Facelifted Ford Focus ST

The new facelifted Ford Focus ST goes on sale in the UK beginning from today, and gets Ford’s new kinetic design styling that was applied to the base Ford Focus.

Making a return under the hood is the 2.5 litre inline-5 turbocharged engine putting out the same 225 PS as before, taking the Focus ST up to 100km/h in 6.8 seconds. Ford also says the ST can do the Nordschleife in 8 minutes and 35 seconds, apparently the fastest in its class.

The Focus ST gets a bodykit on the exterior to differentiate it from the standard issue Focus, and also comes with 18 inch wheels, Recaro sports seats. The highest ST-2 spec gets a Sony audio system, bi-xenon lights, LED rear lights and Quickclear heated windscreen while the highest ST-3 equipment level ncludes an in-dash six CD player plus full leather trim.

More photos of the Focus ST after the jump.

Facelifted Ford Focus ST

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 7:01 am

nice car.i love the stripes!

• White Jack (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 8:35 am

Any FORD supporter here ? :)

• albagmane (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 10:45 am

only the british get to lay their hands on this car… i don expect to see this car in malaysia… don think ford malaysia will bring in too…

• ilmondo (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 10:54 am

Ford supporter ere.. dis is a great car.. stil one of the most under-rated car here i feel.. but dis is great.. facelifted front looks really good for hatch, but as for sedan version, i stil think the pre-facelift version looks better.

now that ford is under simedarby if i’m not wrong, llets hope that ford will do better.. much better as they hav really really great cars especially from ford europe.. read on TGM that they have plans bringing in Mondeo and S-Max.. huhu!

• maknyer (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 11:34 am

ford supporter here!!

i`m dying to get those, reminds me of the Lynx TX3..

i’ve notice that there’s a blue Ford Foucs(maybe ST) at the Jalan Tun Razak showroom..maybe RM2++k perhaps..

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:01 pm

Spank Proton’s bottom and get them to introduce the Satria Neo GTI, pronto pronto!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:03 pm

corolla_KE70 said,
    May 1, 2008 @ 7:01 am

nice car.i love the stripes!
    —————————————————————-
    Apply ’em on your Corolla should be nice. Hahahaha…

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Maybe Ford Malaysia will bring this in as a halo model?

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 5:28 pm

maknyer said,

May 1, 2008 @ 11:34 am

ford supporter here!!

i`m dying to get those, reminds me of the Lynx TX3..

i’ve notice that there’s a blue Ford Foucs(maybe ST) at the Jalan Tun Razak showroom..maybe RM2++k perhaps..

>>>>>

I saw that blue Focus ST too!! It was just a glance as I was driving, but the moment I saw the rims, my mind was like “SOMEBODY PLEASE SLAP ME!! TELL ME I REALLY DID SAW MY DREAM HATCH!!” Except that I’d rather have it in orange, eheheh. Btw, does anyone know whether there really are Focus ST on the road? Does that Ford showroom put the Focus ST for show only, or they really do sell the model?

Yes, I am a Focus lover!! And this new Focus ST facelift looks awesome with that solid white paint and twin blue racing stripes!!

Btw Paul, what abt Golf GTi’s time for the Nordschleife? Is it really slower than Focus ST’s time, or it never lapped that track?

• White Jack (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 6:50 pm

OK Ford supporters… you guys can see this car (not the face lifted one as posted) at Jln Ampang (the intersection with a Honda showroom) near Dang Wangi LRT station. A blue one. RS Turbo. 6 Speed manual. 4-doors. Price : RM230,000 :)

• Nazmier (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 8:31 pm

White Jack said,

May 1, 2008 @ 8:35 am

Any FORD supporter here ? :)

—————————————

Me! Me! I am Ford Fans. :D

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 8:55 pm

~ i love ford’s new design language. Its awesome. :D
    And this is an awesome car. :P

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 9:39 pm

White Jack: RS Turbo? The first generation or the second generation pre-facelift? Or is it the Focus ST?

RM230k, emm……I wonder how can I afford it? Strangely, it’s more expensive than the Golf GTi, I do remember reading an Autocar Asean issue with 14-hot hatch test mentioning the Focus ST is cheaper than the Golf GTi in UK…

Nma, I guess it can’t be helped since the ST is 2.5L, so it probably have been taxed more than the 2.0L GTi.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 9:53 pm

That said though, I’d still prefer the ST than the GTi, yohohoho. It may be more expensive, but it holds more value than the GTi in my heart :D

• fretsurfer (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 10:49 pm

The one in Tun Razak is an XR5, which is what ST is called in Australia.

You can get that one for 190k. And since it’s a 2006 one you can knock off a couple of thousand bucks off of it.

Volvo engine, 2.5litre, inline 5 that sounds amazing. Around 220bhp. Front wheel drive, 6-speeds manual blablabla.. you know… same ol’ same ol’.

I drive a 2.0 Focus, actually, and at times I just wish it had more power and I had more moolah so that I could get the blue XR5. Even the wife actually said she likes the XR5. But she couldn’t survive on an island where everybody uses stick shift.

Of course some would say that a vw gti is better or a Honda Type R is better, but whatever, I’m biased towards Ford and I’m not ashamed to admit it. :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 12:20 am

wow, 8 m 35 s in that freaking track is really great!!

Ford, whennnnnnnnnnnnn will this babe arrive here??? the Civic 3-dr Type R and Clio V6 are equally great as Focus ST, and I know I can’t afford one, but at least let me see someone driving a Focus ST on local road, someone who appreciates this car perhaps…..

fallen in love with this nice car since saw it on Top Gear, the orange unit…

• ilmondo (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 12:30 am

fretsurfer..

u’re such a lucky guy..

yea think it isnt RS as its still not launched i think..
    glad tat there are ford fans ere.. 2nd hand price for 1st gen Focus is surprisingly high.. around RM60k++ for yr 2000 unit..

oh ya.. truly love the 5cyl 20valves volvo units too..

• mystvearn (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:17 am

Stripes taken from Mini Cooper S?

• the stik (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 7:19 am

my scooter also got dat stripe hehehehe.. neway nice car laa kot? look big n tough.. built for tough eh?

• the stik (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 7:21 am

my scooter also got dat stripe hehehehe.. neway nice car laa kot? look big n tough.. built for tough eh? whatever..

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 9:10 am

Nürburgring Nordschleife in 8 minutes 35 seconds? wow…This is FWD car right?

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 10:31 am

tested Nürburgring Nordschleife in GT 4…very long track and tricky…

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 1:10 pm

Well, stripes is like a tribute to renowned racer and owner shelby :P

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:52 pm

i like certain ford model…bt many of my fav fords nt hit bolehland..n focus is nt my fav…still cannot accept its style…bt focus is a good car n i think its worth to own focus than the altis n civic…