Mazda CX-30 CKD launching in Malaysia in 2022 – production slated to start in December this year

According to investor reports prepared by AmInvestment Bank and Public Investment Bank, Bermaz Auto (BAuto) has apparently been given the green light from Mazda Japan to begin its third local assembly (CKD) programme involving the Mazda CX-30 SUV this year. The company currently makes the CX-5 and CX-8 locally at the Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah.

UPDATE: A source within BAuto told us that the Mazda CX-30 CKD will only arrive in 2022. The post has been updated accordingly.

It was previously reported that BAuto planned to introduce a new locally-assembled Mazda SUV during its current 2021 financial year (FY2021), which runs from May 1, 2020 until April 30, 2021. BAuto CEO Datuk Francis Lee confirmed in an interview that the Inokom facility would be upgraded with an investment of RM200 million to accommodate the new CKD model.

At the time, it wasn’t known what SUV would be added to the production line-up, with the CX-30 and MX-30 being notable candidates. With this latest bit of news, it appears the former is the one that has been picked, although Lee did say in the past that a mild hybrid version of the MX-30 is on the way, along with the new BT-50.

The details mentioned in each report do differ from one another, with Public Investment Bank claiming production of the CX-30 at the Inokom plant will only begin in December this year, indicating a launch should happen in 2022.

Meanwhile, AmInvestment Bank says the new CKD model will be launched in the second half of 2021 and expects it to be cheaper by as much as RM15,000 compared to the fully-imported (CBU) offering we have now. However, a BAuto source informed us that this isn’t true, so don’t expect the CX-30 CKD to go on sale this year.

The CX-30 is currently being offered in three petrol variants – 2.0G, 2.0G High and 2.0G High AWD – with prices ranging from RM144,759 to RM170,459. These figures are on-the-road without insurance and factor in the ongoing sales tax relief (50% for CBU cars). There’s also a sole diesel option, the 1.8D High – that goes for RM167,674.

Based on the AmInvestment Bank’s claims, a RM15,000 price reduction, when assumed to be across the board, would see the CX-30 range goes for between RM129,759 and RM155,459. That should make the SUV, which slots in between the CX-3 and CX-5, a lot more appealing to customers.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• That pricing better buy one X50 + one Ativa alredi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 61
    • That’s your choice. People would love to drive this Mazda because reliability and technology of Kodo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
      • Gaviny on Mar 11, 2021 at 10:33 pm

This Mazda, Noturbo Nobuy. X50 got turbo, Good buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • Gabriel on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:55 am

Kodo is not referring to Mazda’s automotive technology.
        Kodo is referring to Mazda’s design language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • johnnas on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:56 am

Reliability??? Nice one there. WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Aura89 on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:55 am

Technology of Kodo eh? Sounds like something Azlano would say, i guess Jap fanboys can also make such glaring mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • nobody on Jun 14, 2021 at 10:58 pm

the painting is irresistible + the philosophy of KODO. hoe!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:06 am

Yup.. Can buy 4-5 units of Proton Saga at that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Then go get your x50 loh. You cant expect every manufacturer to compete with price.
      Its like complaining when you purchased a mercedes s class and says u can get 6 x50 for the same price. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • You can’t compare makcik kiah with hot chick.

• man ekzos on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:51 am

How dare you describe this mazda as makcik kiah.

• X70 hotchick? hahahah… this is why Proton will never go without protectionism.

• Ahmad on Mar 12, 2021 at 12:20 pm

I’m owning Mazda2 and CX-5. Plan to get CX-9 @ CX-50 when the 3.3 Turbo Diesel with 600NM comes in. Best car to drive compare to other Jap cars.

The only one who can follow Mazda, in terms of drivability is Subaru. Stuck in mind either to get the soon-to-out BRZ or Miata. Never drove BRZ, but Miata is damn good especially if you want to jinak2 with touge.

As long as these manufacturers keep producing ICE cars, i will go for it. No electric/hybrid for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Michael on Apr 26, 2022 at 12:14 pm

Buddy, it’s not all about price. Although X50 is value for money, the extra RM20k+/- will get you not only a nicer lookinca car overall but more comfortable leather seats, nicer interior and drivability. The seats of the X50 are not very comfortable if you sit inside the vehicle in comparison to other costlier options.

• BOYRACER on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:07 pm

Bravo Bermaz! CX-30 selling SGD120K @ RM367K in sinkie… the Ativa rocking whole industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Lone Star on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Here in America we have leasing deals for the CX-30 starting at $189 got 36 months. That’s like RM777 monthly for CX-30

• tricycle on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:57 am

Is real bargain when CX-30 goes from rm130k. Its direct rivals are Lexus UX, Benz GLA and Audi Q2 which selling RM300K upwards.

• That’s was based on forgein currency

• Avenger on Mar 12, 2021 at 12:35 am

In other parts of the world, ativa cannot sell

• yapyw on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:34 pm

After reduction of RM15,000, still more expensive than Corolla Cross ohh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • suomynona on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:52 pm

Who aspires for a Corolla Cross?

