Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia Launched Today

After a month-long road show, the Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia will be officially launched today at RM119,888 on the road without insurance.

The car comes with a 3 year/100,000km warranty program, with an optional Extended Care plan which can be purchased to extend warranty to 5 years or 150,000km. The first 100 buyers will receive a complimentary Apple iPod.

This is just the sedan’s launch though, the Ford Focus hatchback 2.0 litre sports model isn’t available yet, and will be launched sometime later.

For more information on the new Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia, head to your nearest Ford authorised dealer, go to their website or call Ford at 1-800-88-3181.

For more pictures, head on to my previous blog post.

Related Blog Posts:
Ford Malaysia to launch new Ford Focus
Berita Harian Ford Focus Test Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• on-and-off on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:08 pm

1st one!!

I love Ford Focus..it's built on S40 platform rite? I think it won numerous awards in Europe as well…think the price oso ok…wonder abt service and parts..hmmm..

• on-and-off on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:11 pm

oh, one more thing, can u guys recommend which car is the best value for money vs performance and after sales service/parts availability (sorry for the long list of criteris :-))

1. Perdana V6

2. Ford Focus

3. Honda Accord (this is a bit out, but still consider lar)

4. Honda Civic

5. Toyota Altis

6. recommended others???

As you can see, I'm looking to get a car around RM100k..slightly above oso ok lar, as long as long run I have a good car..thanks in advance yaa!!

• holy_cow on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:22 pm

Um, Paul, isn't that a pic of the old Focus?

• yes, temporary, damn ford.com.my is down or i don't have patience for it to load.

• deutsche volks on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:39 pm

i think honda is now so cheap to maintain in terms of spare parts and others…i'll go for honda civic 2.0

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:54 pm

i've lookin in the paper ads today..

seriously.. it look old and rubbish design.. not modern design like japanese car or renault in us… but his for look a car for granpa and granma..

and i mentinon a COPYCAT / SIMILIAR design is.. the big triangle back lamp.. macam Mitsu EVO!.. ptuihh!!.. what a shame.. For me.. this car is totally crap..

Huh! GTH la winning award before for focus.. because this one suc*s..

(alah.. award2 tuh pun banyak dari eropah.. diorang boleh buat propaganda utk product eropah sendiri.. tak heran la kalau diorang nak kata kereta eropah lebih baik dari jepun.. padahal sampah2 jugak!")

try compare between ford and nissan.. n u know…

• Drove it during the roadshow, a soild build quality from Philipines. The usual features plus leather and a triptronic gearbox. An average car, the 1.8 is zippy at low speed (auto) but top end feels a lil wanting. Better performance in manual, but how often drive in manual these days with all that jam? A good buy but if Civic come in, could be a problem for Ford. More competition from Peugeot-NAZA and VW-Proton next year. Cheers!

• biothing on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:23 pm

yet another car imported by AP Kings, ha ha ha (they are laughing.. not me)

BUT still not a hybrid!!

• mitsu_galant_2000, your anger just showing off your lack of knowledge. Ford is from US not europe

• Michael Chua on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:36 pm

Somehow, i feel the current new Ford Focus looks a bit dull compared to its previous model. Maybe i should rephrase that. Not much difference would be more apt.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:40 pm

jess.. i know that.. just misstyping la.. actually i wanna type europe.. after post here cannot edit lah..

• Rosdi on Oct 18, 2005 at 9:50 pm

You can getthat for 120K? then why would people want to buy Perdana V6?

Isn't a Perdana V6 is about that price also?

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:18 pm

wHAT A FORD again? Paul, I hate Ford!!! Said no to FOrd………Hate the name hate the look and performance…..Just hate it!! Don't ask why!!

• Jared on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:24 pm

Paul,

You did't do justice by showing this old and ugly pic of Ford Focus. I trust the latest model is much better looking. I love Ford Focus!

Mitsu_Gallant_2000,

Wow.. Focus copies Evo's rear lamp clusters eh..? Ford is copying Mitsu? you mean the almost bankrupt Mitsu…? hahah.. you kidding me right.?? . In their vehicle line-up.. only Evo sells.. and in Malaysia, the Storm… That's why they are in dire straits. And your conspiracy theory about the awards.. wow…. laughable…!!

• Lantis on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:39 pm

Sorry juz to share with u guyz…hopefully Paul can Post this issues:

From BERITA HARIAN TODAY…

Tutup saja Proton: Dr M

PUTRAJAYA: “Kita tutup sajalah,” kata Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad secara sinis mengenai cara terbaik yang mungkin diambil untuk menyelesaikan masalah yang dikaitkan dengan Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Bhd (Proton).

