Daihatsu D-Compact X-Over to debut at Paris

dcompactxover.jpg

The previous D-Compact concept series from Daihatsu was the Daihatsu D-Compact 4X4 which ended up as the production Daihatsu Be-Go/Toyota Rush. Following the current crossover craze, this is the latest in the D-Compact series – the Daihatsu D-Compact X-Over, where X-Over means crossover.

Designed together with Italy’s Italdesign led by Giorgetto Giugiaro, the rugged but sporty crossover with flared wheel arches features a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats. The front headlamps remind me abit of Perodua’s take on the Passo/Boon/Myvi front end styling.

If it goes into production, the B-segment car is expected to replace the Daihatsu YRV and will be pitched against the likes of the Mazda 2. This concept car will join many other concepts to be unveiled at the 2006 Paris Motor Show from the 30th September to 15th October 2006. One more photo after the jump.

dcompact2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:06 am

I hope it will be one of perodua production car

• asimo (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:09 am

looks like passo…

• maxtek (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:09 am

2nd to post! Yeah, hope this turns out to be a Perodua after some time… Bet it'll be far better than the Kembara/Terios…

• AMG (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:58 am

New Kancil Prototype?

• szw (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:03 am

yer…

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:27 am

looks like a much nicer/upgraded version of the sirion/myvi. no other angle shots?

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:29 am

A small 4WD vehicle! Cool!

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:13 am

Can't sell well in this hot sunny region…

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:52 am

fookeatmin1989: Can’t sell well in this hot sunny region…

man, we got alot tinted glass shops, jz the matter of JPJ and PRDM :p

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:53 pm

I have reservations over D-Compact class cars,but this one different!!!Kind of like this one…I wonder why..?Again,as a Sarawakian,I have a hunch that if this X-Over is going to be "Peroduaized",it will sell VERY2 well here…maybe I'll be among the early birds laaah..MEANWHILE…..its WAKE-UP time PROTON…!!!

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 10:29 pm

hopefully it will be here for a few years later.. maybe replacement for Myvi..

i like the windshield.. is it cover untill to top of the roof??

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:31 am

"a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats"

Tint how many layer is also useless as Glass absorb heat……like green-house effect.

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 3:25 am

“a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats”

beware! dont try to do XXX stuff in this car while u might get caught in act by US spy satellite :D

just guessing lah…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:10 am

myvi should make a glass roof :)

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 11:11 am

ahhh….the world famous sarawak roads. this car is not going to have enough ground clearance to do squat.

certainly seems cool. but its more a gimmick. and adds to fuel consumption unless it uses the part time 4wd with bias towards fwd.

• skywalker (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 4:26 pm

“a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats”

Don't forget to get the windscreen cover everytime you renew the insurance.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:51 pm

good looking, 4×4??.. huh.. but don't la make it damn soft like our myvi here.. produa kedekut besi la… careful with produa's nuts & screws.. they r damn soft… produa vendors pls jaga quality!!!

• demio121 (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:55 pm

This X-Over s0 so cool. Like the D-Compact, this one looks very close to production. If Perodua make this, their production floor will be very very busy.

Perodua did say that there will no new product until sometime next year. so… Ther eis a possibility…!!!

• gokibin (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 7:38 pm

me likey it a lot… i hope it'll be a basis for 2nd generation myvi or its replacement. no need 4×4, just the looks good enuf. looks tougher than myvi. maybe male drivers prefer it better.

• pablopabla (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Daihatsu designs good looking cars and Perodua benefits from rebadging it. Definitely nicer than the Naza stocks. My dua sen…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 2:06 am

topgunthang,

I agree that this car can be stuck with "a low situation" here in S'wak.Hopefully the "PERODUAIZED" version will cater to that…And the drives..I agree with U…Make it part-time 4WD and fwd..The present KEMBARA really dig my wallet's contains….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 3:13 pm

wow…wow…this car is really really nice…fresh look…hope will b on perodua also…

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 7:02 pm

Paul,

Sorry off-topic. Perodua launched a new MyvI Special Edition which looked like a sporty Passo to me. Do u have any info on that.

Tks

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 11:36 pm

a new MyvI Special Edition!!

Nice… striking gold / orange color

saw it on utusan Mon, 18/9/2006 – as p2's mktg strategy with PNB at Pekan

(only small news with pic)

Any further info… Could it be 1.6L?

Paul, any comment?