Kia Roadshow in November

Kia Optima

Naza Kia Sdn Bhd is having a roadshow for their newly launched Kia Optima, Kia Sportage facelift and Kia Spectra5 models. Many have decided to forever shun Korean cars, especially Kias, after bad experiences with the Sephia. But these are the latest generation of Kias and it would be interesting to go have a look and see if they have made any progress over the years or not.

• 23-25 Nov 2007 – Sunway Pyramid, Kuala Lumpur (New Wing)
  • 27-29 Nov 2007 – Damansara Intan, Petaling Jaya
  • 30 Nov – 2 Dec 2007 – Danga Bay, Johor Bahru

Kia cars registered during these roadshow dates will be eligible to get a free Samsung SGH-L760 phone, a slider phone featuring 3G, MP3/WMA/ACC player, microSD expandable memory and a 2 megapixel camera.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:37 pm

I was there for a SUBWAY sandwich and also test drove the Kia Sportage. Quite zippy. Quality quite acceptable. Tomorrow or Sunday I will go and try Optima and Spectra5.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:49 pm

Petrol sucker car!

• fashraf (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Yeah BigFish, I must agree with you as I was an owner of one before. I install dunno how many gadgets (surbo, air power, blah blah blah..) to reduce the guzzle but tarak jalan even a bit on them….

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:18 pm

i am driving kia as well.
    its a nice engine… and design for ichy leg people…
    not for those that like to save fuel. Fact is that on highway.. 120-140km/h.. it uses Rm15-Rm17/100km petrol on my spectra. Quit reasonable. But at city, you need t watch the RPM.

lately i upgraded the ekzos and intake… power & torque increased. And now its even better.

Good if you like to rush after tool gate.. and good as family car as well.
    Low price, cheapest in the class i think. no complain :P

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:22 pm

i talked to 2 other spectra owner before..
    and fact is that they dont use the gas paddle the spectra way :P

.. the engine and transmission is quit sensitive, where it will change gear quit easily. The first week getting the car is horrible on petrol.. but i quickly learned the tricks.. and this car really speed & rip.

Not the fastest laa.. not in mount chunmin… but mont kiara ya laa. :D

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:15 pm

BigFish said,

November 23, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

New Korea Cars feature the latest CVVT engines which is very fuel efficient, you can get alot of information on the net.
    Please do update yourself.

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:35 pm

Optima is quite nice… This car is very spacious and the price is really attractive…

• szw (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:48 pm

why those cars looks so boring ?

• acbc (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:26 pm

Korean cars only worth buying after 2-3 years due to lousy resale value.

Imagine now u can buy a 2003 Kia Carnival for a mere RM 35k (brand new price was RM 170k!).

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 10:02 pm

hyundai said,

November 23, 2007 @ 8:35 pm
    I knocked my head while trying to sit at the back. Sonata scored better in this point.

acbc said,

November 23, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

Because we have Naza Ria.

• arcana (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 10:50 pm

koreans are improving as we can see…..its only 7-8 years since the very 1st sephia came around to malaysia…..
    now they are on CVVT tech, i’d like to give them a chance if they can get sales going and hopefully resale value and spare parts/maintainence will be much better in the future.

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:22 pm

“Imagine now u can buy a 2003 Kia Carnival for a mere RM 35k (brand new price was RM 170k!).”
    i doubt this.. i reading lots of “on the road” magazine. Second hand car price is what i concern as well.

kia was having a bad resell price (previously).. because since the car assemble in kedah, the new car is selling 30k+- cheaper that the previous imported model. So, those that later selling it, cry like a baby (cause of buying imported car).

well, i bought the spectra upgraded version for 64k. And now new car selling price hick to 69k empty car. yaiks… not sure the figure true or wat. But thats what i see in magazine.

For reselling car that is 2-3years old.. that is a total lost, the worst time to sell. Probably you are loosing 50% of it. I think if today i sell my spectra, i will getting 30k around +-.. which i dont want to sell. Its a very nice and strong engine…. muak muak.. been smoke the S on uphill before.. lol..

this is due to the auto transmission that is ‘clutch’ like. Not sure wat, but its not deadly attached like we found in new waja. When you got cluth like transmisiion.. its voom voom time.

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:30 pm

kia car is very cheap in price…even in new model.
    here is the fact.

kia RIA = 80-100k . v6 2.5L A
    Kia citra = 79k . 2.0 A CVVT

quit a good bargain. And fact is that, there is lots of citra on the road.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:46 pm

Is the new KIA RIO 1.4 JB engine really exactly same as Hyundai Getz engine???