Bekas Perdana Menteri berkata, jika orang ramai berpendapat menutup Proton dapat meringankan beban rakyat kerana memberi subsidi kepada syarikat itu dan mempertahankannya, cadangan itu wajar dipertimbangkan.

Beliau yang juga Penasihat Proton meminta Lembaga Pengarah syarikat itu mempertimbangkan cadangan itu.

• rainbow7j on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:54 pm

There are also some Ford model which is build in UK, therefore cannot say it is 100% US, in addition to that Mazda and Ford do share cross-platform and design on their cars, so Ford is very multinational :D

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:57 pm

what we mean US means it's a US brand….

right???

• Barry Ong on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:56 pm

tutup jeh proton, stop wasting rakyat money. we pay our A** just for you to survive.your quality is like shi*… after 20yrs….still, product like kacang putih quality……eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee buat susah kan orang jeh……..

close down…close down to be more competitive…if we cant produce good quality car, maybe we can seriously think of just assemble car …… who know, we will be batter at that and be like thailand.

no point talking, just stop buying and when buying stop……… production stop….. ahah ha ha….anyway, just my opinion……. rite ?? rite????

• KL Lim on Oct 19, 2005 at 12:17 am

I do not know whether you go to Economic class or not to talk in this such way…

It not as simple as that…

• Jason on Oct 19, 2005 at 12:37 am

I guess the hatchback version will only come in Manual. Ford Lynx RS suppose to be abit sporty but they only sell Auto here, wtf? Summore if want RS Turbo need to order. Like my friend who's working with Ford said, the management sucks.

• I think the new Focus is by far a better car then the current generation of Civics and Corollas. And with the three year warranty, it's pretty much a no brainer in this segment.

• SEE FU on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:20 am

Why ppl buying FORD??

Any GOOD reasons???

Sorry I cannot find one?

YAU MO KAU………CHOU!!! FORD! F U.

• Jason on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:43 am

Sorry, wanted to say hatchback will come with Auto only. Cant seem to edit my own post.

• Ford may good in quality (i think), but fuel efficiency… (not sure already improve??) High price tag Car … no no no to me.

• E-Nabill on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:56 am

looks like an early 90s design actually..i hate the front…looks very old…any idea wer izzit made in?thailand or aussie? notice the side profile definalty has a hint of volvo s40

• Sleepyhollow on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:34 am

The car design looks weird..not trendy at all…

Itz more suitable for mid-folks!!!

Ford….Only focus is Superb-lookin!

China Market juz releases the New FORD FOCUS!…Itz SIzzLin HOT!

• keniji on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:12 am

Too Expansive.

it sells at ONLY

RM 85K at china,

we are RIPped-off!

• i like the hatchback version better than this "ghia"? thingy

• Is_me on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:52 am

Paul's photo of this focus is the older gen one, wrong already.

Ford Focus is designed in Europe(germany).

Not bad quality, just feel too comfy for a conti car…

high speed > 120kmh might float, according to magazine review.

I test driven it at speed

• Is_me: still wrong meh? i got that black picture from ford's US website and it's the 2006 focus.

• Ihateproton on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:42 am

Dear on-and-off,

I think the Perdana V6 is no longer value for money, since they raised the price. I'd previously recommend the civic (which i did to a friend) but maybe you should consider the Focus… (maybe pick up a free iPod)

cheers

• rainbow7j on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:45 am

this car is called Ford Laser in Singapore, latest price for the 1.6 version is 49k Sing dollars.

it is a Mazda 323 lookalike, should be a direct clone =.=

• hfrshah on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:22 pm

rainbow7j whered you get that from? Both Ford Laser and Mazda 323 are obsolete, out of production cycle. The Ford Focus 1.6 in Singapore costs S$69k

• hfrshah on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:17 pm

Paul, the second pic(black car) is the US exclusive 2006 Focus. Basically its an updated version of the first generation Focus, with better looks and upgraded interior. The side profile is a straight port from 2004 Focus, while the front and back are a mix of both generations. The C1-platformed new Focus will be introduced in the US at a much later date because Ford is scared it will eat into its own Ford Fusion market. The C1 Focus was developed mainly for the European market.

Ford prefers to maintain its current multi-tiered product line-up:-

1. Focus 2.0 for +-$15k

2. Fusion V6 for +-$19k

3. Taurus V6 for +-$21k

4. Five Hundred V6 for +-$25k

5. Crown Victoria V8 for +-$28k

Had the C1 Focus been introduced early, the Fusion(not to be confused with European Fiesta-based small hatch-cum-SUV) would be pretty much a sitting duck compared to the Focus' wide array of talents.

