Chevrolet Captiva sighted in Malaysia

chevrolet captiva

[ UPDATE: Hicom-Chevrolet has launched the Chevrolet Captiva in Malaysia. ]

We first saw the Chevrolet Captiva in near production concept form in 2004 as the Chevrolet S3X Concept. Soon it went into production in 2006 as the Chevrolet Captiva and the Daewoo Winstorm, powered by a 2.4 litre petrol (142hp@5200rpm, 220Nm@4000rpm) or a 3.2 litre V6 (225hp@6000rpm, 302Nm@3500rpm), or a GM-VM Motori 2.0 litre turbodiesel (150hp@4000rpm, 310Nm@2000rpm).

The long wheelbase of 2700mm allows the Chevrolet Captiva to fit up to 3 rows of seats for a maximum capacity of 7 seats, although the SUV is also available as a 5 seater.

After looking at the Captiva only through the internet and magazines, suddenly we see it in Putrajaya at the JPJ building thanks to reader akmal… first the new Chevrolet Aveo notchback and now this – is Hicomobil on the roll again?

2006 Chevrolet Captiva
Chevrolet Captiva unveiled at Geneva Motor Show
GM Daewoo Winstorm

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cetakbaju (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 7:59 am

Thumb up for chevroleyy

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 8:44 am

Don’t Wast your Hard earned Money on this Monster bro. She will SUCK your Blood until you Die, Happy HaLLOOOoooWEEN.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 9:24 am

Nice Looking SUV! have a Nice Day!

• wildthingz (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 9:50 am

nice beauty blood sucker opps i mean fuel sucker and also ur wallet sucker hahahahahha have other photos paul share want to see the interior

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 10:23 am

I dont think the Turbodiesel will sucks much.. It’s better we can get more choice in this market…

• mercs_cc (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 10:31 am

this is out in Bkk already, looks good inside too

• najibest (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 10:53 am

hopefully they would launch it with the TD option.. the small 2.0 diesel option would be a hit i believe as the road tax is low and fuel consumption should be good.. also hopefully they won’t price it too high

• ak03 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 11:03 am

this is the 2.4L version..

• arcana (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 11:08 am

oh no….the 2.4 petrol loses to 2.0 TD in both power and torque segments…..what a shame….and were still offered only petrols….

• owaief (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 12:20 pm

to me, this may be korean designed and made, but it looks miles better than the cr-v

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 12:28 pm

Start guessing its price. 2.4L – RM198,888.00 otr.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 2:00 pm

Daewoo…

• szw (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 2:07 pm

gonna be expensive .

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 2:45 pm

wow, this is really nice (same with the Captiva on previous post)

estimated price??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 2:53 pm

Actually this is the same location as the previous Suzuki SX4 … in Putrajaya around the JPJ Bahagian Teknik area. Guess its there for type approval.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 3:01 pm

I could never comprehend why there is an actual need for an SUV except for those who do need an ego booster. Its only gonna hit the tarmac. Malaysian contrived version of the MacAdam road definitely but still….. You could do that much cheaper with a sedan. Luxury? Only if it was parked on a flat piece of tarmac.

And yes, turbo diesels do have lots of torque. But the sheer weight of this thing just made it pointless. Especially round the bends. Ok so you’re just going to use it only in town…see paragraph above.

• harry potter (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 3:07 pm

what about it`s safety? (eg;airbag)

• arcana (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 3:29 pm

u get height booster….besides ur ego…..the only advantage where i see for SUV’s are u get to see the traffic far ahead and bird’s view of the road….and also u feel a bit safer if there are flash floods…….added point, maybe u butt dont hurt so much if u hit a whole compared to regular sedans since tyre rubber much thicker.

• arcana (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 3:30 pm

ops….i mean hole and i mentioned “only advantage”…should be advantages.

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 3:43 pm

yeah good looking SUV. but what will it price be?

• transformer (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 6:37 pm

most SUV are gas guzzling… especially petrol engined!

we can see after Hyundai brought in Diesel Santa Fe…
    its a good start! hope to see Hyundai sedan/hatch with Diesel…

just hope GM would offer Diesel in this too!

comeon…. more diesel are welcome!!!

then we’ll starting to guess why those Japanese makes didn’t offering Diesel… except Pickup!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 8:29 pm

what’s the point of owning diesel vehicle when petrol/diesel price difference is so little like now?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 9:26 pm

its the goverments role to impose cheaper taxes for diesels bcos of their lower co2 emission! thats y diesels in europe are popular bcos the public have incentives..beside the cheaper diesel u get in petrol station….bt our diesel quality is jus bad…almost not usuable for those new generation diesels..even if it works thy have to detune the engine jus to make it compatible…

anyway…i doubt this one wil have a good market.dominated by CRV and xtrail….if u want one,wait n get a 2nd hand!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 10:56 pm

If i not mistaken, diesel engine are more better FC and mileage compare to petrol engine… Besides that, this is also a turbo engine which mean it has massive torque at low rpm. Where u can get such a torque at a 2.0L petrol engine?

So in long run, diesel engine will save more money… But the problem in Malaysia is the diesel quality only Euro2 (others already Euro4) and the people mindset of thinking diesel is dirty, really kolot nowadays…

If u dont believe, ask those driving the mitsu triton, toyota hilux or ford ranger driver. I can bet they will tell u it’s save a lot in diesel!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 11:37 pm

diesel is sv and efficient but in bolehland..diesel quality is low..dats y many ppl said its dirty..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 11:40 pm

went to naza last sunday…saw i unit of mazda cx-7…white in color…quite good..marvellous…but i still can stand with my murano…:p

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 29, 2007 at 11:48 pm

#
    e-nabilll said,

October 29, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

its the goverments role to impose cheaper taxes for diesels bcos of their lower co2 emission! thats y diesels in europe are popular bcos the public have incentives..beside the cheaper diesel u get in petrol station….bt our diesel quality is jus bad…almost not usuable for those new generation diesels..even if it works thy have to detune the engine jus to make it compatible…

anyway…i doubt this one wil have a good market.dominated by CRV and xtrail….if u want one,wait n get a 2nd hand!

