Kia Kue Concept Sketch

kiakue.jpg

This is a sneak peek design sketch of another concept vehicle that will be unveiled at the 2006 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit. The Kia Kue Concept is a crossover SUV, or crossover utility vehicle as Kia prefers to call it. It is based on a monocoque chassis.

Size wise, the Kue measures up with an overall length of 4,720mm and a 2,900mm wheelbase. This compares to 4,810mm and 2,890mm for the new Sedona (Carnival) and 4,590 and 2,710 for Sorento. Kia says the Kue focus is very much about an exciting driving experience, as opposed to the typical SUV or CUV lifestyle.

Don’t expect this to be a Kia Sportage replacement though, as it is a pure concept, basically a design exercise that will show a number of strong styling indicators to the direction of Kias future models.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 2:04 am

haha… i was laughing when u said dun expect dis 2b a sportage replacement… but honestly, a kia looking like this shud turn heads like mad XD

• Cire (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 2:16 am

Practicability, not so. Rear view is almost inexistence. Needless to say abt the side views further.

Koreans are begining to stamp their mark as being extreme in their designs.

Started off with the Hyundai coupe, they have breached the coyness of the japanese of believing that a car should look squarish and car-looking like.

Beside that, the Koreans have actually materialised the concept much faster than the jappies counterparts.

What they lack of at the moment is the engine technologies. What they lack of, they compensate by coming out with outrageous design que, that is both young and trendy.

• drM (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 2:29 am

Last time I read something about Kia's simple but proven formula to success – buying talents.

I think it was in CBT. last weekend's. Kia acquired no less than 5 personel from other car companies. you know, design engineers, exteriors engineer, power train engineers. All are from established car firms like Ford, Mercedes, Toyota, Daimler Chryster.

and now, Kia looks better than ever!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 2:43 am

its jus a general all-over-the-place sketch…doesnt really mean anyting..very vague and ambigious…

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 3:11 am

Hey…just want to share something here….

http://www.bmwholidaywish.com/Video-Gallery.3.0.h…

Looking forward to the "Title: BMW's Holiday Wish Commercial" video..

(totally not related to this thread)

=D

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 6:17 am

Oh, GREAT. Another concept car which in the end is going to be another scrap design from Kia to say "yo what's up? Yo like ma wheels? I call it the kue cuz it's going to be a kue to failure!"

Notice that all concept cars from Korean makes always have the trouble of getting concept cars right? Their concepts may look damned tempting, but the production cars are always scrap… Like what we see on our boleh roads until today… What I'd like to call sh*t on four wheels…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 9:54 pm

I think the driver cannot see the REAR view due to REAR Glass is almost horizontally installed. Maybe you might need to use special REAR VIEW camera or other assist system for parking.

Anyway, the Sketch is GOOD!