its pricing.

But reviews that I had read of the car (Consumer’s Report US, Jeremy Clarkson, Autoblog & WSJ long term test report), doesn’t rate it very highly – poor sound insulation, ride, fittings, quirky battery management system, etc. It only managed to beat the Prius in fuel consumption! An Autoblog article also mentioned sales in the US was dismal and even below Honda’s own sales projection.

• Insight is BETTER fuel consumption then Prius.
      Insight is a perfect city car~!!
      Prius is a better highway car.

• leekowchai on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:29 pm

and insight beat prius in price too, which is a big deal in Malaysia.

• I want one !!!

• I want one !!

• ericmaxman on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Any hybrid > Prius
    And the Insight looks good as well.. 98k, very good value for money actually !!

• shawal on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:00 pm

GREAT NEWS!!!!!!!!!

• Abuden on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Aiyo… still carry jamban type lift door handles :(

• tsuprasonic on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:15 pm

very different from prius lah, technology (mild hybrid vs full hybrid) and output (1.3 vs 1.8) wise, like comparing city vs civic. i wont opt for the insight if i can afford the prius. anyway good price positioning by honda.

• daydreamer on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Does the Malaysian Honda’s dealers have enough APs to bring in the car for so many interested buyers? Heard from a Honda salesman that the waiting time would be very long due to this. Bedside this, hybrid cars are very new to the conventional Malaysian market. In the event that the car needs to be repaired, the cost will be a bomb as regular mechanics wouldn’t have any idea how to repair it….lol….

• M’sian shld stay away frm honda cars wif CVT gearbox unless u r so free to goto service centre frequently. My exp wif honda city was horrible. After 1 YEAR of problem persisted n numerous complaint to their HQ Complaint dept here, then only they willing to change de gearbox. But only after 6 mths warranty period end, same problem again. Dis is my 1st comment posted after selling off my city.. I dunno why Honda stil obtain high score in quality especially in M’sia. And dunno why stil has so many supporter here.. No more Honda 4me in my life.

• Nasai on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Totally agree with you! But ur in luck that ur able to get the gearbox replacement. Did u pay for it or was it under warranty? Was it a new set (RM20k) or reconditioned one (RM5k)? What year is ur Honda City? Cuz all i know this CVT gearbox issue among City’s is common especially the ones manufactured between 2003 – 2005.

My mum used to own one, year 2003 as the price at that time was very appealing. RM78k + 3yrs warranty and 2 yrs free maintenance. It only clocked 40k km. After 7 years, the juttering was very obvious even though i step on the acceleartor lightly. We didnt want to sell it off at first cuz the mileage under the belt was still low and the condition of the car externally was still as good as new except for this stupid CVT gearbox. So had been asking around for gearbox change. Finally, we sold it off just a few months ago for RM39k cuz afraid might have the same problem after the gearbox replacement.

Too potential Insight buyers, please enquire abt the CVT’s reliability with the Honda ppl first before purchasing.

• Darren Lee on Dec 03, 2010 at 8:45 am

I am having the same experience but I was unlucky. They din change the CVT gearbox for my City. They said it can be service and which I believe it and did it with about RM2K. The service is without warranty. After 3 months the problem come back again and they cant do anything at all.
      Some said CVT is not mean for revving, some said CVT need frequent service, some said is mean for lightfooted driving, some said you cannot use the manual sport mode…
      Only City onwers know the best. Not every City have this problem but most of the City having this problem when the car is 3 to 7 years old.
      Why not putting a 5 speed or even a 7 speed gearbox for hybrid car to make the car smooth surge……. may be CVT cost cheaper for the car manufacturer.

• craig on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:48 am

you should keep your car in condition with the right service guideline in place. Minimum to do flushing on your gear box with orginal CVT oil and not ATF oil will keep it in good condition. Change oil and gearbox flushing is totally 2 different thing.

My honda Jazz had been running for 6 years plus and I do stretch all the way for high speed in highway for long distance driving and did not have any problem on the gear box. Is all about how you maintain the car. I had drove the new city recently for high speed and the acceleration are not responsive as CVT does. If you do not take care the parts correctly, do not blame the manufacturer for human failure.

Just my 2 cents here.

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:41 am

yeah, using CVT has its pros and cons.. ive been using my 2004 city mostly heavy footed and a damn lot usage of the 7speed mode for overtaking and accelerating, and touchwood, 120K km and 6 yrs clocked in and no apparent wear and tear or prob on the CVT. i just service the cvt oil evry 40K kms..

All of this comes down to luck.. as in evry car purchase. If u want better tech, u must bear the higher cost of owning & maintenance. So potential buyers of hybrids and CVT must alrdy know what they are putting their money into..

now lets see how the CVTs on the new inspiras hold out..

• walaoeh on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:51 pm

where is the photo gallery?

• When the design is by Honda, everyone loves it. EVERY SINGLE INCH.

