Brabus K4 Short Test Drive

k4_1.jpg

The Brabus K4 is essentially a kitted up model W211 Mercedes Benz E-Class powered by the M271 4-cylinder 1.8 litre Kompresser engine tuned to 193hp and 260Nm of torque. This would put it on par with a tuned up version of the same engine in the E’s younger brother, the Mercedes Benz C230K, though the Brabus has slightly more power. paultan.org contributor Dr. S.P. Long shares with us his valuable views on the Brabus K4 from a “standard” W211 Mercedes Benz E200K owner’s perspective.

k4_4.jpg

An Obsidian black Mercedes-Benz W211 with Kompressor, tweaked to produce 193bhp and 260Nm from its 1.8L engine. Thats the much famous Brabus K4. A CBU Avantgarde Sport E200K that has been transformed by the famous tuner into a meaner and sportier sports saloon. At a premium of almost RM100k over the regular CKD variety! I was lucky enough to have tested a good friends K4 and able to offer a comparison with my run-of-the-mill local W211 E-Class Kompressor. Here are my inspiring findings from an enthusiast as well as a Benz owners point of view…

To begin with, the differences are subtle on the outside. Of course, just like once Ford used to say “You can have it in any shade as long as its black.” this tuned-up E-Class looked sporty yet elegant in this very dark metallic. Those with a keen pair of eyes would notice that the much coveted three-pointed stars are replaced by circular (and flat!) ‘B logo badges both at front and rear. Alloys are Brabus Monoblock 18” wrapped in Pirelli P-Zero 245/40 ZR18 rubbers. Wheel arches clearance are lesser, thanks to the lowered Sports suspension. Meanwhile, the tracks are wider at all 4 corners – with 7mm spacers placed laterally to the disc rotors all around.

k4_3.jpg

Internally, the icing on the cake – aesthetically as well as ergonomically – must be the chunky Brabus Sports steering wheel. Its black and full leather – a much welcomed change to the uncle-ish grey or brown ones with wooden inserts. The rest of the stuffs and gadgetries are pretty much Avantgarde standard issue e.g. Keyless-Go, panoramic roof et al.

Firing up the supercharged engine is no different from my regular ride. There is also none of those bombastic exhaust note or deep engine growl on the go. But let these not deceive you because this car feels like it can do sub-9secs to the century sprint anytime, anyday. Pelt the rev counter past 3000rpm, and the remapped Kompressor motor ROCKS – all the way to redline!

One thing I cant fathom though is the somewhat lethargic ‘lag below 1800-2200rpm – depending on which gear you are in – which is still prevalent despite the works done by this famous tuning house. Having tested the entire local M271 engine Kompressor ‘variants (from the C180K to C230K), I still find this uncharacteristic supercharger lag rather frustrating at times. Nevertheless, this Brabus K4 is still addictively powerful when you work that throttle – much like an E200K with a C230K engine! The 260Nm on tap is very useful when overtaking and gunning straight uphill. Steering is heavier here while turning circle is bigger with the widened tracks up front. The rack felt communicative and more confidence-inspiring even at illegal speeds. I must say it even fared better than the standard Parameter steering found in the newly launched E280! The original Pirellis grip with conviction around bends, also taking up those yellow-painted speed strips in stride despite being ultra-low profile. Surprisingly quiet on the run too!

k4_2.jpg

Take this K4 right into a corner – brake just a little before you enter – smoothly usher into the apex and push the gas pedal as you exit wider, the RWD dynamics in cahoots with the stiffer dampers will sure put a smile on your face. Yes, it was truly sweet since this recalibrated K4 seemed to have done just that with a tad more finesse than my stock-standard E200K. Tracking stability and lane-change composure are also better than my ‘normal E, albeit just marginal I reckoned.

