2009 Porsche GT1 – a Bugatti Veyron killer

porsche_carrera_gt.jpg

The Bugatti Veyron is the current benchmark of exotic raw supercar performance, surpassing the 1000hp mark and has been the talk of town long before it was actually launched. That might end soon. Porsche is planning a Bugatti Veyron killer called the Porsche GT1. The announcement of the new GT1 comes shortly after Porsche announced the end of production for the Porsche Carrera GT. The Carrera GT (shown above) was only in production for 3 years and there are only 1,111 in the world, with more than half of it in North America.

The new Porsche GT1 will offer roughly 950 horsepower and will likely be based on the same chassis as the Porsche Carrera GT, except that it will have a solid roof coupe body instead of being a roadster. Despite having “only” 950 horses, the GT1 is expected to be lighter than the Veyron for better power to weight ratio. The Porsche Carrera GT weighs only 1380kg while the Veyron weighs 1887kg. The GT1 is expected to be around the same weight as the Carrera GT. Of course, it will likely have all wheel drive to put all those horses down to the ground so they can be usable for some good acceleration times. Top speed is expected to be 254mph (408 km/h), 2mph over the Veyron’s top speed of 252mph.

And of course, it’s not that hard to beat the Veyron’s looks. ;)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:58 pm

WOW !

• whodz (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:26 pm

Porsche sure want to beat bugatti, but I think they both have own capabilities (I mean the latest GTI and Veyron) and advantage. But I prefer Veyron.

Peace.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:33 pm

powerful car.. but a cabriolet??.. safe ka??.. wind must be very strong at high speed…, but dont know if this is the big boys taste… i know very little about this car category.. far beyond my affordability.. but i do know at 200kmp the wind is damn strong, can hardly open ur eyes…

• This isnt what it is going to look like. it is based off of the gt but it will be a coupe. all carbon fiber, 950 bhp, etc.. you can read up on it at wiki

• Fairman (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Crazy….400 km/h , it is believe that porsche really beat Bugatti and became top speed car in the world, but where the Ferrari Enzo and Mclaren F1 ????

• KY (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:21 pm

it's 3 years away anyway, still a blind promise especially there isn't even a working prototype yet.

• kody (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Wahlaueh…

i believe i can fly… i believe i can touch the sky… >400km/h… damn…. add wings & propeller…. this car can fly already… Wau..COOL!!!

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:38 pm

I believe Ferrari and the likes are keeping it real by not indulging in the race for higher horsepower. This quest for numero uno will never end and is at best, a costly attempt at claiming to be the best.

Firstly, you will almost never or seldom actually use that kind of power and secondly, there are few places on this world that you can actually go that fast. As it is right now, the emphasis is on reliability and driveability. That's why Ferrari, Lamborghini and prior to this announcement at least, Porsche, has stuck to making their cars an everyday-use car, ie. F430, Gallardo, 911.

The failure of the Carrera GT is that it is impractical and unuseable on a daily basis. That's why they've discontinued it. What does it mean by useability on a daily basis? You evaluate it on a few common criteria like visibility, accessability, comfort, reliability and driveability. What use is a powerful car if you can't use it daily?

Today is a different time than when the Countach was made. Today's owners actually want to drive the cars and not just because they look good.

So the question is, do we need another Veyron? Only Porsche can answer that.

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Well, marmitecrab, it is really hard to say thou. Even thou the Carrera GT is hardly a practical car for daily abuse, somehow somewhere there are many petrol head and speed freaks or people who swim in his pool of "kar-ching" would still buy these supercars. Even people who got balls bigger than their head too.

But, technology wise, I'd say the Veyron is one of a kind highway beast. Yes, it is unaffordable to us lots. Yes, it's fuel guzzling engine drinks more petrol than I could spend on my car for a month, or mayber a year, depends… But who would put 10 radiators in a single engine compartment? Who would go the extra mile to build a new tranny so that they could move the car? And who would pay 4-digits amounts of money just for the wiper and lights lever?

I guess, it all goes back to them. Because they can. If Veyron can, so is the Porsche. Uh-oh, Malaysian cannot. Heh heh. Just my 2.5 cent! =)

• pekan (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 9:41 pm

"mummy.. mummy.. i want one.."