As for the main picture, thats a new Focus, but not the ASEAN version. We get different lights front and back, new rims and minor styling changes.

• honda_driver on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:47 pm

more than half the comments here are as usual, not relevant, ill informed, lacking in facts… the list goes on.

the focus has been one of the most successful car models in the world. i'm pretty sure the new model will do it again. it may look a little conservative, but its well built and the interior feel and quality is way better than most japanese makes.

• hfrshah: ford.com.my still shows 'coming soon' for the new focus… bah. will have to wait until i can get proper images for this post.

• the only ford i will buy is the pickup one, but now toyota come out with the new hilux… WOW :D

• Another Honda Driver on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:07 pm

nice car……nice car…….. that my comment

• wiraone on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:38 pm

If it is the same as the one found here ..

http://www.whatcar.com/RoadTest_Gallery.asp?RT=21…

I'll surely go for Honda Civic .. Focus Saloon/Sedan doesn't look that nice compared to the hatch version.

• sekot on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:03 pm

First gen focus show the world how to enhace its driving dynamics digitally. And its done by Ford Europe. And trully, its one of the best mass produced ford (besides Mondeo, which is way better than its competitor during its time and the Ferrari eater GT40)

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:23 am

Spot on, the Focus certainly is one of the best Fords ever produced. Ever since its launch in 1999, it has picked up numerous accolades including 13 Car of the Year Awards. Any ideas of foul play is bollocks as most of the awards were given by neutral parties which have no vested interest whatsoever to give false 'propagandas' supporting US brands. Autocar UK even gave it the 'Best Family Car Ever Award'. And all this is for the previous generation Focus. The new one improves on its predecessor on every possible aspect(maybe not the wild styling of the old one).

The original Focus featured independant rear suspensions, a setup which was then adopted by most, if not all of its competitors. The Focus truly is the paragon of family cars. It is fun to drive(perfect compromise of body control and ride comfort), spacious(offers vast room tailored for large Europeans), and safe(it scored the best results ever acheived in its class – beating this blog's fav, the VW Golf).

• From what I read about Focus in NST CBT and BH, it receive a lot of appraisal from the tester. It have the same platform with Volvo S40, expect a well balance handling traits, with nice interior, its no wonder become a winner for Family Car awards. Well, hopefully after two years can find it in 2nd hand car shop.Better than Perdana V6, or perhaps Proton will comeout with Perdana-Passat to counter this, subjected if the agreement with VAG fruitful.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:52 pm

yeah.. more to volvo s0 too..

a copycat ford.. poor ford!RM85K in China? hey people! dont you know how hard to get RM85K in China?

go and living there lah!

but it's not so hard to get RM85K in malaysia.. don't you.. except you're a only kuli type of human being.. la la laa

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:55 pm

AIYA.. stupit keyboard laa.. S40 – lah.. Anyway.. Ford is not so good sale in malaysia.. just few model can be sold..

Ford TX3, Ranger?..

that's only 2 model can be sold.. telstars, Lynx, etc not soooo..

• honda_driver on Oct 20, 2005 at 5:05 pm

mitsu, look around lah, you think the evo is the only car and the 1st car in the world to use tail lights in that design? There is no such thing as 100% originality in design. everyone is "inspired" from something before them.

but in terms of car design, i think the focus started out with one of the more original car designs around, and its been toned down somewhat in the latest model but still looks like what you would expect a focus to look like. As for the "S40" platform, ford owns volvo anyways.

btw, the toyota vios and honda city sells for Rm35,000 in qatar, entry level bmw 5series at RM100,000+,. in australia, S15 goes for around RM100,000, standard wrx around RM90,000. there are so many "rip-offs", life is so unfair..blah blah… old story lah. First, proton bashers, now ford bashers?

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:29 pm

if you think i'm a kind of basher.. sorry u're wrong..

Ford already has a god damn very long timer in the automobile world!..

why dont they have a trademark, or a identity?. till now, i dont see any of identity to spot the ford!..

BMW n Merz already had their identity..

// aiyah.. if proton aa.. semua orang cakap, itu tiru, ini tiru. tgk ! ford tak tiru ke plak? hah! what a double standard opinion lah! .. no matter how, Evo is the first triangle shape kind rear lam maa…

• Ford will always be Ford, watch out for resale value which will drop like hell – tak percaya check the Motor Trader. My advise, you have RM100K ++, might as well go for the Accord or Camry. Best still, find a mint 2nd hand BMW 318/320 E46 model and be happy with it.