But when the same design is by Proton…

• Although this car is not very refined, high in performance, or luxury but it is fun to drive , economical and practical. 0-100kph takes around 12-13 seconds. Pulling the CVT transmission all the way to top speed with sound on one gear only. Never ending …
    Tough 20-25km/l is easily achievable. At 98k on the road and the size of almost Civic much larger than City comes with full spec, VSA, futuristic cockpit, it is much a better choice over the Inspira 2.0, Honda City, Kia Forte 2.0 and even Toyota Altis 1.6

• For hybrid car it about fuel saving, power is out of the picture. For Malaysia hot weather country expect the batteries life to be shorter plus market value will be low. Who want to buy second hand hybrid car if batteries been used for few year and close to end of life….

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:30 am

Agreed….Hybrid is all about fuel saving………If you want power and fuel saving, you need to choose turbo diesel instead

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:48 am

Lol.. 2nd hand value.. nvr thot of that b4 u brought it up bro.. surely not gonna hv a good resale value in the future.. as by the time u wanna sell off ur aging old insight, say 5 years, the market will alrdy be ripe with EVs by proton (EMAS) or other car makers.. hybrids will be the thing of the past, MAYBE.. or worse, EVs and hybrids will still be a small niche market.. now thats a bummer..

so to u guys who are 2nd hand price cautious, u might stay away frm the insight or in any case civic hybrid or prius for now. just my 2cents..

• netllockel on Dec 05, 2010 at 11:30 pm

IF one must make a profit to drive a car then ride a bike,

• Hunter on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Dude, im talking abt most malaysian mentality.. im in no fking way saying that ALL MUST consider 2nd hand car value and not evryone that works hard gets high pay and high increment like you (maybe?).

Enough of that, my point there is to ask people to think what will the hybrid market be when EV cars kick in to the party and whether they should or should not wait for future release of hybrid and EV vehicles as the auto market here is still in an infant stage considering hybrids.. being pioneers could suck or could be fruitful altogether..~

• Well if the RON 95 price is RM3 per litre, and fuel price only goes up….do the math…ur assumption is flawed

• Renault Power on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:32 pm

is this car made in japan

• seriusSAM on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:40 pm

we should bash Honda for copy and paste prius back end

are you with me people?

Thumbs up!

LOL

:D

• dando311 on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:42 pm

question now is whether this car can run on RON95… if can only use RON97…then money saved will not be much different…. but then, even if it can run on RON95, i will definitely pump in RON97 for long-term engine maintenance…..

• Francis on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:13 pm

You goto honda malaysia site…move your cursor to Models > Insight . It says compatible with Ron95

• Jom Beli Online on Dec 02, 2010 at 9:48 pm

RM98k is not cheap..huhu..

• it hybrid…so what u expect.. a Golf GTI performance? :D

going to test this car next week.. 11-12 seconds 0-100km/h… better than saga i though :D as long as this car has no problem climbing genting with 5 passengers.. anything should be ok..

what about interior’? anyone got pictures?

• zheenbo on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:47 pm

i’ve seen the interior before… it looks kinda like the civic’s interior, except more futuristic…..

• toyoott on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Better start with taxis first,, change all the taxis in Malaysia to Insight and Prius!

• Francis on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Paul,
    I thought Insight is C-segment?
    Because B-segment being replace by C-segment sounds so wrong.
    Is this something typo error?

• Paul Tan on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Insight is B-segment.

• VW_fans on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:51 am

Paul, any rumors CR-Z selling in M’sia? I reli reli wishing HONDA Malaysia consider CR-Z 6-speed manual.
        Pllleeaassee Paul, pls send the message to Honda C.E.O or relevant parties.
        Thanks Paul ^_^

• ONEcountry on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:50 pm

i support u!!! please Paul…… :)

• Went for the plant tour at Melaka few weeks ago !! . We did asked whether the CR-Z will be in sold in Malaysia by HM. Several authorities did mention that due to consumer demand and practicality, there are reasons as to why the CR-Z would not be available for the time being. Car sold have to first see its demand by the market. HM are trying their very best to push the sales of City, Civic, CR-V, Accord and now the arrival of Insight. It seems the fact of Freed are not popular at all in Malaysia due to tax , and tough the fact CR-Z is only a 2 door model it could not end up favorably in most consumer mindset. However, there might be chances that parallel importers would bring in the CR-Z.

• VW_fans on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:42 am

Thanks Bro Well, then for time being I rest my case :( even though disappointed but at least got some “hint”.

ONE country bro, now our dreams is temporarily shatter ^_^ LOL!!!LOL!!!

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:58 am

looks solid that thy wont bring the CR-Z… :( The CRZ pricing is more or so the same as the insight internationally that is.. so more or so they will sell it the same price as the insight here in malaysia..

the CRZ has way cool sporty looks and a hi-tech dash design.. true eyecatcher.. if they sell this @ 98K range also, imagine what will happen to the target market of young execs and young hearted sporty uncles? lesser sales for the city and civic as a whole. Honda will lose significant sales of their top selling models due to the CRZ introduction..

• It is CBU Hybrid unit at 98k

• Nasai on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:58 pm

” The new B-segment Insight takes over the Civic Hybrid’s place as the cheapest hybrid car in Malaysia with a price tag of only RM98,000 OTR including insurance. This makes it about RM11,000 more than the most expensive Honda City.”

