2007 Kia Carens

new_carens_1.jpg

I posted sketches and spyshots of the 2007 Kia Carens a few days ago. Many of you wondered how come the sketches looked so different from the actual camouflaged spyshots. Well, wonder no more. This is how the new 2007 Kia Carens will actually look like. Not really similiar to the really sporty sketches, but not too bad either. It has a slight SUV-ish profile to it, although it is a front-wheel drive strictly on road vehicle.

new_carens_2.jpg

The new 2007 Kia Carens will come with a 2.0 litre petrol with variable valve timing engine making 145 horsepower as well as a 2.0 litre CRDi turbodiesel engine with 140 horsepower. It is a 7-seater, which is 1 extra seat than the previous 6-seater Kia Carens which is rebadged locally by Naza as the Naza Citra.

new_carens_3.jpg

new_carens_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 8:58 pm

Paul Tan – any indicative price or when this model will be available at local market as Naza Citra?

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 9:10 pm

haha, dun bet on it Joe! I estimate will be with Naza on 2008 or so.

• kody (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 9:48 pm

eh…….

no sporty look lah… If original come with skirting & more bigger RIMS then will be better.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:18 pm

rebadged under naza-citra brand,

and we still paying RM80K, that is FAIR global price!

at least, that is one thing that NAZA did right!

• gepochai (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:37 pm

wahlau, the sketches looks damn nice. the real thing is urggh ….

• moby (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:46 pm

the front looks tucson-ny to me …

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:49 pm

mmm.. the front + rims looks stupidly dated. but rear looks nice. almost european. nice interior too.

2.0? suppose the FC won't be as terrible as the Carnival/Ria. eh, most kia have FC problem, right?

• steelrage (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:59 pm

the front not look like hyundai elantra meh.. or issit liek the accent??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:57 pm

Reasonable for family car!

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:57 pm

7 seats, so how do you get to the last two? Remove the new middle seat? Then reinstalling it again?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:59 pm

No lah, 2 (front) + 3 (middle) + 2 (back) combination.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:00 am

the last two are there wat… hehe :P

• acbc (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:05 am

Yucks! Korean cars have terrible FC. Could be due to different fuel management used in Korea.

My mom's Kia Carnival drank RM 120 worth fuel in 6 days (total of 400km) for town driving.

• whitE zoMbiE (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:51 am

hurmm.. the rear end looks the new Sportage

• whitE zoMbiE (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:52 am

looks like**

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:34 am

Exterior = Ugly, Interior = So so only

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:44 am

Korean like to eat oil = " sek yau" / "sok yau"…….

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:48 am

not bad..but if i were to buy this kind of vehicle i'd rather go for honda stream or toyota wish..hehe

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:53 am

doesnt it seem a little too cramp at the 3rd row seat area there?hmm

• drM (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 3:13 am

this is terrible..how do they sketch one picture of a beauty and then build the beast? this is horribly wrong!

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 6:15 am

lower rear portion is proton tiara…that's only what i want to comment on this car, the rest is no special , just an ordinary basic mpv..looking very childish

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 10:04 am

I don't know about some of you here, but I think this Caren looks alright too me. There's no wow factor here but ok la. I like the rear look but the front could've been better. At least they manage to come up with a whole new look here even thou it looks like that and that. And I think we will see it on our Boleh-land as the new Naza Citra.

• waimak (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Dashboard looks 'crowded' and the interior color is too grey..

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 6:33 pm

The 3rd row seats barely have enough room for adults to sit comfortly, but in Avanza for example, the 3rd row seats, altho still crampy, but still can seat 2 adults with average Asian height reasonably well.

