McLaren MP4-12C Coupe and Spider from RM2 million, McLaren Kuala Lumpur showroom launched

mclaren-p1 069

Sime Darby Motors subsidiary Sime Darby Auto Britannia has officially launched the McLaren Kuala Lumpur showroom, and with it, the MP4-12C Coupe and Spider models in Malaysia. And guess what took centre stage – the 913 PS/900 Nm McLaren P1!

Both the 12C Coupe and 12C Spider draw 625 PS and around 600 Nm of torque from a 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 that’s connected to a seven-speed SSG dual-clutch gearbox. Both cars do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 3.1 seconds, but the coupe tops out at 333 km/h while the Spider maxes out at 329 km/h.

The 12C pair are now officially on sale in Malaysia, priced from RM2.036 million (Coupe) and RM2.2 million (Spider), taxes included.

The P1‘s hybrid powertrain involves a 737 PS/720 Nm 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 and a 179 PS/260 Nm electric motor, yielding a total system output of 913 PS and 900 Nm of torque. 0-100 km/h takes 2.8 seconds, 0-200 km/h takes 6.8 and 0-300 km/h takes 16.5 (5.5 seconds faster than the McLaren F1). The P1 hits the electronic buffers at 350 km/h. Full specs here.

Only 375 examples of the McLaren F1 successor will be built though, and we’re told approximately 350 orders have already been confirmed worldwide. Want one? That’ll be 866,000 pounds (RM4.437 million), please. Starting price. Before tax.

McLaren KL is Sime Darby Motors’ third partnership with the British company after McLaren Hong Kong and McLaren Shanghai. Malaysia is McLaren’s seventh market in the Asia-Pacific region, and McLaren KL will be the marque’s 41st retail location globally.

The KL showroom, located at Menara Mudajaya in Mutiara Damansara, will be supported by a two-bay service centre in Temasya Industrial Park, Glenmarie. The service centre staff have been professionally trained at the McLaren Technology Centre in Woking, Surrey, UK. Additionally, a vehicle adoption policy allows existing McLaren owners in Malaysia to maintain their cars with an authorised service centre.

“Asia, including Malaysia, has an ever-growing pool of high-net worth individuals who are becoming more and more astute in the way they invest, especially in their passion,” said McLaren Automotive Asia sales manager Sven J Ritter. “This provides a fascinating opportunity for a brand like McLaren.”

Also on display was a red, white and blue-liveried McLaren 12C GT Can-Am Edition. The track-ready special’s unrestricted 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 engine develops 630 hp. Features include black satin-finished forged lightweight alloys wrapped in Pirelli racing rubber, a full FIA-approved roll-cage, a McLaren GT steering wheel carried over from the 12C GT3 and a lot more carbon fibre.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Only for BN clony only !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 80
    • Pakatan Rakyat kroni also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 56
      • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 599
        • Ground Clearance on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:33 pm

What Sam Loo said is true. How to drive on Malaysian roads with ground clearance so low?

Sam Loo may talk rubbish but sometimes he talk logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 19
        • Akira on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:37 pm

The epitome of humankind’s idiocy can only come from you. Your perverse understanding that a Hilux is a “symbol of success” as opposed to a MP4-12C is really ghastly.

I have to admire though, your shamelessness really goes beyond boundaries, which is definitely aligned to UMW’s tagline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • Akira on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Owh and also, I think your last post seems to contain too much bulls**t for anyone to take in.

Seems to me like you’re just a load of crap trying to sound smart. But yet again, it has always been that way, right Sammy? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • valjean on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:42 pm

I know you are fanatic but now you are delusional. Bro, you really need Psychiatrist help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Ahh so tired of ur Hilux already, always get bully by my car!!! damn it!

• Sam Loo you talk lots of shit. If everyone like you then human being don’t exist all robots with no thoughts and preference. You can go yabber on with how great toyota is and everything but everyone is does not give a damn of what you are saying and you are just making a fool out of your self.

• People who bought these car probably they have HUMVEE at their house.Who care about hilux anymore?

• People who bought these car probably they have HUMVEE at their house.Why care about hilux anymore?

• Superman on Oct 24, 2013 at 7:54 am

I believe Sam has a serious mental problem. Just ignore him guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • nice troll. haha

• its obvious he’s not the original sam loo right? i remember him only having short, simple command of english. and only targeting korean or non-toyota jap cars.

• Sam Loo is my role model. I hope one day I will own the Hilux

• Nafali on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Kelakarlah Sam Loo..at least he is sporting enough to challenge McLaren

• Obviously on Oct 27, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Really, this story about people crowding to see your Hilux is utter crap. By now, almost all Malaysians would have been so used to seeing Hilux’s on the road that one single Hilux would not cause any commotion whatsoever. It’s also kind of dull to look at.

