Nissan Qashqai to go into production

nissan_small_suv.jpg

small_qashqai.jpgThere have been sightings of a small Nissan SUV being tested on the road. It is said that the new mini Murano is based on the Nissan Qashqai concept shown 2 years ago at the 2004 Geneva Motor Show.

The above artist’s impression image by Hans G. Lehmann photo syndication shows that the new small-sized SUV has abandoned the old Qashqai’s X-Trail-like front grille and has adopted the new Renault-Nissan look. It looks like a taller Nissan Versa. Note that this is an artist’s impression only, but inspired by Nissan’s current design trends.

The Nissan Qashqai is expected to debut in 2007 and will come with 2.0 litre petrol and turbodiesel engines. There could also be a top of the range six-banger version. Naturally, it will have all-wheel drive. This small SUV will be in direct competition with the Toyota RAV4, the Mercedes Benz MLK and the BMW X3.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:08 am

y it looks like a mini nissan murano ah?

maybe my eye hv problem…….hehehe

Cheers!!!!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:22 am

yeap very much similar to the murano

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:28 am

WoW!!!…. Cool ……DuDE

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:30 am

Doesn't look very good.

• shaun (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:59 am

I read in a magazine that the top picture is actually the new "X-Trail".

• shaun (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:59 am

Notice the front 'sump guards' which is similar to the current outgoing model.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Not bad…… will it land on BolehLand??? How much will it cost, i wonder??? after adding those stupid taxes..

• rexis (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 6:13 pm

It is a mini murano indeed…

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 6:53 pm

New X-Trail? haha… I don't think so… its really a mini murano… haha… but after Nissan being takeover… seems like they like this kinda model a lot… nearly all SUVs in Nissan range looks similar… hmm.. I don't really like the front grill duh…

• goingberserk (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:22 pm

nice car.. can look but cant touch !!!!

• shaun (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 9:03 pm

Well they aren't going to be calling it the 'mini-murano'.

• shaun (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 9:27 pm

"New X-Trail? haha… I don’t think so… its really a mini murano… haha"

Unless you think that every new model must be a facelift or look like a close resemblence of the model it's replacing. Then this obviously makes no sense.

If this new model isn't going to be replacing the market segment (i.e RAV4, CRV) currently addressed by the x-trail then what is it supposed to be?

You may have misunderstood what i was trying to get at. When i said "this is the new xtrail", i meant that this is its replacement to compete against the new RAV4 and upcoming CRV etc.

I only pointed out the sump guard out because that's the only visible link/clue to which nissan model it will prolly be replacing.

• Jason (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 10:23 pm

What's up with the stupid name? Does it mean something? When i read the title, thought this SUV for sale at China.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 6:35 am

not as handsome as murano…i dun like it…