——————————————————-

em..since when goverment impose tax on diesel?i never heard that goverment impose tax on petroleum.give subsidy adelah

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 1:01 am

RM200k is a bit expansive…maybe RM170k?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 2:43 am

iakshen_kamen :
    i meant road tax not tax on diesel price !

• arcana (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 7:08 am

at least we know that our euro 4 fuel is coming in 2009…..government is doing something about it finally….its not too bad after all….so start shopping for diesels after 2010.
    hopefully the road tax is not as crazy as it is now where its almost double for the same displacement except below 2.0 category.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 12:50 pm

euro4 in bolehland??!! Can’t even get rid of thousands of >30 years old bus kilang/sekolah emitting black smoke like no tomorrow.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:09 pm

its ugly

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 8:07 pm

I always find it funny that GM decides to rename DAEWOO to Chevrolet. In any case, I stay away from any GM products, they are crap.

• Max88 (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 12:04 pm

NO CAPTIVA AUDIENCE
    BUT IT’S GOOD IN A FLOOD
    Mirror Online, 27/07/2007, By Richard Hammond
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/motoring/hammond/2007/07/27/no-captiva-audience-89520-19527996/

IN the land of floods the man with a diesel Land Rover is king.
    It’s four-wheel drive, of course, so it doesn’t get stuck in mud, and because it’s a diesel it has no spark plug wires to get wet and short circuit.
    Not a lot will stop it. Which answers the irritating question that people always fire at those of us who like 4x4s – “what’s the point of having one?”

The irony is that if our off-roaders cause global warming, which, in turn, causes the freak weather, then we’re part of a vicious circle. Drive 4x4s, more rain, more need for 4x4s.
    Last week I was doubly prepared because as well as the family Land Rover I’ve had a Chevrolet Captiva parked in the drive. It has a Chevrolet badge on its grille, a rather big one in fact, but underneath the skin the Captiva is a Korean-built Daewoo.

It’s a branding thing. I could call myself Richard Hemingway, but it is still Richard Hammond writing this road test.
    Not that there’s a lot wrong with the Captiva. This model is the 2.0D LT with seven seats and a price tag of £21,140. You can save £1,145 and pay £19,995 for the the five-seat version but I can’t see why you’d want to sacrifice a large chunk of usefulness for a relatively modest saving.

Unlike the Jeep Patriot we tested a couple of weeks ago, the Captiva isn’t pretending to be an eco-friendly small 4×4. It’s a big practical motor and looks it. However, that 2.0-litre diesel engine is capable of doing a reasonable 37mpg and produces emissions of 197g/km.
    Which is, in fact, similar to the Jeep’s economy and emissions. And like the Patriot’s turbodiesel, the Captiva’s power is a bit off-on.

Just like the Jeep, I stalled the Chevrolet several times at junctions by shifting into second gear too early when the power had dropped and it was getting its second breath.
    Still, this is the engine to buy in the Captiva because the petrol one just hasn’t got the grunt required for a motor of this size.
    But what you get for your money with the Captiva is practicality. When you fold down the third row of seats, which is just a matter of pulling on a couple of handles, then the second row, you have a massive area of flat luggage space.

And once you’ve stowed the kitchen sink and piano, you can fill the 400 cubbyholes dotted around the Captiva cabin. I lost my mobile for hours after putting it in a handy slide-out container then forgetting where I’d put it.
    The build quality is decent and shows that Korean manufacturers are getting rather good at building cars.
    But the big drawback is I can’t think of one good reason for buying the Captiva over any similar price rivals.
    It goes along the road all right, even if there’s a huge amount of water around, but the ride is choppy and the body wallows around.

The difference between my Land Rover and the Captiva is that I’ll still love driving my Landie when the rain has gone. The Captiva I will have forgotten about.

THE FACTS
    Chevrolet Captiva 2.OD LT Seven-seater SUV
    Price: £21,140
    Engine: 146bhp 2.0 litre diesel
    0-60: 12.2 seconds-
    Top speed: 112mph

THE RIVALS
    Hyundai Sante Fe 2.2 CRTD CDX
    Fellow Korean 4×4 is also big on space and value and for an extra £600 you get seven seats in all versions £21,225
    Nissan Patrol 3.0 Di Trek
    Nissan’s macho 4×4, more thirsty with an average of 26mpg and fewer seats £22,875
    Volvo XC90 3.2 SE

This is what you have to pay if you want a posh badge. OK, so the quality is higher, but it’s no more useful or practical £33,885.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 11:12 pm

i wonder when they will give the koreans a daewoo corvette

• SupaCarFan (Member) on Nov 04, 2007 at 9:17 pm

Pinch me about the beauty, the looks, the petrol guzzling engine and the colour.

hope it won’t be so dull and all.

I think it’s chances of hitting Malaysian roads are slim to none.

I mean look at it’s height. It’s just the perfect for off-road driver but a little high for the driver behind it to see.

Let’s just pray the price is ok ok only.

Besides, we already have a lot of SUVs,like the pajero,prado,vw Suv

C’mon!!!!