European Honda Civic hatchback in BTCC 2012 livery

Honda Yuasa Racing has revealed its 2012 British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) car in full livery. It will be driven by Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden, with the former defending his BTCC title. The car will test for the first time in public next week at Silverstone.

The BTCC car is based on the ninth-generation “FB” European Honda Civic Hatchback. The made-in-England five-door hatch made its world debut at last year’s Frankfurt show.

In the UK, the latest Civic is available with three engine options – a 1.4L i-VTEC, 1.8L i-VTEC and a 2.2L i-DTEC diesel. Only the higher powered petrol engine can be had with a five-speed automatic, the rest are exclusively paired with a six-speed manual.

Click here to see the road car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alistair lim on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:27 pm

the taillights look just like Gen 2!

• ZenZarray on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:27 pm

back lamp design kinda looked like New Persona. . . . Just my Opinion. . .

• Littlebear on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Cannot compare Persona with a Civic bro… It’s like comparing fish & chips with steak :P

• ZenZarray on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:17 pm

wat i mean is the Back Lamp ler….aiyo…i’m not comparing the car segment…coz the Back Lamp look like gen2 or Persona…

• really true

• Sparta on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Since when Japanese car maker copy Proton, is nice Bolehland joke.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Honda Malaysia are you listening ? We want this ! we want this !

• byebyeHonda on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:05 pm

5AT still? aiyoo..

• izzat on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:30 pm

the tail light looks like a Prot….ohhhh..no..nooo….noooo
    sorry Honda fans…its original design..=P

• 1.4L i-VTEC sure underpower one , confirmed, lol

• souless_soul on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:12 pm

6MT!!!!! HM bring this in!!!!

• armandd on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:14 pm

I think the 2012 civic hatch looks better than it’s sedan brother…

• kodomocat on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:28 pm

this car using YUASA battery, izzit good?

• Proton Impian/ Waja used to race in BTCC. I think a british company use the Persona in BTCC?

• sean ZX10 on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:03 am

such an ugly piece of overpriced car…seriously ugly..japanese are so blind with art. aiyoo..but still malaysian love this kind of car…its so ugly and VTEC is nothing la…boring old technology