Spot on about reliability, though. Other than that, meh.

• what the heck did i just read? i hope this kind of bullshit is not coming out from a grown up adult. anyway you know what? just admit the fact that you will never ever gonna drive a car more expensive than your glorious hilux in your miserable life, deal with it.

• SamLoo is a garbage! on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:56 pm

I also went for the launch event. When I arrived, I was surprised to see a crowd gathering around something. So I got out of my car (Mclaren F1) to check what was going on. Oh my god! It was actually a Toyota Hilux driven by Sam Loo the asshole! Toyota my ass!
          All of a sudden, the crowd that was admiring the garbage shift their attentions towards my Mclaren! Without any warning, they ran towards my car and start taking photographs of it. They talked a lot about it and some even signed their signature on it. It seems to me that they had forgotten about that garbage parked in the corner. What a shame! XD Then the garbage crawled towards me and began to admire my car too!
          This shows that all kinds of people from garbage a.k.a. Sam Loo to datuk or nenek or whatever names you could think of appreciate cars like Mclaren. Owning a Mclaren does not mean that you are successful or you have reached your pinnacle, it means that you know how to appreciate, admire and enjoy the beauty of a supercar. Enjoy the beauty of speed.
          My Mclaren F1 can also be driven on Malaysian roads easily. The Toyota Hilux cannot be driven at all! Why? Because it is a garbage! A garbage! Who on earth is able to drive a garbage? If the government will repair all the roads in Malaysia, Sam Loo I tell you this, your Hilux won’t even smell the gas coming out of my Mclaren F1’s exhaust. My F1 is gone already by the time you open your Hilux’s door. Long long long long gone! People have their own taste regarding what car they want to buy, it is not about being rich or what. Ground clearance is not an issue. Why tell others to go for better ground clearance? As long as they love that car, I don’t see the problem with ground clearance.
          Every time I look at my rear view mirror, I always see those MPPP’s workers trying to catch a garbage running away. Shame on you Sam Loo!

• medic on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:30 am

How pakatan can become crony?Their not on power…Gomen pusat sapa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
        • Look around…just look who control economy..they hav more power…u can thumb down but that’s the reality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • farizY on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:37 pm

And who gave the power to those control the economy? come on la, economy and politics goes hand in hand.

• nothing to do with BN here..get a life keyboard warior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 21
    • Painter on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm

So tired of politicking. Leave politics to politicians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
      • farizY on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm

You are one of those ‘atas pagar’ guys, no wonder nothing has changed, don’t you remember, somebody promised us 20% to 30% reduction in car prices, now that manifesto has gone down the drain, that is why you never tiru.

• You Bro on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm

No one likes BN and they are dying soon. So why not just leave them alone and lets debate about cars without any influences of politics. Leave those to the samsengs and drama-king and queen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • Frank on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm

No one likes BN and they are dying soon. So why not just leave them alone and lets debate about cars without any influences of politics. Leave those to the samsengs and drama-king and queen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Kroni or not…it is still not the people of the land

• GTR38 on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Wait, only cronies in GLCs and government are able to afford cars like these..even funds meant for the poor are songlap by these tongkat community! The so called race that controls the economy actually depend on these cronies and corrupt govt officials to supply the opportunity to make tons of money. So, how you think a 20+ son of a local politician (and menteri) can afford a Porsche and RM7M bungalow? Save money-ka? How many Ferraris and Lambos and now Macs will be bought by the tongkat brigade? The so called master race that steals the country’s coffers and the tabung for the poor are draining the county’s resources while the bulls like you are being brainwashed to think tht the other races are stealing the money, even you are not originally from this land, want to kutuk others.
        If you were Jakun, Senoi, etc. I’ll understand the mentality..too much education from SRKs and SMKs

• teamsleepnine on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:36 am

dude,a lot of none cronies also can buy…this is not 100mil car..its 2mil car,a lot of self made millionaire who actually work hard and get paid!!!stop being so bitter!!and drop things like master race and shit just because you aint getting paid!!

• your bro on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:04 pm

KZM, dont let me slap the shit out of u. I can guaranteed the majority of buyers will be Malay. And those Malays are cronies, dont like? thats the facts. U wanna be racist? I dont think u can beat me. The Chinese may control the economy, well, it happens everywhere where Chinese are. even in indonesia and Thailand. But have u thought? Who gave them the license? and in order to obtain business permit, how much does the businessman have to pay to the Malay crony? Tepuk dada tanya hati la bangang. I noe alot of top ppl across the 3 races to give u a summary. Yes, Chinese may seem rich and some are really rich. But actually, the richest are those in the BN working for them and songlap citizen’s money. I hope i wont get shot by telling it here. Wht u mean by we r not the ppl of the land? Many chinese have been here when ur ancestor were still at Indon squating to be deport to here. Mine ancestor has been here since the qing dynasty, 150 years ago. How bout urs? Yeah, u wanna be racist? I will be the jerk.