I thought the most expensive Honda CIty in M’sia costs RM90k OTR with insurance? It should be RM8k more expensive??

Haihz Honda CVT again. I know CVT is the preferred choice for most car manufacturers when developing eco-friendly/fuel-efficient car but with the 2003 Honda City CVT gearbox problem happen before, i doubt abt this CVT used in the Insight.

Btw, there was once the S’pore Torque Magazine compared this Insight and the Prius side by side and they concluded that the Prius is better than the Insight. They said Prius is like ‘MAC/Macintosh’ and Insight is like ‘Windows/Microsoft’…Lol.

Very lucky for Paul who gets to go for this KLIMS 1 day before the actual day. It’s for VIP’s only ryte?

• lalala on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:49 pm

The City in my house is 3 years old already and we love the CVT. No problems tho.

• MoFaz on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:14 am

first day is usually for press and like you said, VIPs too.

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:28 am

For sure Prius is better…its more expensive…RM138k for Prius vs RM98k for insight

• laluan sehala on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:08 am

Nope. It was mainly for Media and also some VIPs.

• MoFaz supporter on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:14 pm

with this kind of price….Inspira is better

• deyyy. different category lah. inspira produces more CO2 while the hybrid gives out less lah. u inhaled to much CO2 kah?

• MoFaz on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:33 am

I just don’t understand. we don’t think alike…. are you really my supporter?

• comment on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:42 am

Great this is a 4 door CRZ…the backside look so similar to CRZ

• amir hussein on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:21 am

Such a nonsensical comment from a desperate P1 and Mofaz supporter.
      Looks like Proton is worried it wil be left behind once again in the race
      to produce a production car. Good luck P1 you’ll need it..lots of it !!

• i rather get this. atleast it came from Japan.

• laluan sehala on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:11 am

Please explain why you say Inspira is better. From a technological standpoint, the Inspira is nothing compared to this new honda.

• I totally agree !! The High Spec Inspira does not even come with traction control and stability control safety features.. Build quality somehow I have no idea but it is a “proton”.. and Malaysian do know about proton !!! .. Most of all AFTER SALES AND SERVICE .. Proton really ***** at this point

• Hunter on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:07 am

These 1st batch Inspiras quality are quite on par with lancer quality (interior-wise) .. compared both alrdy.. but as u said.. its a proton.. and some ppl hv bad exp with proton after sales svc and parts, etc..

• Inspira is better if you need performance and comfort.
      Insigth is better if you think more to the evironment and can save more petrol fees especially driving in KL.

• MoFat on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Inspira is better if you need to keep sending your car for lousy quality service
        Insight is better at least you dont have this headache

Inspira is better since you can convert to Mitsubishi by changing the logo
        Insight is better since the identity is there

• Hattrick on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Another good news from Insight launch, HM is also extending the warranty for the battery to 5 years or 140,000km as compared to the usual 3 year warranty. Hope this is also applicable to my new Civic Hybrid expecting to arrive some time in Jan..:)

• watched some video reviews of prius and insight. similiar looking cars very different mechanicals and experience. final conclusion:prius has a better solid feel,quieter cabin and marginally better power/consumption.insight is cheaper,lighter,more drivable,but noisier and less refined.if you factor the fuel savings with prius’s better consumption, even with US gas price you will need 400,000 miles to break even with the insight’s cheaper purchase price.looks like it is the insight if you want value for money and prius if you want better ride experience.your choice.

• leekowchai on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:44 pm

for a B segment, this is cheaper than Jazz. Hey, where is Jazz hybrid? I think it looks better than Insight.

• spoil design…look ugly from back

• Michael Lee on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:53 pm

The wheelbase is same as vios. 2550mm

• Whynot on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Too soon or too late? Hybird tech with Nickel Metal Hydrate? Service would include as usual normal engine oil change, timing belts, gear box oil and etc maintenance + other extra high techs maintenance cost and also it is still a polluting type car too – CO + heats. I would rather think twice. As we know that Proton is going to make Zero emissions EV. I personally suggest we wait till next year.

• dickybird on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:14 am

ugh, half a van shape.

• mystvearn on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:36 am

Something just crossed my mine. Batteries die quicker if its hot. Same goes with your laptop or mobile phone batteris. Malaysia is a very hot country. Car can bemore than 40C if just placed in the hot sun. Batteries in this car die quick as well?

• *Cold Climate*
      I think you’ve got it the other way around. Battery energy storage dissipate (die) faster in cold environment. Hence, people in cold country will need to recharge their hybrid vehicles more frequently. But electronics and mechanical wise, components will have longer life span in a cold country.

*Hot Climate*
      On the other hand, in hot climate country (but I think ours is a mix of hot and cold climate; sometimes rain heavily, sometimes hot etc), battery energy storage will last longer (lesser recharging). Electronics and mechanical components; life span are much shorter (hence the 5 years warranty only). I see pros and cons, but at least everybody would agree, if hybrid can save our overall fuel cost, its worth it!

