New Audi 2.0 TDI with Piezo Injection

audi_a3.jpg

Audi has launched a new series of Audi A3 and Audi A4 cars with a new turbodiesel powerplant. The new 2.0 litre TDI powerplant makes 170ps, which is 30 extra horses over the previous 2.0 TDI engine which makes 140ps. This extra power is achieved through the use of pieze injector technology.

Piezo injection technology brings a number of benefits which allows the higher engine output. Piezo injectors applies an electric voltage to ceramic, altering it’s crystal structures. This makes the ceramic expand, and mechanically triggers the opening of the injection needle using hydraulics. This piezo electrical current can be varied, giving the engine management the ability to vary the number of injections per cycle at will. It is also in general 4 times faster than conventional solenoid valves. Moving masses are also reduced by more than 75 percent.

As a result, the new engine makes 170ps at 4,200rpm and 320Nm of torque from 1,750rpm to 2,500rpm. The 2.0 litre TDI turbodiesel engine without the piezo injector technology makes less horsepower, 140ps at 4,000rpm but the same amount of torque, 320Nm between 1,750rpm and 2,500rpm. The older 2.0 TDI 140ps version without the piezo injectors will still be offered.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:21 am

I just love the front grill of Audi….big and practical.

• vin_ann (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:33 am

i like diesel engin car…

some more this car is turbodiesel…

i'm loving it…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 3:07 pm

audi a3 sportback….really like dis car…will audi distributor in m'sia bring dis car here…

• KY (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:17 pm

er.. what's "moving mass"?

I am aware of unsprung weight though..

• rexis (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:21 pm

I think moving mass is same as moving parts. Mayb means tat it will hv less wear n tear and last longer.

I just love the engine~ :D really delicious low end torque.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:13 pm

"really delicious low end torque"

wut do u mean???cant get it…:)

• rexis (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:34 pm

320Nm between 1,750rpm and 2,500rpm, yummy! And also very impressive can squezz 170ps from a 2.0 diesel.

• narrowband (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:21 pm

Diesel engines redline at lower RPM, don't they?

Is the RS4 available in M'sia? There are so many M3 but I've never seen its direct competitor, RS4.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:28 pm

you need to specially import the RS4.

• whatsoever (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:29 pm

diesel car, don't think will be in malaysia…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:56 am

yup…u need to specially import the rs4…instead it is still new and mbe lot of ppl in here dunno bout that…audi still not bring thier diesel car yet…available in m'sia the diesel car is merc,beemer…thats wut i knowla..

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:34 am

You'll have a hard enough time spotting A4's, nevermind RS4.

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 3:37 am

raybig85… will u buy it if EON Automart bring in this model? hehe… Audi not cheap leh… when I looked at the price… wa… wait till one month earn at least RM10000 then maybe consider a cheapest one… hmmm… but Audi really is a good looking yet nice car… good performance as well…

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:13 am

VAG's technology is CRAZY !

I was already impressed with the TFSi engine, then came the DSG gearbox with 2 clutch! Then the Twin Charger 1.4 liter 168hp monster Golf, then their 70liter 1280km 4.4 twin turbo diesel engine…. then this one…. OMG … using electrical current to alter ceramic's crystals? to vary the injection timing…. they are already applying nano technology to engine management ! siao!