Volkswagen Touareg R50 now on sale in the UK

Volkswagen_Touareg_R50_UK

The monster Volkswagen Touareg R50 is now on sale in the UK, retailing at a price of £61,885 (RRP OTR), a premium of £3,885 over the normal Altitude V10 TDI Touareg.

The price premium comes from tune-ups such as an uprated 5.0 litre V10 TDI engine putting out 350 PS instead of the normal 313 PS – the engine hits this at 3,500rpm, and 750Nm of torque instead of the normal 650Nm, yet puts out the same CO2 emissions as the normal V10 TDI, which is 333g/km.

Other than the engine, the R50 is also differentiated from the Touareg Altitude V10 by its 21 inch Omanyt design wheels, Touareg R-design bodykit, wheel arch extensions, blue brake calipers, and R logos on the pedals, door sills and Nappa sports seats.

Volkswagen Touareg R50
Volkswagen Touareg V10 pulls a jumbo jet

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 5:58 am

What a monster…

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 6:20 am

great… make more monster.

lately in BMW forum, i hear that quit many people talk about vw engine reliability problem. Seem like there is bad side to it. Not designed for long run/term, thus badly effect the second hand value. vw owner… any comment on this?

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 10:53 am

wahhh…
    front look like proton saga RED…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 11:57 am

handsome…bt dis will cost alot here…standard touareg is ok for me…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 11:58 am

charles…which bmw blog did u visit???y dun u jz survey at vw blog…mabe u can find d answer..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 1:33 pm

there is one black color i saw abt a week ago , infront of bukit bintang…couldnt believe it…obviously blackened windows couldnt see who was driving it

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Volkswagen my first choice…..

• szw (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 4:44 pm

the R50 sound like mini cooper’s model code…

• AvE (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 12:32 am

a mutated mini coop, mix marriegde with a bmw…GRrRRr~ ROoaARrgHH~!!! somebody call ultraman~~…p/s:nice color

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 12:40 am

Maybe this can pull Boeing 747 at 50mph :P

• AvE (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 12:42 am

mutated mini coop…mix marriedge with bmw…GrrRRr…WHOoARRrGH! its a freaking cool freak~

• juanbeibei (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 6:34 pm

i saw this kind of body kit in the older version of touareg (without curve headlights) in japan.. a number of them there.. i saw black n 2 blue.. but this one looks better!! =)