• Azure on Mar 12, 2021 at 10:01 am

Exactly. Who aspires for a SUV that is still is using the outdated foot parking brake

I’ll take the CX-30 over the Corolla Cross anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • (Like) Proton X50 Turbo
      (Dislike) Mazda CX-30 & Toyota Corolla Cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
    • turborider on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:37 pm

Check it out those news and video from Taiwan, Corolla Cross and Rav4 got water leaks issue on roof rails. Hopefully upcoming Corolla Cross here don’t have roof rails, just normal rubber will do as they don’t need drill any holes on top.

• M & B on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:46 pm

Nice

• powerbank on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:50 pm

Mazda all the way

• Bravo Bermaz. Looking forward to this.

• Venza on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:11 pm

Impressive

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:11 pm

My view, “pushing” old engine technology to countries that have yet or slow to embrace EV.

• Green Dog on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:29 pm

Good move.

Hope to bring it with cheaper price. Seems will be more popular

• Jia Ren on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:33 pm

Bring it on

• applegreen on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:47 pm

CX30 with 2.5L please

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 11, 2021 at 8:58 pm

There’s gonna be a big fight between the Corolla Cross, this and the upcoming more expensive HRV. As usual Nissan siting out of the fight due to TC being slow as usual.

• If only we have Corolla Cross. In other markets, buyers prefer CC over Rocky or Raize. If this comes here, habislah Ativa!

• Darto on Mar 12, 2021 at 11:26 am

“buyers prefer CC over Rocky or Raize.” Tell me which country has the Rocky/Raize and CC sold side by side. At the moment, there are none.

• since when we there is so many investors in this forum?

Who cares if who sells more, you don’t get a single cent to your pocket.

just enjoy what each car offers. Is picasso trying to compete with michelangelo? when you eat your prosperity burger at MCD, do you compete it with zinger burger from KFC?

Although all these crossover suv are similar in size, they are very different from each other. different engine tech, different design, different built quality, different after sales support, different country of made, different pricing also.

If value is so important to you, just get a bezza and stop reading car news. That’s the ultimate value.

• I hope the seats leather quality is maintained. It’s horrible in the CKDCX-5

• It’s going to be fun when driving this

• In its class, the cx-30 is the best looking, a more upscale interior, and the best to drive too.

It will appeal to a different set of customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2021 at 9:44 pm

2.5 turbo pls

• Drinkers on Mar 11, 2021 at 10:29 pm

Handsome looker

• NO2TechDumping on Mar 11, 2021 at 10:32 pm

15k less by stripping all sound deadening materials out and also uneven panels gap and fit and fittings plus using the old meter gauge from 2015. Nicely done!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Just like how perodua rebadges rocky into d55 to keep the price same as japan. Nicely done!!

• Dinkin on Mar 11, 2021 at 10:44 pm

Cute car

• Mazda Please Don’t Disappoint on Mar 11, 2021 at 10:53 pm

This is make or break for them. But I can already see the omission of the MRCC and the sunroof since the other CKD Mazda’s don’t come with them. Would love to be proven wrong but Bermaz is known for offering very little for a whole lot.

• Can you name one CBU crossover than offers more for the money? CHR is more expensive and it’s using a slower and older engine. Please don’t mentioned HRV, X50, ATIVA, not even in the same league. If you do, some people will compare this to mini countryman, GLA,etc. CX30 is better than those cars in many ways.

• Mazda Please Don’t Disappoint on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:36 pm

I’m not saying this isn’t value for money. What I am saying is that Mazda isn’t known to equip their cars with the standard tech that they offer in other markets and it’s a shame really. They have so much potential because their designs are beautiful but it’s always a hit or miss in terms of equipment and pricing with them. Now with Toyota and Honda equipping their top specced cars with all the bells and whistles, Mazda cannot afford to be slacking behind because if I remember correctly, there was a time when it was Mazda that offered superior features in terms of safety tech when compared to its competitors.

• Suhreena on Mar 12, 2021 at 12:26 am

Well, that suits for me. My favorite brand.

• Feel that CX-30 will make more interested

• sam123 on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:57 am

sooner later cx-3 will discontinue and rare in msia

• mazda 3 on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:17 am

with this car being CKD locally, it will make total sense if they accommodate mazda 3 into the same production line & make it CKD also, since they share so much similarities.

• Muhammad Adzam on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:41 am

Long live X70 forever.
    Mampu milik, bergaya and full of gadget and safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • tricycle on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:51 am

Make it cheaper please. The interior and exterior are nice. Bring the 2.5 turbo AWD as well.

• Hopefully cx30 CKD will still be more expensive than corolla cross. Wouldn’t want mazda to be associated with ‘value for money’. As it is, CX5 is too cheap for what it is. BMW X1 is way more expensive and much inferior.

• Inferior X1, not really. Anyways, Of course cause X1 won’t be able to compare with this CX-30

• Darth Zoom on Mar 15, 2021 at 8:56 am

HATERS” will always compare wth what they can afford, & always looking for imperfections – rather than facts & data.
    I applaud Mazda for good quality & keeping it affordable (min) for our market

• kanazai2001 on Mar 20, 2021 at 5:23 pm

if the awd remain… yes

• Eh poor ppl, can’t afford don’t say buy x50 etc etc. All proton cars are trash even with the turbos and fancy stuff. Cars feel like rolling death traps and you wanna compare to Mazda? Pls la take your Malaysian pride and flush down drain pls

• Dante on Oct 29, 2021 at 2:34 am

This is merely wishful thinking but I would really hope for the 3 to be CKD-ed as well.