Toyota Aqua X-Urban – Prius c with crossover styling

toyota-aqua-x-urban-0003

Toyota has added a new X-Urban variant to the Aqua range in Japan. That’s the JDM Prius c to you and me. This package basically gives the Aqua two-tone crossover styling with matching raised suspension (up 20 mm). An SUV-style option for the Aqua was previewed at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show, so it looks like it passed the test for production.

The Toyota Aqua X-Urban gets a unique front grille, side mudguards, roof rails, and bespoke 16-inch aluminium wheels. There are a total of 33 different colour variations thanks to 11 different exterior colours, combined with either bronze, orange or blue hues for the “crossover” bits. There are some enhancements to the new variant’s interior as well, such as model-specific dash trim and combination fabric and leather seat upholstery.

The pre-facelift Prius c is still available in Malaysia, but since it no longer qualifies for hybrid incentives, you’ll have to pay full duties on it, bringing up the price from RM97k in 2013 to RM153k.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Prius C is RM153k now, thanks to Proton!!! Yet their Hybrids are still being tested in Mars.

Proton operational principle: If Proton can’t deliver good car, they will make sure no Malaysian use good car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 35
    • Rover (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Good as in what standards? UMW standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:23 pm

lol..without p1 thai Prius C is price bout RM147k..make no diffrent…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Without p1 Prius is only RM127k in Thailand while Malaysia RM213k. Make your fact right.

• The Prius is assembled in Thailand. Know how to tokkok only.

• Whoa there Sam. Did you just contradicted yourself on the pricing? cuz 213k ain’t 153k, dude. There’s some high weed you’re smoking

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:44 pm

he meant Prius not Prius C for the RM213k…

• samelorstpd on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Prius C is overpriced even in Thai, the money saved from price difference can move Iriz or even Preve for years!

That’s not include Preve spacious cabin and good ride and handling and more powahhhhh

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:38 pm

without p1, thai toyota 86 is RM289k..same model n variant in boleh RM249k..

• Kangkung Rosjib on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:59 am

This Sam lorr got study!
          Good job sam lorr.

• hanjiang on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Study what? Even price oso wrong. How to be SA?

• Not Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Same L0rrrr principle; If I can’t get a nice car because of my lowly pay, I will bash Proton until the end of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Don’t act like you know me. I have been long time driving Lexus already thanks to Toyota good sales. In fact my friends in Proton still driving his old Wira.

Proton fanboys are that: They only talk loud supporting Proton, but all driving old Protons, no one buy the Iriz/Suprima S also. End up Proton still begging money.

Talk is cheap, show us your action get an Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Still not Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Another Same L0rrrr Wisdom; An old corolla with a swapped Lexus badge is considered a Lexus

From ‘The book of L0rrrr’; Chapter 1, Passage 25

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:50 pm

well many people is like u dont want to buy end of yr bcoz of RV at least for Iriz la…

• Kangkung Rosjib on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:07 am

support Sam lorr.
        Every P1 ex owner experienced P1 Quality.
        I was one of them.

However, Sam lorr,
        Toyota quality also drop in these few years.
        Kindly F UMW management !

In Malaysia, after sales service,
        I would like to say UMW is overall winner.

VW, BMW, sux
        Peogeot, keep give you extended warranty
        but cant solve problems.

P2 is good interms of value vs quality.
        P1? super expensive and super high recycle crap plastic used.

Honda?
        Rattle dash, warp disc brake, noise bearing, etc. Solve by sponge tape for defect, pusing pusing for warranty claim.

UMW
        Ancient tech, selling high price, ignore toyota owners safety without 6 bag and ESP.

VGM?
        Only strong in Marketing promotion.
        Crap, rubbish after sales service and PIC.
        Is it German Pusing Technology?

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:19 pm

That’s why i said: There is no PERFECT car.

Want a better Toyota? Please kindly consider Lexus.

• Lexus only glorified T, not more than that, p2 quality ? What quality? Moving coffin quality!!!!!!!!

