GM and DRB-HICOM sign stake transfer MoU

Previously, there was news of a potential 51% acquisition of stake in Chevrolet distributor Hicomobil by General Motors, who owns the Chevrolet marque. DRB-HICOM dispelled these rumours by saying there is no official proposal yet. It turns out that the talk was true after all – DRB-HICOM and General Motors signed a Memorandum of Understanding for proposed acquisition of 51% stake in Hicomobil, which will make the American automotive giant the majority shareholder.

The current Chevrolet line-up will also be refreshed, with the new model range to consist of the Chevrolet Aveo Sedan, Chevrolet Epica luxury sedan, and the absolutely stunning Chevrolet Captiva SUV!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:13 am

good news for malaysian, more variety.

hope they will bring HHR, Equinox.

please dont bring the epica with the5-series headlights curve.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:33 pm

Good news, more competition and choices for customers.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Looks like Chevrolet wants a piece of the Camry/Accord/Cefiro market with the Epica.

Pics of Epica…
    http://carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=18578

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Very good news for us as consumers but very bad bad news for local car makers such as proton, perodua, inokom & naza….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:42 pm

After all, these NEP products (ppl) still can’t Stand Up by its own. Why can’t they all success in Any Business and still need Foreigners to take over and control? Really SAD to see it, but it was predicted before.

Remember, Easy money will not last forever. Only Hard earn money will last long.

Siapa lagi sokong?

Dr.M sokong…..but sad to see……

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:46 pm

Good news? What so good about this?

I think it is a bad news to Malaysian, we are out of control in business, I am Sad and not happy at all.

Siapa sokong?

Paul will you sokong?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Auctioncentre? Why are you posting the same thing in multiple threads?

Siapa sokong? Most of us do.

If we can't do business effectively, let someone run it for us.

I'm sure we'd be all driving better cars if VW bought out Proton with controlling stake. And you are complaining about that?…..

unless of course you are one of those Proton OEMs supplying cheaply made power window motors (probably made in China as well) and risk loosing your lucrative contract.

The Epica is not a significant vehicle. Even if its sold here, it WILL loose out to the Accord/New Camry. Its price point wont be competitive and it lacks the presence and quality of its Korean (Sonata NF / New Kia Optima) siblings.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:28 pm

4G63T DSM said,

September 21, 2006 @ 12:14 pm

//Siapa sokong? Most of us do.

unless of course you are one of those Proton OEMs supplying cheaply made power window motors (probably made in China as well) and risk loosing your lucrative contract. //

First of all, some clarification, I have no relationship with Proton nor Perodua……suppliers. Please read my ID again. which is Auctioncenter2u.

Regarding your sokong issue, What are you sokong for? Sokong American (GM) take over the business from DRB-Hicom? Which mean you are happy to see a Malaysian company or business doing bad and then its take over by foreigners? …. besides that, I don't see any benefit to consumers (us) too,…..sorry lah this is only my point of view.

No offense okay! :)

Siapa Marah?

Oh…jangan lah….senyum sikit!

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:48 pm

Another rebadged Daewoo, rubbish Korean rubbish American junk.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 10:26 pm

selfish peoples.

hicom no longger bringging money to malaysia.

our money will goin outside.

and peoples love it.

until then, there's no more money left in our country.. gov. gettin poor. bla bla.. corruption increased, proton also sold stakes to outsider, all money going ouside again.. mas aalso sold to outsider, money flew to outside.. and so on..

peoples shouting! yeahh.. we can buy now 100 cars pe year! yeahhh… but they never realized how poor they are.. they even can afford a bike.. since their country losing money. the country KDNK = 0% .. all product is imported.. yeah.. they like imported item.. and soo on..

while another neighbourhood of malaysia start learning from 'past malaysia'.. their KDNK (what ever in their languange) .. increased yea by year.. oh yeah!.. Singaporean also build F1 circuit (today paper = they start on A1) .. singapore becoming F1 circuit in asia.. but Sepang just left in history.. abandoned alreaddy.. after all stakes bought by european.. this all maybe happen in 10 year later..

That moment.. many malaysian realized.. how selfish they are.. ;)

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 11:13 pm

yay…..more American cars…..

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 5:13 pm

Talk about a surprise! General Motors' move was a major shock after being told by Joe that it wasn't going to happen in another thread here at Paul's Place. Wow…

MS

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:47 am

is so call amaericen cars oni.

bring in da z06 is da best lar if tokin bout american cars.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:55 pm

The Chevrolet brand doesn't really command a premium presence here yet and lots of brand building is still needed. Not sure about Korean car reliability though. The Epica and Captiva are Korean with an American name. Wonder how they'll survive. Normal assumption is that the Korean cars are heavy in weight as well as on fuel too (anyone can confirm this… without condemning those Korean cars in the same breath?). Hopefully the Epica and Captiva are much improved.

The Cobalt sedan and coupe look yummy too!! (engine also not too big, 2.2L ECOTEC). As for the Corvette and so on, it'll be nice to see them on Malaysian roads but I guess there wont be many seen due to the high engine capacity of the car and the even higher import and excise duties slapped on the car.

Car enthusiasts really don't mind who is in control of who. Besides, a free market like in Malaysia's past promotes better competition, choice as well as market driven performances. I'm no economist but if we try to control everything, we will only end up more and more isolated and this should not happen as the world is fast becoming one global community due to trade organisations and better connectivity. Even this website is because of globalisation; anyone in the world can read this. Should the country opt to be alone in everything, we could be isolated by the world community (they may slap high prices on any of our imports and slap high taxes on our exports and then what?) We could end up having to grow our own food… which may not even be enough. We may need to revert to an agricultural society and revert to the same conditions when we just got independence. Do we want that? Do we want regression? Or do we want progression?

If anybody can do the job better, let them do it. In the car industry, IMHO, its best that the govt just forget it and let market forces run the show. Rather than they try to control this and that and end up screwing everything up. The car industry is fluid. It flows just like water. It'll find its own level. But when you try to plug here and there, the water will just flow elsewhere and everywhere. It's close to impossible to regulate it. EU and other ASEAN countries have wisely learnt this and have more liberal terms in the industry.

** Above comments and views are personal and not meant to offend anyone.

• daggersiulee (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 6:12 am

Hicomobil gonna bungkus? Another failed project by kerajaan Xxxxxxx

Xxxxxxxx.

—————

Cemerlang Gemilang Terbilang dan Terus Hilang