*Heavy rain and flood*
      My other concerns is whether this hybrid is designed to go through flooded roads (I’m not expecting a submersible vehicle okay), or at least if water touches the battery, it doesn’t electrocute the driver and passengers (and other road pedestrians)?

*How to recharge for high rise dwellers?*
      Another dilemma are those KLites who are staying in high rise apartments and condominiums, wonder how they’re going to charge their hybrids?
      USE EXTENSION WIRE ALL THE WAY FROM 28TH FLOOR? Hahahaha.

These are few of the questions that hybrid manufacturers will need to consider as well.

• cl_qwertyuiop on Dec 03, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Hybrid car battery such as Insight doesn’t need to get recharge from the power outlet. The battery can be charge by their 1.3L engine when the battery energy is low. So for the KLites who live in high rises, you don’t have to buy any extension wires for the car because the car (Honda Insight) doesn’t have any power plug in it.

If this info doesn’t enough, please search Google for the Insight charging infrastructure.

• Thanks for the highlights, I think I’ve got mix up HYBRIDS with BATTERY CARS (EVs). Yup, hybrids doesn’t need charging, but EV does. :P

• Carl Wong on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:45 am

Ya all hybrids from Honda for now don’t need to be plugged in.

However Honda said they will release plug in hybrids in 2012, which you could plug it in to recharge if you want to increase the range of the electric only mode (EV mode). (16-24km estimated)

Can’t wait for that :)!!!

• No paddle shift for malaysia insight?

• Shit.. looking at the specification at honda website.. there is none! Haiz…

• Renault Power on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:27 pm

no. but doubt u need one. seriously, 8 out of 10 bmw drivers never used their paddle shifters before.

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 6:35 am

Guys,

Will the battery system of a hybrid survive KL unpredictable flash flood where we some time need to drive through knee deep flood??

• evoskylancer on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:17 am

i doubt that…better don’t take the risk of driving through flooded road with a hybrid car

• Carl Wong on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:40 am

It’s safe even if you have to drive through some water.

• Prius is the one …. long history in hybrid and better trend record…… booked 1x, waiting for 4-month to deliver for year 2011 manufactured car. fully from japan with RON 95. but i hear hybrid car not for highway drive, cant save much petrol because running in high RPM….. can some one share this?

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:16 am

petrol hybrid save fuel during city traffic where its battery pack can assist the engine…but at high speed, the high revving nature of a petrol is the main drawback in preserving fuel consumption…..hence, if u’re doing lots of hyway driiving, a turbo diesel is more efficient. The best compromise would be the new to be in production from 2011 Pug 3008 diesel hybrid = the best of both world for city & hyway driving

• Good fuel consumption but what about the cost of charging the battery?
    Any idea?

• honda kaki on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:51 am

is 7k

• charging is free…changing is 7k

• sorry being a “noob” on this Hybrid cars.
          Thought we have to recharge the battery by using electricity but now I know the car
          recharge itself.

• recharge by braking if not mistaken…

• PakAbu on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:37 pm

That’s “plug-in hybrid”. Usually as alternative to “self-charging” (by the engine + braking etc)

It was not offered earlier because it gives (negative) impression that the car must be plugged in to charge.

So, the prius type appeared to be attractive choice because it drives like normal car bur saves on fuel!

• Bro, this car it’s not EV, it’s hybrid, supposedly use 2 engine 1 battery engine and another one petrol engine, when petrol engine light up the battery will charging from petrol engine movement and electric engine will turn off.

• zafedz on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:58 am

waiting for 2nd hand recond Insight from UK….should be much cheaper…ha!ha!

• korek on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:02 am

Bring in the CRZ HM!!! and i’ll trade in my civic… hahaha

• I am waiting Honda CRZ!

• Eagerly look forward to your test-drive review!

• namerku on Dec 03, 2010 at 2:24 pm

1.3 for almost 100k..insane

• look at the technologyla brother..haihh

• Renault Power on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:29 pm

eh macha….rx-8 1.3 also cost 240k…..hahahaha…it really isn’t about the displacement, you must always take into consideration power, quality, the gadgets inside.

• lol, u make a big luffing for ur self, see who duduk bawah tempurung now????

• K-TAM on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Agreed with bite! Pls look at the technology! :-/

• use your brains la!! volkswagon also 1.4 but well above 100k and is not insane.

look at the details of the stuff u are getting rather just on pure engine capacity!!

• banko on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:33 am

yeah by price vs tax for hybrid ,,it expense …. but welcome to real world boy

• budlee on Dec 03, 2010 at 4:51 pm

nice…. this is something i would like, if i were in the market

• Renault Power on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:28 pm

any news about the cr-z. it is similarly priced to the insight overseas….which could only mean a good thing. plus, paul any news about audi q5 2.0 hybrid? hope they can bring it here before 2011 =(

• orbclyne on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:35 pm

i just cancel my City, had book Insight also. better spec than city

• fence sitter on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Orbclyne,

im interested in the insight too..how long is the waiting period to get the car?