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 9:45 pm

Oh, i just noticed, the new one must ve solid roof rite??.. so ok la…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 9:57 pm

That Carrera GT shown in pic above is the most leng Porsche I personally think… but it really cost a bomb… Now waiting to see how GT1 looks like to beat Veyron. hehe… even though only 950horses but it sure is a high powered one! Looking forward to see the appearance…

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 11:28 pm

aksMs,

You have a point there. Porsche is doing it because they can, ala 959, the most technologically advanced car at that time and yet, not many were built because of the high price and impracticality. They're probably doing it to raise their image as a sports car manufacturer. Which is great because it falls in line with their profile.

Unlike Bugatti, who was on the verge of collapse when Audi bought them over. And now, they are back in business and not only that, have shown the world what Audi can do with the correct partnership. 10 radiators in a car? Can you imagine flushing them? Or the money you'll spend on coolant? Crazy….

• raptorclans (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 11:39 pm

the cabrio is the carrera gt la… the porsche gt1 will b hardtop like paul mentioned, n its a totally diff car

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 11:51 pm

I don't think it will happen. They would probably be stuck at the gearbox of the car.

• szw (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 12:06 am

even bugatti takes years jz to perfect da handling , i donno how porsche gonna do it .

i think nx time its time 4 our cars to go more den 400 d .

• Celicazz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 12:13 am

a prosche will never be the bomb… Bugatti made it becoz there are rare and hav a name that sits high… a porsche? i dont think so, becoz even in europe, ppl do not give way for porsche at any junction…

• lonedrifter (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 12:51 am

for those hu prefer Bugatti i reli wanna let u noe dat u will 1st need to use ur money not for da fuel usage of da car but buying urself a nice piece of land n den plan ur facing location best is back facing mountain n front facing sea…Bugatti offers NO HANDLING PERFORMANCE…it is a super dangerous car to drive…as for Porsche…till now i don see ANY problems in handling which makes their ride SAFE…also Porsche is well known for its factory brakes so it reli don't hv much probs to develop a Bugatti Killer at all…Those hu like Bugatti are just those hu seek death as early as possible…its not even worth to drive such cars even u had money lame…U like Bugatti jz coz if its overweight chassis n engine power…how pathetic

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 1:14 am

Looks like I gotta go sell my Veyron.

Any takers?

• ... (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 1:16 am

Porsche Bugatti killer??

Technically porsche owns a part of Bugatti, as it is now one of the biggest shareholder of VW (which in turn owns Bugatti).

• foxtrotecho (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 1:54 am

The Bugatti Veyron did 0 – 100 – 0 in 9.90 seconds. Thats gonna be a very impressive stat to beat if anything …

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 1:55 am

Err…Mr. lonedrifter, just where in the world (www. included) did you get the knowledge that the Veyron is NO HANDLING PERFORMANCE and super dangerous car to drive? I'm kinda confuse here. Please point out so I can update my 'tiny' knowledge on this.

Besides, I can't see any relevance at all between buying a Veyron and seeking early death. Well, maybe the maintenance bill will give me a heart attack and….early death? Maybe? Hmmm…..

• UnFamOusâ&bdqu (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:13 am

=.=" but both porsche and bugatti veyron are FUEL SUCKERZZ!!!

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:16 am

lol but both car are Fuel Sucker!!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:34 am

agree with aksMs.. dont see y lonedrifter wud make such a statement.. has he driven it? was it stated anywhere? If it doesnt handle.. that would be the first thing being pointed out by car journalists.. I didnt see the journalist from Autocar bitching bout the handling.. and we like bugatti coz we appreciate the engineering behind it.. yeah.. u might compare it to an f1 car.. but thats just stupid.. the bugatti is built to last like a normal road car.. and yeah.. u claim to know alot on brakes.. do enlighten us what sorta brakes bugatti is using for the veyron and y it pales in comparison the the "factor brakes" from porsche.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:42 am

the thing about the problems Bugatti on cooling, aerodynamics and handling during development was that the car was a concept car meant for style rather than production. Then the boss said in a press conference that this car would be produced and have 1000hp and a big-ass engine.

Porsche will start from a clean sheet so no doubt they will have a far easier task compared to Bugatti.

• kronikelz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 3:48 am

well well.. the Bugati was massively advertised and later put into production just as a showcase of their technology. The boss of VW who owns Bugatti said that i want a car to be produced with 1000hp and would go 400kmh.. Would it make them any richer ?

not really.. Its just a way of showing that they can..

