F1: Lotus E20 launched – fourth is the target for 2012

Lotus, formerly known as Lotus Renault GP, has pulled the wraps off its 2012 Formula 1 challenger. Called E20, it’s named after Enstone, the team’s base in UK. It’s the 20th F1 chassis designed at the Oxfordshire facility. The men charged with driving the black and gold cars are Romain Grosjean and returning champ Kimi Raikkonen.

The target for the duo is fourth in the Constructors’ championship this year, set by team owner Gerard Lopez of Genii Capital. Last year, the Lotus sponsored Renault team started strongly with two podiums in the first two races, but eventually finished a distant fifth, just six points ahead of Force India.

“The hopes are to be able to get one season together and do what we were expecting last year. We hope to have a strong car, and have strong drivers, one of which is of course an ex-world champion. We hope to bring the car up to the front of the pack and probably try to aim for fourth as a reasonable goal for this season,” Lopez said.

On another note, “we’re obviously extremely proud that finally the Lotus name is a clear concept for everybody in Formula 1 now,” the owner added. The former Team Lotus, owned by Tony Fernandes, will race as Caterham this season.

The E20 wears familiar black-gold clothes, but there are new sponsor logos from Rexona and Clear Anti-Dandruff shampoo on the flanks.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the CLEAR Anti-Dandruff thingy spoils the design =p

• Ha ha..i want to laugh to people who make fun of caterham using ugly nose…in the end other team including my team ferrari using ugly nose…haha

• izzat on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:54 pm

they have to, the aerodynamic team wants air to go more under the nose to make floor and diffuser works more effective in the same time F.I.A disallowed the nose to get too high so this what happen so far only Mclaren is not following the stepped nose trend.

• Michael Ammott on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:31 am

the stepped nose is not due to efficiency of the between the floor and diffuser ..it is due to safety concern..lately the nose design is getting higher (for the downforce effect) ..from 1 point the nose level breach the cockpit level…in a T crashes it’s not good for the driver if the higher nose hit to their head…

• why they all use the same nose? i hope its better in terms of aerodynamic

• driver on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:53 pm

do they have KERS?

• shawal on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Targeting fourth place? when did arsene wenger moved to F1..???

• confused on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:16 am

Kantoi Kimi ada masalah kelemumur….

• taboogen on Feb 08, 2012 at 12:58 pm

nasib aku guna syampoo clear.. patut r harum jer rambut aku.. hahahahaa

• tokmoh on Feb 08, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Vettel uses Head and Shoulders anti-schuppen shampoo to enjoy perfekta pasta

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PkUR-uAk1k

• waowww
    F! lotus is great,,
    i like it, i pray f1 lotus get number 1,,, winner,,,