• ONEcountry on Dec 03, 2010 at 5:35 pm

when they bring the HONDA CRZ to Malaysian??
    i cant wait for it!!!!!!
    Oh…..please Honda Malaysia!!!! please!!!!
    I think every Honda’s fans are waiting.

• the car is actualy kinda small. i bumped my head twice. once when getting in and the other when getting out. but i suppose one can get used to it. it definitely feels smaller inside than a city but it sure has a whole lot more cool factor to it due to the tech it uses. and, for a hybrid at that price, very, very tempting indeed. and i’m certainly a fan of this car.

• Eh that RX8 1.3 over 200K. LOL.

Your internal combustion engine also can not drive through flood what…

Better ask van or lorry drivers don’t sit on top the engine, not sure the internal combustion engine will explode or not. =D

• ahmed on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

looking good from front but totally not beautiful from back this car looking exremley wonder full but from back side not so good plz change the model from back side

• Bruce Lim on Dec 04, 2010 at 1:42 am

Is a very nice price,I think this is affordable price,for those who are looking for mid-range saloon like Vios or City,just pay a bit more can consider to own a Insight.For long therm also save a lot of petrol money,to save our global as a good choice.

• Carl Wong on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:32 am

I must say that is the cheapest hybrid ever, thank you Honda :].

• Fuelefficient on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:48 am

Still expensive @ 98k … probably priced above City to avoid impact to City.

• banko on Dec 04, 2010 at 4:17 am

look like every body want jazz hybrid,,,,, no way laa,,,,will be high demand,,,which result , can be even expensive as civic hybrid aa…. coz it look… even lower tax,,,honda or any car distributer even p1 will try to squeeze their malaysian customer lohh

• reuben how on Dec 04, 2010 at 8:53 am

I have a hybrid car (Camry 2.4). There are some things to be aware of, which i think are common to all hybrids. Firstly, read the owner’s manual. There are some important safety instructions, like not carrying fluids in the boot, risk of electrocution etc. Also, in an accident, I think that emergency personel need to be briefed on the salvage and rescue aspects etc.

• Fiver on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:44 pm

wow.. no fluids in boot? that’s a major letdown, considering we are going to bring these hybrid cars out for grocery shopping.. they shouldve at least design the batt. pack to be water tight/proof, as i think 99% of people will surely carry some sort of liquids in their boot at some point.. honda should cleary brief their customer abt this~!

• paxter on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:44 am

seriously man… whats with your english… the words, and grammar went out the window at 300kmph…

• Really sick of all these Green terrorists.

• the rims much better than those in civic hybrid

• Just check out Honda Insight at KL International Motor Show Today.
    Honda Insight (Length 4,395 mm, Width 1,695mm, Height 1,435mm)
    Honda City (Length 4,395 mm, Width 1,695mm, Height 1,470mm)
    While Honda Insight has same length and width as Honda City, Honda Insight backseat is less comfortable than Honda City especially the middle seat.

Honda Insight is more a 4+1 seat car while Honda City is a 5 seat car.
    +1 seat because the back middle seat is not so comfortable for decent size adult, something over 5ft 7in tall.

• rashdan on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:16 am

One major stumbling block is that the rebate for
    Hybrid cars end in 2011.
    How do would you expect more Hybrid/EV models to come in?
    Our NAP needs an overhaul soon.
    Hopefully after P1 & P2 settle their on going merger plans –
    or that’s what we read in the papers.

• The rebate for hybrids car expired end 2011.. i bet the gov will declare for extension plus another 10-20k green rebate for hybrids owners. which mean make the selling car much more cheaper..haha…hard to predict our gov intention

• cslee on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:07 am

Great…nice car with nice price. Surely better than City in term of interior and exterior design.

• Great car. And good mileage. Just read reviews that in U.K the car can go 86.74 Km using 3.8 liters of petrol. The petrol tank is 40 liters/ Rm 76 (Rm1.9 per/l). By my rough calculation, it’s Rm0.09 per km and is able to achieve almost 900Km per tank.

My kelisa is using up Rm55 for 350Km, this will be a good drive and a good car for hybrid noobs.

Honda’s handling is better than toyota, but ride comfort is better in toyota compared to honda. In conclusion, i will still go for insight as i will not fork out an additional 45K for the Tax.

I still think the Gov should not impose tax on green cars as all other countries don’t. Malaysia boleh!

• Carl Wong on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:47 am

Those petrol electric hybrids with petrol engines below 2.0L are already tax free in the whole of year 2011, and they’re even made in Japan :]…!!! (Quality)

• Joker The Great on Jun 07, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Roughly average mileage we get per tank
      RM63@ 560km

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:00 pm

lovely. but cr-z better. especially the upcoming turbo petrol engined one.

• CarLover on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:16 pm

around how much will you estimate CR-Z to be price at?
      RM108K? replace civic hybrid price?
      any chance?

• I just booked Insight yesterday and will get the car in May/June.
    But i still unsure whether to still go ahead with Insight or wait for CR-Z or any other hybrid car which might be cheaper coming into malaysia before May/June.
    Would to hear some opinions here.

• Dear Honda Malaysia,

we are waiting for Honda CR-Z that price around RM65k to rm75k outside of Malaysia. thus, the price in here would be +- da same.

