2016 Toyota Hilux leaked – to be launched next year?

toyota-hilux-thai-brochure

Yes, you’re looking at the 2016 Toyota Hilux! The next-generation pick-up truck has been leaked through what looks to be a scanned brochure of the Thai-market model, first seen on the Hilux Revo Thailand Facebook page.

There’s little doubt that this is indeed the real deal, as it matches the clear spyshots we’ve published here last year – the large grille, headlamps, foglights and lower air intake all add up. Even the double-three-spoke wheel design within the fat wheelarches are identical to that on the test mule.

Look out for the official reveal either late this year, or sometime next year. So, everyone, what do you think of the 2016 Toyota Hilux?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux testing in Europe

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• GrayImports on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:15 pm

T – Tentu
    O – Orang
    Y – Yang
    O – Otak
    T – Tiada
    A – Angkat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 30
    • Sammy Loo on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:08 am

Thailand Car Sales Jan-Feb 2015
      (TAIA Thai Automotive Industry Association)

Toyota – 42,564 units
      Isuzu – 22,960 units
      Honda – 18,892 units
      Nissan – 8,851 units
      Mitsubishi – 8,355 units
      Mazda – 5,408 units
      Ford – 4,228 units
      Suzuki – 2,911 units
      Chevrolet – 2,692 units

Mercedes – 1,795 units
      BMW – 1,149 units
      Hyundai – 573 units
      Subaru – 317 units
      Volvo – 246 units
      Dongfeng – 217 units
      Tata – 210 units
      Volkswagen – 72 units
      Kia – 59 units

Proton – 49 units
      MG – 49 units
      Wuling – 44 units
      Land Rover – 15 untis
      Peugeot – 13 units
      Citroen – 4 units
      Lamborghini – 4 units
      Ferrari – 3 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • While Kia sold only 10 units more than Proton, how did Hyundai perform?

• VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:21 am

Even Camry nobody buying because got no VSC and only 2 airbag.

People won’t touch this car at all. Ford Ranger also got VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
          • What about Proton’s best seller? Got VSC or not? I wonder why so many stupid people still buy Proton’s car with no VSC

• Bangla on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:15 pm

So you bangga with Proton, selling less than Kia? Why not compare with your favourite Toyota? This is what you call “global” ah?

• scam404 on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 119
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 139
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:45 am

Proton to global 49 unit !!!

DrM say we are achieving to next higher target 55% increase sales total 75 unit !!!

Proton King of car BMW and volvo quality !

Toyota is junk only sold 42 unit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • Toyota Moving Coffin on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 151
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:16 am

TaTa sold more units that kimchis.

That shows you how lousy Korean makes are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • steven see on Apr 21, 2015 at 1:06 pm

FAke data from junior umw sales man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Free for all on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 126
  • BeemerFreak on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Sam Loo’s favorite launching…..Toyota Hailat…with brand new 4 speed auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 46
  • after more than 10 years, Toyota finally introduces new Hilux.. I bought it first hand when it was launched in 2005… Come to think of it, it’s more than 10 years. Hopefully the new model comes with improved technology and more safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
  • Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:47 pm

My lovey dovey Hailat is coming soon.. Finally, i can stop selling lingerie and can sell my son’s 10 years old saga and buy him new Saga SV..

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 345600
    Latest Corolla Altis Nurburging sure can tapao kimchis: 123450
    Upcoming Hailat booking: 149600

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Ah Lim on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:48 am

Kuat kencing lorrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 120
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 109
  • Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:03 pm

This is not the Toyota’s Ninja King; instead it is the King of Ninja Turtle, unless they have changed the set up and added some stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Mr. Genius on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Not even launch but already look outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:26 pm

My 2 Hilux are used to show kimchi owners when they are told of their trade in value.

No need to change, and 10 years on, the Hilux will still have great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • You still at this level after so many years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo (ori2) on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:00 am

My 2 Kimchi and Kimbap are used to show hailat owners when they are told of their trade in value.

