Subaru Impreza Version 10 Revealed

new_subaru_impreza_1.jpg

As previously mentioned, the new Subaru Impreza will come in both coupe and hatchback forms, and these scans from magazine Motor Trend’s May issue has the photos shown ahead of it’s unveiling at the 2007 New York Auto Show.

As you can see, the car is now a hatch and looks something like the BMW 1-Series, though I’m not sure how Subaru’s new over-chromy corporate grille is any much better than the previous flying vagina.

So, what do you think? Do you like it? Something tells me the prices for the Version 8 and Version 9 Subaru Impreza are going to remain pretty stable even after this new hatch goes into production. More photos after the jump.

new_subaru_impreza_2.jpg

new_subaru_impreza_3.jpg

new_subaru_impreza_4.jpg

new_subaru_impreza_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:10 pm

It doesnt look like Impreza to me… It's kinda wierd..

• owaief (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:10 pm

i dont know if it's the angle or what….the front looks pretty dated

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:11 pm

If we see from side it look like the Celica who won the rally championship..I think Subaru is having the Toyota blood in their design after the automobile maker "taiko" bought the company….

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:14 pm

subaru has a 'subaru nose' lately, ……its gone??

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:20 pm

Subaru designer is OUT OF IDEAs now. Bad moved!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:20 pm

Going BACKWARD!! :P

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:22 pm

I think the Subaru designers need to get another job or work harder.

I suppose now one have to over look the looks department of this car and concentrate on the techincal issues. So long as form follows function, I am all up for it.

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:37 pm

Looks like a Ford for some reason. Or is it a Mazda?

• itchibawa (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Flying vagina huh..? Muahahahaha

Well, if that's the case, then those flanking it are not wings, but labias. LOL

Thought Subaru's present designer is Alfa's ex..

• drebar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:55 pm

the back! the back! it looks like Toyota Harrier..lower version…

and from the side…it looks like Chevrolet Optra5..

the front light has a combination of Honda Civic and Toyota Camry…

and the front grill looks like a Ford or Camry…

no more Imprezza feel…

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:56 pm

hmmm… bout the hatchback maybe we still need time to suit ourselves on it… but i do really like the previous grille, no matter wat flying vagina or wat, the new one looks quite freshless and common uncle-looking, making the car very unclelish…. and where are the impreza signatured golden rims??? interior looks nice and comfortable to me… hmm… i wonder y subaru and mitsubishi oways produce new versions for their imprezas and evos… making their previous versions get outdated qucikly…

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:58 pm

exterior looks …ugly. there's no more identity for the brand.inside, it looks like a modernised alfa 145/146. it is a sad day for subaru fans :(

• Cire (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:07 pm

UGLY !

For a muscle car like an imprezza, at least the a slightly flaired out fenders would do justice to the car and its namesake.

Probably Subaru realised that most of the WRC winners nowadays are hot-hatches and rarely a saloon..

But, this design is totally gross and do no justice to the Imprezzas.

Somehow, Satria Neo looks better than this.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:07 pm

Looks more like some Ford with a big ass V8 inside. I agree with you Paul, prices of Version 8 and 9 Imprezas are gonna remain pretty stable for now,I don't think many would be selling off their current ones for the new one this time round. The Flying Vagina wasn't bad, it's nice, but this? Haha, darn, the ass looks like a Harrier. It could easily pass for a staionwagon too, guess Subaru tried to integrate the sedan, coupe and wagon all into one :p Fugly. Mitsubishi is laughing now, with their mean looking Evo X.

• 707 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:15 pm

actually subaru designs are never nice but somehow we grew to like it

as of the new design…looks like a camry man

• h2k (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:18 pm

its a freaking station wagon? it would be a better looking hatch if its a 2 door hatch instead of 4 doors…front grille with those chrome looks so americanised..hahaha

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:30 pm

hopefully the coupe has a more universal appeal but i guess you are right aesthari. mitsubishi staff would be rolling on the floor and laughing out so loud the whole mitsubishi hq will shake.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:05 pm

drebar said,

March 27, 2007 @ 12:55 pm

the back! the back! it looks like Toyota Harrier..lower version…

and from the side…it looks like Chevrolet Optra5..

the front light has a combination of Honda Civic and Toyota Camry…

and the front grill looks like a Ford or Camry…

no more Imprezza feel…

————————————-

I agree. Come on car companies, dun always copy ppl, or your car owner

will always feel behind others.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:33 pm

what the!? WHERES THE 3 SPLIT GRILLS? is'nt it a trademark 4 newer subaru's?! the design is old looking! even the interior! they are out of ideas ….

• darylchan (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:39 pm

Looks like the unholy offspring of the old corolla FX and harrier ass. The engine bay looks like a botched transplant job done at a bawah pokok mechanic.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:51 pm

yalah!messy engine compartment.they should rev things up with their design.

• J (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Guys … don't pour "cold water" before seeing the real car. Most of the time, impression will change when you see the real thing.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:06 pm

you may be right.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:10 pm

IMHO, this photo makes me feel that some parts are from SAAB!

especially the FROSTED tail light!

Nice try though!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:14 pm

the frosted tail light? nah! the one thats on saab is more steamy in colour……

• nmh (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:22 pm

the front looks like a ford police car from US…ewww. i thing subaru hire koreans to design the interior…ewwwwwwwww

• I my (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Not nice & not cool at all!!!

