TOKYO LIVE 2007: Suzuki X-HEAD Concept

Suzuki X-HEAD Concept

The Suzuki X-HEAD Concept looks like it could be one of the Constructicons from an upcoming Transformers Movie sequel, and Suzuki has given the concept SUV decent off-road and load carrying capacity.

The rear bed can be configured a few ways. One configuration holds a unit called the Camper, which provides sleeping space for 2 adults. The other is called Fashion – I’m not exactly sure what this is but Suzuki says it “provides stylish urban mobility” – I think it’s nothing more than some sort of stylish cover for the rear. Finally, there is Rescue, which includes basic excavator capabilities.

Of course, the rear bed can also be left like a normal pickup bed, which is the version you see in these live photos. There is a little scrambler bike loaded at the back.

More photos after the jump.

Video: Suzuki X-HEAD Concept

Suzuki X-HEAD Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 4:04 pm

its huge for suzuki brand but i like it. if it has truck brand instead of suzuki, i thinks its normal.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 4:31 pm

Very utilitarian, like it a lot, especially the storage compartments at the side.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Ugly car by present day!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:01 pm

Doesn’t look like off road or commercial vehicle.

• ImanYusouf (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:10 pm

If I can’t afford to buy Hummer… I’ll buy this…

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:17 pm

the next gen for jap mini hummer?

• antaras (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:25 pm

MY GOD! That’s a lightsaber! I’m gonna get me 1 of this!

• szw (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:41 pm

so star wars-ish

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 6:07 pm

Big boy toys!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 6:49 pm

Inspired by the Brabus Unimog U500 Black Edition perhaps? Maybe the GMC Topkick?

• neoracing87 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:12 pm

wow… i like.. small, rough, and lotsa compartments… nice nice… some how this appeal is way better than the toyota concepts… and yes i know its a different segment but the design… capturing…

• neoracing87 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:12 pm

wow… i like.. small, rough, and lotsa compartments… nice nice… some how this appeal is way better than the toyota concepts… and yes i know its a different segment but the design… capturing…

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Looks like some sort of cartoon truck from japanese manga or animax. i wonder how much is the girl ops….! i mean truck. hee! hee!

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:52 pm

Shoot..funky machine..love it.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 10:12 pm

Practical utility vehicle, if the price is reasonable, it would sell like hot-cakes!

• marvel (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:36 pm

a real toy machine

• farmcow (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:38 pm

haha…this is one hell of a nice car ….love it !

• danie7 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:34 am

Quite toy like design, i kinda like it…. reminds me of TRANSFORMERS!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 1:58 am

Looks like a toy but not sure if its that multipurpose

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 9:17 am

Holy sheet.. bob the builder’s new pimp mobile…

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:47 am

thanks a lot paul. wow this what iam waiting for.so nice hope they sell it in malaysia its hotzzzzzzz if i can afford 1 that will be great darn nice lor hey if they offer buy one and get that model free wow ill be the lukiest man in the world hahahahahaha

• wuichi (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 10:51 am

that is one cool truck!!! but don’t know will it ever reach the shores of bolehland.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:04 pm

its only a concept, of course it will never reach malaysia.

but then again, even if it did, it will never sell well. cars like these only work in japan and no where else.

look at the proton juara, its technically a carbon copy of the mitsubishi townbox except for a proton badge, and it never sold well in malaysia. but in japan, you will see the “juara” aka townbox everywhere on the streets. very popular there.

thats the reason why there are so many different cars for so many different markets, with even the same models marketed differently and with different names in different countries. Honda is a good example, with different cars in the US, and Europe, and japan, and to a certain extent, even in South east asia.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:16 pm

I think this is a really cool concept. You either hate it or love it…and I love it! =)

• azrai (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 1:50 pm

Suzuki own version of Juara.

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 4:16 pm

That looked so freaking cool!
    And the idea behind it is awesome, as well.
    Love the exterior, but the interior is just a tad too futuristic for me.

The chick’s not bad, either! :D

• in_put (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 6:56 pm

What all Jedi’s have been waiting for – a proper lightsaber-holder! Kudos Suzuki, and may the force be with you…

• transformer (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:17 am

WoW! its rear side panel can be open for storage!!
    Looks tough!

Can be good Firefigther machine especially in jungle fire… guess our thousand island neighbour need a lot to prevent forrest fire hazing all its neighbouring countries!

• spencerlws (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:26 pm

hehe… just like a “Lego” toys to me

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 4:32 pm

Luv the lightsaber…

This is once really cool truck. I mean, it’s cool AND cute. haha.. would love to own one :D

• Sargonarhes on May 27, 2009 at 12:02 pm

I liked my Suzuki samurai, it was a simple utilitarian vehicle that got you from point A to point B. This looks like a return to that idea in a Suzuki. I like it, I like it a lot. Today's SUV are too soft and plush on the inside.

I want one!

• Jason on Aug 12, 2010 at 5:23 am

I want it I haven’t bought a zuk since they quit importing the samurai or Jimny to the US. I loved my Samurai and would buy this the day it hit the dealer heck I would camp out the night before its perfect for my hobbies and weekends camping.

• Grant Arnold on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:15 am

Absolutely love it – makes me want to stop by a local Suzuki dealer to pester them to have this made and imported. IMHO, we in the US are in *need* of a street-legal Kei-class mini-truck. Americans love pickup truck utility, but need better fuel economy. I’ve wanted to modify a Carry or other Kei-class into something cool like this concept, but it looks like Suzuki may be one giant step ahead.

My thoughts? Neat concept. Looks stunning and well-proportioned. Simplify it for production to keep costs low: you don’t need that fancy tailgate, fold-out door steps, or door pulls made of a flashlight/hammer combo. Just keep the styling, small size, 4WD and low cost and you’ll sell a ton of these!

A stylish, fuel-economic, compact utility vehicle? Sign me up!