Please launch it in Malaysia ASAP

TQR

• Jimmy on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:05 am

I like Civic Hybric more than Insight,anyway i have booked civic hybric last month and will get the car probably early of next month…cheers…welcome to green world.

• 5 years warranty for IMA battery, this is superb, Honda is very confident in their product. This indirectly hint me that Insight battery is more reliable & superior than the one use in Prius. Toyota should extend their warranty to at least 5 years or more. Honda boleh :)

• keikor on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:51 pm

good

• prius_driver on Dec 08, 2010 at 4:36 pm

5years as opposed to 3years provided by Prius :(
      I’m very disappointed that I booked my Prius earlier :(
      Should have gone for Insight. Cheaper and longer warranty. If Prius is able to extend to 5years warranty, then its a good news to all future Prius owners :)

• sad…. honda dealer called me this afternoon and said that honda malaysia will stop to produce the honda civic hybrid in year 2011, and recommend me to honda insight.

how can honda malaysia stop the honda civic hybrid make year 2011 and yet they still open for customer to booking the honda civic hybrid. i lready pay the booking fee rm 3000 for the hybrid civic n my loan for the civic already approved..

anyone please help me…any suggestion paul?

• liokmin on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:21 am

Aiyo friend, I already complaint lah… still no choice.
      But I think Insight is ok lah… looking at the price RM10K lesser than Civic Hybrid and the electronic tool given…

• Cyber on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:14 am

Zack,

TOo bad to hear that. I hope they don;t cancel my booking fee also for Honda civic Hybrid. No choice lo……they want to boost up the sales for Honda Insight.

• Cyber on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:15 am

I think we should tell Honda Malaysia to take out the Civic Hybrid model from www.honda.com.my to avoid confusion to customer that the model is still out for booking……

• K-TAM on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Zack,

I remember u ever mention that whether want to cancel the civic hybrid and switch to honda insight, sombody already told u the honda dealer will call u! If u really like Civic then stick to ur previous booking otherwise u just cancel the booking and get back ur money!

• andy wong on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:02 am

The Honda insight is good but my worried what will happen after 2011 when the tax rebate gone. Then the price of battery will not be RM7k as mentioned,right. Also the CVT transmission is a big question mark for me. I heard many bad review on the Honda CVT transmission on previous Honda City. I even try to ask what is the HONDA SA opionion. To my surprise he did not try to defend the reliability of CVT but in fact told me that to drive CVT transmission you cannot press the hard for pick up that will spoilt it. It really turn me off after consider all this potential problem. In malaysia is different for other country because ppl buy car thinking of max usage is 10 years. As for Msia due to the tax most ppl thinking driving it for life.

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:28 pm

I also have booked civic hybric last month,salesman told me will get the car probably next year early,when i place booked SA told me only left 2 units ,hope that is true and will not cancel my booking and force me to take “shit” insight,if happen then i think we got to make complaint to consumer dept.

• Cyber on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Yeah..agree with u….stick to your civic booking. Is good also to own the last batch of Honda Civic Hybrid………………..

• K-TAM on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

Yes! I also not going to accept honda insight! Stick to Honda Civic Hybrid ordered or cancel order! :)

• K-TAM on Dec 28, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Yes! I will get my Civic Hybrid early of next month! :)

• Hattrick on Dec 31, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Me too..hehe.

• K-TAM on Dec 31, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Happy new year!!! We are the lucky last batch Civic hybrid owner! Cant wait to get my Hybrid next week! hehe! :)

• I was wondering if this car can go up to Genting with full passenger capacity (5 ppl).

• liokmin on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Dave, you pop up this question very good…

• Carl Wong on Dec 21, 2010 at 10:10 pm

No problem, it’ll provide A LOT of TORQUE along with the electric motor :)…!! Much better than a proton still.

• what abt the interior?? leather seat?

• Izgudasdedriver on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Hi Guyz, a hybrid car is by right a green car .To use a green car , you need to have a green mind .No way you can compare a hybrid to a racing car , no way you can compare it to a luxury sedan that weights a lot .Remember that it uses petrol to move every kg inside the car .
    People buying a hybrid are concerned about environment as well the cost of going from A to B .
    A cool , smooth drive will save you loads of money in any cars , and a hybrid will always save you some $ ..This being said provided you drive mostly in town !!
    A cool smooth drive will also reduce your blood pressure .. take it easy while driving .
    Start to give way and smile … if Malaysians drivers adopt this attitude , they will save money , save time in their daily trip and live longer …

A car ‘s not a weapon or anything else .. it s just a mean of transport .
    Drive safe and enjoy your savings :-)

• Williev on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:41 am

Any paddle shift for malaysia version insight?

• allblacks on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Has booking opened ? Anybody know how long is the waiting period ? Want to buy la.

• liokmin on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Earliest should be February, after CNY.
      Better book quickly if you want, because more and more people are booking.
      I think I am one of the earliest bird, salesgirl key in the Honda system on the first day available, about a week before motorshow launch.