So on to handling, in order for the Bugatti to reach 400kmh u have to stop it at a roadside, press a button which will bring down the rear spoiler and then proceed. As the the starts to get close to 400 the front has to lower itself to make sure the aerodynamic is perfect to reach that kind of speed..yes the handling sucked.. but then again u dont have to have to 400kmh setting all the time, once u have it off its as nimble as a lotus elise.

wow thats a long one, so well the best thing here is that since there arent any competition VW who owns Porsche decided that they will create their own competition, isnt that brilliant ?

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 4:17 am

Hope the design will be as cool as McLaren or Carrera GT . Coz Bugatti Veyron is sux haha.

• szw (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 4:54 am

but now bugatti has no prob wif da handling edi .

i read dat da bugatti handling is very nice summore .

bugatti doesn't sux , u can say sux if u can afford it .

• lonedrifter (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:24 am

hey peeps….Veyron was no where near the handling McLaren F1 GTR achieved…myb u guyz din reli noe how bad they got for handling performance…but yea its engineering reli was another breakthrough in automobile industry…the car is unstable during its tremendous speed…it cant handle corners well…not as well as Porsches can…its potential is great but they still hv to tweak their handling alot…U got good specs in ur engine dont mean u got great specs for ur handling that is reli true but nonetheless if Porsche does come out a Bugatti Killer well we just gotta see how well they do…Porsche engineers never fail to giv the best to wat they want out of their production…Bugatti reli isnt that great as it seem to be…

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:17 am

Hahahaha.. chehhhh.. ofcoz when u compare it to a mclaren which weighs as much as a house fly.. sure the bugatti lose la.. but the way u put it as if the bugatti is a giraffe on wheels.. =).. and im sure porshce wud do a great job due to the fact that they have the reputation.. resources and expertise.. we shall see how things turn out for porshe in 2009.. quite a long wait id say.. making a car handle at 400kmph is no joke unless u can make different parts of the body panels change shape during the course of acceleration la.. =).. that makes no sense though.. no one really intends to handle well at 400kmph.. all u want to do is keep it in a straight line and boast bout the fact tat u reached that speed.

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:09 am

I agree with you Gallardo1988. All they are looking for is the recognition. Engineers will keep on designing and building faster and higher top speed supercars. They will try to claim the top spot. And when we talk about top speed, we're talking about straight lines. You don't try to make a sharp turn with your car while clocking 250km/h, do you? Even a pro wouldn't dare to do that. I think even the F1 cars can't do that (tell me if I'm wrong). You can't break the law of physics.

But you do have a point there lonedrifter. It's just that, the way you mention it as if Veyron don't deserve to be where it is today. As if, all the man hours spent to build it are just utter nonsense. As if they are only building a Milo tin scrap. The Veyron deserve some credit. It may not be a perfect all-around car, but it demonstrate what the best of engineering could offer, to date. And, it will never stop. =)

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:13 am

I think nobody's gonna make turns or corners at 400km/h…? not even a Veyron… 400km/h is only for straight line… right? n I think got only few ppl will drive till that fast? n few ppl got guts to drive that fast… n u need a really straight n very long runway to maximize the speed to 400km/h… that's my opinion though…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:32 am

fairman…

ferrari had set their target for enzo…not jz for speed…all rounder including comfortness etc…

lonedrifter…

if u compare it with the mclaren..for surela mclaren is better…but veyron's handling is not bad at all….in the twisty road..the veyron handles well but not as fun as the enzo,mclaren and carrera gt…but still impressive indeed..jz according of most journalist are saying bout veyron's handling…in the twisty road…his competitor easily left him bhd but dun do it in the straight lane…he will eat his competitor easily…

ya..theyve got a problem with the veyron b4 the veyron go into production in 2003 with handling and over heating problem…btw…they had solved it and delayed the production in 2005…actually..their target for veyron are in term of speed,techno….veyron had achieved it…the dsg still not as sexy as the ferrari,zonda,porsche,koenigsegg….and mclaren….

• tifosi (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:01 am

Bbingbong said,

July 5, 2006 @ 6:16 pm

lol but both car are Fuel Sucker!!

================================

The Veyron was once featured on CNN and the Bugatti guy said if you have to ask the how much it cost to fill up the car with it's special racing fuel, you cannot afford the car.

So if you can afford to buy it I am sure you won't care if it is a fuel sucker

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:34 am

kronikelz. VW doesn't own Porsche. In fact its the other way around. Porsche has been buying lots of VW stocks. I think they're the only sports car maker that can buy into another company. All others seem to need rescuing.