Btw, regarding the FC for Korean cars, my wife's Atos makes around 400km for each RM50 fill-up, for town driving. If balik kampung and relaxing cruise at 110/115kmh, can get higher milage la a bit. But, itsa small car, and the example given above is an FC from an MPV! Dont a majority of big-ass MPVs, regardless the made, eat gas like hell?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Korean cars FC like hell.. their engines lacking…told ya…

ps: pls ask around b4 buying any car.. be a smart consumer…

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 8:52 pm

What im saying above is, i think my wife's Atos FC is okay, and the prob's with big-ass MPVs regardless the manufacturer, be it Hyundai, Toyota or Honda. If u drive a big-ass Innova for example, ull learn that it too, eats gas like hell.

Perhaps we could see a side by side comparison. Or, any ideas of the ideal FC for MPVs?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 9:29 pm

I think Atoz ve bad FC, compare to other compact cars, heard few ppl complain about it, and 400 = RM50 is not good, you know? even some sedan cars can get better than that, wira 1.3GLI for instance or, city 1.5DSI even much2 better..

Most MPVs ve bad FC.. bcoz of their heavy bodies.. u want space but ve to sacrifice yr FC.. like people lor.. lagi besa, lagi kuat makan.. like my boss ve citra.. he said its FC around RM0.20++ – RM0.30 / km

But depend on yr driving style.. and load oso… better choose manual trans.. (if any)… & look for reasons for you to buy MPVs.. or else better use sedan.. if u insist then stanby for the pain (FC)..

ps: Electric batteries powered MPV ve good FC.. hehehe..

• mustang74 (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 10:02 pm

with rgds 2 FC 4 mpv, that's pretty usual for MPV irregardless with makes be it Honda, Toyota, KIA etc,.. that's the sacrifice u have 2 take to drive an MPV,

agree with motorhead, as 4 me, no prob of FC as I'm using my ol' LMST saga…hahaha, good ol magma engine works fine for me..

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 11:36 pm

nope. this car is nothing.

the drawing is better.

should change to bigger size rim with 'evil' look headlight.

it'll look sporty!

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 11:37 pm

this headlight look 'malas' only…

not suitable for macho guys lah…

no girls will come near..hehehe..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 2:41 am

can someone pls confirm that

APking is the direct Kin of

Big F-mama minister?

• kenfresh (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 6:48 am

sometimes i really dont understand why a new model comes out, and all everybody ask is bigger rim and fiercer look etc etc.

this is a family vehicle, not everything is built for a boy racer.

one side talk about FC, another wants a bigger rim. aiyoh apa contradiction.

• BigCar (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 8:58 pm

Wooo.. interior look nice but exterior uuuuweekkkkkkkk……..!!!!

• acukaw (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 10:34 pm

Hope the new one addresses the problems I used to have with my Carens:

– high FC

– underpower – gear 1 for climbing Genting to cable car station n still overtaken by Kancils

– gear box gave up after less than 2 years – quoted RM20k to replace

– 3rd row unusable not even for my kids who were 15 years old – knees reach up to their chins

– paid RM117k and Citra only RM80k

• harry potter (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 8:54 pm

only 145 horsepower?

• RACHID on Mar 09, 2009 at 1:54 pm

je suis proprietaire d une Kia Carens type 2 crdi 2.0 – 14O ch depuis 13 mois satisfait comme n ayant jamais ete mais domage maintenant apres avoir ete tombe en panne bete mais qui peut me couter cher surtout si je faisait des long trajet et tomber en panne alors la je vous dit pas voila en ESPACE DE 13 MOIS JE SUIS TOMBE EN PANNE 2 FOIS AVEC LA POMPE GAVAGE QUI SE TROUVE IMMERGE DANS LE RESERVOIR POURQUOI CE DEFAUT D ACCORD VOUS ALLER ME DIRE QUE JE SUIS SOUS GARANTIE MAIS JE PREFERE SANS GRANTIE ET AVOIR DU BIEN PARCEQUE SINCEREMENT J AI PERDU CONFIANCE A KIA QUI VEULENT MEME PAS NOUS EXPLIQUER ON VOUS REPARE ET IL VOUS SOUHAITE DE VOUS REVOIR POUR LA MEME PANNE DONNER MOI UNE REPONSE MERCI