Hyundai opens new 50 million Euro HQ

arnejs_3.jpg

Hyundai has just opened it’s new 50 million Euro headquarters in Germany, part of the company’s strategy to become one of Europe’s top automotive brands. The new HQ in Offenbach, near Frankfurt, will be Hyundai’s central for European sales, marketing and aftersales divisions.

Hyundai’s headquarters was previously located in Russelheim, Germany. The center will now be expanded into a dedicated European Research and Design Centre.

Combined with Hyundai’s first European plant in the Czech Republic, Hyundai will now centralise planning, design, production and sales for the European market within Europe itself. Shown above is the Hyundai Arnejs Concept, the base for a new European Hyundai.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PalKonek (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 6:48 am

Korea proves they are so forward thinking in where they want their auto industry 2 b. They bringing the battle to the home of some of the most prestigious car makers ever – Germany!! Imagine lockin horns with the like of Mercs, BMWs n Audis!! Don't our P1 n P2 get any cues from this? i think they need a paradigm shift somewhere in their thick skull..

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 6:57 am

Looks like the neo bling bling rim or maybe evn worse.Lol. Maybe Hyundai taking cue from Proton?

• freeze (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 7:37 am

Nice looking car there…Unlike the Accent.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 4:15 pm

The design is "comparable" to BMW1 seiries. Nice car and aerodynamic outlook.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 5:33 pm

It's a very bold move from Hyundai. Good luck to them. As for P1, they just satisfy being 'Jaguh Kampung' and like to shout 'Malaysia Boleh'. Yes… Malaysia Boleh but how long can it lasts..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 6:41 pm

I know KIA and HYUNDAI had hired many EUROPEAN Designers especially from DaimlerChrysler and VW-Audi recently. One of key person, Mr.Peter Schreier (Ex-Cheif designer of Audi), where his famous for building up Audi design's golden era with TT. Now he has become the chief designer of KIA.

Rumors said, Peter Schreier might be earns most money in the automotive industry now, because he got huge contract for the move to KIA.

I think KIA or HYUNDAI had agreed that, their designers or stylist works are not accepted by most customers in the world.

This is the main reason, why HYUNDAI and KIA car's design or styling has improved so much recently. I think in the next 2 to 3 years times, Hyundai and Kia design will looks more European style, like Audi, Benz or VW.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 8:12 pm

huyoo.. hyundai dares la… berani tu…

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 8:21 pm

European styled asian car? Wrong move. Look at P1 with it's Waja and Savvy. Asian only want Japanese styled asian car. This is a summary that I get from reading some of Hong Kong's automotive magazines. Apart from BMW's and Benz, continental styling doesn't appeal to Asian. Citroen, Peugeot, Skoda, Renault, Fiat built some great cars but they are not very sucessful in Asia cause the ppl dont like their design. For 200K ppl rather buy BMWs or Lexus rather than Audi or Volvo. Except maybe in KL where there are some but very few who appreciate Continental cars and want to be dfferent from every Tom Dick and Harry.

• u5 (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 11:18 pm

wat is p1 n p2

• maxtek (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 12:19 am

Loke Yew Fai? Is that you? Hey dude! What's happenin'?

Anyways, Hyundai, a personal message from me….

Burn in heck you communist Koreans! Shouldn't you be riding cycles instead?

You'll lose your business to the Germans!

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 12:26 am

personally i prefer continnental design, specificly german or british, but not the late french design, its funky, anyway when brits design a latest clio, at least ..its look rational,

italian use to design beautiful car …and it is now,

japanese always lack of originality and fails to make it looks heavy.

for this kia , its germanic with a bit of tickle to make it funky. dont quite like it……can improve though.

• szw (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 4:45 am

more new car in m'sia pls…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 5:18 am

HOLY @#$%&!!!!!!!!

NICE CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nice design, nice rims!!!!! This is really a NICE car!!!

Paul, any interior photos and specs??

• Isamu (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 5:55 am

jeanloo,

I beg to differ.. I think that Asians want Continental cars but just can't really afford to buy or to maintain or to run them.. The French designs are too quirky to suit everybody's taste.. The British are normally too stately.. The Italian, too sporty.. Continental designs that appeal to people are normally German.. They are normally elegantly luxurious or elegantly sporty without overdoing anything.. IMHO, the only thing that puts people off is the reliability of Continental cars.. Would be great if we can have Japanese simplicity and reliability built into Continental cars..

• u5 (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 7:55 am

to maxtek..this is not lokeyewfai .. chic design, with futuristic elements coupled with uniqueness is whats best describes this car..btw wats p1 p2…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 8:30 am

talking about design, …preferablely to the germans, look at audi and bmw nothing is too radical actually ,well the bm s did a bit now but not too much too nonsense, thats what p1 did, to look germanic , when it was drive on the uk motorways the p1 simply looks blend in with other european, i m telling now,yes they got the right recepie, BUT unluckily with wrong ingredients, thing like expired ingredient (engine) , cheft dont have a tech to make the best plastic dough, makes thing fall apart that people talk about, sometime forget to use disel oil widely as it can be eaten in a very long miles, (a major concern today).and in a poor managed restaurant.

well it got the taste(european) though the price is not actually cheap. after eating for while …….got tummy ache. some puked.

conceptually good ……..need improvement a lotttttttt n lot.

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 5:51 pm

protonGL… NICE analogy u got there. 1st four lines u made me hungry, feelin' like going to p1 restaurant and order but then the rest of the lines until your final 'd' makes me lost my appetite

• cacing (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 11:46 pm

I believe P1 translate to Perusahaan Otomobil (number one) and P2 means Perusahaan Otomobil (number two). Translate and you'll get the real names mate!

On styling, i actually don't mind european style and feel, as long as its asian economy!!