Another wonderful surprise must be the still supple and good damping despite running on upsized wheels and uprated springs. Its perfectly comfortable up front with maybe just a little more stiffness for the rear guys (and gals) over really bad ruts or potholes. Riding over the speed bump is where the glaring differences between Elegance and Avantgarde suspensions settings are seen clearly. There has been many a complaints in auto forums regarding this hi-spec version suspension noises. Since this K4 is basically Avantgarde-spec sprung – plus revised damper rates and lowered springs by Brabus – I too noticed a rather low decibel suspension rebound squeaks, when gliding faster over bigger road humps. A minor fault by engineering design I suppose.

Stopping the K4 is very reassuring too. Typical of the W211s SBC, braking provides a strong bite at the rotors yet at the same time theres a wonderful progressive feel at pedal. Of course, there are concerns about the durability and reliability of this Boschs electro-hydraulic brake system, but thats another story…probably for a running report elsewhere.

I ended this almost two hours drive with a glee on my face, having tested a truly capable luxury sports saloon that would be great chomping down highway miles at high speed with ease – in style and in comfort. And also quite at home snaking away on some B-roads if thats where your destination takes you.

k4_5.jpg

k4_6.jpg

k4_7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KY (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 10:55 pm

the far left paddle is the "hand" brake, right?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 11:01 pm

PEDAL BRAKE OR..FOOT BRAKE :-) NOT EASY THOUGH TO USE HAND AS IT IS DOWN THERE…

• szw (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 11:10 pm

BMW is way better !

• redragon (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 11:54 pm

must agree with szw. unless it's the AMG version. tried the W210 AMG E55 some time back, simply mind blowing. Well, I recall testing the M5 as well. Still BMW wins ,…..unless if I have to use the car in KL traffic, I'll pick AMG simply for the sake of my left foot.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 12:46 am

CLS350 vs. 730Li ?? Brabus K4 vs. 523i ?? or CLK500 vs. M6 ?? Please, no war between Mercedes Benz and BMW, but sometimes comparisons are acceptable.

• Ricc (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 12:48 am

BMW?? No way.. I prefer Brabus.. Audi even better.. :p

• h2k (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 1:17 am

well, BMW & Benz being both rear wheel drive should be more fun and sharper handling. Audi being front wheel/quattro version is more of a 'safe' car…or should i say boring…hahahaha!

• redragon (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:04 am

If everyone prefer the same make then a lot of car manufacturers would've close shop long time ago.

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:08 am

Hmm… I cant help but notice the Altezza instead.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:28 am

look at the interior, what a traditional luxury design.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:00 am

Mercedes-Benz is about quiet comfort, prestige and luxury motoring. This Brabus is a boost to the marque in terms of power and sportiness.

Even the C-Class is found to be comfortable despite its smaller size – being a junior exec.

To each its own I guess ;)

• drM (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:20 am

they say, Mercedes always the elder's ride, while Bimmer is the yippies choice. but I dont mind to hop into any Brabus/AMG….heheehheh.cheers!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:28 am

Good and excellent car!

• pirate (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:53 am

Did the Altezza had a shootout with the Brabus?

:)

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:59 am

Looks like the lifted model looks almost the same as the old one. Its still bland, you need to tell people that its different or they will just say its a "poor-man's" mercedes since they could not afford the AMG to begin with

• pirate (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:11 am

Poor man's Merc?

A W211 E-Class is at least RM340k brand new.

To those people who don't know their stuff, I wouldn't even bother to explain…

Lol

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:07 am

Thanks to Paul for all the work (? hope you enjoyed it) writing honest test drive articles. I find that very valuableI as the press in Malaysia seems to be fully sponsored by the industry. Hardly ever read criticism about any model, it may be the worst thing ever built… so this here is far more interesting! Keep up the good work.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:13 am

thanks dr sp long

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:52 pm

Hmmm…..to me a Mercedes is suitable for 'Uncles' and 'Aunties', those with conservative mindset. The only thing I find worth oggling about the Brabus K4 is the Pirelli P Zero tyres.

• petlee (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:55 am

Dear Whopper,

My name is Peter Lee and I am the owner of the Brabus.

I admit I am 44 years old now….a conservative uncle.

When I was a teenager I called my father a nerd for listening to classical music.