• Madness on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:36 am

No car is perfect in this world.
          However, UMW and VGM already took initiative on their after sales service and product quality.
          We can see the improvement from VGM and UMW.
          They already started to improve their after sales service. Some of the Toyota already equipped with 6 airbags and Volkswagen already solved most of the technical issues.

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Agree that there is no perfect car in this world.
            Well.. VGM had done a lot of improvement on their after sales service already..
            I believe VW will go back to the right path soon.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm

lol..without p1 thai Prius C is price bout RM147k..make no diffrent…

• Love this cute car even tough I like “Real Driver’s car” but sadly its too expensive here :( Proton and Goverment!! You’re a Dream Crusher!!!!!!

• truely malaysian on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:20 pm

The name of the model will not work here. What are you having now- Aqua… what? Aqua lah. Was it good? This Aqua is very good…

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Hey guys,why you always blame Proton for this type of things?You should blame the Government only,not Proton.You think the Government support Proton is it?Actually if you,Proton Haters want to know,the answer is NO!!!!.If you guys want to know who the Government support,the foreign car manufacturers.They only support Proton a little bit only.But the foreign car manufacturers,a lot.The Proton RnD all support by Proton own self.So Proton Haters,think first before you say,OK?

#ProtonThenNowForever

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:26 pm

What so special Proton do R&D for its own cars? You don’t go toilet yourself or wear clothes yourself?

Because Proton beg for so much money (RM1600mil) and ask for more protection, high tax is incurred on foreign cars. If government doesn’t support Proton, why it is linked with national pride (even print it on the money)??

For Proton to survive, generations of Malaysian have to suffer. And yet fanboys take it granted.

The fanboys talk so much but they are not buying any Iriz. Again, talk is dirt cheap. Show us your action!!!

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Hey brother,my family is Proton lover okay,We got Suprima S,Preve,Exora and a car you want to know,the Iriz.To me,Proton have improved a lot.So,I wonder you got what car.Is your car a Kancil?Haha.

#ProtonThenNowForever

#IAmChinese

• RoadRage (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Bro you’re not Chinese, you’re a Malaysian and Same Lorrrr isn’t. One acknowledges our countrymen’s effort while the other doesn’t.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:34 pm

If we are Malaysian and we MUST support Proton, then we are not far away from North Korea, even China communist country is better.

We should support hardworking and innovative company, look at KIA, Hyundai who start making cars same time as Proton and selling worldwide now. We shouldn’t support the lich alike and sendiri syok company who produce poor quality cars yet so fuel hunger and uncomfortable.

For a 5-year-old car maker, we understand it need time. For a 30-year-old Proton, it is simply LOUSY. Even a less than 10 years old Tesla do much better than it.

Wake up!

• Just said but you didn’t know how big Tesla company is?

Go out from cave, been there too long ady.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:54 pm

both Proton Fanboys (Official) n Same L0rrrr give stupid n lame reasoning.

• Kangkung Rosjib on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:15 am

P1 fanboyz obviously hired by P1.
      be frank lah,
      There is no meaning of P1 keep existing in Malaysia,the world.

What P1 can offer?
      Performance, reliability, efficiency, safety, handling?

Non at all. It keep sucking malaysian blood
      and keep begging R&D fees.

Wihout P1, everybody can get higher income, better job, better car, etc. Everything will be better.

Keep support P1, your cash on hand will depreciate again!

Continue Support P1 = support cronism
      = make a grave for your next generation.

Comon, know the facts,
      be kind and more educated.

Malaysia is famous enough for unbelievable boleh news.

We need to stop shouting BOLEH only.
      We have to strengthen our country.
      Clean, Rich, Beautiful!

• ll3ll on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:10 pm

5 star ANCAP Preve tells you p1 can offer good safety. Get your fact right.

• ah kua on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I’m Ah Kua and I like toyota Aqua, when umw toyota going to bring down Aqua price? you are all so ahkua with malaysian govt