• farizY on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Do I sense racism here? Maybe it is just me.

• Tell what so special about this car? just another overpriced Mercedes sport car… i got 2 million but i prefer Lamborghini or Bugatti!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Mercedes? You must be astonishingly stupid.
        BTW, this would rape any lambo and come on how much does the overrated bug cost? you can get 4 of these. Hell, even an Atom V8 would kick its arse.

• Go Do some research, this car has all the technology that we not even heard of / think of. even lamborgini also doesn’t have

• bvc100 on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Sometimes one wonder if us mere mortals can just casually go to these supercar showrooms and view these exotic machines.
    Or actually one has to dress up and/or have loads of moolah?

• mambang on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:18 pm

ya.i oso wonder.can we go there just to watch ?

• Terence Chee on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:01 am

You should visit the McLaren showroom and find out for yourself. I hear they are very hospitable and friendly. Let us know your experience!

• GTR38 on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Go-la! Nowadays where got people dress smartlike to go buy cars? As long not in tattered clothes and barefoot, should be layan-ed like normal customer. Unless in Hong Kong in the past, you need a coat and tie to visit Merc and Porsche showroom or the “Bai” guard would throw you out. Nowadays the spitting mainlanders would wear a singlet and shorts to visit those showrooms.

• Mr.Ad on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:16 pm

hye bvc100, I recommend u make an enquiry and visit their showroom. They will call ask what model u are interested and trust me u should test drive one of those models, either 650s or the 12c.
      I’ve made an appointment before, and been there, to my surprise the sales person are very friendly and will take u up close and personal with the car. He will explain every detail of the car to u.
      Hope this help, thank u.

• Jinggo on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Mclaren > Ferrari > Lamborghini > Porsche > Lotus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Nah… don’t put lotus there. It’s an insult to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Car looks like a frog to me. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • the car looks more sexy and better than the girls. seriously

• Your bro on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:18 am

Why would wanna get those girls on top. I bet they know nothing but to dig your gold. If, I mean if, you can afford such car. You can probably get any wife that has a better brain to help u earn another 3-4 mclaren or something of that value and not reducing ur gold. Sadly most Malaysian models or freelance are like tat.

• Drive the P1 on Malaysia road, by the time you reached home, you lost the front and rear bumpers.

• How to drive? on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Very true. Cannot use on Malaysian roads. The car is like 2cm from the road. How to drive in Malaysia?

• Well there are a handful of people who owns the Enzo which is has a similar ride and ground clearance

• Brian on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Those supercar equip with hydraulic suspension which can raise the car up to few millimeter higher. So why bother worried about Malaysian road. If the car doesn’t have those suspension its illegal to drive because a production car need to passed a speed bum test in order to drive the car legally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Brian berAngan on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Ur nissan vanette pass the speed bump test or not with ur fat body in it? if barely pass i think u better stay far far away from sports car lo

• Benny Tang on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:14 pm

0-100 in 2.8 sec?? I prefer GT-R than this “overpriced spider” which can’t even reach 300km/h on busy highway in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • AceMan on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Sam Loo is the man. Creative and imaginative. Who else can create that many dislike other than him? Sometimes really got to give it to him. The VVIP. Very Very Irritating Person. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Edward on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Hey everyone, from what I know (from a friend of mine who was at the launch), the car was in track mode, hence the super low ground clearance. In reality, it should be higher up for normal driving on public roads.

• Mr.Bean-Rowan Atkinson also own the mclaren cars!

• Robot boy on Oct 24, 2013 at 7:58 am

Let us see how Sime Darby sell these cars using their ford salesmen!! I bet none of their team r professional

• adrianc84 on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:35 pm

AGREE completely! Those ford sales person think that customers are morons!

• motorhead on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

Oh my.. Sexy design.. Nice interior.. Look comfortable.. & ve roof… Anyone with purchase power can buy. I agree.

• Maserati on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:38 am

2.2 mil for this ? No thanks. Interior looks cheapo.

Would take a lambo aventador over this anytime!

• wait until you had that much money only talk ok?

drive vios but dreaming to get aventador.

sigh

• Aventador is too slow. Better take vios!

• cheah on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:25 am

I’m sure 99.9% of the time it will be stored in garage and workshop. Not only because of pot holes and bumps but who can really risk driving a $2M car in Msia for various reasons. Anyway, rich people should spend their money otherwise it won’t go back to the economy.

• farizY on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Yup, most super cars will end up in garages, but I read somewhere that Mr. Bean actually uses his McLaren F1 on a daily basis. That’s awesome.