VW Polo R in the works, to ride on WRC rally car fame

Earlier this month, Volkswagen confirmed that it will join the World Rally Championship (WRC) in 2013 and gave a preview of its rally machine. Called the Polo R WRC, the three-door supermini’s body has prominent ‘R’ branding, which is also in the car’s name as well.

While VW has previously shot off the possibility of a hot ‘Polo R’ by its performance division, this latest development hints otherwise. Autocar UK followed up on that and have got some positive response from a VW bigwig.

“You can see how the World Rally Championship programme would increase the probability of an R version of the base model (Polo),” Ulrich Hackenberg, VW Member of the Management Board, Development Division told the mag. Timeframe? “It is with the rally programme, not before it. I can’t give a precise date, but it’s along those lines,” he revealed.

At the reveal, Dr Ulrich also said that “the new Technical Regulations of the WRC are an ideal fit for Volkswagen’s philosophy with respect to the development of production vehicles.” The Polo R WRC will have “near 300 hp” from a 1.6-litre TSI engine that’s turbocharged and direct injected.

So what we know now is that a hot Polo tuned by R GmbH is in the works, but won’t surface till at least 2013. The current hottest Polo is the GTI, which puts out 180 PS and 250 Nm from just 1.4-litres of twincharged TSI engine. To top that, the ‘Polo R’ will need at least Golf GTI levels of power, which should make it one hell of a pocket rocket.

While the R may be a long way from production, we hear that the Polo GTI may be coming to our shores in the near future, not a surprise since VGM did bring in the previous-gen car. No stick shift though; the new Polo GTI is mated exclusively to a 7-speed DSG.

Click here to see a video of the Polo R WRC.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rosdi on May 16, 2011 at 12:03 pm

I know this is about Polo R, but the Polo GTi, when is it and what is the price?!!!!! I want to know now!! cepat.. cepat..

• confused on May 16, 2011 at 12:20 pm

VW can’t find suitable price range to slot it in the market..

• molexxray on May 16, 2011 at 7:51 pm

U can book now, price <RM140K, should be before August.
      Most VW dealer already got many booking aldy !!

• ujang serabai on May 16, 2011 at 12:53 pm

nice design..i loike…. ;)

• Whooaaaa awesome bodykit!!

• quottro on May 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

give it a bit more space..and who needs a golf then?.. keke j/k

• From 2011 onwards, all WRC Cars are B-segment hatchbacks. The trunk which is found in sedan, is banned.

• I love satria neo s2000 but this…arrgh…neo s2000 do sumthin please

• I really really love my 6 months old Polo!so much fun to drive and the exterior looks awesome!!!but pls lah VW bring the Polo GTI to M’sia!!!

• mat koboi on May 16, 2011 at 7:34 pm

i hope this car can beat citroen wrc…

• Car Driver on May 16, 2011 at 10:00 pm

A very beautiful front bodykit…Luv it…

• Shweta Das on May 23, 2011 at 8:41 pm

The new volkswagen polo definitely looks interesting and uber cool and it is quite spacious too.Thats what i think at

least.It will definitely take the market with a storm because it has almost everything that a person needs in a car.