Anyway, there are rumours that the Veyron will be on the TopGear track this season. Maybe after the world cup is over we can put this argument to rest.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:50 am

http://youtube.com/watch?v=BOwps0kMKtY&search…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:52 am

argh. the link turned out but the comments didnt. Anyway, I hear ceramic brakes mentioned. The Carrera GT had ceramic brakes too. Look out for the powerslide on snow and donuts. And the spoiler changes angle under braking too. how cool it that!

• kronikelz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:28 am

thanx tbcheese

Its hard to know who owns who in the motoring world its just so much happening.thanx for correcting me though.

well the fact that Bugatti sells each unit of veyron at a loss, by the time Porsche comes out with the GT1 they must have worked out a plan to make it cheap..well Cheaper is the word..

so we shall see.

• kronikelz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:29 am

The Veyron on the top gear track ?

that would be great..we'll see wether it could beat the mighty improved konniggsssegg.

• oversight (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 4:54 pm

wow! most of you talked like you have driven all this super cars la.

mind if i can pinjam from you all? just test drive only ma.

p/s : can't affrord la just drive malaysia car only. low budget people

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:16 pm

I only can read the comments and analyst the review for knowledge and some technical know how. Never drive a real sport car, being driven by friends/relatives but never drive because I cant afford one.

p/s like to rent a sport car and drive all out at Autobahn dont know when can happen? or will it happen?

• xXx (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 12:24 am

Hello everyone! This's my first time here….

What got me interested to join this blog is the comment made by one of it's members.

Mr Marmitecrab(male, i presume) made a statement that really irks me, not only for it's lack of depth, but also is just way off the target.

He wrote "….The failure of the Carrera GT is that it is impractical and unuseable on a daily basis. That’s why they’ve discontinued it……"

Since when was the Carrera GT discontinued? With only 1500 of Carrera GT's ever going to see the light of day, built over the span of 3 years, that car is on a limited run! Get it? A limited run does not mean a discontinued model.

Talking about reliability, tell me honestly, do you know that Porsche made it mandatory for every GT made to go through the same reliability test it requires a Boxster to go through? Also bear in mind that the GT's engine started out life as a race engine, meaning when uncorked, it could pump out over 800bhp without breaking a sweat. So why the car now has 'only' 612 horses? And now usability. Ever heard people commented that a GT felt like a 600bhp Boxster? I think not.

One more, I bet the GT1's gonna trump over the Veyron. Lower power to weight ratio and a superbly light chasis…. On to looks, Porsche is known to produce gorgeous cars (the Cayenne to some extend) and I bet the GT1 will not dissapoint. While the GT just looks awesomely stunning from all angles, the Veyron looks like it was designed by someone that have absolutely no idea how a car should look like. Like a love child of a dung beetle and an elephant.

Cheers everyone

• lonedrifter (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:21 am

i very much agree with xXx comments…

for the others pls just understand that building a top notch supercar RELI DO NOT JZ DEPEND ON HOW FAST THEY GO…which was wat da Veyron intended to do : GOIN FASTER THAN ANY SUPERCAR AROUND…but cmon…how long can u keep ur speed at 400kmh in this world?? is there reli so much straights in this world?? How many times will u even reach that speed…Even if u say u would go to da Sahara to do so dude, FUEL…wat u gonna do without FUEL in da middle of Sahara??? *just an example of wat im trying to explain* so in all Veyron reli can onli be considered as another Drag based car compared to ALL of its COMPETITORS…i believe if Veyron is able to make the car MORE USER FRENLY…im sure it is surely the best that automotive industries can give to the world…this is why no matter wat all engineers put McLaren GTR as their benchmark as it has achieved all the requirements during their time…which means engineers today are still trying hard to achieve hopefully ALL the requirements TODAY to come up with another WORLD'S BEST SUPERCAR

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:48 am

ya…agree wit triple x and lonedrifter…if i can afford the supercars…ill go for a supercar that had all i need…and ill go for zonda or enzo…can use everyday….got speed and everything…dats my choice…i dunno wat urs..bugatti…still can b a daily car…but…sayang ar…mahal sgt2 kete tu…

ya…they tried to bring the bugatti into top gear test track…hhmm…koenigsegg…ive seen the first time the stig drove dat car on track…lost to mc12 and enzo…but..2nd attempt….adjust the gear shift…the koenigsegg seems to b fast but not stable and crashed out by stig…3rd attempt…they put the spoiler…and with short shift gear…he beats the mc12 and enzo…funnyla…relak je crash dat car…fuh…kalau kat m'sia x dptla centu…

i think the veyron cannot beat the koenigsegg in that track…veyron heavy ma…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:00 am

kronikelz. glad you didn't take offense to being corrected. I agree with you about the GT1 being cheaper. the Veyron has just too much luxury I think. Even got a Breitling clock in it.