At that time I was into ROCK and REGGAE.

But now I found my self appreciating classical more and more….a NERD now.

Everyone has to pass thru this uncle age.

What I found is that your taste changes when you age , just like wine.

I have been changing cars every year for the last 10 years. I was also a BMW (own 328i x 2 and a 523i) and an ALFA (155 and 168) maniac.

All were good cars….they may not be the most reliable or headache free…but they were good to drive.

At that time all I was concerned was speed and power. But now (as an uncle) I have come to appreciate comfort more.

Try to adopt an open mind … I bought the Brabus because of the fantastic sales people in Brabus Prai. They never look down on you.

So if you are in Penang, give me a call and I can arrange some Brabus / Audi / Alfa / BMW for your experience.

Take care.

Best rgds

Peter Lee

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 4:27 am

I meant the AMG equivalant…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 12:19 am

Try to adopt an open mind … I bought the Brabus because of the fantastic sales people in Brabus Prai. They never look down on you.

really like the terms "they never look down on you".

p/s always having problems to test drive a nice car if dont know the salesman(worst if sales man is driving a lousy car).when I was younger…now ok lah old already but…happy to know that.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 12:33 am

very nice car. though i dont see the point of turbocharging a small engine. unless this turbocharged model is cheaper than the 2.3litre model. minus the wheels and other minor upgrades. or problably the tax model NAP in msia has something to do with this. less tax on smaller cap engines.

i guess its much easier to seperate the buying crowd from the 'test drive only-but no buy' crowd esp when walking into a brabus or benz dealer. it might be harder to seperate if say in a honda dealer. of course an experience businessman/salesman would know who is buying and who is not once a person walks in. but i guess they got nothing to lose if they never look down on any potential buyer. except for some time and a little petrol for the test drive.

anybody tried rocking up to a up-class car dealer wearing sleeping t shirt, shorts and slippers and drive a beat up car to request a test drive but actually has intention to sign up for a car on that same day?

• pirate (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 1:45 am

Turbocharging a bigger engine more justifiable?

Errr…if it's a 3.0L Accord producing 240bhp and 287Nm already – with linear power delivery and good driveability, do u think it is in DIRE need of forced induction?

Audi n Mercedes engineers are all wrong in blowing their 1.8 n 2.0L engines then…

Is this a BM freak I hear yakking away?

Lol

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 4:48 am

jz accept merc if gt touch frm brabus…family car frm merc…i jz can accept the dsg of s-class…other…like uncle's car…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 8:13 am

i think all the benz are ok looking…except for that coupe version. the one with black plastics on the outside. benz and bmw have different concepts. if want to compare performance can only compare the tuned versions of the benz. but yes, id like an S class. c class is also comfortable enough even though is entry level.

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 2:12 am

new S-class much better than any in its segment. very comfort handling, tried it once but not yet Brabus version. but i dont like the software system inside it

• Brandon lee on Sep 11, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Hi, I am a owner of a brabus e211 200k. I got full package from brabus including original brabus exhaust. Added a velocity device in it and it was mind blowing! I tested my self, On the road. BMW320, 530, rx8, celica, are not even close to smell my tail smoke. Planning to record video and upload to YouTube. Any one doubt pls feel free to ask or comment. I have tested my brabus at the dyne and it shows 230bhp. Thanks.

• Sim Yam Seng on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Hi Brandon, do contact me when you wanna sell off your Brabus E211.

Thkx

• Kenny on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Nothing is perfect, It’s all depend on where u r on the point of time. Share for some personal experian,
    I chose to owne a E30 325 cab but not 190E when I am young, after that I bought W202 C200 but not E36 3series a comfort ride. but after few years follow with E36 M3 when I need more power in my track day race and so finally now was using a 735il it’s smooth… Recently test drive the W211 K4, it’s just come in the right time n just nice in my current life n usage.
    Need, power, brand, comfort, handling, size and knowledge will be the final gain.
    Regards
    Tey

• That’s right Pete(Mr. Peter Lee)!!