• accord kia on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:47 pm

my fren wan to sell the lastest honda accord 3.0 l V6 ( used for a year) selling price RM150,000.00 (actual price RM200,000.00++)

• honda_driver on Oct 21, 2005 at 12:50 am

hi mitsu, wasnt calling you a basher lah, referring to someone else.

anyways.. all cars today more or less look the same as each other.

• wiraone on Oct 21, 2005 at 9:32 am

mitsu,

the oval blue is trademarked .. not? :P .. identity? well .. you just couldn't have them all .. it is either you do mass producing for the mass market .. or go for the low volume executive market .. but since Ford has Jaguar, Aston Martin, Volvo and Mercury under it arms .. why should they go for that market? .. duh..

• ThatJames on Oct 21, 2005 at 9:38 am

Took a close look at this one today. Looks good but the hatchback will look even better. Unfortunately for the price quoted you get the car minus all the stuff that makes it look tough. Add RM 9000 for skirtings, spoiler and 17" rims.

• narrowband on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:20 pm

Hmm, the pic you posted doesn't do much justice for Focus' styling. Maybe shots from different angles could do the trick.

For a start, check out the WRC version ( ;P) here.

• wiraone on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:50 pm

narrowband,

the problem is, the WRC .. or even the hatch are not available to Malaysian .. unless you import it direct yourself. It seems that Ford Malaysia will only bringing the saloon version.

• hfrshah on Oct 21, 2005 at 10:29 pm

wiraone, the Focus hatch will be available here, just not yet. Ford Malaysia will bring it in 2.0 Sport version, with special rims, bodykit and all

• AutoExpert on Oct 22, 2005 at 4:18 am

Jess,

Ford is a US brand no doubt but the current Ford focus is designed and engineered in Germany. In some countries these cars are directly imported from Germany!…Just thought i might be helpful.

To everybody else,

Anyhow, Ford's design does not seem appeal to the younger generation of SEA nations or Asia as a whole. However, In the US, Australia, Europe, this car is actually very popular and Ford Focus has won world's best selling car award in 2001, 2002. I think the sedan version of Ford Focus is a complete turn-off but the hatch back seems to be the more popular one worldwide.

Auto-Expert

• ford focus cost RM60++ in philipine

• audi driver on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:14 pm

I,ve seen the new ford focus 1.8l sedan..quite impressive in terms of interior design quality- leather seats, rear a/c vents, steering….engine performance with the duretech is appealing but i prefer the hatchback version…more sporty look than the sedan…with bigger engine. Fuel consumption still questionable… can,t wait for the hybrid car to come ..better opt for smartfourfour !!!

• Tiny Tim on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:56 am

Might interest you to know that the current C307 Focus hatch shape is actually based heavily from the alternative B-design shape proposed for the original C170 Foci – a more conservative styling, in case the New Edge that was adopted was too radical. That it's now on the new one says it all. In any case, I'm not completely taken by the shape of the C307 hatch, especially the rear rake and profile, but that's maybe cos I'm biased, since I drive the old one. :)

Having driven both the new ones, the hatch and the sedan, I would say that dynamically, they're better. For one, they feel a lot tighter and more integrated, and the hatch is the livelier and more communicative of the two.

Sedan's above decent, but lacking in zip – needs more juice, my opinion, even though both Mazda-derived Duratecs, the 1.8 and 2.0 (on the hatch), are decent pots. The hatch, with manual five-speed MTX75 gearbox, is quite a drive, but we're only getting the auto.

What I'd like to see would be the Duratorq TDCI 2.0 diesel version of the sedan here, which unfortunately will never happen. It's pretty much the same block as that on the Volvo V50 2.0D I was driving in France recently – partnered to a six-speed manual MMT6 tranny, the 'train has nice grunt and charm. Lovely torque spread and range.

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 04, 2006 at 10:50 pm

It looks better than the 2005 ford focus, but not sure about the quality and resale value… better go to either honda or toyota

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 9:42 am

i need help here..im in a dilemma..ive been a real honda lover and was set to buy the civic after toying wit a crv past few years.fact is…FORD FOCUS is so so COOL..i mean it stylin is practical yet one of a kind..yes i know there a lot of poeple will say honda civic looks good to but just compare them side to side and da focus looks bullet proof!..i mean it so super tough in its stance..this site has been kinda pro honda but im just askin…i love hondas too but this car got me thinkin hard!

• samsung (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 1:58 am

SoMeOnE , you are rite..i have test drove one – sedan…1 day earlier i test drive a civic..very very difference in road holding…most of us never test drive a focus, yet giving so many negative comments on it..go test drive it..if possible drive it hard..between 2 of them, i choose focus anyday!