Chevrolet Captiva to be launched by year-end

Chevrolet Captiva

[ UPDATE: Hicom-Chevrolet has launched the Chevrolet Captiva in Malaysia. ]

We previously saw the Chevrolet Captiva parked near the JPJ building in Putrajaya, so it should be launched pretty soon. HICOM-Chevrolet managing director-designate Yukontorn Wisadkosin (probably from GM Thailand) says it will be launched by the end of 2007 and it will be offered with a 7 seat configuration.

HICOM-Chevrolet is the the new 51:49 joint venture between General Motors and DRB-HICOM formed when GM signed an MoU with DRB-HICOM last year regarding taking up a stake in the Chevrolet business here in Malaysia.

Chevrolet Captiva sighted in Malaysia
GM and DRB-HICOM sign stake transfer MoU

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Ohboy! Wonder how the pricing will be :D

• leongylun (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:07 pm

ya! how much is the price? looks like mini VW toureg! hehe!!

• vincentwee (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:17 pm

singapore sell for SGD 100k

if this car sell range $150k above..i guarantte.. it going to be a failure
    remember Chevrolet no market in Malaysia

Optra 90k.can sell 60k this year
    imagine the value….

ppl rather buy CRV or Wish

y buy chevrolet!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:59 pm

Look at Sing selling at $ 100K, I think it will be sale at around RM 200K as it is 7 seater configuration!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 6:00 pm

See how fast DRB-Hicom tie up with GM, not like Proton-VW saga MOU2 here, talk2 there, MOInext day, tomorrow still talking.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 6:00 pm

Look solid like Toyota Fortuner!

• ynnad (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 6:17 pm

RM170k range like the Fortuner/Everest clan

• White Jack (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 7:58 pm

Chevrolet have a BIG new showroom along Federal Highway nearby Mazda/Benz..

Hopefully they will do well

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 9:22 pm

Actually from what I’ve been briefed, the launch date tentatively by Chervolet-HICOM will be on the 27th of November. Prices will start at RM137k and move upwards to RM160k. Engine ranges between the 2.0 Turbo D and the 2.4 petrol. There might be the 3.4 v6 but I can’t confirm yet until later this month. In fact the supposed target competitor would be the sub 2k SUV’s such as Fortuner, Sorrento, and the Rexton. I’ll update as and when I get info which I can divulge

• transformer (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:35 pm

that why Chevrolet are opening new showroom at JB around Pasir Gudang Highway(near Taman Daya)…

• TopGear (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:37 pm

i read that article saying that they want to grab market share from
    CRV locally…so I guess the pricing is in the region of RM13xK….
    the spec. can be lower than that of Singapore!!!

but is this car reliable, safety and fuel consumption ??

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 11:09 pm

Anyone wondered why M’sia is not offensive of the cross logo of Chevrolet ?

• BMW fan (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 12:13 am

common…even i as a Christian wouldn’t think of that logo as a symbol of christianity, why would others… and if people do think like that then wouldn’t people around the world think too much about the moon and the stars?
    no offense here : )

• Beyond The Edge (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 12:15 am

In Korea, it’s cheaper than Kia new sorrento.

• Beyond The Edge (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 12:32 am

Are you serious? It looks like a PLUS(+) logo, not a CROSS(†) logo.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 1:14 am

I am not getting paranoid over a logo…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 1:50 am

So, in 2009, how Proton come out with MPV to fight with so many competitors.

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:33 am

Is this a rebadged Daewoo..?

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:03 am

Pls la… the logo is a symbol of a bowtie. Nothing to do with religion. Sigh…

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:26 am

I got failing eyesight. :)

Looks nice in this front 3/4 photo.

• eifs (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 6:57 pm

update: brunei price is BND/SG$33,500

• _xXx_ (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:50 pm

they are digging their own grave if the selling price is above 120k. CRV is a better choice

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:42 am

Brunei selling at approx RM 80K, sure here at least double the price!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:48 am

better choose crv…

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 1:59 am

Anyone wondered why M’sia is not offensive of the cross logo of Chevrolet ?

—————————————————————-

Ah Liew,

You buy this car first, then I give you to replace the “cross” with a VW logo! :)

Or maybe, Chevrolet’s cars are Christian cars much to the horror of Proton’s Islamic car. (am still laughing at the idea of islamic cars). :)

Cheers.

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 4:47 pm

Good lord, it’s just a impression of a bowtie. So after this no more wrapping presents in a bowtie manner because it offends? Do accept something because of merit instead of petty irrelevant matters

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 4:49 pm

EDIT: and CRV’s a better choice? What’s the OTR for it? What’s the bhp? Compared to the Captiva MSRP at RM139k for the 150bhp turbo D including the savings in terms of fual mileage, I’d say better to reserve comment about comparing to the others until one has tried it out.

• szw (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 4:58 pm

• TopGear (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:43 pm

but I read review about this model…not so favourable…eg. engine noisy…
    lack of power…quality,…rides not good….