• wow..u r early bird…did ur sales girl offer any rebate, voucher or free gifts??
        i wanna booked too, but not sure which honda dealer or sales person to choose. I wan good quality anf professional sales person who does all the follow up and honest. if got, pls recommend.

• liokmin on Dec 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Hi Neo and Calvin,

Sorry for the late reply.

I am dealing with Acmar Klang, you may contact Cynthia, tell her that you know Mr.Tan, she’s quite nice and prompt follow-up sales girl at 0122027691. You may get some “benefit”.

Now she told me the loan interest rate lowest is Hong Leong or Public Bank, about 2.7%.

• Cyber on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Wow……liokmin, good move….loan also kau tim already…..really early bird

• u r really early bird bro. did your salesgirl give you any voucher, rebate, tint or free gifts?
        I wanted to booked too, but still considering which honda dealers or salesperson to choose. I just want quality service from them. Any good or professional salesperson to recommend?

• Calvin on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:12 pm

u r really early bird bro. did your salesgirl give you any voucher, rebate, tint or free gifts?
        I wanted to booked too, but still considering which honda dealers or salesperson to choose. I just want quality service from them. Any good or professional salesperson to recommend?

• liokmin on Dec 19, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Call up Honda Acmar Klang, Ms.Cynthia, she will give u good service!

• Calvin on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:14 pm

u r really early bird bro. did your salesgirl give you any voucher, rebate, tint or free gifts?
    I wanted to booked too, but still considering which honda dealers or salesperson to choose. I just want quality service from them. Any good or professional salesperson to recommend??

• just 10 days and 500 booking already

• Cyber on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:41 pm

everyone is going hybrid……..maybe because of tax free exemption…….

• liokmin on Dec 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Can’t believe now booking have to wait till May/ June take car. Luckily I made fast decision.

• Does Honda Malaysia offers Mugen bodykit for Insight?

• razlan on Dec 18, 2010 at 4:18 pm

RM80k price range would be more reasonable.

Any details on Honda Jazz/Fit Hybrid?

• just ordered for my lovely wife since she likes Honda so much! Insight coming just a the right time….remember one thing friends! Fuel price will keep increasing since our Honourable PM has mentioned it clearly in early 2010 that subsidies will be reduced gradually….

• adrian on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:46 am

Jai,
      What is the waiting time to get your INsight? Im thinking to order one too,. thanks

• if you order now(march)…they sales person told me you will get it July..the earliest….

• May i know if this insight spacious than city?

• I heard insight is using IDSL engine n CVT transmission. It might end up like City IDSL. Transmission wont last… Rm20k to change it!! Can anyone clearify this? Or anyone know has the problem been solved?

• Michael on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Going to book a unit, hope the real car specification is what Honda Malaysia has put up in their website

• Michael on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Does anyone knew about CVT for Honda Insight? As I checked the specification, it seem the gear lever will have “P(park),N(Neutral),D(Drive),S(sport)” only. If go uphill, can the CVT auto gear enough power to support? As we can’t manually change the gear lever.

As for current auto gear, it will have L1,L2,D3,D4, thus if not enough power, we can go manually to L1 or L2.

If anyone has this knowledge, please share with me.

Thank you.

• Carl Wong on Jan 20, 2011 at 5:07 am

Did you drive a car with CVT before? It really is a breeze when going uphill, I think the CVT provide higher torque compared to those conventional automatic gearbox. Just step on it and up you go, if you want even more power just use S mode. The gear ratio for CVTs is always changing so those L mode is not really needed. The Insight is a hybrid and the electric motor provide additional power and torque which adds up to even higher torque :].

• langkawistillcheaper on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:30 pm

interestingly, according to honda’s website,price in langkawi is rm90k compared to rm98k in peninsular..hmmm…

http://www.honda.com.my/insight/detail/pricing/index.dot

• Went to showroom. I will bring my wife test drive this weekend if she like it I think will order for her. The SA said need to wait for 3-4 months…

Do anyone own the car now? How’s the driving feeling? As my wife is daily driving from Pj to kl and mileage is 50km per day and I think for long run it save a lot my $$$ for petrol.

• what is the electromagnetic fields (EMFs) produced by Insight?

• Joker The Great on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:57 pm

RM42@398km
      which i drive it from Northern to KL, refilled the petrol at Sungkai….
      amazing if you travelling a lot…

No more petrol car from now onward, must go for hybrid…

• What is the electromagnetic fields (EMFs) produced by this Insight?

• what is the electromagnetic fields (EMFs) produced by hybrid?

• me wafiy on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:43 pm

..test drove couple days ago….weird feeling,when i press the brake pedal…,it’s quite…interior seems like using chepo stuff,,,rear seat suitable for two.. ….power it’s quite ok to me…

• no need buying this brand or other asian car brands la,all very very stupid, just choose western n european car brands only,REALLY GENG!!!…all asian brands have no quality n very ugly…my car is BMW M6

• Muralli on Mar 09, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Has anyone tried doing genting with 4 or 5 adults, with 40kg in trunk?