Ray I think the model that lost was different to the more recent one. CCR for the old one and CCX for the new one. I think the Veyron might lose too. Not enough straights on that track.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:26 am

no..im talking abt the koneigsegg ccx..i noe abt the koneisegg CCR…cannot beat even the carrera gt…the CCX…the new one..b4 he beat the mc12…the stig had try that car b4…with a long shift gear set up…the ccx was lost…then…they try change the gear shift into short shift..then the stig drove the ccx and crashed out…it is bcoz the ccx is not stable…then they sent the ccx back to the sweden..then after two weeks i think..i cant remember which top gear episode(this new season…b4 they break for world cup)…the swedish sent back the ccx to top gear with a tiny modification…they put the spoiler…then the stig test it again….then…the ccx broke the record of zonda f automatically beat the mc12 and enzo…i think u should c that…very funny the stig crashed out that car on the corner…the front bumper of dat CCX was cracked…

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:28 am

Koenigsegg kicks arse.. and yeah.. shud beat the veyron.. haha.. i just think that the veyron is a car to look at and go.. holy mother!!!.. it may be on the heavy side but its still a wonder la.. dont look at the fuel consumption thingy.. or its other small flaws.. just think bout how such a heavy car can reach 100 within such a short period of time.. =).. Besides, i dont really think bugatti built the veryron to go insanely fast.. their main aim was to produce a 1000bhp road car. or am i wrong? coz making a car that can touch 400 is no biggy.. dragsters do it.. this is where absurdness overwhelms practicality.. and that works sometimes.. its like.. hrmph.. fashion? its not always practical.. but its absurdness sells.. ahaha.. bad metaphor but yeah.. hope u all get the point..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 6:38 am

ya…ure quite rite gallardo…dun compare it with dragster coz this veyron is amazing coz gt a comfortable seat…air cond etc…drag car dun hv all these…and actually one of the main reason they built veyron is for speed and want to break an untouchable record of mclaren f1 since the car was produced in 1993…many car tried to break the record…like ford gt90..tvr speed 12…etc but fail…i mean they failed to break the record and failed to hv all criteria that got on the mclaren f1 as a greatest supercar in his era…now…bugatti had beat the mclaren…not only as a fastest car…but…the greatest car also in this era…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 8:41 am

ahh so that's what you meant. But I thought short-shifting means shifting early? Yeap I got that episode too.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:30 am

Technically the Veyron is faster. The Veyron was actually limited to 252mph in correspondence to the tyres. Any faster and the tyres would explode. If the Porsche GT1 can go 2mph faster, i see no reason why the Veyron can't do the same.

The Veyron is also alot more posh than the Porsche by a mile. The interior is much more tasteful and i am willing to bet my bottom dollar that the Porsche is a lot louder on the inside of the cabin. Don't forget folks., the Porsche GT1 is a supercar and the Veyron is a GT car. There is a difference.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 8:47 pm

xXx,

When l said they were discontinued, you obviously didn't read what Paul wrote. Let me remind you, "the Carrera GT (shown above) was only in production for 3 years and there are only 1,111 in the world, with more than half of it in North America."

What you said is true, it is a limited production model with 1500 units but after only 1,111, they stopeed. I don't know about you but that sounds an awful lot like a discountinued model to me, albeit a discontinued limited-run model.

As it is your first time here, l'll forgive you for saying my comments lack depth and are way off the target. L wasn't trying to add too much depth nor make any empirical comments here that will shake your world. I was, like most of my fellow contributors here, just making a comment. I also did not say the GT was unreliable. I said one of the criteria was reliability. As l have never owned a GT not know of anyone who does, it is not a particular trait l would say is inherent in this particular car.

You also asked if l knew the engine is put through the same reliability tests as the Boxster. No, l didn't. But that statement is totally redundant because the Boxster engine is totally different. It is also a totally different car. It's like saying the Perdana is benchmarked against the Savvy. Talk about being way off target…

• xXx (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:25 am

Mr M. Before you jump into any rash rebuffs, i said that the GT was put through the same reliability test as the Boxster. Whoever said only the engine? It was the WHOLE car. A car consists a whole lot more stuff than only the engine… You know, electronics, suspension system, lubrication system, climate control, ect ect. Unless of course you are under some acute dillusional disorder that the 4-stroke single cylinder generator gathering dust in your actic is a car….