• muflis (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:16 am

man, the back does looks like harrier..but i kinda like the design overall..its different..

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:17 am

this is the normal impreza lah… the wrx shud look beefier… i hope :D

• Din (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:21 am

The people who came up with the design and the people who approved the design should be fired and blacklisted from joining other car companies except Ssang Yong.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:31 am

weird design for SUBARU.. should be changed to SULAMA.

Is it real paul? i can't believe it..

LOL

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:40 am

Well.. after a few glance, I kinda like de design.. i mean exterior.. interior i don feel there's anything interesting as it looks old designed. Chrome grill are not nice.. doesn't suit my taste as well.. i rather have a hole there than a chrome grill. the rear looks ok. I wonder how the coupe look like…. anyway.. it doesn't look like Impreza anymore.. it should still be a saloon.. sigh~~

• drM (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:42 am

if the older grill is THE FLYING VAGINA, surely this chromy grill might be THE SUBLIME TORPEDO ?

or THE BLING-BLING HONCO?

any taker?

LOL

• Charger (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:19 am

*speechless*

Not that it's ugly, at least the design is getting better, but…

Is that an Impreza? Looks tinier. Haha!

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:23 am

A proper Impreza should be a 4-door saloon.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:41 am

belakang macam harier, depan macam ford. dowh!

• KY (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:49 am

i wonder if this monster breaks 300bhp

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 2:04 am

this is not yet the wrx version, maybe the true wrx will come with 2drs, wide body, huge wing, and flying virginia, i guess,

• toxicboy (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 2:31 am

That's sad. Was looking forward for the version 10. Previous version were awesome!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 4:04 am

The front look like ghostbusters car-the grille.The back look like gundam;p

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:11 am

huh! hurricane blowing comments!

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:14 am

love the engine and the engine sound, look doesnt matter.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:22 am

Evo X still looks better…

• rabakshoe (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:12 am

buekk .. its looks ugly

wat happen to the scoobies shapes and JDM styling

• szw (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:59 am

not nice

• szw (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:00 am

evo 10 nicer

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:37 am

Wow, and here I am thinking that an FD's engine bay was messy. I can see the only thing Subaru have carried on from the Version 9 flying vagina are the headlights.

Thank goodness the Subaru emblem isn't bright pink anymore. That was so unnecessary. Bring forth the coupe, this is merely to throw everyone off track.

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:27 am

Er..OKAaaaaaaaaaY..loved the version 8..version 9..okla..IF you slap on some bodykit that takes away that fugly grill.. Version 10?. like many mentioned..doesn't look or feel like a scooby to me.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 4:43 pm

To save costs, Fuji Heavy Indurtries had outsource the whole bodyshell design to Daewoo ?

• syamness (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 4:58 pm

this is ridiculous… its fugly… seeing this makes the flying vagina look good… maybe its just me but the impreza's looks have been getting worse in each new generation i still like the 22b

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 5:54 pm

The design is quite difficult to swallow. The rear side profile looks like the Euro Civic… Gosh, what happened to Subaru?!

• waimak (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:46 pm

I think Subaru should work around the 'typical' Subaru design. This design no doubt looks fresh, but on the other hand as if they are trying to follow others. Despite stiff competition from the market, I think Subaru should set the 'trend' rather than follow.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:02 pm

Er.. i still prefer version 9, look kinda weird. But in term of performance, i think the hatchback will be better in term of weigh to power ratio.. Cheer to Subaru, i prefer boxer then the normal 4-cylinder engine… Drive it and you will know the handling and the engine weird power and sound… Even a S3 satria neo handling wont win it's legendary 4×4 drive lane..

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:35 pm

Evo X is so gonna kick this cars butt.

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 9:06 pm

fugly to me man!

• AmSouth (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:20 pm

Pesonally, Version 8 looks better… but still Prototype X is the best…..just an opinion….

• KL-ATR (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 12:41 am

Dang… Subaru should fire their head of design!!! First, there was the amazingly ugly Tribeca. At least the interior was neat. This Impreza is so bad I'm speechless! The butt looks ok but it's just too similar with a SUV. If they build this, it will force scoobie fans to move over to Evo, that's for sure!

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 2:24 am

this confirms why i didnt like the impreza for all this will. OMGWTF so fugly!!! Evo X!

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 2:26 am

this confirms why i didnt like the impreza all this while. OMGWTF so fugly!!! Evo X!

• armandd (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:18 am

eh? the back is copied directly from the harrier lah!

• maru (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:45 am

hate it

• tpl (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:11 am

look like some korean car to me with bodykits from accessories shop… sad case..

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:40 am

"Din said,

March 27, 2007 @ 4:21 pm

The people who came up with the design and the people who approved the design should be fired and blacklisted from joining other car companies except Ssang Yong."

————-add Dadi, LMG and proton/peroduo to that list

looks mostly like the daewoo kalos to me or one along the daewoo line whichever it is.

since it looks so bad…should price it like a korean as well. at that price point is has to look good and perform well… esp when the competition (i.e evo) can perform more or less the same and already looks stunning.

i beleive mitsubishi just got a break. its watered down version of the evo should trumph this car.