BMW demos a self-parking BMW 730i

small_bmw_selfpark.jpgBMW has developed a parking-assist technology that can park your car for you while you stand outside the car and watch as the internal robotics and gizmos park it. A prototype of the system has been completed and a demo video was recorded using a BMW 730i, which is available after the jump. BMW group research and technology managing director Raymond Freymann says the system will be available in 3 years, and will be very easy to use – just press a button and watch the car park itself.

Of course, this parking system isn’t for the car to park itself anywhere. It involves components both on the car and components to be installed in the parking spot designated, for example your garage. You have to install a reflective lense against the wall of the parking space. A video camera on the car’s front windshield measures the distance and angel of the car in relation to the lense, while other sensors ensure there is at least 8 inches of space on the left and right of the car. Through information gathered from these input devices, the gas pedal and steering wheel is controlled.

Video: BMW demos a self-parking BMW 730i

Related: Check out other automotive videos in my video collection here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• namiabikerz (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:03 am

walawei.. hmm.. cambest..!!

• Kamui (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 10:34 am

Nice. But later with that narrow parking space how can you get back into the car? Or maybe the car can also reverse and come out by itself? :p

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 4:26 pm

Then it should be only for selected spots which can install those components right? public spaces… nah…

• KY (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:22 pm

if you have a 730, you're likely to not even drive it anyway..

• lance (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:24 pm

For a minute there, I thought it was the side-parking system. Yupe, agree with everybody about the limitations of application! (public places)

:)

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 6:14 pm

Ok what??..Good for ladies or someone with so much money to waste…

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:08 pm

If I have a 730, I wouldn't trust anyone (or any tech) to drive it! I'd savour every minute behind the wheel myself

• whodz (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:14 pm

awesome…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:35 pm

good for ladies….instead of scratching left n right…thy need this parking assist!

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:53 pm

awesome…

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:16 pm

Nice, but do people really need help parking a car straight like that? Not really that useful, especially since it needs installation of sensors and all. It'd only be useful if the driver is too wide to get out of the car after parking it.

• chuamike (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:38 am

Wah lau eh! Like that also need parking assistance ah? I thought such system only useful when doing parallel parking? The new Toyota Estima is able to do that. And it's only really useful if it can park anywhere. And not in your own garage with mirrors mounted on the wall for crying out loud.

• whitE zoMbiE (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:03 am

wassup with the side mirrors?

• DtG (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:38 am

if i have ever have a driver he definitely has to know how to park my damn car. i dun c much use in this… bmw probably put this in to add to price and list of gadgets…

• szw (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:59 am

i think toyota's wan is better .

• acbc (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:36 am

Not only ladies la… I will dig such technology too since I'm a tech geek. A car that can do cool tricks like this will in my books.

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 8:24 am

later in the future, when u buy a bmw, u have to buy a bmw garage as well :-/

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:36 pm

Pointless…

• renyeo (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 12:10 am

James Bond's stuff comes true!

• renyeo (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 12:15 am

A self-parking car will appeal to the Americans – they are the very people who invented dish washers. Its the American culture. Its a neat technology for parking into tight spaces which otherwise would be make redundant. Makes more sense than Toyota's parking assist which takes the pride and joy out of parking – people who loves driving loves a set of good parking skills. You are not a total driver if you can win a race but can't park…

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:19 am

Opel will introduce "drive-less" system by 2009. the optional package will cost 1,700 pounds.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:58 am

in the future, i want to see something like this. But should be more advance. like me drop myself in front of a hotel or shopping complex, press of a button, the car not only park itself but will find it's own parking space… hahaha… that's the ultimate…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 3:16 am

Must SEE!!! http://www.metacafe.com/watch/162798/bmw_auto_par…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 4:26 am

I am very worried about this. IF the cpu goes cookoo the car will drive straight into the wall, or someone might just steal it away from you.

• toda6866 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Nth to shout about if its only capable of parking in your own garage…..unless u tell me it can park anywhere, anytime in tight, dark places without leaving a scar

If it comes optional, it will remain as it is……

• Arcane (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:07 pm

white elephant

• Eng. Potato on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:30 am

If I had a 730i I would have enough parking space to park it facing any direction! I sure would not need that!