A kindly reminder. READ.

The bullseye. LOOK. Who's off?

• xXx (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:34 am

………."Production of the Carrera GT stopped on May 6, 2006 after 1271 units had been manufactured."…….

1271 units. Yeah right 1111. Although i do sincerely admid to my earlier mistake. Mah bad dudes….

………."Porsche announced that this discontinuation due to changing airbag regulations in the US……."

That doesnt awfully sound like a failure due to impracticality and usability on a daily basis… I don't know, probably the info i got from this site was skewed… Way off the target….

Info from http://www.answers.com/topic/porsche-carrera-gt

• xXx (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:37 am

Any offence taken is most regretful. No intention of mine.

Cheers everyone.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:50 am

Cheers..! =) hick*

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:09 am

ya…dats wat i meant…cheers…hhmm…u talking abt production end 4 carrera gt…try this..

http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/20605…

• xXx (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:25 am

wow awesome….didnt know it looked so good in yellow too. cool site

too dude

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:05 am

ya..dat one of the best site…u can surf all kind of cars….one of the site i mostly visit…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:13 am

Porsche is currently being sued by the family of a man who got killed in a trackday event. This guy and his friend signed waivers before going on the track. His friend drove and crashed, I believe they both died and the family of this guy is suing his friend's family and Porsche for selling what they claimed was an unsafe car.

This is really stupid. So now, if I buy a razor and slash my wrists with it, can my family sue the manufacturers of that razor?

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:15 am

Porsche will use CGT chassis, the design style will completely different.

better looking than any Porsche ever built.

no doubt, they could rival Bugatti.

plus, with the news that Porsche probably going to take-over VW.

and we could see VW involve in this project.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:19 am

oops. forgot to mention that it was a Carrera GT and there wasn't a mention of waivers. damn was sure I saw it. Anyway here's a link to one of the many stories on this
    http://www.leftlanenews.com/2006/05/16/porsche-tr…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:31 pm

hahha…this is not bad…still ok…had all of u seen the enzo crash in US???terbelah due…gosh…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 2:16 am

ok…mabe some of u not realize bout this…dis is some pic where the enzo was crashed in malibu…

http://cbs2.com/topstories/local_story_052110615….

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 3:16 am

hehe..the Swedish mobster guy :p

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:58 am

IMAGINE THIS: Bugatti Veyron vs. Porsche GT1 vs. Ferrari Enzo vs. Lamborghini Murcielago vs. Saleen S7 vs. McLaren F1 GTR vs. Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren, all at the same time!!!

• drunk patron (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 10:50 am

anyone seen the Koenigsegg CCXR? it has 1012 BHP and weighs in at only 2600 lbs, which seems to me like it easily beat both the Veyron and that Porsche

• Ultimate Car Fan on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Hi I love cars and know all about them! The fastest car in the world right now is the SSC Ultimate Aero and the Bugatti ranks 2nd. Well, that is if the Porsche GT1 can't get an engine faster and better than the Bugatti's. And, drunk patron, a Koenigsegg CCXR can't beat'em hands down. Its true!

• Ultimate Car Fan on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:12 pm

I know I am really late cuz the last comment was what? 2007 and obviously no one replied to the 2007 comment of drunk patron so nobody would see mine but i'm writing this anyway cuz i think both cars rule and theres no point getting angry over each other so yah… :)

• Ultimate Car Fan on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:19 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porsche_Carrera_GT
    READ: not in production animore!

• c swenson on Jul 14, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Beautiful car, Porsche makes the most beautiful, "most reliable cars in the world" J.D. Powers and Assoc. We all better buy one before Communist Obama starts spreading our wealth around. before you guys start flaming about me calling Obama a communist, Look at the facts Government Motors ie. GM. Government owned Banks, and socialized Healthcare. those are facts of socialism, ie communism.

• Zack_NSDK on Nov 15, 2009 at 11:16 pm

Wow!!Porsche wants to beat Veyron,Can they beat it?I want to know about it.

• Barbra Breslauer on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

Most beautiful car I've ever seen! It looks like it came out of a James Bond Movie.

• Wonder if they’re still going for it? Considering that both Bugatti and Porsche are under VW..