No need to change, and 10 years on, the Kimchi and Kimbap will still have great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • sam son joey on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:50 am

Forgive my papa, he is a sick man since after he bought me saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Why you still using Saga with no VSC? You like moving coffin ah?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:45 am

Pls don’t use my log on. I am the real Sam Loo (ori1) and I have been here for 1 year plus now. You are a fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Seemingly 6-speeds is a dream unless new buyers opted for other trucks.

Let’s keep our fingers crossed that it doesn’t without VSC, HDC, TCS, 6 speeds AT, Nissan NP300-like more comfortable rear suspensions and above all it not just other facelift from stingy yet cocky but reliable Toyota.

• Toyota Moving Coffin on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:57 am

sure got no VSC. Why do you think people call it moving coffin??

Camry RM150k also got no VSC. You think they give VSC in the Hilux?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • roxas on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:11 am

err, look so old

• normal_user on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:20 am

Lame front end. Looks borrowed from Chery Maxime, with added chrome grille.

Agreed with MrGenius that this hilux looks outdated even before launch.

• domainicus on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:31 am

They validate their pre production test with VW Amarok. Let’s pray it ride well enough because the one I borrowed from my friend for 3 days trip up and down PLUS highway is sure a bumpy experience for the back passenger when I unloaded half tonne of stuff on the back. That is 2013 Hilux I’m talking about.

• albag on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:45 am

looks good to me… mature and macho… that’s how a truck should look like… give it a set of aftermarket black 4×4 rims in bigger wheels.. sure will look stunning!

• If the picture is the real new Hilux, then its not strikingly different from the current model. Let’s see how its interior looks like and most importantly it engine, drive train and safety features if its any better then the new Navara or Ranger.

• Boon Ewe on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:23 am

Paul Tan, is it open for booking already in Thailand ?
    https://www.facebook.com/HiluxRevoThailandClub

รับจองแล้วนะครับที่ระนอง ‪#‎hiluxrevothailand‬
    Cr : Fluke T Prmez
    http://www.hiluxrevothailand.com/index.php?topic=264

Automatically Translated:

For reservation. the ranxng #hiluxrevothailand
    Cr : Fluke T Prmez
    http://www.hiluxrevothailand.com/index.php?topic=264

• Yes it is already open for booking but has not been officially launched yet. It will be launched in Thailand late May.

• leonardo on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:42 am

Toyota is still my first choice truck, simply for it’s reliability, easy and reasonably priced spare parts. Previously I had owned a Toyota Landcrusier 2 for 14 years and used it regularly for off roading.
    Admittedly the Styling is a far way off compared to the latest Fords, Isuzus, Nissan, etc. Being conservative would be an understatement for this new Hilux. And at this pace, Toyota would lose the light truck segment to younger buyers, where Styling and image is an important purchasing decision.
    Having said that, an office colleague bought a Ford Ranger 2.2 MT is complaining about the long queue and slow service at Ford service centers in Klang valley. The spare parts are also very expensive.
    I hope UMW take note of the comments here and improve the shortcomings and also improve the specs of their trucks BEFORE the introduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Toyota Saleman Crying on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Kimchis are OK if you buy used.

Typically, it will be around RM100k off the price for an 18 month old unit

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:16 am

Give UMW some marketing education before bring this car to Malaysia.
    At least Toyota Safety Sense (very much like i-Activ Sense in Mazda), 6 airbags, TCS & VSC is standard.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:15 am

Deperate kimchi fellas being shown the Hilux lurking around

• 2014 Hyundai RM35k on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:19 am

I am another happy person that has seen the light of day after getting rid of my kimchi.

Take the step forward and you will be a new man forever.

Don’t have be be denied promotions, looked down by others, park far far away at family gatherings and ditched by gal.

I now walk with my heads up

• Sammy on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:38 am

Judging by the look, the next generation Hilux look so previous generation.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 12:17 pm

H-Hailat
    Y-you
    U-until
    N-near
    D-death
    A-and
    I-irritated

K-Keep
    I-it
    A-Away

• Proton bashers logic sez safety features no use if sales not sky high like their hailats. betta all others close shop and dun hav to go Aussieland

• better buy now…..this one looks abit ugly isnt it?