• just received my new Insight on 12 March for my wife….so far, so impressed…cost me around RM15 for a return trip from Nilai to Rembau with RON95…luckily I booked it in Dec 2010…have to wait much longer if booking done after the official launch in Feb…now waiting for two-door hiybrid coupe CRZ to come in…was told the price aroung RM120-130k…1.5…great deal!

• Joker The Great on Jun 07, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Brother, my gf lagi lucky.. booked the car around mid March, got it in 3rd week of April…
      consider very very lucky, thanks to 1 guy of his loan being rejected by bank….
      kakakakaka

• Joker The Great on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Hi Paul

need some input from you..
    Regarding this Insight, is it the CVT transmission same as previous generation of Honda City which is CVT 7 speeds?

• najibuxxx on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:40 am

YOU ALL HAVE BEEN FOOLED BY NAJIS!! He only reduced the tax to cover up the murderer he is when he murdered Atlantuya in cold blood! Careful, one of these Hybrids could have c4!

• ah_kho on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:13 am

Now, to book a Insight, date of delivery are TBA…. too bad, I need one….

• ah_kho on Jun 06, 2011 at 2:57 pm

damn it..!! 1.8k price increase? why? transport cost increase? gov increase tax? or simply high demand higher price things?? come on, see it ur self, does it worth that much? don’t you feel shame selling a silver with gold price?
      oh ya, malaysia boleh culture, take it or leave it and don’t block the way, we got no worry about no business anyway…
      anyway, power of dream had broke my dream!!

• Zulivina on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:21 am

last week test drive this car…..using econ mode,while car stop,engine also stop…….
    but.not a big problem,fuel also save.only the problem is,as per advice from salesman,this car can’t add.woofer/power amp for audio system…….at least,i want to put small woofer & 1 power amp for ‘low pass’……………

• WeaKorea on Jun 06, 2011 at 4:04 am

The Insight is a bit of a disappointment to be honest.

I have test driven both Prius and Insight. And without a doubt, the Toyota is superior in almost every way possible except the huge 40k price gap. First the Insight interior feels completely out of place, despite trying to be a futuristic as possible. Blue Led signals looks cheap like something from Perodua! (And this is supposed to be CBU??) Head room average for its size. Seats are flat and not comfortable. Steering adequate but mushy. Torque feels like its dying from the get go and it comes with a weird designed butt.

The Prius had a very roomy, and comfy interior. The Leds looks translucent and high quality. Electronic are well placed and its ergonomic gear stick was fun to use. The design looks more subtle then jarring compared to its rival. Door padding feels solid and the console its much better looking that the outrageous Insight. Low RPMs feels more responsive than the Insight. Steering is adequate for normal commuting with little body roll.

Conclusion, its not hard to see why Prius is the best selling Hybrid in the world. But with a price tag that rivals an entry level luxury like the Accord (low spec) one would think twice.

• Joker The Great on Jun 07, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Damn lousy Honda Malaysia..

My gf car accidentally bang the post end up the rear lamp spoiled.
    so have to place an order for the replacement of 1 unit from One of the Dealer in Kedah…

Know whats the reason by both dealer and also Customer service1800882828?
    This is the 1st case happened in Malaysia, we still unable to know the unit price and also is it the stock is available…
    If dont hv it, they will need to palce an order from Japan…

Dear Honda Insight Driver, pls drive carefully….
    Else your car surely stuck for months in workshop……If dotn believe it, you may make a for furthur details…..

• Joker The Great on Jun 18, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Latest Update…..
    After pumped full tank and used up 80% of the petrol lasting me from:

Destination start from:
    Central Kedah => Setia Alam => J..W.Marriot => Setia Alam => Tapah R&R ==> 628km
    just cost RM52 of petrol……
    With 85% in Highway, 15% city drive.
    Average speed in Highway about 100km/h

1st time for after so many years, my petrol $$$$ spend for the whole journey is less than Toll Fees….

Waoooooo……..

Tips ====> As long as the the RPM is below 2000, you will get an amazing fuel consumption…. cheers…..

• Carl Wong on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:30 am

The cheapest hybrid not just in our country, maybe even the world :]…..!!!!!!!!

• Syed Irfan on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Dear All,
    it seems that the first Honda Hybrid in Malaysia to pass the 100,000KM mark (warranty period for Civic Hybrid) has failed!!! I think owners of the hybrids whether Civic or Insight should be careful especially as the owner of this particular hybrid claimed that Honda denied any problems before the expiry of the warranty and shortly after the warranty they asked her to replace the battery. Theres some report on this case in Malay Mail today.
    http://www.mmail.com.my/content/79062-hybrid-owner-claims-defects-ima-system

• zatros on Aug 09, 2011 at 11:45 am

Honda EX-5 is much much better than this hybrid car..;p

• Cyberian on Jan 08, 2012 at 9:15 am

guys, how far is this true??

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/79062-hybrid-owner-claims-defects-ima-system

• Jarrod on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:07 pm

There are no bad cars in Malaysoa.Just BAD DRIVERS!

• nk beli laa this car .can i cntact where municipal council ?

• with a price tag of 98K you’re still calling it cheapest? what about only around USD20,000 in USA, what do you call?