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 12:20 am

exterior looks outdated…

• nmh (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:47 am

sorry i have 2 say spectra is the worst ive ever driven…prefer driving my gen2 than my spectra all the time

• Paul Tan on Nov 24, 2007 at 2:38 am

I am currently testing the Kia Optima and am getting about 12.5 liters per 100km travelled using very realistic real life driving patterns – a mix of city and highway with more city than highway, and the occasional full throttle overtaking. Measurement started from a full to the brim tank of petrol, and a mix of single person, 2, 3 or 4 persons in a car with mostly 2 in a car.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 3:27 am

if u do a proper research on CVVT….the main advantages is that it has less power loss and a quciker shift times…but saving FC is very doubtful….even if its true…its very minor….

• Paul Tan on Nov 24, 2007 at 3:36 am

i’m curious, what has CVVT to do with shift times? as far as i know it has no relations to the gearbox. maybe you can share with us the page you’re referring to.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 8:32 am

Isaacvky:
    Hit your head? Isn’t Optima physically similar to Sonata?

• feez98 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 12:42 pm

i’m using citra GS & its a good vehicle, bought it @ juz 74k.its fuel consumption? ok lar, 20 bucks of fuel can get me 2 way trip (sentul-klang). its body’s very solid, i hav a small accident once, a wira kiss my BUTT, sustain minor scratch but the wira’s frnt bumpers got out…. lucky me, poor him….

• Charger (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Paul, that’s the Optima 2.0 you tested?

You might get better mileage with the 2.4, reason could the 2.0 was having hard time hauling that heavy machine. :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:24 pm

yup…agree wit nmh…gen2 is better than spectra…

• Paul Tan on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:47 pm

charger: there is no latest generation optima 2.4 on sale

• enol_leno (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 2:40 pm

my friend drive kia spectra, woooo big eater on gasoline… next year
    mati ooooo, minyak naik more n more n more n more

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 7:59 pm

I went to Sunway Pyramid again today. Rear headroom is very good. And the car is already CKD not CBU and then CKD and reduce price so no need to bring up this old story in relation to the current models. Go and see for yourself.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 8:00 pm

Next year mati oooo? Hahaha! But one thing’s very true, you don’t hear of ANY Spectra owners complaining about power window failure, that’s for sure.

• king (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:10 am

acbc said,
    November 23, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

Korean cars only worth buying after 2-3 years due to lousy resale value.

Imagine now u can buy a 2003 Kia Carnival for a mere RM 35k (brand new price was RM 170k!).

____

dat was due to ckd naza ria la….selling at 90K plus…pls update yourself.

also big engine cars like that suffer heavy depreciuation no matter wat brand i.e take toyota, supposedly the strongest brand in resale value around or at least what most ppl believes….a 2003 toyota estima only 120k now ( brand new last time selling at 330k plus)

when comes to korean cars alot of ppl think they are expert….”oh last time (1990s) my aunty said high fuel comsumption” etc…and other loads of crap. heck… how many actually drive one themselves and find out the truth?

Anyway… i think sonata looks better than this optima but this is already a major improvement from the old ugly optima

• king (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:17 am

e-nabilll said,
    November 24, 2007 @ 3:27 am

if u do a proper research on CVVT….the main advantages is that it has less power loss and a quciker shift times…but saving FC is very doubtful….even if its true…its very minor….

_____

dun joke la…CVVT is more or less equivalent to i-vtec, vvt-i or mivec….how to improve gearbox shift time?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 6:18 pm

e-nabilll said,

November 24, 2007 @ 3:27 am

It’s CVVT Continuously Variable Valve Timing
    Not CVT Continuously Variable Transmission

• Mean (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:06 pm

In August when they first launched the new Optima I went to check it out at the local dealer in Kulim (LK Low). The salesman James was very helpful however he was apologetic when I asked him to start the engine so that I can hear the sound. I did not even ask for a test drive as I understood that this was a very new car. James told me his boss wants a deposit or down payment to be paid upfront before he can even start the engine for me. I told him, what nonsense is this? He apologized again and said that it was boss’ orders.

I was very disappointed with this (could it have been that I went to visit the showroom riding a scooter and not with my 2-litre car I am presently driving) and told James that “you have just lost a potential sale, perhaps as mentioned you have received 5 bookings today that’s why your boss cannot be bothered”.

I emailed Naza’s customer care and it took me 6 emails and finally 1 fax (I had to submit to their preferred method of using the fax instead of email to raise a complaint) before I was finally contacted by their customer service manager. He promised to take it up with the dealership and it was only after 3 more email exchanges that I was told the Kulim showroom had been given a show cause letter to explain what had happened.

At the same time the dealership boss Mr Low himself gave me a call to offer to arrange an appointment for test drive (well if I had not complained to Naza persistently, I would have had to buy one before I can get behind the wheel of a new Optima). I did ask him why he prohibited his salespeople from even starting the engine and he said cars needed trade plates before they can be tested by customers.. well.. well.. well let us see when the economy goes into recession someday, car dealers will be begging us to buy their goods.

• Paul Tan on Nov 30, 2007 at 6:23 am

… and that is why Naza Kia will never go anywhere even with good products, until they fix the PEOPLE. Kia Motors has already fixed the products IMHO.